Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$112.00
Average Mileage:
117,196 miles
Total Complaints:
41 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (33 reports)
  2. replace engine (7 reports)
  3. no (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2006 Toyota RAV4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Sep 202015

RAV4 Limited V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,536 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have Toyota 2006 RAV4 that suddenly started burning engine oil since September, 2015. When I noticed that, I watched closely and it was consuming more than a quarter in 1600KM, then I took it to a Toyota dealer they registered the issue then contacted Toyota Canada on my behalf, next week when I called the dealer again they provided me a reference number (2427689) which was given by Toyota Canada and told me that the good news is it is covered under standard warranty and Toyota Canada will fix it for no cost, you are on the waiting list and have to wait.

After couple of weeks I contacted the dealer again but got the same response to wait for my turn. I had no choice except to wait and pay for the extra oil every two weeks, later I noticed that the oil consumption problem exceeded and it burned 3 quarter for 1700KM, the last time I visited the Toyota dealer was a month ago and got the bad news saying that "Toyota Canada has put this fix on hold and we cannot tell you when they will start again to fix oil burning issues".

This has become a major issue now and very annoying now. I have to spend more on oil than gas while driving this vehicle, which has really mad me unhappy and if Toyota Canada cannot take responsibility then why they give wrong promises to their customers and put them on a fake waiting list.

Khair Mohammad

Toronto, ON

Canada

- , Toronto, ON, Canada

problem #40

Mar 312016

RAV4 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

Car was purchased after previous owner traded in on a lease in 2011. Car is presently in the shop; was my husband's car until he passed July 2015; We have had this car maintained faithfully with proper oil changes, etc.... when my daughter started using his car we started putting oil in it; She recently got stuck on highway car smoking; had it towed to local Toyota dealership and they are doing a tear down of the engine to determine problem. I called their corporate headquarters to put the initial complaint in. Waiting to hear what result will be but will fight it all the way...... WTH Nice car and we love it but shouldn't have to pay for what is being done......

Update from Nov 2, 2016: after tearing down the engine they found the engine block had a hole in it and are replacing at no charge; yessssssss..... somebody up there likes me......

- , Danbury, CT, USA

problem #39

Jun 012016

RAV4 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,500 miles

Hello, I'm a single mother of two.I own a Rav4, 2006.I n the last 6-8months I was having to put 2-2.5 quarts of oil in my car Every time I filled the gas tank which was 2x a week.never received any information on the oil consumption issue, until my car lost all power while driving my daughter home in traffic,which almost killed us..So, I was informed by a local shop to take it in to Thompson Toyota.As of Oct.4,2016.Thompson sealed 3 spots of oil to start a oil consumption test, told me to drive it 1100-1300 miles and bring it back.I told them my car would not make it to those miles and voiced my concerns through a claim with corporate.The deadline was Oct.31,2016..which was another of my concern that I wasn't going to be able to drive that many miles before that date.Which they told me they would honor the test pass the date..So, as of Nov.4,2016, my car once again almost killed myself and children, brought it in , Toyota tired to get me to pay for a check engine light for $140.00,which then try to tell me Toyota is the only place that can read it's codes..but, in 1996 a law was passed that every shop has the same codes... I told them the light has to do with the oil consumption to just check the test...So, they did,and at 785 miles into this test my car was 3+quarts low...they filled it back up, which they over filled it by almost 1/2-1 full quarts and wanted me to drive it home, told me they will work hard to get it fixed ..I left it there for 3day and they called me and said they will not fix it, so now It sits in driveway and I have no car for my kids to get to school and no car to get to work...This is really sad, and to think I've been a Toyota owner my whole life..Not anymore!!! I wish everyone the best of luck when dealing with Toyota's blindness, selfishness.Thank you for putting everyone's lives in danger...

- , Placerville, USA

problem #38

Jul 122016

RAV4 2.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 202,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2006 Toyota in for excessive oil consumption, they put new pistons in the engine.1200 miles later the oil pump goes out. wile they had my car for over 2 months tore apart I went to get a key out of it and saw the camshafts laying on the ground. I am jet engine Mechanic and took auto Mechanics in high school. never seen a oil pump go bad. It would not think Toyota would do such shotty maintenance. They didn't even replace the bearings, or bore the engine.

- , Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #37

Apr 012016

RAV4 Limited 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption

Had Romano Toyota in Syracuse run the excessive oil consumption test in September 2016, they claimed the vehicle "past the test", but did not show me the oil level on the dip stick or even recorded on the diagram they used for reporting purposes. I re-ran the test, see images, the car is using 1 qt oil in 1100-1200 miles, and has been doing that since last April or longer? The representative at the call in line for resolving such issues as this was nice, but informed me unless I could take the automobile back in to a dealer and have them run the test again before the end of October, I was out of luck.

So...in my opinion, a not so truthful report from Romano Toyota, I should have insisted on being in the auto bay when they broke the seal on the dip stick and stood with them when the mechanic read and recorded the oil level. Now we will have to be vigilant about putting oil in the vehicle every 500 miles or so, as I have been doing since last spring, to make certain the engine is not damaged from overheating. There are no oil leaks (no oil on the ground or on the engine anywhere...my local mechanic confirmed that), and there is not blue smoke from burning oil coming out of the exhaust...so where is all that oil going???

My wife and I feel let down by Toyota on this one. The automobile should last another 50000 miles, that is if we keep oil in it on a regular basis.

- , Cortland, NY, USA

problem #36

Jul 012016

RAV4 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles

The RAV4 is burning excessive oil. It has always consumed some oil, but it has progressively gotten worse. I have always changed my own oil at the 5,000 mile mark, and I've always used quality oils and quality filters. There is apparently a "limited service campaign" to fix the problem (Toyota knows it's a problem, but won't issue a full recall for whatever reason).

Toyota has refused to help me because the oil consumption test (driving 1200 miles and seeing if it is a quart low) will not be complete by October 31 (the end of the limited service campaign). I only found out about this service campaign on Friday, October 29. Even though I had my car in the shop at 7:30 am on October 31 to start the oil consumption test, they will not cover any repairs, even if the test shows that it is indeed consuming too much oil.

Never will I ever buy another Toyota - this is ridiculous. I've had Toyota vehicles my whole life, including many family members. Toyota lost a life-long customer. The only way to make this right with me is fix the problem, issue a recall, etc.

- , Arlington, TN, USA

problem #35

Dec 212015

RAV4 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I complained to Toyota dealership for over 2 years that the car was burning excessive oil. I was told because the car had high mileage that it was normal to burn 1-2 quarts between 3,000 mile oil changes. They finally agreed to do oil consumption test. Said it failed, but did not repair for over 6 mos. because they said no parts were available, until I went on a rant because I was now at 2-3 quarts replacement between oil changes. Then said I had to repeat oil consumption test because it was done improperly. GIVE ME A BREAK. They then did oil change on my car and proceeded to lose my whole set of keys. How does this happen? I went into the salesroom to rant at that point and they decided they would give me a loaner car and repair the car, after I called police about the keys. They had my car 6 weeks, replaced short block.

- , Lincolnshire, IL, USA

problem #34

Oct 032016

RAV4 L 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,576 miles

I am grateful that I am alone. I also took my car for testing at Elgin Toyota on Lake St.I didn't get to see the dipstick marking before the sealing. I first the" Maintenance Required light go on then two day late the Oil light turn on. I though it need a Qt. I put a Qt but no show on stick finally after two more ,it mark half. I Googled , and found about complaints and oil test.The service write at Elgin told me the the oil light come on went it is down to 2.5 Qts. I told him that I added 3 qts and the car requires 4.35 qts . I ask to see if there was a problem with the oil light. He just ask if I wanted regular oil or Sync oil. I asked if that will help and how will it last. He said,"No I will still add oil and it good for 5,000 miles. I as I sat wait for my car , I made friend conversion with a guy that was there for oil change . He said that his service writer told him that syn oil good for 10,000 miles. Well it look like I am in for a battle on my return trip. There is commissions and trues. I will not buy anymore or recommend Toyota. I can not imagine how many people are being taken to the bank for some thing that was not their fault .I will post my return resolves . I have a 1999 Ford Ranger 2.4 196,685 miles NO OIL BURNING or LEAK

