Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,618 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Jun 022016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #58

May 202016

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #57

Jun 182016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #56

Aug 172016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - Toyota is refusing to provide me a replacement vehicle until they can fix the airbag. They claim they are not obligated to fix the vehicle until at least 6 years have passed. Because my vehicle was purchased in November 2011, they will not give me a replacement until November 2017. This delay makes no sense because the airbag degrades with heat. The vehicle has been sitting in a dealership parking lot under the hot sun of Texas since the beginning of 2011 and the degradation does not start at the sale date.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #55

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #54

Sep 092016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall: I received a notice from Toyota in July advising me of the airbag recall. I called my dealership and no one seems to know what's going on. I then sent an email to Toyota corporate. Incident # 160908-000084. I received a call from them and during the call, I was advised not to let anyone ride in the passenger front seat. They were also unable to give me any idea when the replacement might take place. Documentation on their website indicated a possible 2019 solution. It is unreasonable and unacceptable to be advised not to carry passengers in case of an accident that could cause metal to discharge and maim or kill them. I need my car and I sometimes Transport passengers. Toyota should replace the faulty airbag with one that won┐T possibly kill my passenger or me. While they are replacing the airbag, they should also provide me a loaner at no charge to me until my car is safe to drive.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #53

Sep 142016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - we have not had a specific incident with our car, but it is our primary vehicle and we need it to be safe for long distance travel. It has been a reasonable amount of time since we received our notice (06/09/16) and we would like to get this issue resolved immediately for the safety of ourselves and our family.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #52

Sep 012016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair front passenger airbag recall notice (16V-340).

- Vega Baja, PR, USA

problem #51

Jul 012016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. I received the letter from Toyota in July, advising me of the recall. I called my dealer and they said they had not received the replacement airbag from Toyota so they could do nothing. It is unreasonable and unacceptable to be advised that I should not have passengers in the car in case the airbag spews out metal. I need my car and I sometimes must Transport passengers. It is unacceptable to be told to either not drive my car and to not have any passengers. Toyota should replace the faulty airbag with one that works safely. Meanwhile, and while they do replace the airbag, they should loan me a car at no change until my car is safe to be in, and also loan me a car free of change while they replace the airbag

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #50

May 012016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V34000 (air bags) was received in may of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #49

Jun 072016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 11/01/16

- Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #48

Jul 012016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The dealer was unable to provide the parts within a reasonable time frame. The manufacturer was unable to provide a reasonable time frame to supply the parts to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #47

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #46

Aug 282016

Corolla

  • miles
"takata recall". front passenger airbag inflators.I received the notice regarding this issue and have yet to receive a notice to. Take my car in to have this airbag replaced. I did not think it is fair that I have to wait until long- term exposure to environmental moisture & fluctuating high temperatures happen before the propellant in the airbags degrades causing an injury to my passenger/S I would like for Toyota to replace this airbag. I did not purchase this car to put my passenger/S safety at risk & I should not have to tell my passenger/S that they have to sit in the back. I am not a taxi or chauffeur.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #45

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall: 8/27/2016 Toyota says both in print on the safercar.gov site and in a call I recently made to manhattan beach Toyota that there is currently no remedy for my potentially deadly takata airbags and that they have no idea when there will be a remedy available. This response is completely unacceptable to me and extremely irresponsible. I want to know in detail what steps Toyota is taking to develop a solution to replacing my dangerous airbag. I want to know the timeline for replacing my airbag, or at least an estimate of how long I will have to wait for a new airbag. I have worked many years in a professional retail corporate setting, and I am absolutely certain that the answers to these two questions are being discussed and planned at Toyota. In any retail business, customers come first, and I deserve to have the best answers available at this time. Hearing nothing is breaking my trust in Toyota. We have purchased 4 Toyota over the past twenty years, and want to remain loyal customers.but we are becoming increasingly frustrated with Toyota's lack of response. Sincerely, dr. Norman unrau Mrs. Cherene unrau

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #44

Jun 302016

Corolla

  • 0 miles
Car can not pass state inspection due to recall for airbag and has ben months without it.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #43

Aug 222016

Corolla

  • miles
Toyota is not providing a solution to the air bag recall other than not to drive the car.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #42

May 232016

Corolla

  • 115,000 miles
Takata inflators cause vehicle to be under recall called the dealer for replacement vehicle they said dont ride passengers but this is my family only car and have kids plus 8 month preganant women in vehicle

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #41

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall I am concerned for the safety of myself and my children. We live in zipcode 92234. Temperatures reach well over 100 degrees daily. It would not be right to wait until too late for me and my family's vehicle to be corrected. It is urgent that something be done to resolve this issue with our vehicle. We cannot go on daily hoping our vehicle airbag doesn't rupture and injure my children and I. anxiously waiting for your response. Lauren lopez email: Lopezl521@gmail.com

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 272016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/19/16 updated 10/24/16.

- Pointe-Ale- Hache, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?