Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Feb 152009


  • 20,000 miles


We have a 2005 Toyota Corolla. There are occasions when the brakes are applied at a stop sign that the engine revs to a very high RPM level. It is a very dangerous situation.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #10

Jan 312010


  • 93,500 miles
Check engine light -code P2716 - hard shifting - jerking when shifting.

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 082010


  • 116,000 miles
My 2005 Toyota Corolla will stall or lose power at random times. It has the engine light on and reports codes P0171 & P2716. This has happened three times in the past 2 weeks. One time I was driving 60 mph on the freeway and was almost hit from behind. Another time I was turning left at a intersection and just made it through but cars were honking and about hit me. Dealer informed me there is a tsb from Toyota as it is a known issue and common problem. My car is out of the 8 yr or 80,000 mile warranty so it would be around $1000 to fix. Frustrated as this is a known issue which has serious safety concerns and I have to pay $1000 to fix their issue.

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #8

Dec 042009


  • 59,000 miles


Engine stalling on 2005 Toyota Corolla - has occurred four times in last two months or so. Brought into dealership after first occurrence but they could not identify the problem.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #7

Nov 302009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,540 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving between 15-20 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. After two minutes she was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer, nor has she contacted the manufacturer. The current mileage was 58,164. The failure mileage was approximately 57,800. Updated 01/05/10. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled a second time. Updated 01/05/10.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 132009


  • miles
I am contacting ODI NHTSA about a problem with my Toyota Corolla 2005, regarding the replacement of the charcoal vapor canister. Back, in October 2007, my car's check engine light came on (this was when the mileage was around 41,200). By żglen Toyota NJż I came to know that the engine light was on, dew charcoal canister failure. Also I was told: Because the warranty is expired after 36000 miles, the total repair around $480 was paid by me. My frustration is, that it broke after warranty, but S L I G H T L Y over 36,000 miles. I think, that according to federal regulations in toughening car emission requirements, an emission control device should last longer than just two and a half years. Also I learned that usa government obligated all car manufacturers to extend warranty for exhaust system up to 80,000 miles. If you are in power, this is the right time to extend the warranty up to 80,000 for emission control system devices. Also because of a huge amount of complains, particularly for charcoal vapor canisters Toyota manufacturer should pronounce a recall. Sincerely isaac

- Saddle Brook, NJ, USA

problem #5

Nov 202008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,271 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the plastic headlight coverings were discolored, which caused poor visibility while driving at night. The manufacturer stated that the dealer could clean the headlights, which would make them thinner. The contact did not believe that would be effective. The failure mileage was 34,271. Updated 06/09/09 the consumer stated the plastic headlight lens that covers the headlight was starting to discolor. The problem has progressed to the point that he has a difficult time seeing the road at night. Updated 06/10/09. The consumer is concerned about the engine recall. The consumer was informed his vehicle was a part of the recall. He is concerned the engine may shut down before the recall is performed, due to limited parts. Also, the power steering hose, battery, and water pump was replaced. Updated evoq 09/22/10.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #4

Feb 182009


  • 45,000 miles
I purchased car new and drive belt began squealing at 22,000 miles. It was under warranty so took in to have fixed and they only replaced the belt. Now at 45,000 doing it again. Toyota has bulletin to replace tensioner arm because they have had so many go bad. Tensioner arm is defective and causing belt to wear out prematurely. Please investigate. I have heard other Corolla owners having the same exact issue w/their car. It's unfair that a part is defective and all car owners have to pay the $350 to have corrected. There wasn't an incident/accident but I thought you should know. Thank you.

- St. Pete, FL, USA

problem #3

Oct 082007

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving 70 mph up a slight hill, the vehicle shut off. The vehicle continued to lose power; however, the contact was able to drive to the emergency lane. She attempted to re-start the vehicle and it failed to start. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. After the vehicle was repaired, the vehicle stalled and shut off while driving from the repair facility. The vehicle would not restart. The vehicle was towed to her home. According to a tsb that the repair shop found, the vehicle exhibits a no start condition. The current and failure mileages were 85,000. Updated 02-25-08 another dealer replaced the computer at no charge. Updated

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 132006

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Sometimes my car will not start the first or second time that I turn the key. Engine sounds like it is trying to turn over but does not start. I haven't ever had an incident where the car doesn't start at all - sometimes it just takes a few tries.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #1

Nov 042004

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
While driving at any speed the vehicle would momentarily lose power/ hesitate, and then accelerate again. The vehicle has been to the dealer on five separate occasions. The dealer could duplicate the problem, but was unable to locate the cause of the problem..

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?