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #33

Mar 262014

RAV4 Limited 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

My RAV 4 started burning oil at 80K miles. Not leaking, burning. I investigated then and saw there was a TSB--technical service bulletin, on certain engines (mine included) about the issue. Toyota has never issued a recall, but finally did an "extended warranty" and allowed an excessive fuel consumption test. When I did the test in the spring, I was just over what Toyota accepts as abnormal--I would probably burn a quart in 1400 miles. Now, today I had to cancel a client to go to Hansel in Petaluma (Freeman has no appts available til 10/31!!!), to start a second test. The infuriating part is that I have to put at least 1100 miles on the car between now and 10/31/16, or the extended warranty won't be accepted. The MORE INFURIATING part is that when I last checked my oil, I was already down a quart at 930 miles!!!! When I talked to HQ about my concerns about being forced to drive the 1100 miles and what would happen if I actually damaged my engine due to low oil BECAUSE of the TEST, I was told that MAYBE Toyota would assist me, but my car was already out of warranty, so.....

Update from Oct 20, 2016: Performed the first excessive oil consumption test, ending on 4/13/15. The oil consumption was above what Toyota considered "abnormal," meaning I hadn't yet burned a full quart. At that point, the engine had burned 3/4 quart during the oil consumption test. I was told that I could do another consumption test later on, during the warranty period. After checking with my regular mechanic, I was told that as long as I diligently checked my oil and kept in full, the engine would be ok. Obviously, however, my RAV lost most of its resale value....

Update from Oct 20, 2016: at 104536 miles, I had to put in a full quart. I checked my oil at 935 miles, rather than 1100, because the car seemed to be running poorly. I was already down a full quart. This is when I called the Toyota dealership to try to get in to start the oil consumption test, but I was first told that there were no appts until 10/31! After dealing with a service rep who really wasn't getting the issue, she offered me an appt a week from now. Apparently, LOTS of people are trying to get their cars in for this reason! I was told that even if I started the test, I would have to complete the 1100 miles by 10/31/16. A secondary extended warranty was no good on my car, since it turned 10 years old in March of this year. So they were going to have a supervisor call me. In the meantime, I contacted a different Toyota dealership 40 minutes away. They were able to see me today, but that meant also losing work time. And I called Toyota HQ for owners at 1/800/331-4331 and spoke to a woman named Tory. She was telling me that no, as long as I started the test now, I would be covered under the warranty. As I continued to press her on that, asking for email or printed confirmation, which she had none to give, and I was telling her that was NOT what the second Toyota dealership had told me, she was just saying the dealership could call HQ. I pressed her, asking that she wanted me to take this all on faith? Finally, she put me on a long hold. And then she connected me to a Chris. I can't believe I didn't get his last name. He told me he had to set Tory straight, that she had given me the wrong info and the dealer was correct. 1100 miles had to be put on my car in 10 days. this is when I brought my concern to him about how quickly I had burned a quart and wondered if being forced to drive 1100 miles without being able to check the oil, would damage my engine. And what would Toyota do, then? He became evasive and said he couldn't talk in hypotheticals, but that MAYBE Toyota "would ASSIST" me, but given that the car was actually out of regular warranty.... Here I told him how I wished I was able to record what had been being said, because it sounded like a lawsuit. I was assigned a case #: 1610192594.

- , Windsor, CA, USA

problem #32

May 262016

RAV4 Sport 3.1L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,665 miles

Toyota did an Oil Comp test and said it passed with flying colors. Pun another 2500 miles and checked the oil...wasn't even oil on the dip stick. Took 2 qt to get it to full. Thats 1qt per 1200 miles. Contacted Toyota Dealership who said my car had passed the test and was told thats normal. Maybe normal for a 1960 chevy but not a Toyota! A family friend/Mech. says get rid of it QUICK.

- , Littleton, CO, USA

problem #31

May 012016

RAV4 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nothing wrong with Rav4 until Toyota done recall for oil consumption. Took 5 months before they had a car for me to drive it. Took 2 days to fix it. Then car was running different and dash lights were on. Took it back the next day, spent half day waiting to get told it was my catalytic converter. That it was at my expense to fix it and for them to do it was going to cost $850.00. I have been told by 3 different mechanics that it was also part of the oil consumption and that Toyota should have to fix the motor all the way. It has a noise in the head. I was told that top of motor wasn't caused from it using oil for 10 years by Toyota. As for corporate office they said my car was out of warranty.

