2011 Buick Regal engine problems: engine stalls/shuts off while driving

Engine Stalls/Shuts Off While Driving

2011 Buick Regal (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Buick dealer.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$140
Average Mileage:
71,750 miles
Total Complaints:
23 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (20 reports)
  2. check transmission module (1 reports)
  3. dealer located main wire to fuseblock was extremely loose (1 reports)
  4. valve train replacement (1 reports)
2011 Buick Regal engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Buick Regal:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Buick Regal Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jul 182019

Regal CXL 2.0L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving about 50 mph when the engine suddenly turned off. Electronics still worked. Power steering gone, power brakes gone, no sign of life from engine. Pulled off the road onto the shoulder. Car would not restart after 4-5 attempts to restart. Had it towed home. My initial thought was a circuit breaker failed or something like that so I searched for engine trouble codes. Got a P00366 which is camshaft position sensor. I had doubts that this would cause an immediate shut down but I replaced it anyway, to no avail. Had the car towed to a GM dealership. After a couple back and forth phone calls the dealership went into the engine. They believe the timing chain guides broke and as a result some of the valve train broke. I don't have a quote for the repair yet.

- Mike Y., Lorton, VA, US

problem #22

Dec 262017

Regal CXL 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

car shuts off .. then starts back . then shuts off again

- Alvin B., Mesa, AZ, US

problem #21

Dec 012016

Regal V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I have had the problem since I brought the car, they changed the oil 4 times since.

- Geraldine S., Jeanerette, LA, US

problem #20

Jul 032017

Regal CXL 2.4L/ V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stall when stopping or turning but the vehicle does restart.

- robertward, Memphis, US

problem #19

Jul 122017

Regal CLX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,642 miles

Just bought this car, 2011 Regal CLX,and the problem has occurred on three occasions and is really scary for my 18 year old granddaughter. All have occurred at low speeds, thankfully, and with no warning. As you would expect, there was a loss of steering, etc. On one occasion she did run against a curbing. I shudder to think what could happen in traffic and at a higher speed.

- Lee B., Loganville, US

problem #18

Jul 112017

Regal 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

Just this week, odd things have happened in my 2011 Regal that I purchased less than 2 years ago from a Carmax.

Wife says doors unlock then suddenly lock while driving... I thought she might have been nuts BUT...

Last nite, 9:30 PM we came out of Publix parking lot doing an easy left. The engine shut off, all lights lit up on dash AND center console lit up saying "Lower driver window.." followed by "Lower passenger window"...how freaky is that!??!! We coasted to side of road, put it in park then it started and we got home.

This morning, a easy right onto highway and locks opened and closed by themselves at about 30 MPH!

During the hwy drive, at 75MPH car stutters, engine whines then catches itself, all dash lights come on and the engine light blinks 3 times then goes out! What the he**.. could have died!

Babied it into work.... any ideas/suggestions????

Update from Jul 27, 2017: Tightened it up and has been fine the last few weeks, where before it was an everyday issue.

Update from Apr 6, 2018: Sorry for not being specific in this text, but the dealer found that the main power cable coming into the fuseblock was very loose where the nut wasn't even finger tight. Any motion caused it to disconnect from fuse block which explained crazy symptoms.

Open the plastic cover at the fuseblock (under battery cover) and make sure all nuts are LOCKED down tight.

Come to think of it, I had the battery replaced some time before this all started, maybe the nuts weren't tightened down.

I hope this helps someone out.

- Anthony D., Fort Lauderdale, US

problem #17

May 162017

Regal 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

engine stalls/shuts off while driving

My Regal is 2011. I have not had any problems prior to this. My Service StabiliTrak light began coming on along with ABS light. I also explained the check engine light would come on after filling the tank and it reduced to 3/4 of tank. Last week all lights came in on car as I was parking. Took the car into to be serviced. The dealer completed a diagnosis advising I had a leak from my fuel pump. Needed new fuel pump, fuel injectors. For the ABS problem needed new bearings and sensors. I drove away for second opinion. The next day while driving slowed for a traffic light and pressed gas to take off the car would not accelerate. The engine was running. I had to turn car on and back off to get to move to the center of the road during rush hour. I sat there for a min. Was able crack and get to a safe place off the major road. I got a second opinion having the car towed to firestone. They also saw a fuel pump code and mentioned the timing chain. I had car towed to the dealer. They replaced the fuel pump on my way home on the interstate. I slowed for the exit and hit the gas. The car stalled again. I was afraid at that point. The dealer cannot tell me what the exact issue is with the car. It is still there for diagnostic now. They had to escalate and still no answer. They are using trial and error to resolve the issue which is a dangerous and expensive joke.

