Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,966 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Apr 152016


  • 49,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving 59 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle shook violently. The contact stated that the vehicle would lose control, but regain normal function soon after. The contact heard a loud noise at the time of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Monterey, CA, USA

problem #33

Feb 092016


  • 142,675 miles
The vehicle was in motion on freeway taking my grandson to practice it was heavy traffic alot of breaking every time I would break my breaks felt like they would lock everytime I would break. I got concern got off freeway called dealer to inspect my brakes. Results they discovered my rotors were warp and that was the cause recomended I replace rotors but did not find reason how rotors got that way.other issue my cv axles right and left front wheels are clicking loud every time I make a turn they sound like they are going to come apart, this was also discovered at inspectionwhen brakes were inspected.I have never wreck this car, I have never gone over any curbs or exc I am a careful driver look at my driving record. I cannot drive car in this condition.tthis car has defualted parts and are malfunctioning it is in dangering me driving it. My request is for Toyota Corp to repair this now before any accident happens as a result of these parts that are defaulted.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #32

May 172010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 25 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving various speeds, the vehicle would swerve to the right and left. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the vehicle was functioning normally. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 25 and the current mileage was 43,749. Updated 03/05/14 the consumer also stated the vehicle would hesitate at times, and it wouldn't accelerate. There was a burning smell coming from the vehicle, an issue with the ignition and the front end.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #31

Oct 152013


  • 73,000 miles


Prematurely failing: Struts (repaired summer of 2013), water pump (repaired 10/15/13), brakes (repaired 10/15/13), and alternator (yet to be repaired).

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #30

Sep 202013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Premature wear of front struts. Needed both front struts replaced at 50,000 miles. Per the service department at the dealership the front driver side strut was completely blown out.

- Norton, MA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Jun 072012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the front passenger side of the vehicle began to vibrate violently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated both front struts were leaking oil. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 7/15/13

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #28

May 012011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving various speeds, the contact stated the vehicle would move from side to side any either direction without moving the steering wheel. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 8,743 and the failure mileage was 4,000. Updated 02/06/12 the consumer stated the vehicle would wander into the next lane. Updated 03/07/12

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #27

Aug 102010


  • 3,000 miles
Loose steering, and bouncy suspension.

- Herriman, UT, USA

problem #26

Jul 162010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 3,630 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V023000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The contact stated that after repairs, the vehicle would hesitate intermittently when attempting to accelerate from a complete stop or when accelerating while in motion at low speeds. The contact attempted to apply more force to the pedal but the vehicle was hesitant to increase in speed. In addition, the accelerator pedal was modified when repaired under the recall and the contact stated it was difficult to apply pressure to the pedal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed they could install a new accelerator pedal but the dealer was unsure if the repair would correct the failure. The dealer reset the internal computer but did not make any repairs to the pedal itself. The failures continued to recur intermittently. The failure mileage was 3,630 and the current mileage was 7,444. Updated 12/01/10. The consumer also stated the front of the vehicle wanders all over the road. Updated 12/13/10

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #25

May 102010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla. Consumer states several problems with the vehicle related to tires and accelerator the consumer stated she had to take the vehicle back to the dealer several times to get air in the tires and to have the wobbling of the vehicle examined. The consumer stated on May 10, 2010, the accelerator pedal became stuck when she attempted to stop at a red light. The vehicle was hesitant to stop. The consumer stated she had to apply extreme pressure to the brake and she also had to use the emergency brake to get try and get the vehicle to stop, but it wasn't in time and consequently, she hit an 18 wheeler. Updated 07/29/10.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #24

Apr 202010


  • 400 miles


I'm also making a followup to my original complaint #10302584. These Corolla's have a serious built in problem! you (ODI) started an investigation in Feb. Stating 168 complaints on the steering in 09 and 10 Corollas, there are now almost 500!!! 95% of them say the same thing! car wanders, feels like it's windy when it's not, car steers on its own, wanders both left and right, feels like it',hydroplaning, constant correction needed, feels like I don't have control, and on and on and on. Why don't you have Toyota send a questionnaire out to Corolla owners and ask them how their car drives on the highway? I saw a friend driving one almost identical to mine today and asked him how his handled on the road and he described the same feeling. I suggested he tell the dealer and also file a report on this site. The dealer says Toyota is investigating but nothing is happening yet. Couldn't ODI speed this up a little. I took mine in at 400 miles and they said nothing was wrong and offered me 14000 trade in against a used Camry (I paid 17800) now, at 7000 miles they offer 12500 I'm bleeding bad and don't know what to do. Please help me and other Corolla owners. Thanks for listening to my rant.

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #23

May 042010

(reported on)

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator tester on behalf of constituent re Toyota (direct response to billings office) the consumer stated the vehicle would drift out of the lane he was driving in. The vehicle pulled to the left or right at times. During inclement weather, the vehicle was very difficult to steer. At low speeds the vehicle steered fine, but it was highway speeds where there was a problem. The dealer patched a tire and rotated them, but the steering problem continued. Another dealer discovered one of the tires had 5 psi more than the other tires, they also made some adjustments to the rear end. The consumer was then advised to put weight in the trunk and to get snow tires. After the work was completed it seemed a little better, but the vehicle still wandered into the next lane. The consumer went back to the first dealer and was told the steering issue was a design problem and there was nothing they could do.

