Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,821 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #74

Jul 302015

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a rusty frame recall from Toyota on my 2006 Toyota Tacoma, so I set up a appointment with bryan easler Toyota at hendersonville, N.C. I took my 2006 Tacoma in to bryan easler Toyota, they checked it for rusty frame recalland was told they would turn in the results to Toyota.I received information later that my 2006 Tacoma passed the rusty frame recall, and thinking to myself that was great news.a few weeks later when changing the oil I was broken hearted at finding big holes as big as my hand in the main frame of my 2006 Tacoma that I have took special care of with only 112,000 miles, and this is my second new Toyota bought from bryan easler Toyota.the rusty frame recall was not checked correct, and the case manager was contacted with a reply that the rusty frame recall has ende, but now I have a very unsafe vehicle that might brake at anytime to cause wreck or death"????????"(sending some pictures please check thanks)

- Mills River, NC, USA

problem #73

Jun 292016

Tacoma

  • 165,000 miles
2006 Tacoma has major frame rust. Toyota approved rustproofing was applied in May 2015 by the original Toyota dealer. One year later, the rustproofing is falling off in sheets, showing the separating layers of frame steel. I contacted Toyota (case 1060290111) and was told there was nothing Toyota would do. I had wanted the frame and rustproofing to be inspected by Toyota. They would do neither. They called the dealer that applied the coating and suggested I take it to them, for inspection, but they are 300 mile away. I asked if a local dealer could perform the task, but was told Toyota would not authorize that. The truck has 165000 miles and is otherwise in very good condition. My fear is that the frame will fail while driving on the road.

- Leeds, ME, USA

problem #72

Jun 152015

Tacoma

  • miles
Toyota Tacoma rusty frame, unsafe, Toyota not fixing (unsafe-frame breaking into--cause loss of control--crash big rusty holes in vehicle frame

- Mills River, NC, USA

problem #71

Sep 161015

Tacoma

  • 116,963 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall on frame - dealer sprayed frame with rust prevention. In less than a year it fell off in chucks. Brought it back to dealer and was told there was nothing they could do, even though they had a stack of replacement frames. I don't feel safe in this vehicle and I can not sell it because everyone knows of the problem. Also, my garage floor is stained with rust. Should they have replaced this safety problem?

- North Brookfield, MA, USA

problem #70

Jun 092016

Tacoma

  • 163,086 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was undergoing maintenance, the contact was informed that there was severe rust to the subframe of the vehicle. The manufacturer was informed of the severe corrosion; however, the contact was informed that the warranty period had expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 163,086.

- Catasauqua, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #69

Mar 162016

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but no rust or corrosion was found. The contact later inspected under the vehicle and noticed extensive rust and corrosion. The dealer was notified of the failure and indicated that the statute had expired to have the recall repair performed. The contact indicated that the dealer did not comply to provide a remedy. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mokane, MO, USA

problem #68

May 062016

Tacoma

  • 124,530 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Dec 12, 2014, gualt Toyota in endicott NY inspected truck frame as a result of the Toyota truck frame recall. As a result, they applied undercoating to the frame. On May 6, 2016, my mechanic reported that I need to get my truck to Toyota for the frame recall asap. I told him that gault had applied undercoating and his response was that the undercoating is gone and he could not tell that it was undercoated. He also reported that frame will soon become a safety issue. I called Toyota directly and they refused to help me with the issue.

- Johnson City, NY, USA

problem #67

Apr 012016

Tacoma

  • 106,650 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a recall performed on the leaf springs. Upon further inspection, the technician found severe corrosion on the frame of the vehicle and stated that the recall could not be performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,650.

- West Hurley, NY, USA

problem #66

May 062015

Tacoma

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the sun visor became loose and it would drop down blocking the driver's visibility. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the sun visor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #65

May 032016

Tacoma

  • 198,158 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a recall regarding the leaf springs on both sides of the vehicle. The mechanic noticed two holes on the frame and severe rust. The contact was informed that the recall was expired and the vehicle would not be repaired under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 198,158.

