If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,388 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #88

Mar 092011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have made complaints do the dealership during multiple 5000 mile check ups on my brake grinding. When stopping on uneven surfaces or wet surface my brakes will periodically make a grinding noise which I can feel a vibration up through the pedal that shakes my leg. Passengers can feel and hear these incidence as well. However, the dealership cannot duplicate this problem when the vehicle is being serviced and therefore they see no problem. On today's visit I have requested a brake system check which I was informed that the only thing they could find was the ABS when pressing brakes hard. However this incident happens to me when I am coming to a slow stop not when drastically pressing the brakes. I was not satisfied with this and there was nothing more they could say but this is what it is and there's nothing they do about it.

- Alabaster, AL, USA

problem #87

Mar 172012

Corolla

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the driver attempted to decelerate as the engine rpms increased rapidly. The contact mentioned that in order to stop the vehicle, the driver had to shift into neutral and engage the emergency brakes since the brake pedal failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Pinetops , NC, USA

problem #86

May 122010

Corolla

  • 350 miles
Since about a month after purchasing my 2010 Toyota Corolla in April of 2010 I have had several experiences with the brakes when stopping on multiple surface types, including wet road, uneven surface and under normal conditions. The brakes make a grinding sound and seem to skip as I push down, slowing my braking time and making me feel like I'm going to not be able to stop. The grinding was so severe that it vibrated though my leg. My vehicle is no longer under warranty however I did take it into the dealership while it was covered and they informed me that in order to repair it they would need to duplicate the problem while driving the vehicle. Of course they weren't able to make it happen, did a brake inspection and said it was all just fine. Shortly after this visit, the brakes did the same grinding when stopping as had happened before. I am a conscientious driver and treat my vehicle gently and there is no reason this should be happening to a brand new car. We need more attention placed on this problem and a recall must be issued before there are multiple casualties. Also what I don't understand is how there was a recall for the 2010 Corolla for a similar issue with the brakes but they excluded certain states that are in proximity to states where vehicles were recalled. How can they be sure other vehicles weren't affected?

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #85

Feb 072011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 207,201 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased the car Jan. 2011, within the first 2 weeks, I had the first experience with vibration in the brake pedal when applying on uneven surface. In addition to the vibration there is a hesitation in braking. This problem has happened multiple times, mostly on uneven surfaces. Last week I had to stop suddenly for a deer and I really noticed how long it took to stop the vehicle. In addition, the noise (almost liking grinding) was very loud and the pedal vibrated. I have already taken the car back to the dealership and they assured me the brakes were fine. I have just made my second appointment. How do I ensure they fix this to proper safety standards?

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #84

Oct 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
When I purchased this vehicle, I immediately felt an awkwardness with the brakes. Anytime I began to stop & the road was less than perfect, the brakes locked up & I seemed to slide to a stop. The feeling was almost like stopping on gravel or hydroplaning, just no control felt. When I complained about this, I was told that's how the new brakes are (I had previously owned an older vehicle) & the brake inspection found nothing. I have been in two mvas prior, once I was rear ended & the other time someone ran a stop sign & hit me. 10/12/11 I rear ended another vehicle & was also rear ended in the proocess. When I went to brake suddenly that day, the car slid into the vehicle in front of me. I am a very conscientious driver. I have always been told that when someone rear ends another vehicle, it is automatically their fault. I have since purchased another new vehicle, different manufacturer, and being told the Toyota brakes were right, couldn't be further from the truth. 10/10/11 I had lab work performed & was diagnosed as being pregnant. This accident two days later, the airbags didn't deploy, either. The hood of the car came in through the windshield on me, the car has been deemed a total loss. There were two faulty Toyota parts that failed me and my unborm child that day-the brakes and the airbags. I get to have surgery 10/28/11 to remove the now nonviable child from my womb. I equate this loss to the failures on Toyota's part.

