Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,059 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #17

May 242016

Corolla

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was traveling 10 mph in traffic on freeway. Freeway is paved and area of incident was level. Weather was clear. Late afternoon with ample sun light. Spring which holds the driver's side mirror in open and fold position became dislodged inside mirror. Entire mirror kept swaying in traffic 15 mph and above. Serious visibility concern with absent of driver's mirror. Would not pass yearly safety check.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #16

May 272016

Corolla

  • 76,000 miles
Vehicle was stationary on city street and gear was park. Key became dislodged in driver door lock on outside of vehicle. Key was stuck in the far right position. Key would not return to normal position and was unable to pull key out. Key has microchip to start the vehicle. Could not drive any where until locksmith arrived. Locksmith had to cut spindle to release key.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #15

May 072016

Corolla

  • 111,750 miles
I was in the parking lot trying to turn around when my car accelerators and crashes into mi rancho restaurant in silver spring, Maryland. This is the second incident with this type of issue. The first time was December 4, 2011 in giant parking lot as I was parking it accelerated and hit the pole. Please there is a issue with this car and it is very unsafe because I have two granddaughter who could have be in the car with me at the time of this accident.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #14

Jan 062016

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had spoken to mike from carson Toyota regarding this recall more than 6 months ago. I found out about this recall from my coworker who has the same model and year car as mine. Mike had told me that only a few Toyota were on recall and the last time I had gotten my oil changed there, he told me that my model was not in that recall.. but I did get a letter in the mail. I told him that my coworker told me about the electrical window on the right side. Mike had told me that it wouldn't be covered. I would have to pay about $400 plus for that window that got stuck. Mike did tell me that my VIN model was not counted for. I am real upset. This past December, I drove to san francisco when it is raining and windy, this is a real big hazard for a branch to have come inside my car without my daughter being able to close to the window and had poked her arm some how.

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #13

Nov 302015

Corolla

  • 58,000 miles
My trunk even when properly raised in full does not stay up reliably. I had this problem for as long as I have had the car but in the past year I received a notice from Toyota that if I had a problem, they would do something to correct it. I brought it to the dealer and they assessed the car, decide it did qualify for the "repair" and allegedly took care of it. It has since still come down without warning and has hit me in the head several times. It occurred yet again on 11/30/2015 and really gave me a bad bump on my scalp and ultimately a large bruise on my forehead. I am as careful as I can be but it is hard to keep it from occurring repeatedly.

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Aug 142015

Corolla

  • miles
Driver's side mirror plastic holding snapped that keeps mirror in the open/ closed position. Due to the plastic holding being snapped, the mirror wobbles and does not stay in the open position. It makes driving very dangerous with the lack of a mirror to turn and merge safely. As speeds increase, the force of the wind will force the mirror into the closed position making the mirror useless.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #11

Aug 072015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver's door lock does not lock/unlock when pressing the lock/unlock button on the key fob and pressing the lock/unlock button on the driver's door and passengers door.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #10

Apr 072010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I was backing up in a parking lot with my foot on the brake and my car just sped backwards and I rammed into a pole. My entire trunk was smashed in. I had to have it replaced and it still leaks water as of today. I paid approximately $2K to $3K to have it fixed. This all happened before I know about the acceleration problem.

- Blue Point, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 082014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
My wife rear ended a taxi, she complained that the brakes did not stop the car. We had the car towed to the house, I freed the hood and removed the bumper cover to inspect the damage. When I got in and tried the brakes, the pedal went to the floor. When I opened the brake fluid reservoir to check the fluid, the brakes returned to normal. That indicates a vacuum to me, which is not normal.I would like to request analysis of the event data recorder.

- Sparrows Point , MD, USA

problem #8

Jan 122014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
At approximately 11:00 a.M. on a beautiful sunny day, I was driving on the pa turnpike at the speed of 65 mph when the power steering in my 2009 Toyota Corolla failed. My car unintentionally veered left and right as if I was encountering hurricane-like strong wind gusts. The car bounced back and forth for approximately 5 seconds, while feeling as if it was floating/hydroplaning, as I attempted to regain control. My attempts at correcting the power steering issue were unsuccessful and ultimately the front right side of my car crashed into the right guardrail. Fortunately, I was unharmed in this frightening accident and the state troopers and tow trucks responded in a timely manner. No other individuals were hurt and there was only minor guardrail damage. My car, however is extensively damaged. I am confident that this was not a result of driver error or unforeseen weather conditions. One of the state troopers that reported to the scene even commented, "everyone out here is driving the same speed as you and no one else experienced any of these wind gusts. I am an experienced driver who has been driving this car since I purchased it in 2009, with no prior power steering concerns or issues. My car was well maintained and a week before the accident, I had it at the dealership for an inspection, alignment and new tires. I intend to file a claim with Toyota.

- Mckeesport, PA, USA

problem #7

Dec 212013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety belt warning light came on for last 2 days and turned off today Dec 23, 2013.

- St. Helens, OR, USA

problem #6

Oct 212013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 67,235 miles
On 10/21/2013 at about 12 am I was dropping off my wife and daughter in front of our apartment complex. I was driving a Toyota 2009 Corolla (VIN-[xxx]). the vehicle had a sudden, abrupt and unintended acceleration I pressed the brake pedal it did not stop. It went over a curb in the parking lot and collided with another vehicle standing on the opposite side. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)....updated 11/03/14 updated 8/5/2015

- West Springfield, MA, USA

problem #5

Apr 072013

Corolla 4-cyl Diesel

  • 20,000 miles
Car was T-boned on passenger side of car. In monroe county, key largo, fl.on US1.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 302012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Car was turned off and parked in a parking lot on a normal day, I came back to it turned the car on and smoke started coming out of the power window controls on the driver side, I turned of the car right away, the smoke got worse and then there were flames. I was picking up a friend from work at a car dealership and some people working in the body shop help me put out the fire with a fire extinguisher. The window controls, door handle and door to some extant melted and were destroyed.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #3

May 012010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
Body paint peels.

- St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #2

Aug 182009

Corolla

  • 24,000 miles
I bought a Toyota Corolla 2009 and couple months ago I saw paint problems painting arose in several parts I took the car to the dealer but they don't want fix it the car is only 1 year old and the paint is came off.

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #1

Jan 022009

Corolla

  • 25 miles
Trunk lid on Toyota Corolla uses torsion bars for support. However in the full up position( 90 degree) to about almost closed ( 30 degree) the weight is not counter balanced. In the full up position it is prone to fall when the car is parked facing up hill on a slope as slight as 10 degrees common in parking lots for rain runoff. Any wind or placing a bag of canned goods in the trunk causes it to fall striking the owner in the head, neck or shoulders. This is happening multiple times a week as I use the trunk daily since the day I purchased the vehicle in late December 2008. My other vehicle ( 1993 Ford Taurus) also uses torsion bars but even though it is a much heavier trunk lid it is stable in all positions from just open to fully open ( 90 degree- straight up). I have complained to Toyota and they are not responsive. I have been hit by this trunk lid numerous times as I use the trunk on a daily basis. As an male adult I have not been seriously injured yet but I believe this poses serious risk of injury for women and children. This trunk lid and torsion bar system is poorly designed and has the potential for serious injury. The force is sufficient that one occasion it caused a bleeding cut to my scalp upon impact. The dealer in late January added a small extension arm that connects to the torsion bars but this had no benefit.

- Dallas, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?