Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,041 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Sep 022013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About 4-5 months ago I received a letter from Toyota regarding problem with the rear lower suspension arm no. 1. the problem could "result in the loss of vehicle control and a crash." Each time I check with them they say they are not ready to remedy the problem and just continue to drive the vehicle I believe that it is very negligent of them to suggest that I continue to drive a vehicle that according to them could "result in the loss of vehicle control and a crash." Does the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration have any power to require Toyota to fix the problem at once or find another remedy for me driving an unsafe car?

- Central Point, OR, USA

problem #39

Feb 202014

RAV4

  • 90,000 miles
Received a recall notice for tie rod/suspension back in September 2013. Today I called local Toyota dealer and asked about the fix. They told me that there was no fix yet available....obviously very disappointed and worried about how long I have been driving with potentially dangerous part/defect that could cause loss of control and wreck. I think NHTSA should force the issue with Toyota now it has been too long!. local dealer advised me what sound, loud rattling in back of vehicle to listen for....really unbelievable the delay.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #38

Feb 062014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact also stated that since the failure was reported in August of 2013, there should be a remedy available before February of 2014 and that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. There are no failures at this time.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #37

Feb 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to rear lower suspension rattle. The consumer stated she received a letter over 2 months ago, and she is still waiting for the official recall letter, so she can get the vehicle fixed..

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #36

Feb 032014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in August of 2013, there should be a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Logan , WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Jun 152013

RAV4

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, she noticed a vibration under the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #34

Dec 162013

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number 13V383000 (suspension) but was informed by the dealer and the manufacturer that the part was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #33

Nov 152013

RAV4

  • 99,400 miles
Rear sway bar links rusted off on both sides.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #32

Nov 092013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
I have had the first recall done for the lower suspension arm recall C0J and received an interim notification for a revised recall csj saying it is not yet available in my area. This past weekend I had work done on my vehicle and was told the pin in my lower suspension arm is broke and I should have it fixed asap. I called my Toyota dealer who told me the recall is not being done in my area as of yet. I called Toyota corporate who informed me the recall is not being done in my area and to have it inspected at the dealer and they may or may not be able to do the recall and fix the problem. I feel unsafe driving this vehicle and feel that Toyota is not working fast enough to remedy. I have been very unhappy with the number of recalls that have occurred with this vehicle and very unhappy with the amount of time off of work this has caused me.

- Berea, OH, USA

problem #31

Oct 062013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 29,500 miles
While driving car on highway, I heard a low noise from the passenger side rear of the car that sounded like something in the right rear suspension broke. Since this time, the car sounds like something is loose and makes a knocking sound from the passenger side rear of the vehicle when driving between 10 mph and 30 mph when you go over small bumps. It sounds like a broken spring or shock absorber or some other component of the rear suspension system is loose or broken. I am concerned about driving the vehicle, or letting other family members drive the vehicle, especially at high way speeds.

- Amawalk, NY, USA

problem #30

Oct 202013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 50,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear sway bar linkage broke. Very corroded. $240 fix.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #29

Sep 032013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Hit a car in front of me and wreck the front right corner of the Rav4 and no air bags went off. And my ins company total the Rav4 and don't know what happen to the other car.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #28

Mar 012012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 25,650 miles
Knock and sudden shift of steering wheel. Noise appeared to come from front of vehicle and along the steering column or suspension system. Has grown worse with use, but vehicle only has 30,250 miles. We would like to know if it's safe to drive; danger of loss of steering. We do not feel safe, especially at highway speeds.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #27

Aug 242013

RAV4

  • 141,000 miles
Turning from one street onto another at <5mph a pop occurred in the rear of vehicle and immediately I felt a drag and stopped. On the street, exiting vehicle I observed rear driver's wheel tilted significantly from the vertical. Had vehicle removed to my garage where rear suspension support was replaced. Now jumping hoops to get reimbursement from Toyota. I never received any notice of recall only to find after local repair that Toyota was planning a recall and then receiving today (Sept. 7, 2013) from NHTSA the official recall notice (NHTSA campaign id number : 13V383) the issuance finally of such a recall. Given that Toyota, over a year ago ("Toyota is going to recall some 778,000 vehicles sold in the United States because of a rear-suspension failure. But not just yet. First, it has to figure out how to fix the problem." -by laurent belsie, business editor / August 2, 2012, christian science monitor) knew of the problem it is unconscionable that such a delay occurred. Had this malfunction occurred on a major, high-speed highway, more likely than not I would not be composing this message today.

- Champlain, NY, USA

problem #26

Jun 222013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
We were driving 55mph on highway 168 in North Carolina North towards Virginia coming home from vacation in the outer banks, nc. We were driving in left lane passing a Jeep, pulling a small trailer, in the right lane when we heard a pop and the car started to swerve to the right. Our car struck the Jeep on the driver's side turning the Jeep so it ended up in front of us. Both vehicles finally came to a stop after I applied the brakes. After checking on the passengers (my wife, two children and our dog) in our car and Jeep passengers, I went to move the car at the request of the police and the driver's side rear tire collapsed in at the top at about a 45 degree angle. Thankfully nobody was hurt. After having the car put onto the flat bed tow truck by aaa, the aaa employee and I could see under the car and noticed the rear tie rod was completely separate in two pieces. Received a preliminary recall from Toyota back in October/November about the tie rod. Took the car to our dealership, in November. They inspected it and said nothing was wrong so it didn't need to be replaced. The car is currently waiting to be fixed by my insurance company and I have filed a incident report with Toyota, who will be looking at the car.

- Glenside, PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 252013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact received three recall notices in the mail several months ago and stated the dealer did not have the parts for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #24

Mar 012009

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
I have had numerous sensor problems, replaced free of charge at this point. Had to replace wheel bearing and wiring due to corrosion, free of charge now other side has same wheel bearing, corrosion problem and they want $1000. Have also had a clunking in steering column (bad knuckle joint) that tech's have not found. Hear that would cost at least $800. They also say water pump leaking and need replacement to prevent engine damage another approx. $1000. I've been online and these are all problems discussed by other Rav4 owners. The tech told me there are not enough problems to incite a recall. Mean while I've had nothing but problems since I bought this vehicle and it doesn't even have 60K. Now they want 3K to fix current problems.

- Maple Heights, OH, USA

problem #23

Jan 282013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The Toyota dealer states they do not have the parts and we need to check back. They have done this on other recalls for the same vehicle.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 122012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to problems with recall notices for rear suspension and power window switch. The consumer stated did not believe the recall was performed, as he is still experiencing problems with the power window switch. Also, the water pump was replaced. The consumer stated there were still problems with the suspension, after the dealer it was fixed. Due to the ongoing suspension problems, it was affecting the steering shaft, rack and pinion and tie rod. Updated 03/12/13

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 082012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
We became aware of a recall for the vehicle for rust formation that could lead to separation of the rear suspension arms in August 2012. It's January 2013 and Toyota tells us that they are still working on a "fix." They use a lot of salt to keep our local roads clear and, as you know, salt and unprotected steel are a recipe for failure for structural components. My point? it's been long enough to come up with a solution to the problem and even when Toyota does, it will take months to effect repairs. We would appreciate your looking into to the matter.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?