- Stephenville, TX, USA

problem #83

Oct 172011

Corolla

  • 101,623 miles
At approximately 0600 on the above date I experienced a violent and near uncontrollable momentary disrupture of the ABS/esc systems of my 2010 Toyota Corolla. Vehicle shook violently, steering locked and ABS and esc control lights on dash lit up while I was making the transition from IH37 South to IH35 South in san antonio, tx. I was able to regain control by letting off of the brakes and throttle thus coasting through the left hand turn and barely missing the retaining wall. This is not the first time this has happened, the first was only days after purchase of car. Local dealer maintenance personnel stated "we can't find anything wrong with the car." During the warranty period the problem has been brought to the attention of mccollums Toyota five other times all with the same "we can't find anything wrong" reply. Complaints of soft brake pedal brought a similar "that's normal" retort each time the vehicle was in for service. After the warranty expired, front rotors and pads were replaced because they were found to have worn/groved approximately 1/8" deep per side (not reported by dealer), not from metal to metal contact but just wear from pads friction material. Pads still had 1/2" of friction material on each. Replacement of rotors and pads from auto zone made things better until now. Request ABS/esc software be checked on all 2008 to 2012 Corolla/Scion tc models along with check of materials used in pads and the rotors. Oem rotors taken off car will be available until 15 Jan 2012. 36,000 miles on a set of rotors and pads are a little extreme when I have over 125,000 on my GM's rotors and 165,000 on my Ford's rotors with pads needing replacement around 45 to 55 K.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #82

May 242011

Corolla

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds and attempting to decelerate, the vehicle would not stop. As a result, the contact was involved in a crash in which she rear ended another vehicle. A police report was filed, but no injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where they were unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact also stated that after operating the air conditioner, a foul odor was emitted into the vehicle. The vehicle was again taken to an authorized dealer, where they were unable to diagnose the failure, but the air filter was replaced. The failure and current mileages were approximately 13,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #81

Jun 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Last month, in June, I had a problem with my 2010 Toyota Corolla. I pulled out of a parking lot and was not going fast. I was approaching a steep hill and wanted to brake but I could not. In order to stop the car and avoid the hill, I crossed to the other side of the street into someone's lawn in order to give the car enough friction to stop. I ended up hitting a slope and the car stopped... but not from my brakes. Since I was going very slow, no one in my car was hurt. One of the passengers in my car told me to try again. I drove the car around the lot and the brakes worked. It has been almost a month and Toyota recently sent out a third party to inspect the vehicle. The car is currently sitting on my dealerships lot. They did not find anything wrong but I am absolutely sure that something is wrong because I pushed down on the brake the entire time before I hit the slope in the lawn. I am still waiting to hear an official response from Toyota, the actual company.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #80

Jan 102011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Grinding noise coming out of the front brakes due to warpage in the front rotors.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #79

Oct 302009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 25 miles
I own a 2010 Toyota Corolla with 10,000 miles on it. I bought the car new from a Toyota dealership in October 2009. Immediately after buying the car, I started noticing an abnormal tingling when hitting the brake pedal coupled with a loud grinding sound coming from the brakes immediately after I hit a little pothole at my condo. It feels and sounds as if I were doing something wrong by pressing the brake pedal. I took the car to the Toyota dealership and they told me that was the ABS being activated and that it happens when I brake after hitting a pothole or a bump or on a rough terrain, and that the grinding sound and tingling brake pedal are normal. It does not feel or sound normal at all and the tingling pedal can make a driver avoid hitting the brake pedal because it feels and sounds like doing something wrong, which may lead to a crash.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #78

Jan 052011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2010 Corolla with brake issues. Whenever I go over a pothole or other bump at low speeds (under 25mph), the car makes a grinding 'metal on metal' noise. It feels kind of like tingling under your foot... similar to a pulse. The car 'jumps forward' a small bit before it slows down to a stop. I find the 'jumping' issue very unsettling. It is like the car accelerates slightly even though you are using the brakes and trying to slow. The major issue is that the car does not stop--the brake pedal feels disengaged while it grinds and pulses. I have had my car serviced and they tell me it is the ABS and there is no problem. But obviously there is a problem and other people are having this issue as well. I have driven the 2005 Corolla model, as well as other cars with ABS brakes, and never encountered brake issues like this. I feel very unsafe in my 2010 Corolla and honestly, may try to trade it in even though I've only had it a year and would be losing a lot of money.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #77

Dec 312010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph when the brakes were applied but the vehicle did not stop until it crashed. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The driver suffered a serious injury. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop where the contact was told that the brakes were not functioning. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 5,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #76

Oct 272010

Corolla

  • 700 miles
I bought a 2010 Corolla S model in Oct 15, within a month I have experienced a strange noise coming from under the vehicle, this happened when turning at low speeds and going over a speed bump at low speed I have less than 1,000 miles and have heard this noise three times. Very concerned bought this vehicle new!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #75