- Tiffani B., Marietta, GA, US

problem #16

Jan 212017

Regal

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

My son, daughter, and grandson were on their way home when they pulled into the driveway the car stalled, a 2011 Buick Regal. We are letting our daughter and her sons (2 years old and 1 year old) use it I am very upset with this situation, it kept stalling after that while they were trying to get to a repair station to get it fixed. Someone please help figure this out. If something happens to my daughter and 2 grandsons because of this and there is not a recall on it. Hell will look inviting after I am through suing GM. My kids life are worth more than any repair job would cost them. This is such a dangerous problem. How can they not fix it? To the mechanics out there who have no problem charging people for a solution that has nothing to do with why the people brought their car in. Shame on you!!! My father was a Master Certified Mechanic, he worked hard everyday, came home with stained hands and pride, because if you brought him a car that wouldn't work he would make sure it was fixed before he let it go to the owner. You are putting Adults and Children's lives on the line. Wake up and do the right thing!!!

Update from Jan 23, 2017: We took the Buick Regal to the mechanic and they changed one of the sensors. I really hope this helps the problem, so far it has.

- Lois T., Rose City, MI, US

problem #15

Oct 022016

Regal LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

I brought this vehicle from Lafontaine Ford as a used vehicle in August 2016. Since than I have had the cam actuator solenoid fix on Sept. 30, 2016. I have a AOL warranty that was purchased at the dealership. It covers nothing. Boy was I a fool. Now my car cuts off and will not start. The dealership suggest that I return it to them to check out the problem I live in Ohio as a student. My grandmother purchased this car for me in Lansing Mi. The nearest Chevy dealership is in Fairborn Ohio. Since the car will not start there is no way to get it to the dealership. This is a lemon. We had a Carfax down on the vehicle and no engine problem was detected. There is no recall on this vehicle I have checked.. So now I am stuck on campus with no vehicle. What am I to do. This sucks...Bootsey. Can you suggest any solution.

- patriciakimblemi, Lansing, MI, US

problem #14

Apr 082016

Regal CXL 2.4L 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

Car engine light comes on and car runs like crap, keeps stalling at stop lights or when turning in driveway. Bought new gas cap an it ran ok for one day and back to the same thing.

- John C., Newburgh Heights, OH, US

problem #13

Feb 142016

Regal CXL 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

REDUCE POWER IS ON DASH, CAR IS RUNNING HARD AND ENGINE MAKING NOISE.

- D J., Detroit, MI, US

problem #12

Aug 192015

Regal CXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

Driving down the highway & the engine cut out bogged shaking the car violently like it was going to stall then returned to normal & the engine light came on & stayed on. I had the code read and it indicated that the right camshaft sensor was faulted open circuit & ded to be replaced. I have had the sensor replaced only to have the light still on & having the code indicating that I need to replace the crankshaft actuator. I then get a letter from Buick that indicated this issue has caused the exact scenario to occur and effected the throttle body causing issues with the engine to run rough & stall out. They will cover it up to 120,000 miles but I need to pay a fee of 119.00 to have the issue troubleshot at the dealer. That's hogwash shouldn't have to pay a dime so when is Buick going to step up and fix the issue that they sent me notification about without the dealer charging me a ridiculous fee to troubleshoot it on the computer. That is what I would consider double dipping. I mean after all they are going to get paid from buick to resolve the issue. To make matters worse the issue is still occurring on a daily basis and I am now over the 120,000 mile mark.

- agravated, Taunton, MA, US

problem #11

Jan 072016

Regal 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

Took a corner and the car just shut off. Really scary when this happens. Luckily there was no oncoming traffic!!

- Cornelis B., Dallas, GA, US

problem #10

Dec 142014

Regal

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

I have a 2011 Buick Regal... Every since I purchased it I have had nothing but issues out of it. Within 2 weeks I began hearing a very loud screeching noise when I could crank it up every once in a while. When I would take it to the shop they would never be able to find anything wrong. My check engine light still till this days randomly comes on and goes off at it's convenience and of course when I complain to the dealership about it they can never find anything wrong. I had to have it towed one day because the gas tank cover wouldn't unlock for me to put gas in the car within 4 months of having it. I replaced the timing chain in Dec of 2014, along with the actuator, gasket, and some valves. This was after they had already replaced some pistons a couple of months earlier because they had finally heard the loud noise when cracking it that I had been complaining about within the first 2 weeks of purchasing it. 3 months after I replaced the timing belt, I had to have the car towed because it once again started stalling and dying when coming to a stop. Once again they had to replace the actuator and gaskets. Two months later my daughter and I were driving down the road and my car died again. I had no choice but to take it to walmart to have serviced and they found my oil was low, so I had my oil changed although it wasn't time. No other issues were found by walmart. Now I was driving to a friends house and my car all of a sudden shuts off as I'm turning into her drive way, my brakes quit working and I smashed into her car. Luckily I was at a slow pace when I hit her or I could have died. After I hit her car my car cracked right back up and I was able to drive it just like normal, but when I turned it off it would never crack again. I called for it to be towed to an repair dealer and found that the timing chain needs to be replaced again. This has been a nightmare and now the front of my car is smashed in and I'm sure Buick is going to say it is my fault.

- Khristy K., Germantown, TN, US

problem #9

Jul 182015

Regal CXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,962 miles

I have owned this car for almost a year. Paid a lot of money for this. It is very terrifying especially when on the highway. I see that other people are experiencing this same issue. What is Buick prepared to do about this?

