9.2

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,650
Average Mileage:
79,900 miles
Total Complaints:
19 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (14 reports)
  2. not sure (2 reports)
  3. replace transfer case (2 reports)
  4. rebuilt the transmission (1 reports)
2010 GMC Terrain transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 GMC Terrain:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 GMC Terrain Owner Comments

problem #19

Aug 142015

Terrain SLE 2.4L 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,633 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failed right after the drive train warranty ran out. No warning signs. This vehicle also has an ongoing oil consumption problem and rough running and noisy idling on a separate complaint. This is definitely a vehicle I would recommend to anyone. I thought GM was supposed to rebuild itself after the government bailout in 2009. Far from the truth.

- Andy R., Edmonton, AB, Canada

problem #18

Dec 112017

Terrain

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

The transmission failure and casing was totally lost. The auto repair guy said I was lucky to make it. I am so angry with this vehicle and the number of repairs as well as the amount of oil it needs.

- Karen L., Amherst, US

problem #17

Nov 082016

Terrain 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 118,000 miles

2010 Gmc Terrain. Transmission would run for a little while. Then it would start slipping and quit pulling between 1 and 2 gear. left me stranded. Took to the Dealer as I have for everything. They wanted 3900.00 to replace the transmission, and half that for a used one. I believe people need to know that a cvt transmission is not completely sealed. It can be checked , but you hav eto go under the vehicle. I will not but another cvt transmission on any product, again. My worst nightmare.

- Rondia R., Hornersville, US

problem #16

Aug 012017

Terrain SLT-1 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 110K miles the transmission completely failed and I had to get a new one installed. This is the last straw on a series of failures for this vehicle. I had to have one of the cylinders replaced under warranty at 60K miles as well as parts of the timing mechanism. At 100K I had to have the entire timing system replaced. Also at 100K miles the A/C condenser needed to be replaced. I will never buy a GMC again. Transmission failure is extremely common on this vehicle. Stay Away!

- Nathan M., Minneapolis, US

problem #15

Jun 032017

Terrain SLT 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

No warning, check engine light came on, completely unable to drive.

- Michel R., Danville, IL, US

problem #14

Jan 242017

Terrain SLT-1 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,300 miles

Light came on randomly while driving back to Pennsylvania from Indiana and literally the next day I lost 1st gear. I had the codes scanned as it threw a code, it was supposed to be a sensor. I left work, after seeing I didn't have Reverse, and headed to the Auto Parts Store. Little did I know, I would never make it. While driving I only had 1st, 2nd and 4th gear. Once I got on the highway, I lost 4th gear then the whole motor just shut down. I've owned this vehicle for 6 months. I have NO extra cash for this so I have to sell this car and just pay off the loan with no vehicle and now have to share with my wife...I don't know what we are going to do, this is literally like the worst timing for this to happen and I am the most Optimistic, charismatic "Oh stop worrying about it everything is going to be ok, sort of guy..." This is the worst position I've ever been in, in my life it came as a surprise and it hurts bad.

- Dustin P., Felton, PA, US

problem #13

Dec 262016

Terrain SLE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,603 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pissed off right now...I haven't been driving my truck since Dec 26 2016...bought my truck in 2014 had an extended warranty on it and of course after warranty..sh*ts happens...now my transmission gave out on boxing day...wouldn't go forward or backwards...went to 3 mechanics..the first one scanned couldn't find anything then scanned said 2 codes came up for engine over load and transmission,..but they keep telling its' fine the car can drive...wasn't satisfied..went to 2nd mechanics...he did some tests on it and says it's the alternator (cause i one point my car wouldn't start) and transmission need to be rebuild it gonna cost me $3500CAD...I was like what?

..still wasn't satisfied..brought to the last mechanic they seem to know their stuff and they did troubleshooting also ..and it's the transmission...my truck only has 75 000 km on it, I don't understand why transmission is already done??? So expensive to have it rebuild... and afraid to get a used so it don't give out again. Right now I'm like I just wanna get rid of this truck cause I'm so mad and no money to fix this...but nobody wants to buy a truck with no transmission it has no value!!!!! I don't know what to do!

- cutegal, Lachine, QC, Canada

problem #12

Jun 102016

Terrain SLE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

My car drove normally and then one day I went to leave work and it refused to shift into 1st gear, then when I got somewhere to pull over, I lost reverse as well. I was without my car for a month, and this was a headache.

