Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
133,103 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota RAV4 miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments

problem #11

Jun 102016


  • 1,006,000 miles


2008 Toyota Rav4. 1006,000 mileage. Suddenly stalls while driving at any speed. Taken to newark Toyota dealership several times since June this year unable to fix the problem. Stalled several times while driving on highway and on a city street.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #10

May 212016


  • 104,135 miles
On Saturday May 21 2016 at 11:00am I was parallel parking. I backed up in the space. I then pulled up a bit and stopped, everything was normal. I then put it in reverse once more to center the vehicle. That's when the engine reved up. I looked at the shifter (in reverse) and my foot(on the break pedal). The engine reved up so hard that the vehicle jolted twice! I thought I had hit the car behind me. I was pushing on the break really hard to stop the vehicle. This vehicle already had the recall for the accelerator pedal / floor mat issue. The engine reved up previously about 6 months ago in my driveway but I wasn't too concerned about it. Now this happened a 2nd time and more violently, I am very concerned.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #9

Apr 152016


  • 69,548 miles
My 2008 Rav4 with 69,548 miles was in motion (approximately 50 mph) when my driver's side visor became detached from the headliner. The visor fell on my lap causing me to become very startled. Fortunately, I did not lose control. I found that there was a service bulletin T-sb-0068-10 issued for this defect but no recall. The dealer charged me $127.52 to replace the visor and the bracket.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #8

Jan 202016


  • miles


Prior to 2015, 2 different service companies on 2 separate scheduled oil change informed me that the car had no oil. In 2015, received a warranty enhancement program related to excessive engine oil consumption from Toyota. Since being told on 2 separate occasions that the car had no oil during oil change service, I contacted Toyota to schedule for the consumption test. Brought the car on 7/7/15 then returned on 9/2/15 between 1100-1300 miles as instructed and was told it passed. However, on 1/20/16 brought car to another service company for scheduled oil change (first oil change after it supposedly passed test) and was told there was no oil marking on dip stick. Therefore, was advised to bring it back to Toyota. No oil change was performed but service company added oil (approx 3.5 quarts)per my request. Spoke with a lady manager at Toyota via phone to report the findings and was advised to schedule appointment for re-test. I brought car to Toyota on 1/29/16 as scheduled and was told by service advisor that a re-test will not be performed because it already passed the test in Sept. 2015 despite the latest finding of a dry dip stick in Jan. 2016. Toyota suggested to change the oil at my expense and to check if there was a leak. I declined it because I expected the appointment to be a re-test for oil consumption as indicated by a Toyota manager. I eventually had an oil change on 2/17/16 performed by a non-Toyota service company and was told the oil drained was 2.5 quarts which is 2 quarts below factory standards.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 262015


  • 52,348 miles
Premature exhaust system failure before 80,000 miles or 8 years. Tried to resolve this issue with the dealer and Toyota Corp (case #1508262478 @ 800-331-4331) but they will not replace defective parts. The catalytic converter is connected to an in-line resonator and muffler assembly. The muffler seam has split. My claim to the dealer and Toyota Corp is the entire system works hand in hand and the way Toyota has designed the system it can not be separated from the catalytic converter. The entire system is required to reduce emissions and increase engine performance and therefore covered under the emission warranty. Not sure if it is a design or material defect but something costing over $1,400 to repair is more than a simple muffler replacement that should not fail at 52,000 miles.

- Ames, IA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Jun 262015


  • 64,000 miles
The hose connecting the canister filter to the canister broke off driving in the rain and I didn't see until next day while 8 hrs away from home. Called the local dealer they didn't have the part. No check engine light shown.I got home and have the canister filter replaced with the dealer and next day check engine, vsc and 4WD light came on, dealer says it cost $1800 to fix it. I researched online and lot of 2006 and up rav 4 owner have same issue. Cannister hose broken or filter dropped and water getting into the system. I got Toyota service bulletin T-sb-0098-09 which was updated to T-SB0161-11 on October 20,2011 for this issue. Toyota had covered warranty for 2gr-fe engine from 2006-2011 sold on ca, ct, me, md, MA, NJ, nm, vt, wa, ri under California long term emission warranty of 64 months or 70,000 miles which ever occurs first. Toyota knew the issue and even added a new cover (part no 77641-0R020) the protect the canister filter and the hoses but they didn't issue the recall. A lot of people have same issue. The filter and hose are unprotected underneath the chassis and it can break or fall driving under normal driving in a rain or snow. I called Toyota and they review my case and gave me case # but they won't fix it because my vehicle was not driven and sold on the aforementioned states. Toyota has covered the warranty on the states with heavy snow and rain only. But these things are true for the state I am in too. Remaining state standard 36 months 36,000 warranty. But this thing can happen to anyone at any mileage. Toyota knew it and had a fix by putting the new cover but didn't issue a recall. The service bulletin even states the vehicles manufactured before certain VIN number and mine does fall under it. I paid $220 to replace filter and $62.5 to diagnose. Now they want another $1800 to fix it. I wish I could attached the service bulletin. Updated 09/15/15