Update from Aug 24, 2016: Since I had my Transmission Module replaced, I have not had a problem with the engine shutting off while driving/

- wtomlinson, Port Colborne, ON, Canada

problem #8

Nov 022015

Regal 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

As others have described, Buick knows that this car stalls while driving and does nothing about it. I've had this car for several years, and over that time it has stalled many times while I was driving. On a couple of instances, I was driving on the interstate (doing 70 mph), and out of no where the car would just shut off. The check engine light would come on and I've taken it to the dealership. They've done several things that haven't helped, such as making me buy a new battery and pretending to fix the issue. I have argued with GM several times that there must be a recall for this issue.

It is nice to know that I'm not the only one, and sad to say, it won't be until people die at the fault of GM that they'll want to take this issue seriously.

- A B., Baton Rouge, LA, US

problem #7

Jul 072015

(reported on)

Regal CRX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,995 miles

I purchased my pre-owned 2011 Buick Regal in November 2014. I started noticing in February 2015, that it would stall (jerk/shake) it was light, but I still took in into a GMC dealership to be checked out. The Service Adviser advised me that I needed to pay for a diagnostic test ($96) - after a couple of hours with my car, Wade called me and informed that I needed to change out my fuel injection - throttle body. I had him do that and a couple another things replaced (USB port and replaced my broke manufacturer's key). In April 2015, I noticed that my brake lights were out and my front left blinker was out and I took my car to Pep Boys to replace, one of the mechanics told me that there was possibly an issue with my electrical system and to take it to the dealership to be checked out. I started searching then for any recalls (since the dealership that sold me the car said there weren't any). I found that the signal and electrical was a common issue. Buick customer service setup for the Buick dealership to do a diagnostic test (later I found out that they didn't) and only replace the left blinker light.

In May on a trip, I started noticing my radio would go off and on. Then a couple weeks later, my car would stall/shake really bad and shut off while driving. When I contacted the first dealership, they then stated no reads came back on the diagnostic test and that they felt changing the fuel injection/throttle would fix my car (but no guarantee) HOWEVER that is NOT what Wade said originally. I would of used my $547 on a mechanic/dealership that would give me a guarantee. This is when I took it back to the second dealership to learn they did not actually check my car out (diagnostic) and that "I needed a battery and oil change" and basically made me feel stupid.

Same day I got my car back it shut off again (and continues to do when putting in gear). Buick know these 2011 designed cars are faulty and are not doing anything about it (WILL it take another situation with people dying for them to fess up?!?!?)

- Tara C., Bear, DE, US

problem #6

Jul 042015

Regal 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

Yesterday, all of a sudden I turned into a parking lot my car just shut off, put it in neutral and turned it back on. This car sometimes has a horrible idle at stop lights and has a horrible rattling sound coming from the engine bay that I can't figure out what it is. I can't take it to a dealer because I can't afford it, don't have any warranty because it was gonna cost me an additional $3,000 to the car and now I wish I had it. But it's a freaking 2011, it's not that old of a car to be having problems.

I am really disappointed in GM, I know another vehicle doing the same thing, belongs to my sister-in-law. I always had GM vehicles, I have a 07 GMC Sierra that has a warranty and have yet to replace an engine component. What a waste of money. I sold my fixed up 86 c10 pickup to buy a fuel efficient piece of crap Buick Regal. Can't wait to get rid of this car or just burn it.

- Andrew H., Raymondville, US

problem #5

Oct 152014

Regal

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,530 miles

I brought this car in February 2014 and the car started cutting off while I was driving it in October 2014. I took it to the dealer and was told that because the check engine light was not on, they could not obtain a reading on the car. The mechanic told me that if the light comes back on for me to bring it back in because it would be under warranty until the car hits 33,000 miles. Well the car is now at 46,000 miles and the light came back on. I called the dealer and he asked me what seemed to trigger the light to come on. I explained to him that the light comes on and off when it wants to. He stated he needed to know what triggers the light to comes on so he can duplicate it to have the light comes on. In the meantime, my car is still cutting off while I'm driving.

- randellleah, Baltimore, MD, US

problem #4

Sep 052014

Regal V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

I was in the need to remove my x-husband off the title for my previous vehicle and took a loan on this vehicle and the dealership that sold the vehicle to me of course took advantage of the situation and I got a high interest rate. I been noticing the problems with the engine stalling more times than I care to mention.

Just the other day I was driving and I couldn't turn into the street on my way home. The steering while locked on me and I noticed the whole car just shut off. I was scared to death I was going to hit an incoming vehicle on the same lane. Luckily for me (Thank you God), no one was on the street at that time. I was scared to death and I turned the ignition and re-started the car. It did start! The vehicle still stalls.

I will be going into the Buick dealer and they will have to check it out or I will leave it there for them to deal with... My credit due to divorce won't even noticed another bad hit, but my life and the life of my kids who ride with me its far more important than experiencing this issue again.

- atowns, Grand Prairie, TX, US

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?