Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,594 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 8 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #220

Dec 242009

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) 1. steering wanders both ways once the car picks up speed, about 100 kmh 2. apparently it occurs once my cellphone is on or proximity to the steering 3. serviced at Toyota, they said there are no problems with the steering frame no.: [xxx]

- Port Of Spain, 00, USA

problem #219

Mar 022010

Corolla

  • 2,600 miles
My 2009 Toyota Corolla sways from one side of lane to the other and oscillates up and down. This started first week of March. Dealer checked and says many Corollas of same year are doing it. My driver daughter is a new driver, car feels unsafe to me (experience 30+ years driver).

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #218

Dec 102008

Corolla

  • 10 miles
I purchased my Toyota Corolla S 2009 in December 2008 brand new at the menlove dealership in bountiful, Utah. From the very beginning I had issues with steering control when driving on high speeds (65-80 mph). It feels that I have to hold on to the wheel really tight otherwise my car is going to wonder into a different lane. Or it seems that the wind is blowing my car away while there is no wind. My alignment was and is fine. I am very nervous to drive, especially when there are many other cars around. It does add up to extra stress. And I don't feel safe. I drove other cars and none of them had that issue or gave me the feeling that I am loosing control over my car. My husband has the same experience. When I addressed the issue initially right after the purchase, I was told that possibly I have to drive it for some time "to break it in". it has been a year now, and the issue is still there. On February 27, 2010, I took my car back to the dealership to get the recall fixes done. I addressed the steering control issue, they took it for an extra day to test drive. When I got my car back, menlove representatives told me that the steering is sensitive but of course it is safe to drive unless Toyota comes out and tells otherwise. I hope that something will be done with this issue. I am afraid to take my car on long trips because of the steering control. Thank you for your consideration. [xxx]

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #217

Nov 182009

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was driving our Corolla sport in November 2009. While turning the corner at an intersection her steering wheel locked in the turning position briefly and then began to work again.

- Guymon, OK, USA

problem #216

Aug 312008

Corolla

  • miles
I own a 2009 Toyota Corolla. I bought it 8/2008 and noticed shortly after that it had major steering issues. I drive approximately 1000 miles a week to and from school on interstate 80 in Iowa. I'm constantly swaying back and forth like I'm driving drunk. It's even worse in the rain and snow and on windy days. I haven't been in any accidents (yet), but feel like one could happen at any moment due to the unsafeness of it. I also have several children and feel like Toyota should do something about it soon because every day I'm not only putting my life in danger, but my children as well.

- Marengo, IA, USA

problem #215

Sep 012008

Corolla

  • 2,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla (VIN=[xxx]) in August 2008. At higher speeds, it seems to steer like you are driving beside a large tractor trailer rig (I.e.: feels like the car is being buffeted by wind). I talked to my brother in-law and he said he had a similar problem once with a small light weight car. So I called the dealer and they said this was a typical problem with the Corolla and said I needed to purchase a spoiler. Now I am a civil engineer and think that the engineers that designed the car would have designed it to run without a spoiler at legal driving speeds. I did keep the tire pressure at 35 psi, but lowered it to the recommended 30 psi. This helped, but the problem still occurs at speeds of 65 to 70 mph which I drive on the interstate with traffic. I have no idea how the car drives at 65 to 70 mph without traffic. I think that there is a defect with the steering.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #214