- Conrad, MT, USA

problem #22

Dec 262009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 5 miles
Bought a 2010 Corolla on 12/26/09 with Goodyear Eagle ls 2 tires. Upon driving home my steering was weaving left to right felt as though I was driving on ice and/or hydroplaning. Toyota regional rep came from corporate, looked at the steering 2 wks ago. Steering improved until driving in rain on 4/4/10 the steering became loose and the car was weaving left to right and I was once again hydroplaning at 65 mph Goodyear man said when traction is lost to the road, the vehicle will hydroplane. (these tires are dangerous) the consumer stated it was very difficult to control the steering. The vehicle would wander into the next lane. The consumer also stated the vehicle did not always stop in time when the brakes were applied. The consumer was told the vehicle was equipped with ABS and they were much better and safer. Updated IVOQ 03/10/11

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #21

Apr 072010


  • 150 miles
I bought a Toyota Corolla 2010 le on 04/03/2010, and when I drove it on the freeway first time, I was shocked/scared the way was steering/handling. I almost had two accidents with it because of the steering issue. When I drove it on the freeway I saw that the car is loosing balance (the back car shakes), I found stability problems (as if I drive in strong winds), and big steering problems (as I learn to drive a tricky bicycle). To get and maintain an almost control on the car direction I have to Focus my actions as my Corolla has only two wheels like a bike. I almost act as an equilibrate for a rope dancing. The experience of driving my Corolla showed that I have limited control over it, and most control I lost when I had to use sudden brakes at high speed - it was like on the ice. Back jumps and I stir in same direction; back jumps again in the other direction and I change the steering in the other direction too, and so on. These events occur almost every time I drove with speed around 60 miles/hour on the freeways that are not straight. The consequence is that I am afraid to drive my new car because I am not able to control it, and I risk an accident. I went to Toyota dealer, they said that they know the situation from other customers too, but nothing they can do about it. Please investigate this issues until is not too late, and people make accidents and injure. Thank you.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 312010


  • 23,000 miles
Our 2010 Toyota Corolla wanders all over the road like you are driving in a heavy cross wind. The dealer says it is the road but we drive approx. 3000 miles a month on a lot of different roads and is the same.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #19

Dec 092009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately between 55-60 mph down an incline. The vehicle began to shake with a loud clicking noise during braking. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on two separate occasions for the identical failures. The vehicle was repaired under the service warranties. The dealer stated the clicking noise was a normal response. The technician was unable to duplicate the shaking motion. The vehicle ha not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 13,000. Updated 8/2/10 the brakes were replaced twice. The consumer also stated while driving at highway speeds, the front end of the vehicle would shake. Updated 08/11/10

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #18

Mar 062010


  • 3,425 miles
2nd complaint different problem. 2010 Toyota Corolla purchased 9/10 made wide rt turn off exit ramp at steady35 mph off hwy. Onto another hwy. Then resumed 60 mph. Front of car wobbled noticeably. Got home ok. Have been driving car to work but not on hwy or at hwy speeds and if feels ok. Have appt at dealer to have this problem looked at along with stiff steering.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 282010


  • 468 miles
I have been taking my Corolla to the dealership almost every week since 01/28/2010 and every week I complained about how the car was drifting side to side and how on low windy days I have to fight the steering wheel to keep it in its lane at speeds above 65mph. And every time I take it over there they say "well the car is working to factory standards" and they will send me on my way. I have had my brakes bled and my car alignment done twice and the car only has 2000+ miles on it. So I took the car back to the dealership from where I bought it and they gave me this cust states vehicle is all over the road at highway speeds like the computer is driving the car on its own ~|~performed health check on all systems. No trouble codes stored. Test drove vehicle on 10 mile trip and ~|~vehicle performed as designed at this time. Please direct customer to Toyota at 1-800-331-4331 if they have any other questions. So I took the car back and called the # to them and they said since the tech could not find the problem then there is no problem. Bull. So on 03/01/2010 I took my car back in to the dealership to have someone go on a drive with me and I made sure it was a windy day so they can see how hard it is to keep the car centered in its lane. The mechanic that went with me said oh I see what you are talking about he even had a hard time keeping the car from wondering off. So he said well it could be the tires are not to the right pounds. I said nope I had the air done to factory standards of 35psi all around. So he said he will need the car for over a day and scheduled appt for me to come in I took it back on 03/03/2010 and haven't had my car back since then. They still have my car in the shop as I type. So there is definitely a problem with the car. I feel like I can hurt or even kill someone in the car because of it. I have had more problems with this car and its not even 60 days old yet. Plus I already had the recall done on it too.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #16

Mar 052010


  • 3 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla, purchased Jan 2010 wanders greatly at hwy speeds. Requiring constant corrections. Toyota denies problem.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 142009


  • 400 miles
I bought Corolla 2010 in Oct 2009. I had the problem of it wandering and hard to keep the car in the lane. I took it to dealership and they told me it was alignment problem. After it was there for a day it started wandering in the other direction. Then they told me it could be tire pressure and took it back to the dealership. I still have the same problem and it wanders at speed above 50 mph. I saw there have been more reports about it and I hope Toyota does something about it.

- Metairie, LA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?