Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,160 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #81

Apr 182016

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2005 Toyota Tacoma in August of 2015. I took my vehicle to a Toyota dealer to remove a wheel lug nut in September of 2015. I was advised by a Toyota service representative that there was a recall on the frame of my truck but when the service records were checked, the service representative advised that the recall service had been performed on my truck by treating the frame. On March 17 2016 my son took the truck to our local Toyota dealer in reference to the leaf spring recall. The service representative advised the same information to my son in reference to the frame recall and that the service treatment had been performed. My vehicle was never inspected on these two occasions at the Toyota dealer for possible frame damage. My son and I inspected the vehicle and located what appeared to be rust near the leaf spring hangers which was coming under the protective coating that had been applied by Toyota. I scheduled an appointment with my local Toyota dealer to inspect the frame. On April 15 2016 the service representative advised me that the frame had a hole in the frame on the drivers side near the part of the frame where it starts to go towards the motor. The service representative advised that in his opinion the hole had been there for awhile and that the hole could not have gotten that large in a year since being treated.I contacted Toyota and was advised this was not a recall but a service campaign and that it expired on March 31 2016 and that they could not give any assistance with the rusted frame.I advised the Toyota case manager that I could understand if it had never been inspected or treated but that's not the case with my vehicle. I also advised the case manager that it was apparent that the frame treatment did not stop the problem with rust in the frame. She just kept advising that Toyota could not assist me with this matter.

- Disputanta, VA, USA

problem #80

Apr 042016

Tacoma

  • 175,000 miles
10 - 12 inch long vertical rust and cracks in the frame. Located on both sides of the frames interior. Locations are both opposite of the catalytic converters. I was told by a friend there was an issue and Toyota was replacing the frames due to inferior quality of production causing a safety issue in which the frames were rusting from the inside out. I made an appointment with the local dealer on 4/4/2016, I had to wait until 4/13/2016 for the first available appointment. Upon arriving at the dealer I was informed the "recall" expired March 31st and they can do nothing for me. They refused to even look at the issue. I called Toyota to ask if there was any recourse as I had never received notification of this issue let alone a deadline. I was told this was not a recall and the time had expired and there was nothing they would do for me. I am afraid the truck is not safe to drive.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #79

Apr 012016

Tacoma

  • 70,000 miles
2005 Toyota Tacoma frame rust recall. Toyota rep inspected the frame and stated it has failed due to rust and corrosion. Toyota refuses to offer any remedy for this problem. Frame could break and cause personal or vehicle damage.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #78

Mar 212016

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A limited service campaign notified me of possible frame rust problem. Received crc coating 9/10/2014. Noticed rust had advanced through the frame and notified dealer. Dealer checked damage 3/21/16 and gave me a Toyota customer service number. Toyota said they couldn't do anything about it since I received the crc coating, which was poorly applied. (see pictures of overspray on bed, indicating it had not been removed to spray the whole frame) punished for being proactive. Stuck with a rusty frame.

- Dixon, KY, USA

problem #77

Mar 172016

Tacoma

  • 149,000 miles
The Toyota dealer in concord, nh inspected my 2005 Toyota Tacoma on March 17, 2016. They reported that the frame is corroded and that there is a perforation inside the frame by the front body mount. They suggested I called Toyota. Three phone calls to Toyota. They are aware of frame corrosion issues, but refused to correct this, because "the replacement program no longer applies." Clearly the manufacturer is aware of a problem with this model, yet refuses to address an issue that is a safety risk.

- Bradford, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #76

Mar 162015

Tacoma

  • miles
Frame recall. I took my frame in to be sprayed with rust protection but 4 months later the vehicle failed the state inpection due to holes in the frame. Toyota said that since they already put the rust protection on they can not do anything. They did not properly inspect my frame. The rust holes did not appear after 4 months. They should of replaced the bad frame.

- Verona, PA, USA

problem #75

Feb 292016

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Please see below. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Blackstone, MA, USA

problem #74

Jan 292016

Tacoma

  • 155,294 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was at the local dealer, the mechanic diagnosed that the subframe was corroded around the rear of the vehicle and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously inspected under a voluntary recall by the manufacturer. The VIN was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 155,294. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Farmington, IA, USA

problem #73

Feb 292016

Tacoma

  • 104,140 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. While having the tires replaced, the contact was informed that the frame was corroded. The vehicle was previously serviced under a manufacturer's limited service campaign for corrosion resistant compound application for the frame, but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,140.

