Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Toyota Matrix is the mechanical twin of the Pontiac Vibe.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,920 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Matrix seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Matrix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Matrix Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Aug 172015

Matrix

  • 107,270 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice for passenger air bag inflators which may be defective when in contact with moisture. I received this notice 8/15/15 but the date of the recall on the website is 6/15/15 - a difference of 2 months! I called the Toyota recall hotline and was informed that there is no remedy for my location, even though I informed the representative that my car was purchased used and came from a beach area in southern California - a humid and moist area. I was informed that there is no estimated date when parts will be available in my location but to not allow passengers in the front seat. This is certainly not reasonable and very inconvenient. It is ridiculous to have a recall and not have prepared by ordering necessary parts. I am extremely dissatisfied with the "Toyota experience" and am more than peeved that I have to wait for who knows how long to fix the situation. Until then, what do I do? I use my car for work and frequently drive clients, friends and relatives to various locations.

- Cedar Ridge, CA, USA

problem #62

Aug 052013

Matrix

  • 100,000 miles
I do not know the exact date or mileage because I just discovered this site but my dealer would know. My airbag sensor light randomly comes on and stays on for several days to a week. I had dealer look at it and they said there was no problem....just a faulty light or something and nothing needed to be fixed. Also, clock now works off and on. I am concerned because after reading information at other sites, the information says that the airbags will not work if the sensor light is on. I have also read that the airbag sensor light and the clock are connected. I do not want to spend over $400 to replace a clock but it's a whole other story if my airbags will not work without a functioning clock that doesn't mess up the airbag sensor. I don't even know who to ask since the dealer doesn't seems to realize this either.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #61

Jun 102013

Matrix

  • miles
Two months ago, I read a newspaper article about takata airbags, searched my VIN in the federal web site, and discovered that my 2005 Toyota Matrix had been recalled because of potentially-lethal takata airbags. I immediately contacted both the Toyota dealer that services my car, and Toyota corporate. They assured me that I would be receiving written information about the recall, which would be mailed out that week, but had nothing else to offer in terms of addressing the safety of my car. Two months later, I still have not received a recall notice from Toyota. When I have spoken with the dealer or Toyota corporate, they tell me they have no idea how long it might be before the parts are available or the technicians trained to replace the faulty airbag. Toyota also refuses to provide any remediation in the meantime -- no loaner car, no disabled airbag, nothing. The only reason I know that my car -- which I share with my son -- is potentially lethal is because I happen to have checked my VIN after reading an article in the newspaper. It is also unclear to me whether the driver of a car with the faulty airbag could be injured or killed if the passenger airbag deploys. Toyota's incompetence and irresponsibility in not notifying Toyota owners, not arranging for replacement parts, not offering any interim remediation, and not training technicians to make necessary repairs is ludicrous, and, to the best of my understanding, violates federal law. Of course I will never buy another Toyota, but this type of potentially lethal negligence is not something that should be addressed by market forces. It should be addressed by federal regulators.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #60

Aug 102015

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #59

May 182015

Matrix

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags). However, the part needed to do the repair was not made available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the repair. In addition, the contact stated that the passenger air bag light stayed off when a passenger was seated in the front passenger seat. In addition, the air bag light stayed on when no one was seated in the front passenger seat and the electronic clock failed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000.

- Pittsford, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #58

Jun 242014

Matrix

  • 108,455 miles
The airbag warning light comes on most of the time. Dash electrical system is inconsistent -- clock sometimes works for example, but usually not. Blinkers sometimes don't work as well. Primary safety concern is the airbag system though. I've had several mechanics run diagnostics. Sometimes diagnostics come up clean and sometimes not. Spent $300+ without resolve and haven't heard since initial recall notice about a fix.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #57

Jul 172015

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla matrix. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact called the dealer on several occasions and felt he had been given the run around due to his hispanic accent. The dealer initially scheduled an appointment and then stated that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/21/15

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #56

Jul 232015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Roanoke, TX, USA

problem #55

Jun 212015

Matrix

  • 55,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. While driving 35 mph, the clock and radio failed to function. In addition, the doors failed to lock automatically and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 55,500.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #54

