Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,787 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #14

Sep 102015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that there was a failure with unintended acceleration when the vehicle was idling high while at a stop or in drive. The contact had to ensure that the brake pedal was applied with force to ensure that the vehicle would not surge forward. The vehicle was to be taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were not available. Updated 06/29/16

- Paradise, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 312015

Corolla

  • 10,900 miles
My car was hacked almost killing me. Cyber attack 10/31/15 as I was driving the battery/alternator kept draining forcing me to pull over to side of road. A strange gas also was periodically spraying out of vent fogging windows w/white film making it difficult to see & breath. Each time I pulled over car recharged itself on grass/dirt. At least the 8th or 9th time this happened the steering wheel jerked to right & w/in 1-2 seconds I went from 45-50mph-0 like hitting invisible building in middle of road. Pushed gas pedal to floor, not enough speed to pull off road. No lights, power, engine died. My body was jarred forward abruptly. A red light started blinking & beeping at bottom of consul & gas started coming out of vent again. I struggled to get out of car for fear of being hit from behind as it was pitch black out, also wanted to get cat out car which I left in field before police & ambulance arrived. I had blood down to socks. I was in hospital 1 week and no accident report was filed, my cat is still missing. I called dealership to report mechanical/electrical defect & was avoided/resisted for 3 1/2 weeks/over 30 hours on the phone before it was suggested I call manufacturer & another 2 weeks before they cooperated & filed claim. This has been a full time job trying to get someone to take responsibility. I sell real estate & cant work/earn money with no car. 12/11/15 Toyota sent inspector to place car was towed to pull info off data recorder. 2/1/15 I still have not received report. I have 3 year one pay lease expiring 9/2016, no money & no car. This has been an absurd, brain draining exhausting waste of time w/no end in site. I've reached out to ftc, consumer protection, govenors/senators...I just wanted them to take responsibility, loan or give me a car while they inspect and have had zero recourse to date. They want to sue me for cost of car/impound/storage fees.

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 272015

Corolla

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Corolla. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle accelerated rapidly without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired, but no failures could be found. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #11

Sep 062015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle acceleration and brake system issues. The consumer stated she had her right foot on the brake and released the emergency brake. When she put the car in reverse it accelerated backwards across the pavement, hit the curb, accelerated forward, went across another paved lane, hit the curb and ended on the grass. The vehicle had three blown tires and a severely damaged rear bumper.

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #10

Aug 132015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,597 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Corolla. While reversing out the driveway, the brake pedal was applied and the vehicle independently accelerated to a high rate of speed. The vehicle crashed into bushes and a residence. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The manufacturer requested the data recorder to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was to send a technician to the contact's residence. The approximate failure mileage was 13597. MA 10/16/15 the consumer stated on two occasions, the vehicle accelerated out of control. Updated 03/01/16.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 192014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 6,410 miles
While driving West on highway 50 at 65 mph at approximately 7 pm, I turned off the cruise control and the motor stopped at the same time. The car immediately began to slow down and I attempted to restart the motor, which was impossible with the car in gear (automatic transmission). The emergency lights were then turned on as the cars behind were honking their horns and other cars were passing right and left. We were in the second lane with the headlights, also on, of course. I tried starting the car in neutral and that didn't work. When we came to a full stop, I put the car in park and started the car. Everything went well after that.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 072014

Corolla

  • 38,565 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while exiting a gas station, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact engaged the service brakes but failed to stop the vehicle. The contact swerved in and out of traffic to avoid vehicles and went over the left hand median before coming to a stop in the opposing lane. The air bags deployed. The contact suffered neck swelling burns on both wrist and mild back pain which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The manufacturer and dealer were notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 38,565. The VIN was not available.

- Hampton , VA, USA

problem #7

Sep 202014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 50,004 miles
I was driving my daughter and her 2 friends to gwinnett fairground today around 7:50 pm. As I approached a turning lane just before davis road, the car accelerated and hit the truck in front of me. I tried to hit the brake but the speed was too much and the car wouldn't stop until it hit the truck. Thankfully, everyone in the car was fine and we alighted the car without any injury. As a result, the entire front bumper, the front of the care was damaged which affected the driver side front side of the door. Toyota corporation need to recall 2013 Toyota for engine problem related to unintended acceleration.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #6

Aug 162014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle accelerated on its own. The consumer stated there was some damage to his/her house and car.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #5

Jul 242013

Corolla

  • miles
Was trying to reverse and all of sudden the car just turns off..driving on the freeway and the accelerator is taking for ever to pick up this all stared from the day I bought it I call in right away and they told me that I was not able to take the car back.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 252013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 4,882 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the past year this car has exhibited multiple occurrences (52 documented) of delayed acceleration from 1 to 3 seconds when pressing on the accelerator pedal. I have tried to get Toyota to acknowledge and repair the problem unsuccessfully as the car has been covered under original warranty throughout this time. Multiple drivers have attested to the defect. In ncds arbitration Toyota claimed pauses were due to the "traction control" or "electronic vehicle stability control" kicking in and reducing power to the wheels. This couldn't be the case as in none of the incidents did the instrument panel lights which come on when those features activate light up. Most of the incidents occurred on dry, asphalt, and straight roads and non-hurried driving. This problem is a safety hazard as it occurs intermittently and random without warning.

- Eagle Mountain, UT, USA

problem #3

Mar 262014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden surge problems. The consumer stated as she slowly pulled into a parking space, she took her foot off the accelerator and let the vehicle coast slowly into the parking space, before applying the brake, the vehicle suddenly surged forward into a snow bank. The consumer was unable to get the vehicle out of the snow bank, when she put the vehicle in reverse. Once the she got help, she noticed the bumper had broken off and the driver's side fender was detached from the vehicle at the seam.

- Lake Placid, NY, USA

problem #2

Oct 202012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Speed control disengages and decelerates rapidly without warning on highway upgrades at approximately 65 mph. This model is a manual 5 speed. When the dealer was contacted, their service manager responded that they had received several similar complaints on this model, but that Toyota had not provided any updated program to correct the problem at this time. The deceleration is not a slowing based on weight, but a total disengagement of the control, which is likely to result in a rear-end collision from behind should any vehicle, regardless of size, be following at even a recommended distance. This has happened in this vehicle on 4 occasions, and from what the dealership acknowledged is a chronic problem, inherent to the 2013 Toyota Corolla and other models that share the same program.

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #1

Apr 042013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 4,164 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while at a stop with the brakes depressed, the vehicle accelerated and the contact crashed into the wall of a private residence. The contact sustained injures to the right leg and the front passenger sustained a sprained back muscle. A police report was not filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic for body repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,164.

- Orem, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?