- Blackstone, MA, USA

problem #72

Oct 152014

Tacoma

  • 99,000 miles
Vehicle's frame is rusting and flaking apart. The vehicle was taken to a Toyota dealership per their limited service campaign to apply a corrosion-resistant compound. One year later that compound is starting to fall off as the rust beneath it lets loose. Since there is physically less frame material than when the truck was built I feel that this vehicle would suffer considerable damage in a collision as the the strength of the frame has been compromised. I am also concerend that the vehicle could loose control if the frame fails at highway speed after encountering a large pothole. You can see how the rust has aggressively attacked the many welds on this frame and weekend the joints. While the manufacturer did make an attempt to coat the frame and hide the rust there are several places on the interior of the frame that recieved no treatment at all. You can still see the metal flaking away in those untreated areas. To have some surface rust on a 10 year old vehicle is normal but this problem is way beyond surface rust. While Toyota has agreed to replace frames with considerable size holes I think that frames like mine are being overlooked. Rather than have a single point of failure my entire frame is weekend and will continue to weaken as the compound they applied is failing to stop the rusting. While the frame does not currently have a hole it is only a matter of time based on the flaking rust. Toyota is not willing to offer any help with future holes because they sprayed the compound on the frame. Unfortunately the compound doesn't protect the entire frame and it is prone to peeling off. Even if the compound were applied correctly it in no way provides the structural integrity that the frame once had.

- De Pere, WI, USA

problem #71

May 212015

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a dealer for a manufacturer's recall where the frame was replaced; however, the muffler was removed and was not reattached to the vehicle. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact was concerned for his safety. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #70

Jul 012015

Tacoma

  • 170,000 miles
In reference to U.S. district court for the western district of Arkansas case number: 1:14-cv-02208 I currently own a 05 Tacoma that has the frame rusted completely, I've contacted Toyota repeatedly about this issue and they are denying to fix this because this vehicle is no longer in the usa. My argument here is that Toyota has known about this problem and has had may complaints about it yet did nothing about it, they should fix this the vehicle regardless of where it is because it poses a major safety risk to my life and others on the road.

- Fort Lauderdale , FL, USA

problem #69

May 212013

Tacoma

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame of the vehicle was rusted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic spray painted the frame, but the failure recurred. The contact stated that the remedy did not repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- East Taunton, MA, USA

problem #68

May 012006

Tacoma

  • 6,000 miles
Less than one year after purchase the rear leaf springs failed on both sides. Two dealers plus Toyota headquarters refused service, so I had to pay for a private spring shop to replace them. They have since been recalled but to date I have not received reimbursement. In 2014 the steering shaft had to be replaced and at the same time the frame was determined corroded beyond repair. Toyota made promise to replace the frame under recall in Nov 2014 but to date has not delivered and has not indicated when I can expect the repair to be made. For over six months now I have been left with an unsafe vehicle that I can't sell or replace.

- Waikoloa, HI, USA

problem #67

May 012015

Tacoma

  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was undergoing an oil change, the technician noticed that the frame on the front driver side was severely rusted and stated it needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 151,000.

- Connersville, IN, USA

problem #66

Aug 152008

Tacoma

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the hitch and subframe of the vehicle was rusted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Connersville , IN, USA

problem #65

Feb 272015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Took my Tacoma into dealer for noise coming out the back of truck turn out that my truck had 2 active recalls on it one was the frame and the other was rear spring. They told me that the frame had to be replace because there was significant rust and had made a hole on it. My problem is that Toyota still has my truck with no ata on repair. They said that I can have my truck back if I sign a waiver if my truck is not safe why would I want to sign a waiver. The did provide a loner car but its only good for 30 day after that I am on my own. As you can see it been 6 week since they took my truck.

- Plymouthmeeting, PA, USA

problem #64

Feb 062013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Frame falling apart!

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #63

Dec 202014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 175,440 miles
The vehicle has significant frame rust. There are several areas on the frame where large sections of metal have delaminated. This presents a structural integrity issue in key supporting areas of the frame assembly for major components to include drive train, braking and suspension. The overall crash worthiness is in question due to the structural integrity issue presented by the frame design, metal composition and premature rusting and metal fatigue. Toyota has started a limited service campaign to apply a corrosion resistance protection, but this issue should be a safety recall. Based on the magnitude of damage from rusting in my case the only resolution would be a full frame replacement. I have pictures of the frame damage and rust available. I will also be sending Toyota a letter requesting an inspection by the regional factor representative prior to any repairs.

- Harbeson, DE, USA

problem #62

Dec 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
Toyota sent me a recall notice (that was not listed on your site) for rust on the frame. I had the dealership inspect it and they said that it is bad and Toyota will replace the frame. The dealership is telling me that specific parts (the power steering rack and lines) that are rusty will not be able to be put back when the frame is replaced (and the truck assembled again) but I have to pay the cost. I had those specific parts looked at by my mechanic and although a portion (the lines are bad and I am having replaced) the ps rack is not in bad condition. I contacted Toyota to see what they will cover and was told they will not cover parts that are not the frame. My truck is 10 years old. It is in great condition and runs great and I planned to keep it for a long time. My concern is that when you try to disassemble a whole vehicle (which is 10 years old) some of the parts that are in good working condition, once banged around trying to remove them, will break. I am concerned that I have to pay for these parts. If Toyota is replacing the frame due to safety issues, isn't it their responsibility to replace other parts that were fine prior to making the recall fix?

- Rosedale, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?