Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,594 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 17 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Jun 012009

Corolla

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The new 2009 Toyota Corolla has a steering problem. On a highway going faster than 60 mph, it is very difficult to keep the vehicle within the lane. If it deviates (which is normal) and a correction is made, the car over-reacts and the vehicle veers to the other side of the lane. Another correction puts the vehicle back to the other side. So the vehicle moves side to side. Straight line travel can be accomplished only with both hand firmly on the wheel and fixing you eyes on the road. The danger is when you are distracted, such as looking in the rear view mirror, adjusting the rear view mirror, changing a radio station, reaching for sun glassed, etc. Then the car heads out of the lane as a result of a continued steering adjustment. The dealers and manufacturer claim that this is normal because of the new feature, electronic power steering. However, the 2010 Corolla has another standard feature (which is optional for the 2009): Electronic stability control. My 2009 does not have this feature and I was never told of its possible benefit to the steering.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #39

Apr 152009

Corolla

  • 50 miles
Purchased a new 2009 Corolla S about 3 months ago from the local dealer in ardmore, ok. There is a steering problem with the new electronic power steering system on their models now. The driver has to make a constant adjustment in steering the auto to prevent it from constantly veering left or right as you drive on city streets or major highways. I met with the factory rep from Toyota and he states that this problem is created by the new design of their steering system with 0% variance for error. A master Toyota mechanic checked out the auto and attempted to make adjustment to correct, a case has been assigned by their service department stating that the steering is very oversensative. A case has also been filed with Toyota customer service. My problem still exists I have a new Corolla S parked in my garage with less than 400 miles on it due to the safety issue of driving this auto.

- Ardmore, OK, USA

problem #38

Jun 202009

Corolla

  • 390 miles
My new 2009 Corolla can not keep in a straight line when I am driving on highway. It wanders left and right so much that I have to control the steering wheel with great efforts, which makes the driving so tiresome. This problem is also reported by many other 2009 Corolla owners. It is definitely a safety defect. It is absolutely dangerous for the driver and other drivers who are driving near the Corolla. Toyota should fix this horrible problem to save the drivers in no time!

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #37

Jun 182009

Corolla

  • 5,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car has very poor steering. When driving on a paved highway, interstate 95, the car feels as if it is out of alignment, pulling to the right. I've brought it to the purchasing dealership and they haven't found anything. I feel as if the car is not safe, as to always having to correct the steering issue and to make sure the car is driving straight. The car was purchased brand new March 9, 2009 and currently has 6200 miles on it. Steering seems to be progressively worse.

- St. Francis, ME, USA

problem #36

Dec 132008

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 60 mph on normal road conditions, the contact experienced difficulty steering the vehicle. It required greater effort to turn the steering wheel. Unexpectedly, the vehicle gradually changed direction and pulled to the right without assistance. Whenever traveling 60 mph or greater, the failures would occur without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they rotated the tires and performed a wheel alignment on 3 separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer 3 times for identical failures, but there were no resolutions. The failure mileage was 25 and current mileage was 6,000. Updated 07/08/09 updated 07/08/09.

- River Ranch, FL, USA

problem #35

Jun 132009

Corolla

  • 1,800 miles
The steering is hyper-sensitive at highway speeds (55 - 75 mph). This has the effect of making the car difficult to keep centered in it's lane. Stated another way, the car always feels like it's being driven in high wind conditions. Thus far it has not felt dangerous however it is very fatiguing on highway trips. The steering feels fine during in town driving (up to 50 mph). Higher tire inflation paradoxically seems to slightly improve the car's highway steering behavior. My wife and I now remember noticing this behavior during the test drive; at that time we assumed that it was windy outside. Most of the driving we do with this car is in town.

- Lavista, NE, USA

problem #34

Jan 262009

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This Corolla S model always pulls to the left or right on highways. I have been having this issue since the day one. I have also noticed that when turning the corner the steering will not recover straight. I took it back to the dealer and first they haven't identify the issue. On my second visit I asked them to drive another Corolla S which was ok and the tech guy said he now knows what the issue was. But unfortunately he doesn't know the fix and told me it has to come from Toyota it self. Driving in this vehicle has become very hard for my wife. I really hope Toyota Toyota is actually taking this issue seriously.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #33

Jun 042009

Corolla

  • 1 miles
I bought a 2009 Toyota Corolla back in April 2008 and was excited about upgrading from a 20-year old Toyota Camry, which I loved. Ever since I've had the vehicle, I've also had the steering problems that many people have complained about on the web. Around town the steering on the car is fine. But once you get on the freeway, it becomes difficult to steer since you're constantly trying to correct the issue. I have not filed a complaint directly with Toyota nor have I spoken to the dealer because it appears that this issue is real and rather than deal with their condescending service managers, I'll simply wait for a recall from Toyota. I can't say that I've felt unsafe on the road, but more irritated by the horrible steering. I may not purchase another Toyota after all of this is said and done.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #32

