Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,506 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #18

Apr 062011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 1,100 miles


The problem is with braking system or brakes in Toyota Corolla 2010 le. I bought the car in December 2010. When the brake pedal is pushed, the vehicle does not slow down or stop. It requires pushing the brake pedal further down to slow down the car or bring it to complete stop. It happens at all speeds. ABS is available in the car and is engaged. It ran 1100 mile only. I got it checked with the dealer and they told that there is nothing wrong with the braking system and that is how the braking system was designed in new Toyota cars ( requires pushing down the brake pedal further down and I can't believe this). I still feel that there is some issue with the braking system. I checked the recall list in and my vehicle VIN is not listed. I searched on the internet and found similar problem with Toyota Corolla 2010 model reported by many customers. The braking system is "power-assisted ventilated 10.7-inch front disc brakes; 9-inch rear drum brakes with anti-lock brake system (ABS), electronic brake-force distribution (ebd) and brake assist (ba)". I am scared to drive this car.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

Dec 222010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 96 miles
Our Japanese built 2010 Corolla has a dead spot at the top of the brake pedal travel. At all speeds, when first depressing the pedal, very little if any braking action occurs with the vehicle. Only after significant pressure has been applied to the pedal will the vehicle slow. This is actually more dangerous during low speed driving. The car has been to the dealer 3 times for this. There have been several adjustments made, and the brake system has been flushed with new fluid. It is still an issue. They have acknowledged that this is a characteristic of the Japanese built cars. I have test driven 2 Canadian built 2010 Corollas, and the braking function is much better. The braking components are not transferable between the 2 cars. I maintain that this is a design flaw of the Japanese built Corollas.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #16

May 052010


  • 10,200 miles
Anti-lock brakes go into a chatter, when wet, at low speeds, and do not stop the car very well. This has happened on more than one occasion.

- Norway, ME, USA

problem #15

Aug 052009


  • 100 miles


2010 Toyota Corolla le has brake problem on bumpy roads. The brake seems to have hit something when the car bumps due to road conditions, and affects the effectiveness of braking. A friend who has the exact model also has the same problem. Have complained to Toyota dealership and was looked at, but saying everything was normal; however, the problem exists.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #14

Jan 282010


  • 12,000 miles
I was going to work when my brakes stopped working, steering wheel locked, and car accelerated straight into a fence. Both my mother and I were injured. I got a Toyota specialist to look at the car, it took them three and a half weeks after the accident to send that specialist to look at the car. He then said the car was safe to drive. After I got my car back from the body shop I took the car to the Toyota dealership where I got it to get the brakes fixed and the accelerator pedal fixed. I have gone twice already and my brakes still aint fixed and giving me problem.

- New Britain, CT, USA

problem #13

Mar 092010


  • 7,264 miles
While my husband was driving my 2010 Toyota Corolla (purchased on 9/10/09) on miramar, pkwy in miramar, Florida, at 45 miles per hour a truck cut him off. When he hit the brakes to stop, the ABS locking system skipped and never fully stopped? had the truck not sped up to help him avoid hitting him, he could have been seriously hurt or even killed. I have taken the car to the dealership for a scratching sound (ABS) since 2 weeks of purchase (500 miles). On the first trip back to the dealership on 9/25/09, after 5 days and an hour and 1/2 driving with one of the mechanics, I was told that there was nothing they could do about the anti locking system, that is just the way they are. It has since been at the dealership 5 different times since date of purchase for a total of 15 days that I have counted for the same scratching noise and multiple other things, such as the steering, the tires rattling and balancing issues. When I called the dealership today (3/11/10) I was told by the service manager that my husband should bring in the car to try and duplicate the ABS braking system not working. Does he have to duplicate almost getting into a fatal accident in order for Toyota to fix the braking problem? I think not. I was then told that they can give me a prius as a loaner. Wow!!!! I traded in a 2002 BMW X5 for the reliable safe Corolla. What a huge mistake.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #12

Mar 102010


  • 178 miles


Toyota 2010 Corolla brake system failed. The emergency brake went on, while I was driving without me doing anything. The odometer stopped working, brake, check-engine, panic mode and airbag system lights went on. The failure has occurred twice already, first starting as a brake failure, then almost leading to the accident when everything failed at once. Almost got into an accident and I couldn't accelerate in the car. I took the car to the dealership and they gave me run around, they still don't know how to fix it or what's wrong with it. This car is beyond unsafe to drive, luckily it didn't lead to an accident and injuries both to me and other drivers.