I don't think it is right for them to try and get their money back by making us have to pay when it was all their fault. I am the only one that has owned my Rav4. Yes, it's been a great car but the way Toyota is doing I don't call fair for anyone. I wish that some one could help me bout all this bull sh*t because that's what I have got is a bunch of bull sh*t and I think it's because I'm a woman not a man.

- , Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #30

Oct 062015

RAV4 Limited V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136,000 miles

My husband and I have had to add oil every 200 to 250 miles as checking the dipstick showed the Rav4 to be extremely low on oil thus causing us to add oil! We took the Rav4 into Murfreesboro (TN) Toyota dealership as we got a recall "check" notification about excessive oil consumption. Before leaving our home we checked the oil and were 1/2 quart low. We decided not to add oil before we left. When we got to the dealership befoe the mechanics took our car we checked the oil again and showed it to an employee. The mechanics then took our car to the "back" of the shop (we were not allowed to see what was going on). We asked what the mechanics were going to do and we were told "customers" are not allowed in the work area.

We were told to bring the car back after 1400 miles to check the oil, but we were not to check the oil in the meantime. We explained that we had been losing oil every 200 - 250 miles and were concerned about not checking the oil during that time. We were told we could bring our vechicle back to the Toyota dealership if we checked the oil and it was low before the 1400 mile check-up.

After 1 week and checking the oil the oil reservoir showed very low oil (to the bottom line). We had NOT traveled in excess. We took the car back to the dealership (earlier) than the mechanics thought was viable. We checked the dipstick at home twice. The mechanics took our car back into the shop without letting my husband pull the dipstick ( or watching a mechanic pull the dipstick). We were not allowed to watch what the mechanics did. 30 minutes later a sales rep brought us our dipstick that showed we had plenty of oil (to the top rim)!!!

The mechanics said that we had misread the dipstick!!! My husband has been checking the oil in cars for at least 55 years...he knows how to check the oil and so do I. Sales rep said for us to bring the car back after the full 1400 miiles. We have since put in a quart of oil a week since!!!!! What can we do!!

- , Shelbyville, USA

problem #29

Feb 102016

RAV4 Sport V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

OIL CONSUMPTION CONTINUES TO GET WORSE EACH MONTH...CHANGED TO SYNTHETIC...NO BETTER ..NOW NEEDING TO ADD ABOUT HALF A QUART A WEEK...HATE HAVING TO WATCH AND WORRY ABOUT IT ALL THE TIME...

- , Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #28

Jun 232016

RAV4 LS 2az-Fe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,125 miles

I have always changed oil in my vehicles every 3,000 miles. Back in December of 2015, I put a new set of tires on my son's 2006 RAV4. While in the shop, I had the oil changed. The service manager brought out the oil filter and stated that he was shocked at the low amount of oil that was remaining. First thought that came to my mind was the the local Toyota dealership did not fill the oil to the required level during their last oil change. About 4 months/2600 miles later, my son had a nail in the tire, so I had him take the vehicle back to the tire shop to fix the nail. While there, I had the local tire shop change the oil again. Again, the service manager stopped out to visit and stated that the oil level was low. This time I started questioning the oil level. My son parks his 2006 RAV4 car in my garage and which I have never seen any oil spots on the concrete floor.

About a week later, I received a notice in the mail from Toyota related to the Oil Consumption test.

Knowing that I just changed the oil, when I called to inquiry about the oil consumption test,I stated that I would wait for 6-8 weeks before I brought the RAV4 in for the oil consumption test. On June 10, 2016, we dropped off the RAV4 for an oil change and the oil consumption test at our local Toyota dealership, in which they completed that afternoon. They gave me the specifics about returning the car between 1100 and 1300 miles. My son is a pretty safe drive and does not speed. He left for Denver the following week, which was around 500 miles (each way). I thought this would be a good gauge and would speed up the process to find out whether we had an oil consumption issue. Well approximately 12 days later as my son was returning from Denver, CO, he stated that the check engine lite came on, however went off shortly after. Approximately 90 minutes into the trip, the engine let loose. This shook my son (recently turned 18) and his friend up as they were not expecting this. So they coasted to the side of the road and thankfully limited traffic since he is not seasoned driver. When they exited the RAV4, they noticed the oil spill from where the engine let go, along with numerous pieces of the motor sitting in the interstate. So when there was no traffic comingthey walked out to pick up the pieces from the motor just in case someone wanted to see them. I (dad) drove 4+ hours down (each way) to just north of Cheyenne, WY with a trailer so that we could bring the RAV4 back to Toyota and checked out. I noticed that there were 3 good size holes in the block.

