Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,379 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota RAV4 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 162014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle continued to accelerate. The vehicle crashed into the rear end of another vehicle. There was no personal injury. A police report was not filed of the incident. The vehicle was able to be driven from the scene. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The black box data detected that the brakes were not faulty. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000. The consumer stated it was not the first time, she and her husband experienced brake failure, with the vehicle continuing to accelerate. The dealer informed the consumer, that an update on the brakes had not been made. The consumer stated she never received any type of notification, to have service done.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #14

Jun 272013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from constituent regarding as issue with her Toyota 2010 rav 4 - 4cyl and fordham Toyota service and parts center; she thinks the vehicle should be inspected, the matter should be investigated and provided and appropriate remedy. The consumer and her husband took the vehicle to the dealer for a brake inspection. The dealer inspected the vehicle, and stated the front brake pads needed to be replaced. They replaced the front pads and resurfaced the rotors. The consumer stated after retrieving the vehicle from the dealer, her husband then took possession of the vehicle. As her husband was driving, he heard a cracking sound coming from under the vehicle, and all of a sudden, when he applied the brake pedal, the brakes did not respond. Her husband was a able to maneuver the vehicle and brought it to a stop. Once he exited the vehicle, the consumer discovered a brake pad behind the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. An inspection revealed a bolt holding the brake pad had cracked.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #13

Dec 262012


  • 40,293 miles
I have taken my 1 month certified newly purchased vehicle for what I describe as brakes/suspension problems. According to the dealership, they cannot find any problems with the car. I have already stated that I drive with my grandkids in the car. They seem to ignore and find nothing wrong with the vehicle. I feel there is definitely a safety issue!

- Galloway Twp, NJ, USA

problem #12

Dec 272011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 35,200 miles


At approximately 18:30 on December 27, 2011, I experienced an unintended acceleration event in my 2010 Toyota Rav4. I was stopping for a red light on pacific coast highway in seal beach, California at the corner of first street when I noticed it was difficult to apply the brake, and the car did not appear to want to stop. I applied the brake more forcefully and was eventually able to stop in the left hand turn lane, however the car kept lurching forward as if it wanted to break free of the brake. Having heard the widespread publicity regarding the unintended acceleration problem in Toyota vehicles, and having previously experienced the problem on one occasion over a year earlier, I thought this might be the issue. I put the car into park and the engine immediately revved up to an alarming rate. I turned off the ignition in panic before I was able to look at the tachometer. However, judging by the sound and later experimentation with revving while parked, I believe the RPM must have been in the 4000-5000 range at the time of the incident. I was particularly shaken by this event because I had already had the recall service performed that was supposedly intended to address the unintended acceleration issue. This recall service was performed May 10, 2011 at desert Toyota in tucson, Arizona. I had experience the unintended acceleration issue once before, but it was not nearly as dramatic. I do not recall the details, but it was in southern Arizona in early 2011 and my memory is that tapping the accelerator and brake pedals restored the car's operation to normal fairly quickly. I was little concerned about it happening again since the recall service had been performed.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 012011


  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that when depressing the brakes, the pedal would depress into the floorboard. The contact stated that the pedal was so low that he was able to simultaneously depress the brake pedal and the accelerator pedal. The dealer test drove the vehicle and advised the contact that brake pedal was soft designed and was operating as normal. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 500 and the current mileage was 6,000.

- Jonesborugh, TN, USA

problem #10

Sep 172011


  • 19,398 miles
As I applied the brakes to stop from 45 mph, the car continued to move at the same speed. I increased pressure on the the brake pedal, but the car did not slow down. Finally, after about three seconds, the car seemed to downshift, and the brakes engaged. I ended up halfway through the intersection. The conditions were warm and dry, and the traffic was light. This is a stock car with no modifications. We had already taken the car in for the recall adjustments to the accelerator pedal and the floor mats as directed by Toyota in 2010 and 2011. At the time of the incident, it seemed to me that the lack of braking was not mechanical, but electronic. It seemed that the brakes were locked out while the car continued to drive forward at the same speed. When the car downshifted and revved a little, the brakes suddenly came back online, and we came to a stop. This is the first time we have had a problem like this. We will contact Toyota and see what they advise.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 222010


  • 8,000 miles


I was going about 4 mph around a grocery store parking lot and the vehicle made a loud roaring noise and accelerated. I was unable to stop accept for a concrete post in the parking lot. I had no control and no brakes. This incident has left me without a vehicle for use. This is detrimental to my daily routine including the care of my 93 year old father who has doctors appointments and other needs that require a vehicle. I have only had the car for 6 months and cannot afford to make car payments or pay $40 for car rental. It will be over 3 weeks before the dealership will check electronic box/the car and was told that it would be an additional 3 weeks before I would be contacted. I will not be given a rental until proof is determined.

