Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,430 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #62

Nov 112016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the car in 2008 and the following January 2009 I noticed burning smell from engine. My dad began checking oil and noticed I was out of oil well before my next oil change. Went to lipton Toyota endlessly over period of 6 years and would be told the oil consumption is normal, not a problem. In 2013 they said they found the problem and fixed it. All subsequent oil loss was normal. My engine light started to go on..coils started misfiring but when I putin the oil it would clear out. Toyota said not connected. They began another oil consumption test in September 2016 and now they are telling me that the engine needs to be fixed. Still saying it's not related to excessive oil consumption.

- Helen, GA, USA

problem #61

Sep 052016

Corolla

  • 68,000 miles
We were driving on a highway while we heard some noise came from the front of our car. We thought we hit some metal, so we slowed down and changed to the slow lane, then the car started slowing down by itself, and the steering wheel couldn't move freely. We pulled over, opened the front, and saw some smoke and some liquid fell down. We spent $300 for towing our car to the Toyota dealership where we bought our car from. And we were told that it is the water pump pulley failed that cause the drive belt broke and engine overheated...I was informed that the repair will cause about $4000 for a second-hand engine!! our 2009 Toyota Corolla was bought new in November, 2008 and only has 68000 miles on it. We just did the oil change at the dealership 5 days after this happen! now the car is sitting at the parking lot of the dealership, we contacted the service manager on the dealership as well as Toyota customer experience but have not receive a positive respond yet. They keep telling me that it pass the warranty, however, when I did the research online and found out that not only me has this problem, there are 35 more complain on record about the water pump failure. I believe Toyota should do a recall on the water pump and responsible for the repair.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #60

Jan 012014

Corolla

  • 48,000 miles
Engine hard starts - no starts - or extended starts. Problem is random occurring 2 to 3 times a week. Happens whether engine is warm or cold. This problem has been going on for 2 years now. Toyota can not find a problem with the car.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #59

Jun 222016

Corolla

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Toyota Corolla, engine will go into a "mode" where it revs up to 2000 RPM on its own. Pressing the gas pedal will not do anything, still stays on 2000 RPM until engine is shut off and restarted, one shop suggested I replace the throttle body ($1400) did and still have the same issue. Also replaced the gas pedal assy. ($35 used) still have the same issue. Car may go days or weeks between events. When it happens on a freeway, it is very bad, the car slows and you can not accelerate in any way, you must pull over and shut off the engine and restart to get the car to move. Very dangerous! this has happened when traveling at 65mph and also at 5mph coming to a stop sign.

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #58

Jun 192016

Corolla

  • 84,491 miles
My wife was travelling on I-270 near columbus, oh on 6/19/2016 afternoon (around 2 pm) in a Toyota Corolla S 2009. She took an exit 22B at around 60-65 mph and the vehicle after giving brief beeps suffered from an abrupt engine stall. She lost control of the vehicle momentarily as the steering and break jammed. She regained control after great effort and pulled over the vehicle at the roadside. The car did not start immediately but started after about 30 mins and ran properly after that but with some minor vibration post 60 mph speed.

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #57

Dec 012015

Corolla

  • 190,000 miles
I have been dealing with excesive amount of oil consumption since I bought the car and found out that it was consuming oil while doing random checks on the car. After that I looked on-line for solution and found pages after page and website after website of people complaining about the same issue since 2009 to now and Toyota not doing anything about it. I since continued checking and toping the engine oil until December when my car started to stall when I stopped at a light. It would try to idle around 500-600 RPM but couldnt and then the engine would bring it up to 800 RPM. I had it diagnosed and turned out my piston rings are the problem. After further investigation online I saw that the piston and piston rings are the problem on the Toyota 2zrfe engine and may other engines. I called my dealership and scheduled a day to have this checked when I got there in feburay I was told that my VIN doesnt have this issue I explained I am having this issue and was turned away. I called 1800 number and was told that there is no issue and the online is just that people complaining about a problem that doesnt exist. Until April when my engine would not accelerate fast. When I went on the high way with it it felt like my engine power was a 3rd or less becuase I was having hard time accelerating faster than semis who were starting from stand still. Since then I filed a complaint with BBB and attorney general and got a call from "Toyota customer experience case #1606030224" and was told by jeffery moore that the kits for the fix are shipping now and to take it for repair on 5/26/2016 and I took the car in a couple of days later and they checked the oil and put stickers on the car and told me to come back after 1100 miles. After two days of doing that I got an email and a call. I called back and was told that they will not fix it and they contacted the regional manage and he said no.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #56