- Dover, PA, USA

problem #64

Dec 312015

Tacoma

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle was involved in a frame rot recall. Dealership checked and claimed there was no rot, so it was just cleaned and undercoated. After just three months dealership found rot through and put a claim into Toyota who declined to do the repair work stating their responsibility ended when dealership missed the rust through when checked during the initial recall service. Toyota should stand by their recall obligation and do the necessary repairs when such a small amount of time elapsed between initial inspection and when rust through was found.

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #63

Jan 042016

Tacoma

  • 168,000 miles
Frame rust issues. Holes in frame from rust. Inspection by the dealer on 1/4/16 determined there to be holes in frame. Vehicle had to left at the dealers until the frame could be replaced. The dealer has no idea when there will be a frame available for replacement. It has now been 3 months and there is still no idea when the repair may be made.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #62

Mar 092016

Tacoma

  • 119,000 miles
On May 29, 2014 the truck went to boch Toyota in norwood, MA for the limited service campaign that Toyota sent a letter due to excessive corrosion because of a defect in the frame. Boch Toyota said the frame was okay and they could coat it with a crc. In January 2016 the truck was at mcgee Toyota and their technicians said that the crc had failed and the frame had excessive corrosion. They put in for a new frame because the limited service campaign goes through March 31, 2016, however Toyota denied saying they had already coated the frame and that was all they would do. After numerous complaints to Toyota corporate they asked me to bring the truck back on March 9, 2016 for their technicians to review. I am told their technicians saw the corrosion but have not been provided a report. There are numerous instances of this frame corrosion on this website as well as in the news and Toyota has replaced the frames on the older model Tacoma which were coated with the crc and failed. They need to replace this frame as it is a known defect and poses a serious safety hazard. I am attaching pictures of the frame which I took myself and also a sample copy of the letter I received back in 2014 describing the campaign.

- Canton, MA, USA

problem #61

Mar 022016

Tacoma

  • 128,000 miles
Toyota Tacoma limited service campaign. I dropped my truck off in November 2015 for a frame inspection, I was then told I could not drive my truck off of the lot and had to have a loaner vehicle. I was in a loaner vehicle without my truck for 4 months until the beginning of March 2016. The day I got my truck back, the check engine light came on, the codes were P0420 and P0430 which indicate a catalytic converter issue. The check engine light was not on when I took the truck in, or ever in the 2 years I owned it, but the dealership is refusing to do anything but say it needs new converts that cost over $3000. My truck now has a vibration from 50-55mph which was not present before as well. I believe these issues are a direct result of the frame being replace, or the fact the my truck sat stationary for 4 months while waiting for a frame, neither of which were my fault.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #60

Mar 172016

Tacoma

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was notified of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The dealer diagnosed that the undercarriage was corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #59

Mar 092016

Tacoma

  • 145,000 miles
I took my truck to malloy Toyota for frame inspection regarding the limited service campaign eod- frame rust recall. Dealer informed me there was rust, but no perforations. They recommended coating the frame with compounds. I feel that my truck may not have perforations, but it is just a matter of time before the frame becomes perforated, resulting in a dangerous / unsafe vehicle. Putting the compunds on the frame is a quick band-aid and does not fix the problem. This frame will become unsafe, it is just a matter of time. This will not only potentially jeopardize the safety of my family / occupants in the vehicle, but also the others that share the road with my truck.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #58

Feb 152016

Tacoma

  • 21,000 miles
Frame rust - 2006 Toyota Tacoma - 21K miles - significant rust of frame. Spray-on rust inhibitor fix completed approx. Two years ago but rust remains and is increasing.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #57

Feb 052016

Tacoma

  • 74,143 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was inspected under Toyota's service campaign due to rusting frames. The technician found no rust present and sprayed an undercoating to the vehicle. Approximately fourteen months later, while the vehicle was being serviced at the dealer, rust and a golf ball sized hole on the front driver side. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 74,143. Updated 04/13/16

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #56

Jan 012016

Tacoma

  • 200,000 miles
2006 Toyota Tacoma found hole rusted through the frame while hooking up my electric diesel pump called Toyota and they said there was a service campaign for undercoating or new frame and my truck had been sprayed and they where sorry about my frame rusting into. This is a safety issue.

- Jeffersonville, KY, USA

problem #55

Apr 302015

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a manufacturer recall for the subframe, but the VIN was not included. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the subframe was severely corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 1/15/16 updated 02/05/16

- Lake View, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?