Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,442 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 022014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 58,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

01/02/2014 at 7:15am: Vehicle idled normally for approx 15 minutes while I cleared snow from driveway. I entered vehicle, put my foot on the brake and shifted into reverse. Accelerator suddenly went to full throttle. I managed to shift back into park and the engine RPM increased to red-line level. I shut off the ignition and the engine stopped. I re-started the vehicle a minute later and everything seemed to be fine. I checked the floor mat which was not close to the accelerator pedal. At least 4" away. My foot never depressed the pedal. I am a mechanical designer and I am convinced that this was not a mechanical issue. I never experienced any accelerator issues previous to this event. I am scheduling an appointment with my local dealer to look into this.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #12

Jan 102012

Corolla

  • 71,200 miles
My car recently got recall repair.after the repair done, my car became take a lot gas on driving.then I took back to dealer, dealer just said was fuel system need clean. I think that is big issue. Because after recall repair done. It take a lot gas than before if something I descrip not clearly. You can call me 404 645 5481. Thank you

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #11

Jan 312009

Corolla

  • 18,393 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The conact E stated that while driving at unknown speeds, she heard an unusual noise coming from the vehicle. The contact shut off the engine and restarted it, and the noise stopped. She also noticed that when attempting to brake in rainy weather or wet road conditions, there was an abnormal hesitation, an increase in stopping distance and the check engine warning light would illuminate. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the dealer advised the fuel sensor was causing the check engine light to illuminate. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were 18,393. Updated 10/27/10.

- Bedword, LA, USA

problem #10

Dec 222009

Corolla

  • 11,557 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla on Jan. 31, 2009. Immediately noticed "unwanted acceleration", the car wanted to go when stopped unless the brake was applied hard and did not slow down immediately when foot was taken off the gas pedal. Gas pedal did not always come all the way up when foot taken off, but would pop up if brakes applied hard. Cruise control did not work properly. Mentioned concern several times to Toyota service dept. They told me that what I was describing was normal for those cars. The car was in an accident on 12/22/09. Hit another car from behind. I think that the "not slowing down immediately when foot taken off gas pedal" was a contributing factor to the accident. There were no injuries but the car was badly damaged. Toyota sent recall notice but said VIN#'s beginning in J not affected. Our car begins with J. recently send letters to Toyota and waiting for reply.

- Pacific Palisades, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 012010

Corolla

  • 22,270 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) 2009 Toyota Corolla-VIN# [xxx]. on 02/13/10 I brought my car in for the recall with the gas pedal, they installed the accelerator reinforcement bar installation. I idd N ot have a gas peddle promble but brought the car in because of the recall. Since then I now have a problem when I come to a full stop and push down on gas pedal to go my pedal gets stuck I need to press hard to get it moving which I never had this before. I called Toyota today about this problem and I have a appt. March 11/10 to check it out.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Apr 012008

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. She noticed that whenever she added fuel to the gas tank, the fuel gauge didn't register that it was full. The computer chip failed to register the correct amount of fuel that was in the vehicle. She took the vehicle to the dealer three times for the failure. The dealer stated that they did not locate a failure and she should avoid adding fuel to it's capacity. The dealer also stated that if they take apart the gas sending unit they are not sure it that would determine the failure; therefore, no parts were replaced. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 17,200.

- Ravenna, MI, USA

problem #7

Nov 302008

Corolla

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the steering wheel was very loose and had a lot of "play" in it. Also, he was advised that the vehicle should receive a mpg rating of 35 for the highway. However, the vehicle only received approximately 27 mpg. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer had not been notified concerning the issue. The failure mileage was 2,000 and the current mileage was 13,000.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 272009

Corolla

  • 900 miles
Very often, my 2009 Corolla will have a very low idle, the car acts as it is going to stall. It shudders, the tach drops low, but then will come back up. It happens several times per week when I am either backing up or going from a stop into first gear. I have driven only manual transmissions for over 26 years, and this is the first vehicle I have owned that this has happened with. I fear I will be hit from behind, or T-boned when the car acts as if it wants to stall. It never has stalled, but it frightens us. As I mentioned, the car shudders, shakes when this happens to us. We feel it may have something to do with a low idle problem, either with the electronics or software. We have taken it back to the dealer a few times, but it's the famous "can not duplicate" answer. We only drive this vehicle usually from April to late October. We live in the snowbelt of Ohio and drive our 4X4 Jeep Nov. Through March. I also drive a 2001 manual transmission Honda civic, with never theses issues. I can't give incident dates, this happens frequently during each week, ever since I took delivery of this car in March, 2008. Again, this is a 2009 Corolla S.