Nov 092010

Corolla

  • 5,886 miles
I have a Toyota Corolla 2010, I had it since June 2010, . I went through a major car accident on hw 1 ca @ 8:45 am on Tuesday which was a sunny, clear, not foggy nor rainy day (weather condition was perfect),I was driving on 63 mph (normal speed is 65) on the fast left lane and suddenly I felt that the left front tire is veering the car into a different direction acting as if it below up (but it didn't) and my car is veering to the left, my steering wheel is locked and is not responding at all when trying to change the car directionto the right. There was no way to drive the car in a straight line. The steering wheel failed completely to respond to any attempt to turn it to the right in an attempt to gain control over the car and attempting to drive it in straight line. Brakes as well were not responding. All attempts to stop the car or turn it to the right to avoid bumping the rails and keep it straight in the lane failed. I completely lost control over the car & it started fishtailing in the front. The car didn't stop until it bumped into the guarding rail, at this moment the car just stopped and it took the car more than 20 feed to automatically stop by it self. I failed to stop it.at this moment the car corrected its direction &went in straight line direction scrubbing against the rail completely damaging the entire left side of the car before it stall. Then all the dash board lights and car sounds went on and the car stalled. The car was not in a drivable condition so I had to tow it away. I have a witness who described my accident saying that my car kept swerving to the left & was ambiguously uncontrolled, he was the one that took care of me after the car bumped the rail. This accident is a life threatening accident not only for me but also for others on the hw. I was lucky it happened on my way home after I dropped off my son to school, the two car seats I had in the car were damaged, the car damage was estimated by $10,000. I suffer from a severe pain.

- Marina, CA, USA

problem #74

Mar 142010

Corolla

  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when she driving in the city at 30-40 mph, the vehicle would downshift when she took her foot off the accelerator pedal; it would slow down as well as if the brake pedal was being depressed. Also, the contact noticed that when she attempted to brake, the ABS would suddenly activate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership three times for the downshifting problem but the dealer stated that the problem was normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for the braking problem but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 5,400. The failure mileage was approximately 50.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #73

Aug 142010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while the vehicle was in a stopped position, the brake pedal extended to the floorboard. On two occasions, the vehicle moved forward when the brakes were engaged. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the vehicle was designed to lose pressure and the brake pedal to fade. The dealer also stated that there was no remedy for the problem. Another dealer confirmed that information. The failure mileage was 600. Updated 01/24/11 updated 04/21/11

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #72

May 032010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
Purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla used from a Toyota dealer with under 5000 miles on the car. The third day I owned it the brakes began to make excessive noise. The car has been taken to three separate dealers all who fail to recognize or fix the problem the brakes sometimes shudder on uneven pavement or if braking on a slight curve. An official complaint has been made to Toyota. The noise is excessive and loud and type of noise you would hear after 30,000 miles when in need of brake replacement. On the third visit to a dealer, a technician rode in the car and positively identified the noise. They then claimed to have taken apart the wheels/brakes only to claim there is nothing wrong with them and refused to replace the brakes under the existing warranty even though the problem has been reported since the vehicle was purchased. Because the brakes make such a loud noise so frequently, it would seem the car may be unsafe to drive. Also, although the car was purchased through the Toyota dealer and as an owner I was registered with their online owner site, I was never informed of the latest safety recall, and didn't find out until the car was taken in a third time for the brake issue. The problem remains ongoing.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #71

Jul 122010

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated when depressing the brakes and releasing, there was an abnormal clunk noise. The noise had not caused a defect in the vehicle but the contact was concerned that in the future, the vehicle could possibly exhibit a braking failure. The dealer advised there were no failures within the braking system. The vehicle was not repaired. A failure did not exist in the vehicle but was noticed when the vehicle had only accrued 1 mile. The current mileage was unknown.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #70

Jan 172010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds and applying the brakes, she heard a loud noise. The failure became progressively worse over time. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the problem could lie in the computer; however, they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was approximately 11,300. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.

- Columbia Falls, MT, USA

problem #69

Jul 052010

Corolla

  • 9,237 miles
I was sitting at a stoplight with my foot on the brake waiting for the light to change to green when suddenly the vehicle surged forward into the back end of vehicle in front of me resulting in damage to my front end and very minor damage to other vehicle. No one was injured.

- St. John, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?