Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,917 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #7

Nov 252011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact was traveling 5 mph when the vehicle suddenly surged forward without warning, causing the contact to crash into the rear of a preceding vehicle. The contact suffered injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The current mileage was 28,000 and the failure mileage was 25,000. Updated 03/22/12 the consumer also stated the air bag failed to deploy. Updated 05/11/12 updated 5/12/2012

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Aug 012009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the audio warning sensors would not sound when a warning was indicated. The dealer was contacted in regards to the failure, but stated that there was no failure with the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. In addition, the passenger air bag warning light would illuminate sporadically. The dealer reset the air bag numerous times but the failure persisted. The failure mileage was 2 and the current mileage was 3,500. Updated 07/08/11

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #5

Jul 272009

Corolla

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 15 mph on a dirt road the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the contact crashed into a moving vehicle. The driver side frontal air bag did not deploy and the seat belt failed to restrain the driver. The contact sustained injuries to her chest. The police report was not available. The insurance company destroyed the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified; however, they did not offer any assistance. The current and the failure mileages were 10,000.

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #4

Mar 272010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 29,002 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bags failed to deploy in an accident involving a head on crash at 70 mph front air bags failed to deploy. Car was smashed against concrete median barrier twice and side air bags failed to deploy. The consumer stated another vehicle caused the accident when it cut in front of a tractor trailer. That vehicle then spun around and hit the consumer head on. The consumers vehicle then spun out of control and hit the concrete median barrier and was tossed around and hit the barrier a second time before finally stopping in the far left emergency lane. Updated IVOQ 06/18/10.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #3

Feb 042010

Corolla

  • 18,240 miles
About 5:30pm on Thursday evening (2/4/10), I was driving home N on silver lake blvd & 36 St. It was lightly snowing, the streets were wet and slippery, and I was driving under 15/mph going downhill. As I pressed the brakes, the car went faster, and did not stop until I badly hit the car in front of me and went over the curb. My car is a 2009 Toyota Corolla. About 2-3 months ago, Toyota sent me a recall notice for the brakes, much before the nationwide Toyota recall hit the media. And now, even after I did recall a few months ago, this is the second time that such a brake-related incident has happened to me ever since the recall. I feel that this accident is related to another brake defect of the newly-replaced/altered brakes, and would kindly ask for it to be further investigated.

- St. Anthony, MN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Aug 242009

Corolla

  • 4,850 miles
Dear sirs, I had a mechanical failure caused vehicle collision where two safety hazards should call public alert. On Aug. 24, 2009 as I traveled on highway 93 South, I saw the vehicle in front of me took a sudden slow-down or stop, about 30 feet in distance, even as I floored the brake pedal, my 2009 Toyota Corolla did not have any brake function at all, even not a resistance force at the pedal. My vehicle reared another vehicle inside the tunnel of 93 South, under normal travel situation: Road surface and lighting. And then before the deployed airbag from the driving column could have blocked my body movement forward, it exploded, the inside of my vehicle filled with smoke and funny smells. Fortunately, nobody got serious injured in the collision. Since my Corolla is a new car under 4900 miles, this was the only time I experience the sudden mechanical failures. My insurance company, metropolitan property, has inspected the vehicle, but did not specify any mechanical failures. Toyota North America also had their personnel inspected the vehicle upon received my report to them, but they may not take any responsibility to pass the information to the public, as there is also liability issue within. So far no repair work has been done to the vehicle, yet. The simultaneous failures of both brakes and airbag could be very serious safety hazards, please take note of this case and make it available to the public. If possible, I would appreciate it if you could, or let some third-party mechanic to, have my vehicle inspected. Thanks.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #1

Dec 062008

Corolla

  • 10,327 miles
Last December in a total loss accident with my 2009 Toyota Corolla any of the air bag deployed as a result I had stitches on my head.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?