Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,185 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tundra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Nov 272014


  • 97,000 miles


I have been having this on going problem with my 2008 Tundra 5.7 4X4 the 4X4 hi/L, vsc, ABS are blinking while driving at different times. Brought truck in ran test and nothing came back. Truck also feels like it bunny hops when going out of first into 2nd gear. Toyota still said nothing is wrong.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #51

Nov 282014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
2008 Toyota Tundra 5.7L double cab w/74,500 miles 4hi, 4lo, ABS, vsc lights come on and flash at random intervals. The first time this happened, the cruise was set at 65 when all four lights started flashing. All other indications are normal. The truck will not engage 4hi, 4lo or vsc until it is turned off and restarted. The same day after approximately 10 miles of driving all four lights started flashing again, this time the cruise was not engaged. Sometimes one or two days pass before it happens again. No error codes are indicated on the computer.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #50

Feb 182013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Was driving 08 Tundra up hill around 20 mph and cel vss lights came on lo range light flashing on dash truck lost all power. Found out code P2442 secondary air induction system failure put truck into limp mode thousands of dollars in just parts to repair this system. So many people having same problems with same vehicle. Toyota should issue a recall and re engineer a remedy for this poor design at no cost to the consumer. I spent alot of money on a truck to avoid these problems, now I have to drive an unsafe truck stuck in limp mode because I do not have the funds to repair, two thousand in just parts, Toyota is charging people 4 to five thousand dollars to repair this problem when it should be recalled at no cost to the consumer due to the poor engineering and faulty design on the secondary air induction system pumps and switching valves......I am very surprised and disappointed in Toyota for they have always backed up there product but this is a poor product that they are not backing up when they most certainly should stand behind it. Also this system should be redesigned to put on check engine light but should not put vehicle in limp mode it is a serious safety issue especially when trying to get on the highway etc..... also the cost and problems of this unneeded system is outrageous, all this system does is force air into the exhaust for the first couple of minutes of engine running at startup. I swore by Toyota for over twenty years, not any more, wish I got a Chevy.

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #49

Apr 162012

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 99,435 miles


Check engine light is lit. A few weeks later vsc light started blinking.

- Baytown , TX, USA

problem #48

Jan 142009


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the engine would exhibit an abnormally high increase in rpms at startup and the motor would race loudly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the failure could possibly have been related to the air injection pump or the air switch device. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Broussard, LA, USA

problem #47

Dec 152011

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 81,200 miles
The check engine light came on and the vehicle won't accelerate over 45 mph. Almost caused me to have an accident. Seems like Toyota knows about this problem and won't do anything to recall the problem.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #46

Oct 302011


  • 38,009 miles


On 10-30-11 at approximately 4:35 pm I parked my 2008 Toyota Tacoma in front of steve's small engine, a business located in monson MA. After placing the vehicle in park, the truck accelerator stuck open and the truck leaped ahead while I had my foot off the accelerator and was depressing the brake as hard as I could push it toward the floor. My vehicle struck a parked pickup truck in the tailgate. I immediately called the monson police dept. And reported the event. The monson police responded and a police report was filed.

- Monson, MA, USA

problem #45

Aug 282011

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 46,140 miles
Driving along approximately 25 mph depressed accelerator pedal slightly took foot off pedal vehicle continued to accelerate increasing speed. I immediately depressed brake placing vehicle into neutral then again pressing on the accelerator and releasing it. The engine revved back to normal. I then placed it back into drive without further incident. This was the second time this occurred since purchase of this vehicle in 2007. This was the first incident since Toyota had honored the recall relating to the accelerator and fixed it, I called the Toyota dealership today and will be taking my truck in for them to look at tomorrow.

- Glasgow, KY, USA

problem #44

Jun 162011


  • 29,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal became stuck while the contact was driving 40 mph. The contact turned the vehicle off and then back on in order for it to reset itself and began to function normally. The dealers diagnosis indicated that there was no failure. The manufacturer was notified but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 29,800 and the current mileage was 30,000.

