Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #11

Aug 142016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


I was almost crushed by my car while performing an oil change. I had the car jacked up on the passenger side using the stock jack. This was in my garage on level concrete. I drained the oil and replaced the oil pan plug with no issue. I went to to loosen the oil filter cap with the speciality socket cover I ordered online. I made sure to spring out the metal clip that prevents a lose cap from coming off. I went to torque the cap lose and it did not budge. Keeping in mind when torquing ones force is going to the back of the car. I gave the wrench another good push and the noticed the car wobbled. I pulled out immediately and in the next 5 seconds the jack gave way. The stock jack looks to be designed to handle side to motion but not that much back to front. There doesn't seem to be a way to preloosen the cap before raising the car either. Either way please look into this. I could have died today and want to raise this as an issue. Thank you.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #10

Oct 312015


  • 10,900 miles
My car was hacked almost killing me. Cyber attack 10/31/15 as I was driving the battery/alternator kept draining forcing me to pull over to side of road. A strange gas also was periodically spraying out of vent fogging windows w/white film making it difficult to see & breath. Each time I pulled over car recharged itself on grass/dirt. At least the 8th or 9th time this happened the steering wheel jerked to right & w/in 1-2 seconds I went from 45-50mph-0 like hitting invisible building in middle of road. Pushed gas pedal to floor, not enough speed to pull off road. No lights, power, engine died. My body was jarred forward abruptly. A red light started blinking & beeping at bottom of consul & gas started coming out of vent again. I struggled to get out of car for fear of being hit from behind as it was pitch black out, also wanted to get cat out car which I left in field before police & ambulance arrived. I had blood down to socks. I was in hospital 1 week and no accident report was filed, my cat is still missing. I called dealership to report mechanical/electrical defect & was avoided/resisted for 3 1/2 weeks/over 30 hours on the phone before it was suggested I call manufacturer & another 2 weeks before they cooperated & filed claim. This has been a full time job trying to get someone to take responsibility. I sell real estate & cant work/earn money with no car. 12/11/15 Toyota sent inspector to place car was towed to pull info off data recorder. 2/1/15 I still have not received report. I have 3 year one pay lease expiring 9/2016, no money & no car. This has been an absurd, brain draining exhausting waste of time w/no end in site. I've reached out to ftc, consumer protection, govenors/senators...I just wanted them to take responsibility, loan or give me a car while they inspect and have had zero recourse to date. They want to sue me for cost of car/impound/storage fees.

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 292015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 21,500 miles
Dec 27 2015 around reno nv. It happened three times that day. I was breaking gently to come to a stop (because of a stop sign). The shifter was in "D". when the car speed decreased to around 10mph, the engine suddenly accelerated and the car lurched forward. I applied maximum pressure on the brake pedal to stop the car. The car stopped, the engine was idling after the stop. After the stop, everything went back to normal, till it happened the 2 other times this day (same scenario). Dec 29 2015 in South lake Tahoe ca. I was driving at around 10mph in heavy traffic in downtown. Shifter was in "D". the car in front of me stopped. I depressed the brake pedal to stop. At that point the engine suddenly accelerated in full force. The car lurched forward. I applied full force on the brake pedal and at the same shifted in neutral. My car stopped just a couple inches of the car in front of me. Now in neutral and the car halted, the engine is redlining hitting the rev limiter and staying there. I shifted to "park" and turned off the engine. Waited for about 5 seconds. I started the engine and stayed in "park", immediately the engine revved up to red line and stayed there. I turned off the engine and waited about 5 seconds. I started the engine a second time, same thing, engine shoots up to red line and stay there. I turned off the engine and waited about 10 seconds. I started the engine a third time. This time, the engine stayed at idle and I could go normally. At the times of the problem, the temp. Was around -1 degree celsius. After the last occurrence, I stopped and checked if anything was in the way of the gas pedal. Nothing was in the way. Happens only at low speed, when you try to stop the car. This last occurrence decided me to write to you because the car put me in an unsafe situation and we very little time to react.