Apr 072008

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2009 Corolla in April of 2008. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle I noticed the steering felt funny but I had never owned a Toyota before and thought it may just be something I would have to get used to. But the problem just continues to worsen especially at highway speeds. I constantly find myself gripping the steering wheel so tight that my arms and hands start cramping up because you never know what direction the car is going to decide to take you. Steering the car becomes very stressful. You can hold the wheel as straight as you possibly can and the car will weave all over the road. I feel very unsafe in this car and I am very concerned for my wife and daughter as this is her primary transportation. I know this problem is not related to tires or the vehicle being out of alignment because the problem has been there from the beginning and since I have replaced the tires and had the car realigned and nothing changed. I own a collision repair facility I'm not stupid like Toyota would have us believe. Also this is the third major safety concern with this particular vehicle first brakes then accelerator (of which my wife had her first encounter with about a week after we took the car to the dealer and had the recall work done guess it still isn't fixed) now you don't know whether you can keep the car in the lane. I took a chance on a Toyota because they had always been reliable and the vehicles seemed to last and now I fully regret stepping foot on the lot and once this is resolved I never will again I can never trust a company again that would lie to me about safety issues. Now there is no way possible to get rid of it because these problems have destroyed the value of the car. Toyota needs to buy this car back and dissolve the contract that they are in breach of. I bought a car based on quality and safety and was given a death trap. My 1995 Suburban is easier to keep on the road.

- North Salem , IN, USA

problem #213

Jun 142009

Corolla

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle pulled left and right. In order to steer straight, she would have to tilt the wheel to the right and when she stopped, the vehicle would move to the left or to the right. She steering wheel began pulling to the right and caused her to drive over a curb. She took the vehicle to the dealership four times and was told that she needed an alignment. They replaced the two front tires and told her that the alignment caused the failure to occur. The steering wheel has continued to malfunction since the dealer was unable to diagnose or repair the failure. She had not called the manufacturer to-date. The current mileage was 20,669. The failure mileage was approximately 13,000.

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #212

Dec 022009

Corolla

  • 100 miles
I have had trouble with my 2009 Toyota Corolla steering since it was new [ February-2009 ] I think the Firestone tires contribute to the problem but not only cause. I feel it's related to electronic power steering control. Not sure how to describe circumstance. It is mostly felt when you make turns and are accelerating into the turn the steering doesn't respond back and may cause you to go off the road. Maybe because the steering wheel needs to be turned back a lot to get back straight onto the road. Happens any time. I'm adjusting to this situation but don't like what may happen if it catches me off guard some day.

- Media, PA, USA

problem #211

Jan 022010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph. While steering in a straight direction the steering wheel required extreme force. Unexpectedly, the steering pulled to the left direction. The consumer lost control; crashed into a ditch and struck a tree. There were no injuries. The police was called to the scene. Also, the steering wheel moved to the left and right direction without assistance whenever traveling at any speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician was unable to replicate the failures. The failure mileage was 20,000. The current mileage was 35,000. Updated 4/7/2010 the consumer stated he had to constantly correct the steering left to right to keep the vehicle in the lane. 07//27/10

- Cape Coral , FL, USA

problem #210

Mar 012010

Corolla

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering in my Corolla does not feel right. It does not have any feel to it at all. Please recall this vehicle and make Toyota fix its problems. Eps was put in this car to save money for Toyota. It did nothing for the consumers.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #209

Mar 022010

Corolla

  • 1 miles
I purchased a new 2009 Toyota Corolla le in March of 2009. My car wasn't recalled for floormats or a sticky gas pedal but was recalled for a vacuum booster hose recall. My car is a Japanese unit and wasn't subject to those recalls. Im writing to you because the electronic power steering in this car is dangerous and should be looked into. The steering is extremely sensitive to minor inputs, wanders, and doesn't seem stable. Please investigate as this car isn't safe.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #208

Apr 192009

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
Steering wheel is straight and being held with both hands yet car is difficult to keep in the lane. This occurs everytime the car has been driven since it was purchased in April 2009 and can lead to accident.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

problem #207

Feb 202010

Corolla

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla. I have complained numerous times about the steering pulling one way or the other to my local Toyota dealer but they have always maintained it's fine. I finally looked up the problem on google and found other people are also having this problem. I recently drove the car to and from Florida and my arms actually hurt from fighting the steering, and I'm a construction worker. The problem seems to be getting worse.