Jun 032013

Matrix

  • 85,000 miles
Toyota Matrix rx 2005. Started car, driver air bag light failed to extinguish. Shut off ignition. Restarted engine, light went out. Since 6/3/2013 the driver air bag light has been intermittent, staying on about half the time I start the car. Often it takes 3 to 4 restarts to finally get the light to stay off. Occasionally the driver air bag light will come on while driving. I pull over when I can and go through the restart procedure. Otherwise while light is on the driver air bag is disabled. That could certainly be a deadly proposition. Several times I have visited Toyota service departments to be told, "something is loose", or "can't find a problem." Today, 6/17/2015, I drove to my local Toyota service department for the passenger air bag recall service. When I started the car the driver air bag light came on. I drove to the Toyota service dept, about 10 miles, left engine running until the service writer could verify that the light was on. I asked that they check the driver air bag system because the light came on intermittently. Approximately 15 min later the asst service mgr called me stated there was no problem with the driver air bag. I told him the writer verified the light was on and requested they do a diagnostic on the driver air bag system. $98.55 later the problem was stated to be in the digital clock in the dash. Toyota quoted $506.59 to replace the digital clock in my car to make the driver air bag function, so I wouldn't die in a crash!!! this just doesn't sound right that a life saving system should depend on a "cheap" digital clock to function correctly at any moment without peripheral equipment getting in the way. This should be a safety recall item.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #53

May 152015

Matrix

  • 186,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag light is on and will not go off. The media says that my model year is in the takata recall and my model is in the Toyota recall but only in the "high humidity region". I contacted a dealership and they said they couldn't do anything until Toyota caught up entering in the VIN numbers for the model years that were added to the recall. This is not safe, this is a malfunctioning part and this needs to be remedied.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #52

May 072007

Matrix

  • miles
My air bag light came on two years after I bought the car and stays on. With so many recalls on defective takata airbags that were installed on many vehicles including Toyota, I suspect that my vehicle is one of them. I have been patiently waiting for a rcall notice from the Toyota manufacturer, so they can fix it, but so far, nothing can somebody in your office help to resolve this problem. I do not want to find out if this air bag works or not and get seriously hurt me and my family, god forbid, I get into an accident. Any help you can provide me is better than none, so please help! thanks!

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #51

Aug 022013

Matrix

  • 60,000 miles
Airbag light is on all of the time. All 2005 matrix seem to have the same problem.this means that in an accident no airbags. The cure for the problem is replacement of the- spiral cable clock spring.

- Scottsburg, IN, USA

problem #50

Oct 202014

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #49

Jun 172014

Matrix

  • miles
In my case nothing has happened yet. The reason I am communicating is because about 8 months ago Toyota sent me a notice about the air bag of the Matrix we own. We called the Toyota dealership and told them about the letter we received from Toyota and they took our number and told us that the part to fix the problem about the airbag had not arrived yet and that they would call us when the part would come in. To this day we have not received there phone call. We just received another letter from Toyota about the same problem and do not know what to do about it now. We are worried that the bag may activate at any moment.

- Utuado , PR, USA

problem #48

Mar 242014

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V350000 (air bag) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Bayamon, PR, USA

problem #47

Oct 152014

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000(air bags) was received in October 2014. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the part needed to repair the vehicle was still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provide. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #46

Feb 272015

Matrix 4-cyl

  • 137,614 miles
Airbag light on main instrument panel comes on intermittently, when the car is running. When this light is on, the airbags will not be deployed in an accident. There is a very serious safety concern. Having done just a quick search of the internet, it appears that this particular problem is very common, yet there is no recall. It seems most of the issues causing this problem are related to either the spiral airbag cable or the vehicle clock. Please consider the urgency of this, as I have read of folks having high speed head on collisions while the light was on, and the airbags did not deploy.

- Montpelier, VT, USA

problem #45

Dec 012014

Matrix 4-cyl

  • 132,500 miles
To the administrator of National Highway Traffic Safety Administration: I received the undated airbag recall on Toyota letterhead approximately 12-1-14. I took time off work, made an appointment on 12-15-14 with mossy Toyota, 4555 mission bay dr., san diego, ca 92019. They said they did not have the part, only for gulf states. I returned on 1-9-15 to have my airbag disabled and the cya warning sign installed. Within a few days the same Agency called to let me know Toyota has suspended remedies. In Feb. 2015 national news reports another recall for a replacement part I have yet not received. I called Toyota Corp. Office to get a 2 hour runaround, having me repeat my ownership and VIN#, with their main emphasis on me naming the original owner, no replacement parts in the future, not their problem, letter comes from dmv info. I bought the vehicle from mossy Nissan 2/2006 and do not have the original owner information. I did learn my auto was built in Texas so it is considered gulf state. My complaint is this: I have taken unpaid time off work to remedy a national recall. I am driving a car that I cannot carry family and friends safely. I have no remedy given by Toyota. Please assist in the solution. Thank you, [xxx], registered owner for 9 years. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #44

Sep 122014

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Matrix. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (air bag system) was received in September of 2014. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the front passenger side air bag was deactivated. The contact was informed that the parts needed to remedy the vehicle were not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The manufacturer was not notified in reference to the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Venice, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?