Update from Jan 18, 2017: I have had several issues with this transmission... I did pay the 3k+ to rebuild it, it was then taken back in with a faulty computer, that was repaired, and now it is a few months later and again the transmission is skipping gears. I am trying to get out of this car ASAP. I suggest that if anyone is having these issues as well, save your money for a down payment on a new car if possible. Nothing but trouble for me..

- Stacey M., Dayton, OH, US

problem #11

Sep 242016

Terrain SLE-2 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

Failure of transmission occurred 2 months after extended warranty expired by reason of date vehicle was put in service (6 yrs. ago 7/8/2010) even though it was still under 100,000 miles (94,000). GMC is working with me somewhat to cover $1,500 of the $3,600 cost. However I complained to the dealership about a whining noise I was hearing that I thought was the transmission before the warranty expired and it was never fixed or diagnosed properly. They replaced a chain and fuel pump which did not cure the problem. Now taking my grievance to the dealership to try to get them to help further with the cost given their misdiagnosis of the problem that I told them I thought was the transmission, when it could have been fully covered under warranty.

- Peter P., Concord, NH, US

problem #10

Jul 312016

Terrain SLE-1 4dr

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,946 miles

I'm very disappointed in GM. I've called them to reimburse me for the transmission I had replaced in August (2016). They said that the 6 year warranty (or 150k mi) was up and they could do nothing about it. How convenient that all of the vehicles are losing their transmissions just outside that 6 year warranty!?!! I've had so many problems with this car. I've had to take off of work, call out of work, pay out of pocket to fix this awful car and GM won't do anything about it!!! How is it that all of these Vehicles transmissions are going and there isn't a class action lawsuit yet? If anyone can't get their money back and are filing a lawsuit, I'd love to get in on it!!! Oh, and my Terrain's transmission went when it had 77k miles on it. What car's transmission goes at those miles?

- Danielle P., Delanson, NY, US

problem #9

Sep 182016

Terrain SLE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Do NOT buy this car. Biggest pain in the ass.. Without warning the transfer case blew apart. Leaving us stranded. And now the shop is looking for a used one. GMC needs to step up t the plate and cover these problems.

- Rick D., Salt Lake City, US

problem #8

Apr 102016

Terrain SLT1 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

We bought this Terrain new and have had many problems, and GM has taken care of them - all recalls-but the transmission went out with no warning. We had about 95,000 miles on it at the time. The cost, with towing and car rental, was 4000.00. We weren't aware of other people with transmission problems till now. the GM dealer said there were no recalls or bullletens on the transmission---maybe there should be. Just a thought--

- lwren, Moline, IL, US

problem #7

Mar 052014

Terrain SLE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,298 miles

On my way to work, the car suddenly felt like something was hanging up and not wanting to move, but not engine trouble. As first I thought it was a brake locking up as it didn't feel like a transmission problem either. I made it the 1 more block to work and had to have it towed into dealer, where they discovered the transfer case had come apart and had a hole in it. They ordered a new one in and repaired under warranty.

- shereer, Post Falls, ID, US

problem #6

May 112016

Terrain SLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles

My husband and I purchased a brand new 2010 GMC Terrain on May. During the 2nd year that I had it, we had went on a family trip to Ensenada, on the way back AT THE BORDER my car turns off. It would not turn back on, for about 5-+10 minutes, NOT a long time but when you're at the border, that's all you need.

Upon my return I took the car in for a check up and an oil change. It doesn't stop here, there's been so many issues since then. I take it in, and they've made sure not to tell me anything, but sure would fix it while they rented me a car for a couple of days. I'm not an idiot, I KNOW it was because of the recall. Who pays for your rental? In February i took It to the dealership after they tell me it's some switch that went out $569 and before that like $239. It's been a pain in the ass!!! While getting off work and driving home, my car sounded like it was in neutral. Loud noise, barely moving.

The next day, I took it to the dealer Explained to the guy what happened. He looked at me like I was an idiot, I wanted to punch him. It's frustrating going to the dealership where they know you by name, and not in a good way. Because my ass complains and I want answers. Anyway, they told me that I needed a new transmission, not to mention they wanted to charge me $125 that's just to check to see what's wrong, nothing else. I told him I've NEVER got charged and I'm not about too. About 4 hrs later they called and said I need a new transmission.

.

They tell me it's going to be $3900 find to replace. Am I wrong in thinking that a car's transmission shouldn't fail under any circumstance and let alone on a car that's barely 6 years old and has 60K miles? Shouldn't GMC take care of the issue or am I looking at something that requires council since they make it out to be a none-issue? I've never heard of anyone having this kind of problem with their car and I've never had this happen to me with any other car I or my husband have owned regardless of the age. I'm very upset about this as you can all imagine.