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 182015


  • 50,000 miles


My vehicle does not accelerate properly it almost stalls I thought the battery was bad but even after replacing it im having the same issues Toyota does not admit having any issues with this car for this particular problem. Also the air copressor is needing to be replaced but the vehicle is so new its hard to find the part.

- Waco, UT, USA

problem #7

Oct 072014


  • 10,500 miles
My 2013 Toyota Corolla was involved in a collision on 10/07/14, in which my son was driving the vehicle. The other driver made a illegal left turn in front of my son. The vehicle sustained massive front end damage. Majority of the front end was caved in, yet the airbag did not deploy. My son sustained some injuries and sought medical attention...updated 12/11/14 updated 06/2/2015

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #6

Oct 192014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 6,410 miles
While driving West on highway 50 at 65 mph at approximately 7 pm, I turned off the cruise control and the motor stopped at the same time. The car immediately began to slow down and I attempted to restart the motor, which was impossible with the car in gear (automatic transmission). The emergency lights were then turned on as the cars behind were honking their horns and other cars were passing right and left. We were in the second lane with the headlights, also on, of course. I tried starting the car in neutral and that didn't work. When we came to a full stop, I put the car in park and started the car. Everything went well after that.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #5

Aug 012013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles


When accelerating to pass another vehicle the engine misfired and I had no power to continue passing the vehicle. This has been fixed several times at the dealer but continues to happen.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #4

Jul 102014


  • 19,800 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the power steering intermittently failed without warning. The vehicle became increasingly difficult to maneuver. Also, the contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 19,800.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #3

Jul 242013


  • miles
Was trying to reverse and all of sudden the car just turns off..driving on the freeway and the accelerator is taking for ever to pick up this all stared from the day I bought it I call in right away and they told me that I was not able to take the car back.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #2

Jun 252013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 4,882 miles
In the past year this car has exhibited multiple occurrences (52 documented) of delayed acceleration from 1 to 3 seconds when pressing on the accelerator pedal. I have tried to get Toyota to acknowledge and repair the problem unsuccessfully as the car has been covered under original warranty throughout this time. Multiple drivers have attested to the defect. In ncds arbitration Toyota claimed pauses were due to the "traction control" or "electronic vehicle stability control" kicking in and reducing power to the wheels. This couldn't be the case as in none of the incidents did the instrument panel lights which come on when those features activate light up. Most of the incidents occurred on dry, asphalt, and straight roads and non-hurried driving. This problem is a safety hazard as it occurs intermittently and random without warning.

- Eagle Mountain, UT, USA

problem #1

Jul 062013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 600 miles
*steering* I went to visit my dad & run some errands in la county on July 6th 2013. I reside in orange county so I had to get on the freeway. The speed limit on California freeways is 65 miles per hour. When I got up to 65 miles per hour my car started veering off to the left & I had keep a firm grip on the steering wheel with both hands to keep the car in my lane. The speed limit in irvine on most streets is 50 miles per hour. I don't seem to have the veering problem at 50 miles per hour or less like I did at 65 miles per hour. Very scary. *engine problems 2 times so far* on 8/14/13 I tried to start my car to run an errand & it wouldn't start. I turned the key towards me & tried to start it again then it started right up. I thought that it was a one time incident so I let it go. Earlier today 8/17/13 the same thing happened. I put the key in the ignition, turned the key & nothing happened, it didn't start up. Once again I turned the key towards me then turned it in the opposite direction & it started right up. I just bought this car on 6/9/13 & after the test drive it had 5 miles on it when I drove off of the dealer's lot "power Toyota cerritos" aka autonation. I currently have 649 miles on my car. I plan on contacting the dealership service dept on 8/19/13 to make an appointment to have my vehicle inspected. If this problem persists I'm going to contact a lemon law attorney. I have a disabled child that I use this vehicle to Transport to & from doctor's appointments. I bought a Toyota because of the reputation of dependability that the name carries. Now I'm not so sure.

- Irvine, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?