Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: You're going to burn through a lot of dinosaurs while chugging around town, and any rear passengers you may have to carry are going to feel real cramped, but at the end of the day this is a solid truck.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,260 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Tundra suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Feb 192007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact viewed a recall notice for the lower ball joints on the internet. The dealer advised the contact they were waiting on a recall notification from the corporate office. The contact was having problems maintaining control of the vehicle while driving. The current and failure mileage was 100,000. The dealer diagnosed the failure as the power steering pump and replaced it at cost to the contact. Two to three weeks ago the dealer diagnosed the lower ball joints, and advised the contact that they were operating normally. On 2/19/07, while driving 25 mph the driver lost control of the vehicle and crossed the center line, hitting a wooden post. There was damage to the fender, the hood and the tire. The driver was unable to open the door. There were no prior warning light indicators. There were no injuries, and the road conditions were dry. The vehicle was towed to a Toyota dealer. The mechanic advised the contact that they received notification of the lower ball joint recall and that the vehicle was a part of the recall. The contact has the invoice from the power steering replacement.

- Silverhill, AL, USA

problem #25

Jan 202007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,500 miles
There was no event leading up to failure. This was totally unsuspected. The failure I experience in my 2004 Toyota Tundra occurred as I was turning from a small street to a major street. As I was making this turn, the driver's side wheeled separated from the ball joint causing me to lose control of the vehicle. As I lost control of the vehicle the tire became lodged in the wheel well causing my driver's side door to become jammed. I was not able to exit the vehicle using this door. As of now, the truck is still in the parking lot at the dealer being held up by a wood block. I was told by the repair department that the parts will not be in for a few weeks. Toyota Corp has not yet confirmed or denied responsibility, although I was given a case number for my claim. I was able to obtain a loaner vehicle from the dealership at no cost to me (yet), but it was like pulling teeth!!!

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #24

Dec 132006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,465 miles
Failure of lower ball joint on right side caused loss of control after wheel fell under vehicle, 4 weeks later left ball joint failed causing loss of control after wheel fell under vehicle. Both had to be replaced. Manufacturer states that this year vehicle is not under a recall and has no problem.

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #23

Jan 132007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,204 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling North on sr 73 in California at approximately 65 mph. The right front lower ball joint on my 2004 Toyota Tundra snapped, which caused the right front wheel to fold under the frame of the vehicle. I lost control momentarily, but was able to regain control and guide the vehicle to the right shoulder. The ball joint failure also severed the brake lines, leaving me with no stopping ability. I resorted to the mechanical parking brake to stop my truck. My 2004 Tundra was towed to longo Toyota in el monte California where it sits. I have contacted the Toyota corporate hq, but was told that my Tundra was not included with the 775,000 other Tundra that were recalled for faulty lower ball joints. As of this time, the defective parts are still on the vehicle at longo.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 252006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
- the contact has a Toyota Tundra with 45000 miles with a front driver side ball joint failure. The contact said that he was driving 35 mph in dry weather when the failure happened, and he slid onto the sidewalk. The contact had the truck towed to the dealer and will have the repair order. The contact stated that there is a recall for the ball joint on his year and model truck but the dealer told him that his truck was not included.

- Franklyn, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Oct 282006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 35 mph on normal road conditions and prior to making sharp turns, there was a noise coming from underneath the vehicle. Also, after making sharp turns, there was difficulty in the return movement of the steering wheel. This defect was of a permanent nature. During all turns, the vehicle pulled to the median or to the direction of how it was being turned. There was no warning signals prior to the incident. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, who determined that the front lower ball joints were worn. The vehicle was not repaired under NHTSA recall #05V225000 regarding suspension:front:control arm: Lower ball joint. The manufacturer was not alerted. Updated 01/10/07.

- Wallace, ID, USA

problem #20

Oct 192006

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,999 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lower control ball joint on both sides but on different dates of accident and there is a recall 05V-225 and EA04-024 police report dates 19 Oct 2006 # 2006-11-038-04829 right side on left side police report 3 Nov 2006 #2006-11-038-05061

- Jayuya, PR, USA

problem #19

Nov 102006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,903 miles
Failure of lower ball joint left front wheel. Upper and lower ball joints both failed and separated resulting in front wheel falling off ad lodging under frame of truck.

- Hot Sprngs, AR, USA

problem #18

Nov 102006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 35 mph, the front driver wheel separated from the vehicle. It was towed off the road and to the dealer who determined the front lower ball joint needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall, # 05V225000, regarding the front lower ball joint. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 12/18/2006 -

- Frenchtown, NJ, USA

problem #17

Oct 212006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,200 miles
While driving my 2004 Toyota Tundra at approximately 55 miles per hour, on a state highway, the right front wheel suddenly came off. The lower ball joint had failed. Vehicle has 27,000 miles. According to Toyota company my vehicle was not included in the 2005 recall since its serial number was "outside the series of numbers recalled.".

