Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: You're going to burn through a lot of dinosaurs while chugging around town, and any rear passengers you may have to carry are going to feel real cramped, but at the end of the day this is a solid truck.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,260 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Tundra suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Mar 212010

Tundra

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. When the contact was driving approximately 35 mph, the front driver side tire disengaged from the vehicle without warning. The contact was able to drive onto the emergency lane. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The police arrived at the scene. There were no injuries or damages. The contact experienced the identical failure with NHTSA campaign id number 05V225000 (suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint). The failure and current mileages were 103,000.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #45

Oct 132009

Tundra

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. While driving 52 mph the front passenger wheel detached from the vehicle. He was able to safely stop the vehicle. The entire wheel assembly and drive train were on the ground. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility. He was advised by the manufacturer that his vehicle identification number was included in recall #07V013000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). He filed a complaint, and the case# is 0910124225. He was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Condon, MT, USA

problem #44

Oct 272007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Toyota Tundra recall for front ball joints--2006 received notice and took to dealer in bozeman, mt to check...we were told our truck wasn't part of recall....months later, received another notice...called and emailed dealer, but they did not return calls or emails. October 2007 front passenger wheel "broke" while driving and we wrecked. Dealer in laramie, wy stated that "yes, your truck was part of the recall and this was due to front ball joint failure." Luckily we were only driving 10mph, but if we had been driving on interstate, we would have rolled.

- Butte, MT, USA

problem #43

Dec 282006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lower ball joint recall danger.

- Averill Park, NY, USA

problem #42

Jun 232007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V013000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). He immediately scheduled an appointment to have the vehicle repaired. The dealer stated that it would take three months to get repaired because the parts were on back order. It has now been nine months and the dealer will not return his phone calls. He attempted to file a complaint with the manufacturer, but they gave him an incorrect telephone number. He stated that the vehicle vibrates terribly when the brakes are applied. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 34,600.

- Miami, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Nov 202007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a front suspension lower ball joint recall notice in June of 2007. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that they did not have the parts for the recall repair and would have to wait a month for them to arrive. A month later he called the dealer and was informed that the parts were still unavailable and they would call him when the parts arrived. Months passed and the contact never received a phone call. While driving approximately 45 mph, the ball joints became loose and he lost control of the vehicle. When the vehicle finally came to a stop, it was towed to the shop. The vehicle is currently being repaired. The failure and current mileages were 87,000. Updated 12-12-07. Updated.

- Sherman, NY, USA

problem #40

Sep 062007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Over three months ago, I called david maus Toyota in sanford to get the lower ball joints on my 2004 Toyota Tundra per recall ssc 70B. I was told it would take six to eight weeks for the parts to come in and they would call me when it did. I have not heard from them yet and they have not returned my phone calls. The front end of my truck is acting un-stable at this time and I fear that I might get into an accident if I continue to drive it in this condition.

- Altamonte Springs, FL, USA

problem #39

Jul 012007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact received recall notice number 05V225000 (suspension front:lower ball joints). While driving, the vehicle shakes severely. The contact has called the dealer to have the recall repaired, however, they continue to inform him that the parts are unavailable and that he would have to pay for the repair. The contact stated that the recall notice indicated that the repair would be performed for free. The dealer stated that they would call him when they had an available appointment time, but they have not called or provided a loaner or rental vehicle. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 41,000 and current mileage was 42,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 222007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. He stated the he heard a noise coming from the front end of his vehicle. There is a recall for the front lower ball joints (NHTSA campaign # 07V013000). The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 43,000.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #37

Jul 242007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I received a recall notice for my 2004 Toyota Tundra for the front ball joints. I have called 3 times and each time my name is supposedly placed on a list to call as soon as the part arrives. Well, 90 days later I haven't heard from anyone. I called my local dealer today and was told my information would have to be taken down and they would call when the part arrived, I escalated and spoke to the manager to said the part was in but it could only be installed on 7/25/07, no other day of the week would work since his staff is going back to school? I guess they just expect me to quit my job in an effort to have this problem fixed. I also escalated this issue to the manager of service department at lake norman dealership where truck was purchased. They kept transferring me to service dept then to parts, after about 30 minutes, I asked if they would even honor the recall notice and they said yes, but I have to be transferred again, no one ever answered. I have been dealing with this way to long and do not understand why Toyota will not stand behind their products, I didn't do anything to the vehicle and this wasn't my fault, I wish someone could help! I do not trust any of the dealers I have spoke to at this point because I feel like they are all lying to me and trying to get out of repairing my truck.