- Santa Fe Springs, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 222010


  • 154 miles
While driving a 2010 Toyota Corolla le the steering wheel unexpectedly jerked away from my control. In addition, the power steering and braking system is making strange sounds, such as hissing, pings and cracks. I took the car to Toyota dealership and mechanic stated it is probably the electrical system. He also stated that Toyota will probably recall car due to complaints with powersteering. Due to the above issues and recent recalls on my car, my wife and I don't feel safe and secure in car. We are scared of dying like other Toyota owners have in the past. We would like a full refund of $17, $209.97 from Toyota motor sales usa.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #10

Feb 092010


  • 5,000 miles
Toyota Corolla S 2010 [xxx] with extra stabilizer bar kit, purchased 11-30-09 with delivery in 12/09. 1) approximately 1 month after purchase, the car starting to veer sharply right then left when driving on the highway, it was/is difficult to control requiring a tight grip on the wheel. It feels like strong winds are moving the car but winds are absent and road conditions are normal. This event comes and goes unexpectedly, generally lasts the duration of my commute once started, sometimes occurs with the tire pressure gauge but not always, sometimes occurs after rapid braking. It does not feel like an alignment or balance problem, the car darts from one end of the lane, to the median of the lane on its own. On this date 2-24-10 my local dealership filled the tires, and made a slight change to the left alignment they could not duplicate the problem and stated "this could be a matter of personal preferences" regarding how I felt the car drove when this occurred. The Toyota manager also told me today that they understand "there could be a problem but they have no direction on how to repair it." When asked then if he could guarantee my safety and that this would not occur again he stated no, but there was nothing for him to do. No injuries to date. I do not feel Toyota is making reasonable efforts to quickly eliminate this problem, acknowledge a problem, and do not wish to resolve this with statements regarding my personal preference for the drive, and since this in their opinion is not reproducible for them it is not a viable problem for them to repair. 2) on approximately 2-11-10 I had to use my brakes in an emergency situation in which my brakes were temporally non-response. I had to downshift the gears, remove my foot totally from the gas pedal, and maneuvered the car away from the other stopped car. No ABS was felt, the brake pedal was depressed fully, this occurred at hwy speeds. No acknowledgement of problem or remedy proposed by toy currently.

- Sardis, MS, USA

problem #9

Feb 232010


  • 5,400 miles
At low speeds, especially on uneven or slick payment, the brakes and/or anti-lock brakes fail and the car will not stop. This usually lasts only a second or two. I purchased the car this October and noticed the issue soon after. It will happen a few times a week. I have returned it to the dealer twice for inspection, and they insist that there is no issue. I have had the accelerator pedal fixed for the recent recall. Tonight, the brakes failed again for several seconds this time and I came very close to crashing into the vehicle in front of me. I was going 25-30 mph on wet pavement and was unable to stop the car when I applied the brake.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 222009


  • 100 miles


Purchased a new 2010 Corolla 4-door sedan S; immediately a problem with the brakes and steering was noticed upon first long drive. When depressed the brakes would go all the way to the floor. Steering the car in a straight line down the freeway was almost impossible without constant corrections, I call it nervous steering, which after more than 50 miles because very stressful and tiring. Purchase date 8-22-09. The vehicle was returned to the nearest Toyota dealership located in victorville, California early Sept 09. The brakes were examined and after certain corrections the brake pedal is better but not perfect. As for the steering..the technician says it's within normal parameters...what every that means. There is definitely a defect with the steering system; after reviewing the vehicle brochure regarding the steering system it reads "electric power steering (eps) helps gives Corolla steering response that's effortlessly accurate" however nothing could more from the truth. It's been my experience after 7000 miles on the odometer...that when steering the car down the highway...the car will literally leave the lane your driving in which requires steering correction to keep it in the driving lane you're traveling. The brochure further reads that "eps also eliminates hydraulic-assist components that can reduce fuel economy" however I would say at what cost...if this new system renders the steering process a very nervous and tiring experience for the driver. A fatigued driver is an unsafe driver...I credit the fault with this new system "eps" as a potential disaster waiting to happen. It's my assessment after owning this vehicle now 6 months...that Toyota needs to revisit this "eps" system and consider returning to the former hydraulic-assist may more costly for them to build...but at least it worked. I bought this car because it had a reputation for safety and reliability however it's been the absolute worst purchase ever imagined.

- Oak Hills, CA, USA

problem #7

Dec 182009


  • miles
I have a 2010 Corolla it constantly sways while driving at freeway speeds. Sometimes I need to hold onto the steering wheel with both hands to keep it from going into another lane. I switched from driving a small VW beetle and was familiar with strong winds causing these problems but when I looked out the window there was no wind all the trees were still and no flags were waving. There has been a couple of times when I really felt the car was going to swerve out of control if I didn't immediately slow down. I also feel a metal grinding sensation with my brakes when I slow down over uneven pavement or go over a speed bump. This doesn't happen every time but in the past 2 months that I've had the car it occurred 6 times. I told the Toyota dealership about these problems and they said it couldn't be duplicated and that there was nothing wrong with the car. Which is completely ridiculous there hasn't been a time that I've driven on the freeway and not felt this swaying. They didn't even try to find a problem. They didn't do a thing to help me. Than I heard of other Corolla owners having the same problems. So I know it's not just me, there is a problem with my car and they need to recognize they made another mistake.