- Dillsboro, NC, USA

problem #8

Sep 082010


  • 900 miles
My new 2010 Toyota Rav4 makes squeaking noise from the rear wheel while I apply brake after a cold start. The noise goes away after applying the brakes couple of times.

- Foster City, CA, USA

problem #7

Oct 222010


  • 19,994 miles
While driving in heavy traffic on city side street, vehicle in front stopped, I attempted to do the same, but unsuccessfully. My vehicle was a rental and rental company replaced it with an identical vehicle. Subsequent experimentation with said replacement showed what I believe is a weakness in the electronically controlled brake system. With one application of the brake pedal a certain percentage of brake power is available, with a closely followed second application, the percentage of available braking power is increased, after a third, even more. The braking power available after the first application is low, even with full pedal application. This constitutes a hazard in the event of a need for full braking power. It is most likely that a person encountering a situation as I found myself in would do what I did, I.e. apply maximum pressure to the brake pedal only to find that because of the low available braking power the vehicle, person, or animal would not escape damage or injury.

- Tooele, UT, USA

problem #6

Oct 012010


  • 800 miles
Vehicle was at the stop sign for the high speed train. The vehicle was rearended by a truck. Brakes were applied, the brakes failed and the vehicle continued to go towards the railroad crossing with approach of the high speed train. The driver in desperation made a U-turn still trying to stop the vehicle. In desperation the gear was shifted to park and the key removed, the vehicle continued to roll jumped the curb and fortunately ran into tree which stopped the vehicle. The vehicle body damage is being repaired.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #5

Sep 192010


  • 700 miles


I bought the 2010 Toyota Rav4 this July. The car was fine until today, September 19th, 2010. Today at 11:45 am, I was braking as I approached the red light going at 25mph. When I pressed the brake the car continued to accelerate. I pressed the brake even harder, the car jumped the light, and even though the car did slowed, I had to slam in order to come to a complete halt. I then pulled over and restarted the engine. Although there was no accident I was very scared. At 4:30 pm the same day, I just exited the highway and was coming to the red light. I was braking at 25mph, yet the car continued to accelerate. I had to slam the brakes extremely hard and although it did come to a complete stop, I heard the engine revving. Again I was very scared. No accidents occurred.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 082010

RAV4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,900 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. While driving 25 mph, the contact applied the brakes and there was minimal vibration causing the brakes not to engage. The contact then shifted into neutral gear when the engine rpms increased. The vehicle lunged forward when the contact applied the brakes with extreme force and stopped the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that they would perform a diagnostic test and let him know what caused the failure to occur. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 1900. The consumer stated he was approaching a traffic light at an intersection. His speed was 25 mph, going up a grade. The road conditions were dry. When he applied the brake pedal, it was soft with a fine vibration. Updated evoq 09/22/10 updated 10/21/10. Updated 10/25/10

- North Haven, CT, USA

problem #3

Apr 062010


  • 800 miles
Auto accident due to brake failure. The banjo bolt was loose on the right brake caliper on 2010 Toyota rav 4 with 800 miles. The car could not stop when trying to stop on front of stop sign as a result the car crossed the street and hit the curb and the light pole across the street.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #2

Jan 182010


  • 500 miles
My Rav4 was part of the recall. One, I bought my car on 1/18/10. I heard Toyota filed their claim on 1/21/10. The recall was announced on 1/26/10. I waited until beginning of March for recall letter as instructed by Toyota and I never received the recall letter. I contacted the dealership and was told that Toyota doesn't send out recall letters and that I should come in for recall. Last Saturday the pedal was fixed but there is a brake lag, meaning the car will not stop in time, you really have to put a lot of pressure to stop the vehicle. As per dealer, they don't see anything wrong with the car and when I asked them can they tell me if the car is safe to drive they told me that Toyota can not make those guarantees. I don't feel safe driving this car and want to return it since as per Toyota if the car was purchased/leased within 5 days of recall/production stoppage they will take it back. I contacted the dealership and they told me that I should contact Toyota directly which I did and nobody is answering the phone-its always busy. On their website, it does indicate that they will work on case by case basis for take backs but nobody from Toyota is willing to help. How do I proceed" can anybody help me"

- Dumont, NJ, USA

problem #1

Feb 202010


  • 2,700 miles
Just another unsatisfied, unhappy, and scared for my life Toyota owner! the repair for the recall for the accelerator pedal has not fixed the problem. It takes too much effort to apply the brakes and the accelerator sticks sometimes. Braking is becoming a major issue for me-I've never had to apply so much pressure before. I'm used to letting my foot off the gas, letting the car slow down itself, then gently applying the brakes as needed (mostly at stoplights so I don't have to accelerate as much when it turns green). The car really doesn't slow down like it should, requiring me to apply unnecessary pressure to the brake to slow down. Dealer replaced the pedal or repaired it for the recall but nothing has changed.

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?