My son leaves for college in 44 days. We thought that this would be a car that would be safe and dependable for him to to drive back and forth across the state of SD through his college days. Now, we sit waiting for Toyota to decide what they are willing to do, if anything. From the views on the internet, Toyota does not believe they have an issue. I am 100% confident that the holes in the RAV4 block are related to the oil consumption issue and will not go down without a fight.

- , Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #27

Feb 222013

RAV4 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,600 miles

We have a 2007 RAV4 that is experiencing the excessive oil consumption problem. We started to realise the problem from February 2013. We need to check the oil level at least every week and add additional oil constantly. We also started to use a synthetic mix with regular oil in hopes that it will decrease the oil consumption. In April 2015, we received the notice in the mail about the excessive oil consumption problem. Toyota mentioned in the letter that it will reimburse for the cost of the oil. We submitted all of our saved receipts, however, we did not get reimbursement. In May 2015 the oil consumption test was completed by the Ancaster Toyota office (30 Mason Drive Ancaster, ON L9G 3K9). The Toyota Canada – Head Toyota office (Toyota Canada Inc. Head Office 1 Toyota Place, Toronto ON, M1H 1H9) advised us that the oil consumption test conducted by the dealership is out of tolerance. To fix this, new pistons and piston rings must be installed in the engine. This is major engine work, and may take two days or more to correct and will require replacement parts to fix the problem. They placed us on the waiting list and advised that we should wait for the new parts that will be delivered to the Ancaster Toyota Dealership. Since then, we called them every two weeks and had the same answer that we should wait for the new parts. We were advised that it doesn’t matter if we are already over the warranty mileage, everything will be considered from the day of which it was applied for. Finally, on May 29, 2016 The Engine on our 2007 Toyota RAV4 seized and stopped working, due to the car being "out of oil". We had the oil changed on time, and added more oil on the same day of our trip. When the oil light turned on and we pulled over to check and add more oil. However, it was too late and our engine was gone. On May 31, 2016 we got an appointment for the RAV 4 to be inspected, which cost us $127 dollars. They are estimating the repair costs to be over $1,500. This issue was a direct result of the excessive oil consumption problem that was not fixed in a timely manner. We are very frustrated with Toyota and believe that they should be responsible for the defect and any associated costs. How do we join this class action lawsuit and does it cost us anything?

Update from Jul 22, 2016: We have case with BBB In this case Consultant of Customer Relations Customer Services Department have offered partial assistance towards the repairs. After the inspection of our RAV 4, which was completed by Ancaster Toyota on May 31, 2016, costing us $127 dollars and many discussions with Toyota Canada's Head Office we came to the agreement that Ancaster Toyota will repair the car for $719 plus tax.

Ancaster Toyota ordered the parts as per their inspection on May 31, 2016 and booked for us an appointment on July 21, 2016.

On July 21, 2016 we delivered our RAV4 to Ancaster Toyota at 7:30am. At 12:15 they advised us that he replaced all ordered parts however the car still makes noise and can drive just on very short distances. Ancaster Toyota wanted to order more parts and asked us to pay more. We advised them that as per our agreement and their inspection they should completely repair our car for $719 plus tax or return our car in previous condition. We will not pay for unprofessional service. We are very unhappy with Toyota services. They should be responsible for the excessive oil consumption defect and keep their promises of repairing the coat at the original price they have agreed to after they have completed their full inspection.

- , Hamilton, ON, Canada

problem #26

Sep 012015

RAV4 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

My car burns AT LEAST a quart of oil every 1,000 miles.

- , Rutherford, NJ, USA

problem #25

Sep 042014

RAV4 Sport 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 100,103 miles

My car started giving me a problem when the hit 60,000 miles. I lived in NY and moved to Florida. The car now is 100,1003 miles. Every 1,800 burned 1 1/4 of oil. The mechanic changed all the gaskets and valves. I change twice oil transmission because is very dark.