- Jeterville, VA, USA

problem #43

Nov 262010


  • 9,052 miles
At 9052 miles entered gas station and vehicle unintended acceleration occurred while turning off engine. At 9076 miles parked vehicle in handicapped stall in front of walgreens pharmacy. Vehicle had unintended acceleration and was burning rubber and attempted to go forward except I was stepping on the brake as hard as I could and turned off the ignition, otherwise we would have gone thru the front entrance of the pharmacy. The asphalt was dry. There were dark black tire marks on the asphalt from my right rear tire, which also appeared to show wear from burning rubber. This is my 5th unintended acceleration since late Oct.mileage 8794. With Toyota stating it was an engine misfire. And Toyota motors inspecting the vehicle only to say the vehicle is fine. Prior complain #10365905. Unintended acceleration / intersection / garage door twice while burning rubber.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #42

Oct 282010


  • 8,749 miles


Unintended acceleration. I was in a stop position waiting for traffic signal to change, when the vehicle wanted to accelerate on it own thru the intersection, while my foot was on the brake. The traffic signal was still red for me. The engine indicator light was on, vsc off, traction control system indicator was also lite. Multi-information display mpg gallon gauge was getting stuck at 60miles per gallon. Tire pressure sensor keep coming on. Veh. Started to idle rough. I took my veh. To the Toyota dealer for inspection and service. They keep my veh. From approx from Oct 29,10 to Nov.6,10. Toyota dealer response was that the engine had a severe misfire that may have been taken for a slight surge. The #1 & 3 fuel injectors replaced. Acceleration pedal replaced. On Nov. 13,10 the veh. Had unintended acceleration on two separate occasion when parking veh. In driveway. The vehicle was burning rubber while I had foot on brake, because we would have gone thru garage door. I called the Toyota dealer from location, who made an appointment for 11-15-10 at 7am. Dealer stated that Toyota was coming down on Thursday 11-18-10 to inspect vehicle. I did not hear a backfire from engine on 1st incident. 2nd incident had two passengers, , and two workers waiting at location who witnessed both incidents.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #41

Oct 272010


  • 2,600 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The vehicle was repaired at an authorized dealer under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V388000, vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal. Upon receiving the vehicle from the authorized dealer he noticed that the accelerator pedal was made of plastic material. Due to the plastic material the accelerator pedal became very slippery. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 2,600.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #40

Jun 022010


  • 38,974 miles
I own a 2008 Toyota Tundra which I purchased new. From the day I purchased it, the accelerator fluctuated whenever I hit a bump. This was most evident when I started from a stop and hit a bump. I didn't think too much about it until the fluctuation became so bad I thought I would at some point, lose control of the vehicle. I notified Toyota about this problem when in 2010, my vehicle was recalled for accelerator problems. Toyota replaced the accelerator. I continued to complain about the sensitive accelerator until a district service manager notified me that my vehicle's accelerator was normal. He further indicated that new Tundra's had the same accelerator feel as mine. The district manager stated that he had parked my vehicle next to a new vehicle in case I wanted to compare the new vehicle to mine. I did not compare the two vehicles. However, I feel the accelerator in my vehicle is a hazard and should be examined for the safety of those who own Toyota Tundra's.

- North Wildwood, NJ, USA

problem #39

Feb 242010

Tundra 4WD

  • 69,000 miles
2008 Toyota Tundra 4WD 5.7L failure began Feb of 2010 truck entered "limp mode" and was taken to dealer for diagnostics. Problem determined to be "bank 2 valve stuck open for secondary air injection system" on my vehicle. Truck has entered in and out of limp mode consistently for up to a week at a time since issue surfaced. During limp mode vehicle cannot accelerate properly and is limited in power and speed, creating many dangerous situations especially involving highway travel. For example, vehicle often cannot accelerate over 50-55mph solely, and I have even become trapped on an interstate at 26mph pulling a trailer. Toyota has failed to accept responsibility for problem and denied my claim regarding issue and defect causing the situation.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #38

Mar 302010


  • 48,000 miles
I have a 2008 Toyota Tundra with approx 48,000 miles. The truck is "limping" around with no power. I cannot drive it on the interstate as it will not go over 45 or 50 mph. It will not accelerate comfortably either, service indicator lights are on. I took it to a local Toyota dealer who said that it needs $3300 worth of repairs. I have not had this problem fixed due to the cost. They tell me it is the secondary air injection system and that I need to have 2 pumps and control valves replaced. The computer code it reads is "P2442". there is a tsb on this error (0329-08). After researching these part numbers (17610-0S010 (2 of these) and 25701-38060), there seems to be many consumers with the exact same problem I have. There also seems to be a question of this being a design or engineering failure of these parts. From what I understand, this system failure is part of the emissions system and has no effect on the way the truck runs except it throws the truck into "limp" mode until it is resolved. I was able to disconnect the battery at first to reset the computer and my truck was running fine. Now, however, this will not eliminate the problem and I am running around in what I feel is and unsafe vehicle due to fact that it will not accelerate or maintain proper speed for various driving conditions.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #37