- Geneva, OH, USA

problem #5

Jan 202009

Corolla

  • 40,000 miles
I was driving my 2009 Toyota Corolla. Once, prior to the event in question I had briefly noticed a lack of acceleration. I pressed on the accelerator and nothing happened. The car just quit moving forward. No noise or anything. But, in a few seconds, I tried again and it seemed normal so, I decided it was just my imagination. Then, in Jan /Feb I was coming home from the gym (thankfully not on the freeway) about 9pm on a city street traveling about 30 mph. I tried to accelerate slightly to the speed limit of 35mph and discovered (again, with no warning) that my car would not move forward. None of the systems worked steering etc. But at that speed I did manage to stop. I called 911 and the police stopped 3 lanes of traffic and pushed me to the side. I waited an hour for aaa and had the car towed to the Toyota dealer. It took them a whole day to decide it was an electronic problem and to "fix" it. I was scared to drive it, but I did for maybe another month before deciding that he constant fear of it happening again (maybe on the freeway) was not worth it. The dealer made me a "deal" on a trade for a 2010 Corolla. I drove this car until 2 weeks ago. I could not live with the anxiety of having another (in my mind) electronic failure. I am one who is convinced the Toyota problem is electronic and not related to mechanics. I now have a Ford. Thank you for your attention.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 282009

Corolla

  • 11,000 miles
Runaway Toyota...I was exiting I-8 E on lake murray exit in heavy traffic and while slowing the car suddenly accelerated and hit the car ahead which it turn hit the car ahead of it. No one hurt.

- Rancho Santa Fe, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 142009

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Toyota Corolla, "S" automatic transmission. The problem was initially identified by me when my car would not catch while on a slope in drive. The transmission would roll back. The dealership said this was normal due to a loss of pressure, however it would do it even if I barley stopped on a gradual incline for a few seconds. This has caused me to roll back unless I had one foot on the brake and one foot on the gas while to keep me steady to start. This happened at from the time I purchased the car. Recently, I my engine has been running really rough and winding at a high pitch while driving. It now intermittently goes between gears and downshifts automatically into gears that are not appropriate for the speeds traveling. This causes a drastic down speed, and example is I will be on the freeway traveling speeds between 50-65 and it will downshift and reduce my speed to 40 mph or less, then I will try to accelerate and it will redline out, as if I am in neutral and I will have no control to regain speed until it automatically pushes itself back into gear, and then increases my speed at a rapid pace, without me putting my foot on the gas. At this point, I am required to place my foot on the brake to control my speeds. The dealership has taken my car back twice and claimed to have fixed it twice based on the reads, but I have had the same problem. The reads on the computer will say that it is an electrical malfunction... however they can not identify where the malfunction is coming from. Parts have not been replaced and no repairs have been made to fix this at this time. Toyota is not assisting with the recall and I am left with lots of shop hours. Thinking about registering for the lemon law about my car, I drive apx. 1000 miles week and my car is not saving, consistent, and is a safety issue since have no control while my car malfunctions. I can only react to what is happening. It also makes a loud clunking sound, and a high winding sound when redlining.

- Wilsonville, OR, USA

problem #2

Nov 052009

Corolla

  • 16,273 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla. It accelerated while I was waiting for the traffic light to turn red to green. The RPM shot up so I put in neutral and then the RPM rapidly shot up to the red mark so the turn off the engine and parked it at my work since evening of 11/05/09.

- Encino, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 232009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla - floor mat (purchased at pepboys) got stuck on the acceleration pedal at maximum speed. The consumer also stated the gas lever inside the vehicle would not open the gas lid.

- North Wales, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?