I've had a HONDA for longer than this and NEVER had this issue. I'm so mad at myself for not going with my gut instinct and getting this car :( I've reported this, to the GMC people that try and help you fight it but that was a total FAT waste of time! Now, no car, and no money to replace the POS.

- Rubina S., Fullerton, CA, US

problem #5

Apr 032016

Terrain

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

My husband and I purchased a brand new 2010 GMC Terrain on Feb 2, 2010. That's when the nightmare started. This car has had nothing but problems. We have had about 3 or 4 different recall issues concerning the engine that we've had fixed. We only drive the car on our road trips from IL to OH and to run errands. The car sits in the garage on most days. We are not using this vehicle in any other way other than it's intended purpose. The car only goes into the dealership for work and no one has ever touched the car outside of the certified workers.

On March 30th, 2016 I took the car in for a check up and an oil change. On March 31st, 2016 we drove the car to OH for a road trip to visit family and drove back on April 3rd. While we were coming off the exit ramp to go home with less than 7 miles to go, right at the traffic light, the car stopped and wouldn't move. Had that happened 10 seconds earlier, we would be DEAD on the 294 tollway. Me, my son and husband would be DEAD!!!

After the usual of getting it towed home and again to the dealership, we find out that they will replace the transmission willy nilly as if it's not a big deal to investigate the problem further and charge us $4,300. WTF???? Otherwise, we can pay $1,200 and they will take it apart, diagnose and send the results to GMC who might consider splitting the additional costs to fix it with us. Again...WTF??? Am I wrong in thinking that a car's transmission shouldn't fail under any circumstance and let alone on a car that's barely 6 years old and has 60K miles on there? Shouldn't GMC take care of the issue or am I looking at something that requires council since they make it out to be a none-issue? I've never heard of anyone having this kind of problem with their car and I've never had this happen to me with any other car I or my husband have owned regardless of the age. I'm very upset about this as you can all imagine. We drive this car with our son and we thought this was a good family car. We were totally wrong. My recommendation to anyone...Please...please...don't buy this piece of sh*t.

- sdimon, Mundelein, IL, US

problem #4

Mar 062016

Terrain SLE-2

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,897 miles

Check engine light came on with no symptoms to report. The following day, without warning, transmission completely fail in high traffic. Had the vehicle towed 35 miles to the nearest GM dealer ( GM does not trust the work of a small local shop), only to be told the issue was NOT the transmission, but the low oil /high oil consumption problem causing a drop in engine power to transmission. I called them out as the vehicle has just been in for oil change 3000 miles earlier with NO warnings given about being low on oil.

Dealers 'Certified GM Mechanic' fixed the alleged low oil problem and took the vehicle out for a test drive. He is now eating crow pie after having the transmission fail on him at two miles out, just as I described the initial problem.

The local shop advised that the error codes were general transmission codes followed by two additional specific low transmission power codes. Per GM's TSB (technical service bulletins), if engine is running properly (it was), and if proper level of transmission fluid (no dip-stick, so remove plug and if fluid streams out, level was correct), replace transmission.

So after determining that this vehicle needs a new transmission before 65000 miles, we still have to deal with a possible excessive oil consumption issue/recall.

Wow, what a crap vehicle. I think I have paid more to the mechanic for maintenance than I have paid to the band on the loan.

** WARNING - Avoid this vehicle model year.

- murphyia, Washington, IA, US

problem #3

Nov 242015

Terrain SLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

I have had this car less than a year and nothing but problems. My new engine that it needed was covered but NOT a new transmission that it needs. Do your research on this car, a waste of money.

- Tiffany N., Johnson Creek, WI, US

problem #2

Apr 122015

Terrain

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

Don't buy this truck. I brought this truck March 25, 2014 by April 2015 tranmission went out at a red light. The truck I found out had been having problems since 7000 miles. Do not buy

- Yvette M., Cleveland, OH, US

problem #1

Mar 192015

Terrain SLE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

I'm pissed! I got a used 2010 GMC Terrain last year January. Couple days later it started giving me issues so they fixed it. Now a year and 1 month later it broke down on me. Check engine light on, car jerking and don't wanted go, nor does it want to backup, I had to get it towed. So they finally called and said it's something in the transmission. What the what, I'm not paying for that sh*t. It had 77000 miles on it when I got it and now it has 87000 on it , and the warranty is out I'm pissed the hell off.

- Jennifer M., Conway, AR, US

Not what you are looking for?