May 152009

Corolla

  • 2,000 miles
I own a 2009 Toyota Corolla which has electric power steering. I've noticed that at higher speeds, in excess of 50 mph it is difficult to keep the car tracking down the road. It feels as if the wind is whipping it around all the time. The steering is too sensitive, much more so than older versions of the same vehicle which had traditional power steering. At times I feel that the vehicle is not safe to drive because of the constant need to correct its tracking. I think Toyota should recall the vehicle and correct this steering problem.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #31

May 292009

Corolla

  • 200 miles
This did not cause an accident, but my 2009 Toyota Corolla suddenly pulled to the left when I was on the highway. I noticed from day one that the car is hard to keep straight at highway speeds, to a point to where it is very frustrating, but when it pulled suddenly it became frightening.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #30

Apr 132009

Corolla

  • 2,106 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle veers to the left and right, instead of in a straight line. When other vehicles pass or in windy conditions, the contact struggles to maintain control of the vehicle. The manufacturer stated that no one else was experiencing this failure; therefore, they would not assist. The failure mileage was 2,106.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #29

May 222009

Corolla

  • miles
I just purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla le. I have previously owned a 1993 and a 2003 Corolla. The steering and handling were great in the 1993 and 2003 models. This new electronic steering in the 2009 model is scary. At high speeds and in windy conditions the car goes all over the road. On highways with grooved pavement the car jerks from side to side requiring constant correction of the steering. Toyota needs to be made to correct this problem. I have heard that new car dealers were increasing the tire pressure to 40 psi when the car was driven off of the lot to help cover up this problem. Sure enough when I checked the pressure in the tires it was at 40 psi. Thirty psi is the recommended pressure. I have driven many thousands of miles and this is the first car I have owned that I feel unsafe in at any time I have driven it.

- Model, CO, USA

problem #28

Apr 202009

Corolla

  • 100 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla - steering issues with the triptronic system. At highway speeds you have to correct and over correct to keep within the lines. The car constantly goes left right - left right. It is particularity bad noticeable when it is windy.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #27

May 182009

Corolla

  • 500 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla steering problems. Above 55 mph the car likes to wander all over the highway.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #26

Feb 162009

Corolla

  • 15,205 miles
We bought a 2009 Toyota Corolla in Oct of 2008. Noticed the touchy steering, but was told that was normal by the Toyota dealership. My daughter was driving it on a side street in huntington, wv when she hit a pot hole or a manhole traveling at about 15 to 20 mph. The steering locked up and she hit a parked car. It broke the ABS wiring harness and caused $10,994.79 damage to car. We then found out that the tires were bald at 15,000 miles and the brakes were very thin. Toyota had just service the car at 13,000 miles and did not tell me the tires or the brakes were bad. We do not know exactly what caused the steering to lock up. The repair shop could not tell us either due to the extensive damage.

- Milton, WV, USA

problem #25

May 112009

Corolla

  • 2,000 miles
In my 2009 Toyota Corolla ce the steering wheel will not remain straight when driving and lightly holding the steering wheel, the electronic steering wants to pull the car left or right, and you must hold a tight grip on the wheel at any speed to prevent the car from crashing itself left or right. Gave me a good scare when it seems to pull itself away from the road even with hands on the wheel. This is a ce model.

- Franklin, NC, USA

problem #24

Apr 152009

Corolla

  • 50 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla is a dangerous car. Steering is horrible.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 272009

Corolla

  • 594 miles
I purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla, a car that just about killed us. This car wonders from one side of the road to the other. When you go past 55mph the car becomes uncontrollably. I took this car back to the car dealer and they said everything on the car was fine but still the problem continues. Went back a second time and had customer service manager drive the car and she said the car's steering was out of control and something was definitely wrong with the car, also the service technician said there was a problem with the car. Dealer said the could not do anything about the problem. I called Toyota head quarters and they said the could not do anything about it. Some one is going to be killed in these car's. I believe it has to do with the electronic steering. My advise follow your lemon law per state. Don't give up....

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #22

Apr 272009

Corolla

  • 104 miles
I recently traded a 2007 Corolla sport because of steering difficulties that I thought resulted from 2 tires simultaneously going flat on the interstate at 70 mph. These tires had been installed by a local Toyota dealership. They had neglected to replace the valve stems. Since that incident I felt that the steering was "off." I took it to several dealerships and they all said the steering was fine. I decided to trade it for a 2009 Toyota xle. I just bought it last Thursday. The more I drive it, the more I notice that the steering is way off also! the car drifts in left/right directions with total unpredictability. It's like driving a roller skate or a skate board. It feels very dangerous. Now I'm not sure what to do. I did not purchase the 2009 I drove originally. They sold me one of F"the truck" that already had a sun roof in it, instead of installing one. I'm not sure what to do next. It's very scary!

- Mocksville, NC, USA

problem #21

Apr 042009

Corolla

  • miles
When the speed goes over 60-65 mph, the car tends to be pulled to different directions, wobbling and making me feel very unsafe to drive. Even if I'm holding the steering wheel firmly and steadily, the car would be pulled to right side, then next moment to left side.

- Iowa City, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?