- Rockwell, NC, USA

problem #36

Jul 122007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice on my 2004 Toyota notice #ssc 70B front ball joints, I contacted the local Toyota dealership where I purchased the vehicle, they have stated I must go on a waiting list as there are limited supplies of the replacment parts from Toyota, 2-weeks later they are now telling me it may be "weeks and weeks" before parts are availible. My complaint is with Toyota for not follow through on providing thier dealerships with these parts in a timely fashion, especially in this case where this is a critical repair. Please feel free to contact me if further info is needed, and feel free to pressure-chew out Toyota. Thanks for your help.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #35

Jun 272007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
Front ball joint on driver's side just collapsed and the axle came out and the wheel turned sideways at 45 mph, causing a 300' skid.

- North Pole, AK, USA

problem #34

May 212007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,800 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. On May 21, 2007, the contact received safety recall # 07V013000 for the lower ball joints. He called the dealer and he was told that they did not have any parts in the United States to perform the repair. The engine size was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 13,800.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #33

Mar 012007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that he received recall notice # 05V225000 concerning suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint. On April 20, 2007 the contact called the dealer, and they stated that the part should arrive within seven days. A week later the dealer stated that they did not know when the part would arrive. The contact stated that this was unacceptable, and the wait time was too long. No failures occurred at this present time. The current mileage is 12,000, and the failure mileage was unknown. Updated 05/21/07

- Cedartown, GA, USA

problem #32

Apr 282007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that he heard a noise while driving 45 mph and suspected failure with the lower ball joint. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, and the ball joint was replaced at the contact's expense. Also, the dealer stated that the contact would have to pay for the tires, battery, and power steering fluid flush. He stated that he should not have to pay for these expenses because the vehicle was included in the recall. The manufacturer stated that this vehicle was included in the rcall and would mail him the notice. The current and failure mileages were 80,000. Left message 10/16/2007.

- Los Angels, CA, USA

problem #31

Apr 112007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
I received a notice from Toyota that the front suspension lower ball joint on my 2004 Tundra was being recalled. The noticed stated that I should contact my local Toyota dealer to schedule service to replace this part. When I called I was told that they were out of the parts and would not get more until about 10 days later. After waiting 10 days, I then emailed the service department at my local dealership through their website requesting that they schedule an appointment for me. I have not heard back from them two weeks later despite their claim that they will try to respond to each inquiry within 24 hours.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #30

Apr 252007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact received recall # 07V013000 regarding suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joints. He took the vehicle to two Toyota dealers, and was informed that it would be approximately two weeks before the necessary parts arrived. While driving 15 mph he lost control of the vehicle. The front passenger side of the vehicle lowered and the tire detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to his residence, and he was waiting to hear from the dealer. He stated that he will file a complaint with the manufacturer, and will contact his state's attorney general. The insurance company will not file a claim for the vehicle because of the recall. He will submit pictures, the police report, and other information along with the hard copy. The current mileage is 61,000, and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #29

Mar 152007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,140 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a recall 7V013000 on March 15, 2007 concerning the lower ball joints. The dealer stated that the parts were not available, and they could not estimate when they could perform the repairs. However, they added his name to the waiting list. This was the only dealer in the area. The current and failure mileage were 51,140. There had been no failures to date.

- North Feild Falls , VT, USA

problem #28

Jan 072007

Tundra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
- the contact called regarding the 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a recall notice for the lower ball joints. The lower ball joints were replaced. The contact stated that approximately 6 weeks later he was traveling at 30 mph, when something came loose on the driver's side and the vehicle started to wobble. The contact lost control and struck another vehicle. There was damage to the driver's side front end. The air bags did not deploy. The failure mileage was 80,000. There were no injuries. There was no police report taken the contact had pictures of the vehicle.

- Madera, CA, USA

problem #27

Sep 112006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. On July 31, 2006 the lower ball joints fell off the front passenger side while parking. A month later in September 2006the lower ball joints fell off the driver's side of the vehicle with the tire while sitting at a stop sign. The lower ball joints were repaired, and the following year there was a safety recall for the lower ball joints. The contact would like to be reimbursed for the safety repairs. The contact mailed all of the necessary information to be reimbursed in October 2006 to the manufacturer and received no response to date.

- Tracy, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?