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #5

Jun 022014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles


A little after its regular scheduled maintenance my 2008 Rav4 started to make an odd noise (rattling) when reaching 40 mph at 1500 RPM. Checked fluids and noticed that engine oil was dry (burnt oil on stick) and black atf. Immediately replaced fluids (engine and ws atf). Took car to dealer and they said they didn't noticed anything unusual. Drove with tech and showed him the noise at specified conditions. He said more tests needed to be done. Up until today they are not sure what the issue may be and suggested a bunch of different "fix" that I will have to pay for myself. Found a tsb online for a similar issue (T-sb-0094-11). Toyota should be held responsible and fix this issue at no cost to users.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #4

Jun 012011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Toyota rav 4. consumer sends correspondence in regards to vehicle recall the consumer no longer owns the vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #3

Jan 212011


  • 24,700 miles
2008 4 cly Rav4 sport with 24700 miles. Concern: 1/20/11 the maintenance light came on and after driving a few miles the cruise control light came on by itself and the car began to accelerate. I hit the cruise button, light went out, not sure if I also applied the brakes and the car drove normally. After the incident I drove the car about another 20 miles with no duplication of the problem. Concern: 1/21/11 start the car and the maintenance light was on. About 2 minutes into my snow covered trip I applied the brakes and ABS system activated and worked as needed. I drove another 5 minutes and stopped at a red light. With my foot on the brake the cruise light came on the car started to accelerate. Keeping my foot on the brake I pushed the cruise button to try and deactivate it. It didn't seem to work so I then put the car in neutral and turned off the key. Restarted the car and only the maintenance light was on. The car seemed ok and I drove approximately another 25 miles and got the car to the dealer. Dealer cause/correction information. 1/21/11 check vehicles cruise control coming on by itself and vehicle accelerating. Tech road tested vehicle and monitored all systems. Tech not able to duplicate condition with the cruise control activating on it own. Tech found no bulletins or updates for the vehicle. ** tech/dealer found no problem.** they have given me a loaner and contacted Toyota of the problem. Someone from Toyota is coming 1/24-1/25/11 to check the vehicle.

- Stanhope, NJ, USA

problem #2

Oct 192010


  • 31,400 miles
While I was parking my car and stepping on the break pedal, the vehicle almost stopped then suddenly without my control sped up forward and crashed to two parked cars in front of my car at speed of 15 mph. When I tried to control the vehicle by lifting the emergency parking handle, the car reverse its direction backward and hit a building and stopped.the car's engine did not become idle while I was stepping on the break pedal and the car became without my control after slowed down to less than 5 5 mph and my feet were on the break pedal all the time.subsequently, I reported the accident to the West lapd and my insurance company. I was not under the influence of alcohol or any drugs.I have reported the accident to the manufacture of the car which sent an inspector to retrieve any information. Subsequently, the inspector stated that my car has special acceleration pedal which operated by electronic throttle which could cause surging forward going from closed throttle to open throttle. In the meantime still waiting for the manufacture response to my claim. I am mature experienced responsible drive for years. Please investigate my claim

- Playa Vista, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 152009


  • 17,000 miles
I have a Toyota Rav4 2008. Last year July to August within one month, my Rav4 (less than 2 year driving) had happened 2 times engine dead problem during driving, where my vehicle drove down to the hill without any power, specially no brake at all. It was happened one time I was driving, and another time my wife driving. We sent to dealer but I was told there was no error code was found, and was told they communicated with Toyota factory. No similar problem was found. We went through arbitration last year. But they said they cannot reduplicate the problem, so I cannot replace the car. But our family is really concerning to continuously drive this car since it is so dangerous, and we have no idea when it will die again during driving. It bothers us a lot, and no problem can be found by services. We just want to replace this car.

- Portland, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?