- San Martin , CA, USA

problem #6

Oct 102009


  • miles
When I was driving over a pothole or uneven ground less than 2 weeks after buying a new 2010 Toyota Corolla the brakes would grind and stopping would not be immediate. I took it back to the dealer who could not find anything wrong. I was told that new brakes often make noises. I explained that this was far from a normal noise. Still, they assured me the car was safe, which I do not believe. I have had the car for a little less than 5 months and the brakes continue to grind over uneven ground. It will continue to grind until I release my foot from the brake, even if I am no longer on uneven ground. The car will slow over the uneven ground, but will not stop as expected, especially given that this is a new vehicle. Also, yesterday morning I started hearing a "tick" sound coming from the brake pedal. It happens mostly in stop-and-go traffic.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #5

Oct 122009


  • 8,000 miles
Since I bought it in October my 2010 Toyota Corolla base model has been extremely difficult to keep on the road I go over fifty and it feels like a big wind in constantly trying to push me off the road, I pay alot of money for this car and I don't trust it at all, when I stop or attempt to it makes a loud almost ABS type sound very often and the brakes are extremely touchy and I feel this car is just a unsafe device what's next these cars are junk and poorly made.

- Cherry Point, NC, USA

problem #4

Feb 022010


  • 5,705 miles
I have Toyota Corolla 2010, bought in August 2009. I had a brake problem with this car existed from the beginning. My problem with brake was first like a suspicious case and initially unbelievable for me.that's why I was doubt at first! I never believed 2010 Corolla (I am owner) could have this problem. So I put off with that for a while. However, I realized the fact after traveling to California to visit my sister and I rented a car (Volkswagen) over there. When I was driving the car, I found out how sharp the brake of the car was. At that time I felt the difference between sharp and properly-working brake and failed brake. Other unusual experience with this Corolla is that when I was driving the car in uneven roads the brake was going down completely with generation of such odd sounds like cracking of two pieces together! therefore I realized something really wrong with the brake. The brake being weak and not working properly. I called Toyota dealer and told them the problem. Also, in tri-monthly schedules for checking the car, I told them I do not like the brake, it is not good, not sharp, slow to action, but they told me we checked everything and all is fine! nothing done to fix the brake failure. Unfortunately there are no any records of these conversations to the best of my knowledge, just I have a receipt that shows I brought the car for checking and they checked it. After that, I continue to driving, but once again, I realized the problem still exists. My next appointment for bringing the car for checking was February 7th on Sunday. I was going to tell them I can not stand with this problem and I am concern about this, but unfortunately I got an accident on Feb 2th. I was in slow line, my speed was slow (not more than 25M/H), however, when the car ahead of me stopped, I could not stopped correspondingly due to pre-existing brake failure. I hit the rear of the car. Fortunately the police officers mentioned the issue of "brake failure" in their report.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jan 222010


  • 15 miles
Brakes unresponsive, requires depression of pedal to the floorboard before brakes begin engaging. Occurs at all speeds. Safety concerns regarding the safety and effectiveness of the brake system.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #2

Feb 022010


  • 800 miles
1) events leading up to failure: I purchased a new 2010 Toyota Corolla on Jan 1st 2010. I drove the car for 1 approximately 1 month before experiencing problems with the brake/acceleration. On Jan 30, 2010 I noticed that the car would sometimes accelerate initially before braking when I hit the brake. On Feb 2, 2010 I was involved in a collision on interstate 5 just after the la jolla village dr entrance. Traffic was heavy, moving at an average speed of 20mph. When the car in front of me stopped, I hit the brake and my car accelerated into the back of the car in front of me. The car is currently undrivable and in the repair shop.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #1

Jan 042010


  • 7,000 miles
Failure of brakes when going over bumps in the road. This is an ongoing problem that has happened quite frequently. I live on a dirt road which is wash-board bumpy. I also experience the same problem pulling into my parking spot at work which is bumpy. The brakes fail and the car makes a noise when going over the bumps. After the bumps, it corrects itself. No cars I have driven over the same conditions has exhibited this problem. I heard about the prius problem and that was the exact problem I had experienced. I am not sure how long it has happened, or how many miles I had on the car when I noticed it the first time. All I know is that it is still happening.

- Anza, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?