- Bangor, ME, USA

problem #16

Sep 272006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,828 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 30 mph in the city, a noise was heard and the right front wheel dropped. The vehicle was unable to move off the road and was towed to an independent repair shop who determined the right front lower ball joint fractured. The repair shop replaced both front upper and lower ball joints and the front right tire. The dealer was notified. Updated 11/20/2006 - the consumer contacted the manufacturer but the provided no assistance. There was a recall for the ball joint but the consumer's vehicle was not included in the recall.

- Stevens Point, WI, USA

problem #15

Oct 022006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 40 mph, the driver side front tire dislocated from the vehicle. After being towed to the dealership, it was determined the lower ball joint was fractured. There was a NHTSA recall, #05V225000, regarding the lower ball joint, but the vehicle was not included due to the VIN. Updated 11/30/06.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 252006

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This is a second compliant. The first compliant did not have the correct home address. The P.O. Box is my mailing address. On 2/24/06 antioch Toyota delivered a 2004 Toyota Tundra to my home. The first compliant number is #10169458 most of the info is the same accept the address to where the car is located. The suspension:front control arm lower ball joint broke and the axle on my truck snapped and broke. The truck was towed to almaden Toyota in san jose ca and that is where it is now. I called Toyota and they told me today that this truck was not one that was recalled according to their records, but they will have someone come out and inspect the truck. How did it break if the part was not bad? the recall does not list VIN numbers that are affected by this recall, only model names: 2004 Toyota Tundra and my truck is a 4dr double cab limited rwd sb (4.7L 8 cyl 4A). It seems to me they are trying to get out of repairing/replacing my truck when the axle broke while driving it to work.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 162006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 5 mph, the front lower control arm had fractured off. There was a recall (05V225000) regarding the lower control arm, but the manufacturer stated the vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #12

May 162006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Ball joint recall for 2004 Toyota Tundra 4X4. My truck has bad ball joints Toyota says it is normal wear and tear after I got recall notice. Help.

- Averill Park, NY, USA

problem #11

Jul 312006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,516 miles
: the contact stated while driving 5 mph on normal city road the front suspension ball joint fractured causing the right wheel to separate. Prior to the incident, there was a noise while making turns. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the ball joints were replaced. Two month later the left ball joint failed with the left wheel separation. During this incident, the vehicle was also traveling at low speeds. There was a recall # 05V225000 regarding the ball joints. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 11/21/06.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 232006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,500 miles
: the contact stated, the steering began to fail while traveling at 65 mph., in dry, clear conditions on the freeway. The vehicle was pulled off to the side of the highway and slowed to 15 mph. While attempting to stop the front left wheel fell off dislocating the axle. When towed to the service dealer, the mechanic identified the lower front ball joint had fractured and the upper ball joint had been damaged. The manufacturer was contacted. Updated 05/21/07

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 292006

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We received a notice for recall for all Toyota Tundra between the year 2002 to 2004 because of front suspension lower ball joint (ssc50J). Because of the recall, we made an appointment and went to the service location given in the notice. The appointments for both were made and using our VIN number told us that both our trucks don't need servicing and so dismissed both, in Florida and New York. On Friday, my husband was driving the truck in New York and was about to enter a major highway when the tire fell out. We are inclined to believe that it was the result of a defective part put in by the manufacturer. Because my husband was driving, he was able to safely steer away from a major collision. Basically we were very lucky this time. Imagine if it were someone, myself included, with less experience who happened to be driving, or if my husband had already entered the highway. Anyway we towed the truck to our personal service mechanic, who charged us $70 for the tow. The mechanic told us the front ball joint came out and so the tire came off. The tire wing and the line was damaged due to the incident. Fortunately, that was all. The notice gave a phone number, 888.270.9371, which we called. When we gave them our VIN number, they told us that our trucks were not included for service per the recall, so they will not service our trucks. So far, our truck in Florida did not have the same accident, but I am very uneasy, especially because I am the one that uses the truck in Florida and since we purchased the two trucks at the same time. As of now, the damaged truck is being held at the mechanic's until we can have our trucks serviced. Otherwise, we will have to pay over $1000/ per truck to fix the problem, in which case we feel it is only right to be fully reimbursed for those services.

- Sayville, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 212006

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles
: the contact stated the ball joints had been replaced twice. Prior to both failures the steering became difficult. The dealership replaced the right front lower ball joint six months ago under a good will campaign. The left upper ball joint also fractured however the dealership will not repair it at no cost. The manufacturer was alerted who explained there was not a recall.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #7

May 262006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling less than 10 mph, the driver's side front end collapsed to the ground. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, where it was determined the lower ball joint fractured. There was minor damage to the body as a result. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V225000, regarding the lower ball joint; however, it is not included in the recall. Updated 6/12/2006 -

- Modesto, CA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?