Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,736 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #7

Mar 102010


  • 178 miles


Toyota 2010 Corolla brake system failed. The emergency brake went on, while I was driving without me doing anything. The odometer stopped working, brake, check-engine, panic mode and airbag system lights went on. The failure has occurred twice already, first starting as a brake failure, then almost leading to the accident when everything failed at once. Almost got into an accident and I couldn't accelerate in the car. I took the car to the dealership and they gave me run around, they still don't know how to fix it or what's wrong with it. This car is beyond unsafe to drive, luckily it didn't lead to an accident and injuries both to me and other drivers.

- Santa Fe Springs, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 012010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 6,300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla le. While sitting idle in the parking position, the vehicle momentarily lunged forward. While traveling at various speeds as low as 50 mph, the vehicle would veer to the right. Also, the keyless remote, which also acts as a vehicle locator, would only operate intermittently. Often, the vehicle locator alarm would go off on without driver input. The dealer advised changing the batteries in the keyless remote. That did not correct the failure. The dealer then attempted to reprogram the keyless alarm sensor and advised the locator could only be used for short-range locating. No further repairs were performed on the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were approximately 6,300. The consumer stated the brakes did not perform as designed. Updated 07/19/10

- Ben Salem, PA, USA

problem #5

Jan 282010


  • 468 miles
I have been taking my Corolla to the dealership almost every week since 01/28/2010 and every week I complained about how the car was drifting side to side and how on low windy days I have to fight the steering wheel to keep it in its lane at speeds above 65mph. And every time I take it over there they say "well the car is working to factory standards" and they will send me on my way. I have had my brakes bled and my car alignment done twice and the car only has 2000+ miles on it. So I took the car back to the dealership from where I bought it and they gave me this cust states vehicle is all over the road at highway speeds like the computer is driving the car on its own ~|~performed health check on all systems. No trouble codes stored. Test drove vehicle on 10 mile trip and ~|~vehicle performed as designed at this time. Please direct customer to Toyota at 1-800-331-4331 if they have any other questions. So I took the car back and called the # to them and they said since the tech could not find the problem then there is no problem. Bull. So on 03/01/2010 I took my car back in to the dealership to have someone go on a drive with me and I made sure it was a windy day so they can see how hard it is to keep the car centered in its lane. The mechanic that went with me said oh I see what you are talking about he even had a hard time keeping the car from wondering off. So he said well it could be the tires are not to the right pounds. I said nope I had the air done to factory standards of 35psi all around. So he said he will need the car for over a day and scheduled appt for me to come in I took it back on 03/03/2010 and haven't had my car back since then. They still have my car in the shop as I type. So there is definitely a problem with the car. I feel like I can hurt or even kill someone in the car because of it. I have had more problems with this car and its not even 60 days old yet. Plus I already had the recall done on it too.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #4

Feb 252010


  • 210 miles


Correction and addition to my 1st complaint. Yesterday I had to drive my husband home from the hospital and unfortunately I had to get on the hwy. The car road home was more worrisome than his surgery! the eps in the 2010 Corolla is just as dangerous as the other Corolla I had before it. Its blowing all over the road, taking me into other lanes, I almost hit other cars on the hwy, my husband got all distressed in the car and begged me to get him home so he could get out of my car which he now has dubbed a death trap. The car basically veers in and out of the lane your in. Its like trying to drive in the road ruts only there wasn't any because our stretch of hwy had just been paved with black tar and all was flat and nice on the road surface but the car still took me all over and im not alone when I scream to you please im begging you to come to my house and drive my car!!!!! I can guarantee you will recall this model as well!!! this is dangerous!!! no person should have to get see to there car blowing around like a kite in the sky. Im begging you please come drive my car!!! this is dangerous and I feel like im going to die in this car.

- Fuquay Varina, NC, USA

problem #3

Jan 222010


  • 154 miles
While driving a 2010 Toyota Corolla le the steering wheel unexpectedly jerked away from my control. In addition, the power steering and braking system is making strange sounds, such as hissing, pings and cracks. I took the car to Toyota dealership and mechanic stated it is probably the electrical system. He also stated that Toyota will probably recall car due to complaints with powersteering. Due to the above issues and recent recalls on my car, my wife and I don't feel safe and secure in car. We are scared of dying like other Toyota owners have in the past. We would like a full refund of $17, $209.97 from Toyota motor sales usa.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #2

Feb 092010


  • 5,000 miles
Toyota Corolla S 2010 [xxx] with extra stabilizer bar kit, purchased 11-30-09 with delivery in 12/09. 1) approximately 1 month after purchase, the car starting to veer sharply right then left when driving on the highway, it was/is difficult to control requiring a tight grip on the wheel. It feels like strong winds are moving the car but winds are absent and road conditions are normal. This event comes and goes unexpectedly, generally lasts the duration of my commute once started, sometimes occurs with the tire pressure gauge but not always, sometimes occurs after rapid braking. It does not feel like an alignment or balance problem, the car darts from one end of the lane, to the median of the lane on its own. On this date 2-24-10 my local dealership filled the tires, and made a slight change to the left alignment they could not duplicate the problem and stated "this could be a matter of personal preferences" regarding how I felt the car drove when this occurred. The Toyota manager also told me today that they understand "there could be a problem but they have no direction on how to repair it." When asked then if he could guarantee my safety and that this would not occur again he stated no, but there was nothing for him to do. No injuries to date. I do not feel Toyota is making reasonable efforts to quickly eliminate this problem, acknowledge a problem, and do not wish to resolve this with statements regarding my personal preference for the drive, and since this in their opinion is not reproducible for them it is not a viable problem for them to repair. 2) on approximately 2-11-10 I had to use my brakes in an emergency situation in which my brakes were temporally non-response. I had to downshift the gears, remove my foot totally from the gas pedal, and maneuvered the car away from the other stopped car. No ABS was felt, the brake pedal was depressed fully, this occurred at hwy speeds. No acknowledgement of problem or remedy proposed by toy currently.

- Sardis, MS, USA

problem #1

Aug 142009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 50 mph on normal road conditions the engine warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument control panel followed by an unexpected engine stall. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician replaced the computer module. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were 50. Updated 01/05/10 the consumer stated the engine warning light did not come on until after the incident occurred. The consumer was in the fast lane when the vehicle stalled and he had to push the vehicle off the road. The dealer found an internal short in the ECU. Updated 01/07/10.

- Port St. Lucie , FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?