Mar 092016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 54,000 miles, 57,000 and 59,000 miles I took the vehicle to a Toyota service center after experiencing oil consumption, one quart every 1,000 miles or so. I was told this was normal consumption, each time, which I still didn't believe and returned to complain as a matter of record. The car has 74,000 miles on it and it is at the Toyota service center exhibiting a knock in the engine. Now, because there is a knock in the engine the oil consumption test cannot be done. I took the car to the Toyota center three previous times and no oil consumption test was offered any time I raised the issue. Now Toyota says they can't perform the oil consumption test, and since the oil consumption test was a requirement for authorized repair/replacement Toyota will not honor there warranty enhancement notification - ZE7 letter. How this happened, I was on my way home from city driving and within 1 mile of my home and I heard a noise coming from the front of the car. I stopped the car and opened the hood to inspect the engine area. I restarted the car and noticed an engine noise. The car was then pulled to the driveway and hauled to the service center on a flatbed towing truck. I am now waiting for the Toyota service center, who told me the car cannot be covered by Toyota unless I pay a portion of the repair cost. This is an admission of the problem (guilt), and is not in accordance with the letter I received. The letter clearly states, conduct an engine consumption test to be considered for repair or replacement. How can this be done, when the service center failed to subject this car to the oil consumption on three occasions" I, attempted on three occasions to obtain service and was denied, now I am at fault" it is my opinion Toyota is responsible for this repair/ replacement, as there was time to conduct the test and time to avert the problem with the engine.

- Dunseith, ND, USA

problem #55

Feb 222016

Corolla

  • 90,000 miles
Car was taken in for oil change at mileage due and Toyota dealership stated oil dipstick was totally dry and to check it at halfway mark of miles. Car is not due yet for oil change until about 95,000 miles and at halfway mark oil was already down to last mark on dipstick. Car was taken to Toyota and they stated 2009 Corolla was not part of limited service campaign of other vehicles exhibiting same problems as my car. Dealer said to just add oil in between changes and I explained that car should not be consuming oil at this stage and they agreed but stated I would have to cover repairs which might cost between $2,000-3,000 because of car not being part of campaign with other makes which were also having same problem with excessive oil consumption at around same mileage. I started oil consumption test so that it would be on record. If other owners are having same problem, 2009 Toyota Corolla should be included in limited service campaign of excessive oil consumption as it was included for most of the other recalls and campaigns. I have looked online and seen many others with same make model and year with same complaints and dealer does nothing to fix problem.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #54

Feb 222016

Corolla

  • 90,000 miles
Car was taken in for oil change at mileage due and Toyota dealership stated oil dipstick was totally dry and to check it at halfway mark of miles. Car is not due yet for oil change until about 95,000 miles and at halfway mark oil was already down to last mark on dipstick. Car was taken to Toyota and they stated 2009 Corolla was not part of limited service campaign of other vehicles exhibiting same problems as my car. Dealer said to just add oil in between changes and I explained that car should not be consuming oil at this stage and they agreed but stated I would have to cover repairs which might cost between $2,000-3,000 because of car not being part of campaign with other makes which were also having same problem with excessive oil consumption at around same mileage. I started oil consumption test so that it would be on record. If other owners are having same problem, 2009 Toyota Corolla should be included in limited service campaign of excessive oil consumption as it was included for most of the other recalls and campaigns.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #53

Jan 192016

Corolla

  • 6 miles
I was on my eay to work drive on the surface street at a speed between 42-45mph when my car suddenly accelerated. I stepped on brakes but I was still accelering so I had to turn off my engine to get the car to stop. This is the second timebtis ha happened to my vehicle. The first time was about 6 months ago, at the time I took it to a Toyota service center and they told my my brakes and carpet was recalled. The replaced both items and told me my car should be good. The second time my car accelerated weeks ago. I called Toyota and made a claim with them. They are saying there's no issue with my car even though I had accerated two in the past 6 month. Both time I had to turn off my engine to get yhe car to stop. Both time I had to call a tow to tow my car. This is a very dangerous situation that needs to be addressed.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #52

Jan 272016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle has never had the service campaign for the cam shaft gears replaced. Now my vehicle has 197K miles on it and has been having issues with those gears. I need to know if there is a way to get this paid and fixed by Toyota since its a recall. My vehicle is at my dealership in vancouver right now. I can not drive my vehicle.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #51