- , Saint Johns, FL, USA

problem #24

Jan 022015

RAV4 V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 270,000 miles

Toyota contacted me about a warranty enhancement program for certain cars that burn excessive oil. I visited the dealer and was told they would change the oil, "seal" it and then check it for oil consumption after 1,100 miles. They changed the oil and painted the dip stick orange. A week later my alternator went out and when I checked under the hood, the "seal" was all dried out and cracked at the dipstick. I returned to the dealer and showed him the "seal". He told me it wasn't a problem. After 1,1030 miles I returned to the dealer and was told my car burned hardly any oil, maybe a 1/4 of a quart. I know my car burns close to a quart every 1,000 miles, sometimes more.

I topped off the oil and checked it after 1,000 miles and sure enough, I had burned just over 1 quart of oil.

It seems strange the service rep was so nonchalant about the seal. It seems as if he knew the fix was in and I was going to “pass” regardless of the results of the oil consumption test. Either they over-filled the oil when they changed it or added some when it tested low.

I sent an email last week to Toyota's customer service about my problem but have not heard from them.

- , Miami Springs, FL, USA

problem #23

Feb 012016

RAV4 Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,500 miles

In December 2015, I go to the dealer on the excessive oil consumption recall because I have had to put oil in my car between oil changes and it is getting worse. Along with this recall another 2 more recalls had to be done. They come back to me after having the car all day, oh and by the way I had to rent a car because these recalls and maintenance will only take a little over an hour and they won't pay for the rental. They tell me that they cannot do the excessive oil consumption test because I have a rear main seal leak and a valve cover gasket leak and that has to be fixed first. To fix it will cost about $1800 of which at that point I didn't have.

I let them know that first of all if I had an oil leak that bad it would show up in my driveway or where ever I park. They tell me that I need to check the oil level periodically until I can fix the car and have the test done. In January, I add two quarts of oil and in the beginning of February my engine blows. Oh and by the way, the oil light doesn't come on except for a little flicker when I made the turn onto the highway. I call Toyota and they tell me that they can't do anything because I didn't have the test.

Gee, I have seen a number of complaints similar to this one about leaks that need to be repaired first, hummmm makes you wonder if they are trying to make us cover some of the cost of the recall. Shame on you Toyota...I had a 1999 Toyota Camry for 11 years and was happy with it...not at all happy with this Rav4 and/or Toyota....I will buy another Toyota.....NOT.

- , North Reading, USA

problem #22

Jan 102012

RAV4 2.4L I-4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Four years ago my husband noticed that the oil level was extremely low. So he added a quart of oil. This continued for 4 years!! Adding a quart of oil every month with no oil stains in the driveway and no smoke in the exhaust. I received a recall notice in 2015 for which i brought it into the Weston Toyota for on Sat 11/21/15. They told me that the recall work could not be performed because the engine was dirty around the oil pan and gasket cover. Toyota Corp would not honor the recall if there any other signs of a dirty engine. Weston Toyota, however, performed an oil change for no charge. So we told them that we would clean the engine and bring it back for the recall work. Four days later 11/25, i drove the truck home from work and it drove very sluggish as if a spark plug wire was disconnected. My husband checked the spark plugs and 2 were covered in oil on the BOTTOM half!! Which obviously signifies cylinder ring issues. We have been adding a quart of oil for 4 years with no problems, we bring it in for recall work and the engine is blown in 4 days!!! We sent a letter to the dealership and Toyota corp. Toyota corp called me and could not do anything because the recall work was not performed and i have yet to hear from the Weston Toyota dealership. This issue is obviously related to the recall that Toyota acknowledged, however, will not admit guilt. The truck sits in my driveway until i can figure out if it is worth fixing, donating or selling. After viewing how many others experienced this issue with different makes: Tundra, Camry, Avalon, and Rav4's, I will never purchase another Toyota vehicle and advised others not to either. They realize there is an engine issue and refuse to address it. After reading other complaints of this issue, Toyota seems to be avoiding resolving this issue even after recall work has confirmed there is excessive oil consumption.

- , Pem, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?