- Montville, OH, USA

problem #206

Feb 262010

Corolla

  • miles
I am still waiting for Toyota to recall my car regarding the power steering or the problems with it. As many have indicated/complained, the power steering of my 2009 Toyota Corolla is so frustrating and nerve wracking. It's very unstable at high speed. It feels like there's always a high gush of wind pushing my car left and right. If safety is what Toyota is all about, I think the drivers of these cars, I for one of them, don't feel safe at all. I'm always nervous thinking that my car would pull on either side at anytime. I hope that they still have a record of my complaint. Brought my car to two dealership and both of them confirmed that nothing is wrong with the car, when in fact there is. I hope that whoever is investigating this issue try to drive my Corolla so that they find out themselves the problem that we're having. The car is very unsafe. Imagine someone who is a new driver driving this car? I think they'd have a nervous breakdown. &TR

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #205

Feb 242010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla. When driving above 60 mph the power steering is causing the car to wander out of the lane even when I hold the steering wheel straight. I have taken my car into the Toyota dealership three times since January 2009, however the problem still exist and has not improved. I called the Toyota dealer 2/26/2010 and was told they could not do anything until Toyota told them a solution to the problem. They told us they would fix the problem even after the warranty ran out at 36,000 miles. I have 14,000 miles on the car now, do I have to wait for an accident to happen? the car changes lanes on its own and it is hard to control it at speeds above 60 mph.

- Rocky Face , GA, USA

problem #204

Dec 272008

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
I was somewhat relieved to see that there, in fact, is an issue with the steering on the 2009 Corolla. I bought my first Toyota in Sept. 2008, which was a 2009 Corolla. That winter, I was driving across the state during the holidays. I was on the interstate going 75 mph, the speed limit. With no explanation, all of a sudden I lost control of my car. I hadn't done anything to lose control and there were no weather issues. I found myself skidding across two to three lanes of interstate trying to get control back of my car.. I easily could have flipped many times through a ditch and god knows what else. Thankfully there were no cars on either side of me when this happened. To this day it has haunted me on what happened that day as I have never been that close to what I consider a "near death" experience. I easily could have died that night and I realize that. I took my car in the next day to the dealer and asked them to look at it. They did and said they couldn't find anything. Please do a recall on this issue. It is a serious issue as I experienced it myself. I just wanted to share my experience in case it had any bearing on whether a recall is made or not. I will close this by saying that I can't help but be extremely disappointed in Toyota. I had never owned one and bought one because it is such a reliable brand. I'm possibly facing my third recall (first was brakes, second the accelerator and possibly a third with the steering) - all three major safety concerns. I will say that I do appreciate Toyota's willingness to make things right. It is the correct and ethical thing to do. Please hang in there and fix everything that needs to be fixed so we can all move forward safely.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #203

Mar 202009

Corolla

  • 0 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla le requires excessive concentration to steer at speeds over 60 mph on imperfect highways or in windy conditions. I noticed this immediately after purchase and had the car in to get aligned by brunswick Toyota. The alignment helped only somewhat. I took the car in to have it tested in marysville last spring, however the track was in good condition and the runs over 50mph were short. I don't believe it was a realistic test. Compared to my other cars (one being a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 pick up which steers better) this one requires full attention and if changing radio stations on a highway with lots of heavy truck use could cause a less experienced driver to veer into another lane.

- Seville, OH, USA

problem #202

Feb 132010

Corolla

  • 38,475 miles
While driving at highway speeds my 2009 Toyota Corolla pulls to the left as though it is very windy outside even though it is not windy outside. This happens every time while driving at highway speeds. I have done nothing to correct the problem because there has not been a recall.

- Faribault, MN, USA

problem #201

Jun 012008

Corolla

  • 1,500 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla. When traveling over 50 miles per hour, the steering is "loose" or uncontrollable. The vehicle can stray into other lanes of traffic. This has occurred almost everyday since I take the freeway to get to my place of employment. It is my understanding from the dealership that the response is: There is nothing we can do.

- Roseville, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?