Oct 112015

Corolla

  • miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla (le). I bought it almost exactly 3 years ago with about 12,300 miles on it. Currently, it does not have 50K. I have to drive downtown for nursing school, it takes roughly 20-30 minutes. The very terrifying and incredibly dangerous issue that I have been having is that I will be driving 65mph on the expressway and it will suddenly just drop down to 30/40mph. Due to this issue, I have almost been in a crash. I will change lanes thinking my car will accelerate to pass someone and it will just drop down to 30mph! also, while I am idle, it will shake and rev..so the RPM will be up close to 2; yet, I am idle! I have read of others experiencing similar issues. This is so dangerous and I do not understand why this has not been addressed sooner. The worst part is no one knows what is wrong. I took it and had a diagnostic test run, it said one of the ignition coils was faulty..on a 2009 Toyota with less than 50K miles...that doesn't sound, right huh. Well, I took it to a mechanic and they gave me a new battery, an oil change and ran another diagnostic test (after switching the ignition coil(B) to another (acord). It recorded nothing. I spent $500 it was fine for about an hour then the check engine light came back on and it started doing the same thing. I am very angry with Toyota for not addressing this issue, especially since others have experienced it and it is dangerous. My safety and the safety of others is at risk.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #50

Dec 172015

Corolla

  • 70,000 miles
Started engine, then while idling a loud squealing noise appearing to sound from the power steering, upon close observation notice coolant fluid all over the serpentine belts and the alternator. The battery would die and water residual all over the place all indication points to a busted water pump from the mechanics. The car only got 70,000 miles. Have 5 months left on car loan and no money for repairs and don't know if engine still works.

- South Ozone Park, NY, USA

problem #49

Mar 082011

Corolla

  • miles
This accident happened in 2011. Vehicle accelerated itself while exiting the freeway. Ended up side swiping the ramp and finally got it to stop using emergency brake. Luckily stopped before crashing into the wall. Toyota investigator came to take edr report but didn't admit the problem of the vehicle. Vehicle was left alone and not fixed for days so they can investigate. I was expecting them to provide answers but I ended up fixing my car with my insurance. They didn't do anything after getting the data out of my vehicle.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #48

Oct 212015

Corolla

  • 78,000 miles
After replacing the alternator in my 2009 Corolla in July 2015. My timing chains and water pump malfunctioned while driving on the highway. I was unaware and so was the mechanic that the timing belts were damaged until after the water pump and serpentine belt was replaced. Due to timing issues from the previous malfunctions, I am now in need of a new motor. My vehicle has all required repairs or maintenance completed as scheduled and my vehicle has not even made it to 80,000 miles.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #47

Oct 162015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Toyota has a tsb for 2009 - 2010 Corolla with the 2zr engine, it is T-sb-0087-09 brief engine knock/rattle noise at cold startup, my car has this problem and needs the camshaft timing gear assembly replaced. I called "Toyota care" at the recommendation of the local Toyota service manager. Toyota care said my VIN number was not included in this tsb and that it is out of warranty. (my Corolla was an early 2009 production model, mfd in 2/2008, in service beginning in may of 2008 ( I believe) and that there is nothing they could do to help me. My VIN is not included in the range of eligible VIN numbers and is out of warranty. My Corolla has had the noise for a long time and only has appx. 60K miles on it, it is obviously a manufacturing flaw or error and Toyota should recall all 2009 Corollas for repair. The website toyotanation and corolland note many owners with the same problem. When the car cold starts it rattles for the first second like there is no oil in the motor, a very loud knock, this also occurs on warm starts after only a few hours of being parked, and sometimes while driving. My Corollas has had it's oil and filter changed every 5K miles since new; obviously not precipitated by neglect or abuse. Thank you for attention to this issue, sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #46

Oct 012015

Corolla

  • 93,300 miles
My 2009 Toyota Corolla has about 93,300 miles on it. After all the recalls that this vehicle has had, it also has been making noise every time I start it. Sometimes it is a loud screeching noise and sometimes it is not that loud. I am sick and tired of all these recalls and I am surprised they are not recalling this problem because from what I have read, many other owners are also having this issue with their 2009 Toyota Corolla. I will be taking this to the dealership tomorrow to see if they can fix it along with another recall that I got a letter for. There will legal actions taken if this is not addressed properly.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #45

Sep 212015

Corolla

  • 70,000 miles
Driving down the highway at 65 mph in my Toyota Corolla and the car lost all power and had to quickly pull over to the side of the road. The car was dead and would no longer go. Once it was towed to the dealers they determined that the water pump and stopped working for no apparent reason.

- Wilton, NY, USA

problem #44

Sep 112015

Corolla

  • 54,166 miles
Recently noticed the noise comes from engine compartment after start and during driving. During 5K maintenance service, I was notified that the water pump failed and needs replacement. The car was being driven gentally under normal condition at less than 55000 mile and 6.5 years. The repair is not covered by the 10-year powertran warranty comes with the purchase. Had to pay for the repair.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #43

Aug 312015

Corolla

  • 81,799 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While the vehicle was undergoing an unrelated recall repair, the technician advised the contact that the water pump was leaking and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 81,799. MA 10/22/2015

- Hotsprings Village , AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?