Feb 242010


  • 29,000 miles
My 2008 Toyota Tundra had the pedal accelerate as I was backing up at my local grocery store. I had been complaining to my local dealership and they kept informing me nothing was wrong. It wasn't until this happened that they sent a tech out to inspect my vehicle. I am still waiting to hear from the tech. I feel like I keep getting the run around from Toyota. I could have been seriously hurt or I could have hurt someone. I continue having problems with the accelerator and nobody wants to take responsibility. What are my options" do I stop driving my only vehicle because it is not safe"

- Waddell, AZ, USA

problem #36

Apr 072010


  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact shifted into neutral gear to stop the acceleration. The vehicle was included in recall 10V017000 (vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal) and repaired accordingly prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for another repair. The current mileage was approximately 20,600. The failure mileage was approximately 4,500.

- Cool, CA, USA

problem #35

Mar 132010


  • 23,200 miles
Took vehicle to Toyota dealership on 3-1-10 for accelerator recall repair. On 3-13-10, during normal operation, several warning lights on dashboard came on and some were flashing as follows: Vsc off-flashing, slip indicator-steady on, 4hi-flashing, 4 lo-flashing, ABS-steady on. I stopped vehicle and turned ignition off. I restarted the vehicle, all warning lights were off and started driving again. Fifteen minutes later the same condition occurred, same warning lights. I stopped the vehicle and turned off the ignition. I called the Toyota dealership and the service department said they had no idea what would cause this condition and to continue to drive the vehicle. Over the next two days the same condition seemed to recur every time I drove the vehicle. On 3-15-10 the dealership picked up my vehicle for repair. They returned the vehicle to me the same day and told me to continue driving it as they had to order parts (right rear wheel speed sensor) and would call me when the parts came in to schedule repair. Over the next 9 days (waiting for parts), condition seemed yet even worse, uneven "jerky" acceleration, unexpected ABS activation and/or braking. Inermittantly there would sometimes be what sounded like a grinding and/or clunking noise that sounded like it could be coming from the brakes and/or transmission. On 3-24-10 the Toyota dealership received the parts (right rear wheel speed sensor) and installed the same. That did not fix the problem. To date (3-31-10) the Toyota dealership still has my vehicle, they have replaced the right rear wheel speed sensor, wiring harness to the wheel speed sensor and stated today they will be replacing the wiring harness from the ABS modulator to the wiring harness to the wheel speed sensor. I also spoke to the service manager at the dealership today (3-31-10) and he stated they would not return my vehicle to me until the problems are repaired as it is a "safety hazard".

- Marietta, OH, USA

problem #34

Mar 012009


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph in snowy weather conditions with a sudden increase of acceleration. The engine began to rev and rpms increased from 1,000 to 4,000. The traction control warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle turned a complete 360 degree into oncoming traffic. There was no mention of vehicle damage or injury. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to duplicate the problem. The contact states there are two people in the family that drive the vehicle and two people have experienced unintended acceleration. The failure mileage was 10,000. The current mileage was 28,000.

- Rhododendron, OR, USA

problem #33

Feb 272010


  • 28,727 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) subject: Unintentional acceleration event with 2008 Toyota Tundra, [xxx], following recall to insert accelerator pedal shim the purpose of this letter is to document and inform you of an ¿unintentional acceleration¿ event that I experienced with my 2008 Toyota Tundra on the afternoon of February 27, 2010. The event was experienced within 10 minutes/3.5 miles after leaving the dealership following dealer-service work that included, among other items, implementation of the Toyota recall to insert the accelerator pedal shim (ssc). This is the only such event experienced to date with this truck. The event with the vehicle parked and the engine idling normally (approximately 800 RPM), I placed my foot on the brake in preparation of shifting the transmission from park to drive. My foot was well centered on the brake pedal and not in contact at all with the throttle pedal. There was no change in engine speed at this point. I then shifted the transmission from park to drive. As soon as the drive position was engaged, with my foot unchanged from its firm position on the brake pedal, the engine speed immediately went to full throttle. As I heard the engine speed up, I applied full pressure to the brake to hold the vehicle in its stationary position. The rear wheels broke loose from the pavement and began spinning; however, the vehicle remained stationary, held by the braking of the front wheels. Fortunately, the pavement was wet, which facilitated the rear wheels losing traction with the pavement. I immediately turned the ignition off while the drive position was still engaged. Once the engine was shut down, I placed the transmission in the park position. As I never had a chance to place my foot on the throttle pedal before the event occurred, it was not mechanical in nature and can only be attributed to an electrical/control issue.

- Ballston Lake, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?