2016 GMC Yukon AC / heater problems: A/C not working properly

A/C Not Working Properly

2016 GMC Yukon

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your GMC dealer.

8.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,170
Average Mileage:
59,800 miles
Total Complaints:
8 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace condenser (4 reports)
  2. not sure (2 reports)
  3. replace compressor (1 reports)
  4. the compressor leaks (1 reports)
2016 GMC Yukon AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 GMC Yukon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 GMC Yukon Owner Comments

problem #8

Aug 182019

Yukon SLT 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The AC in my 2016 SLT YukonXL blows out hot AIR. The SUV has 96,000 on it and it the heart of summer in Atlanta. How do I join the Lawsuit.

Update from Sep 20, 2019: I had to replace the compressor on my SUV. The dealership said because the SUV had so many miles on it at the time the compressor they could not help me. So I had to pay $1600.00 for the repairs.

- Michael H., Atlanta, GA, US

problem #7

Apr 222019

Yukon Denali 6.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

The condenser was designed wrong and both GMC and all dealerships know it.

There was a very thin piece of metal that separates the internal in and out of the condenser. Just like other parts on the denali, it was mis-designed and produced by GMC. Instead of fixing these problems gmc chooses to place the burden to fix on their customers.

1) Antenna on top of the car had a double seal that leaked. Solution, do not cover, replace with a new antenna at 500 dollars in cost with a single seal, no replacement seal available online entire antenna. 68K not covered by warranty. The part was on at 36k.

2) Wireless charging pad would not work, took at 39k, denied, told only covered to 36k. I was told i would need to spend 560 to replace with one out of a 2018 GMC.

3) LCD screen/navigation system, flickers and goes out. Has stopped working 10+ times. Told by gmc turn off the car and restart after 5 mins. Flashed computer while in for service, still happening. 39K,68K,71K

4) Safety recall for brakes not working at low speeds. Told they would need to see the error code before they could perform any work. I said at what point is that when someone in my family is injured? Sorry that's the rule. 71K

5) Transmission slipping - Told it was a issue with the type of transmission fluid they originally used. Flushed system, put a different version in and said that is all they will do. 68K

6) Of course the A/C, Description wrote above. 71K

7) Had the free version of the GMC app. Called in to turn on my in car wifi, told rep not to mess with account. 3 months later my app no longer works to unlock the door without paying 14 per month.

8) Center console handle broke to open my center console. No solution yet. still looking for the part.

I have spoke to customer service at GMC over 10 times. Not one time have they ever helped, assisted, given a credit, covered a item or done anything other than tell me we are doing nothing and recording you complain. I even asked for the corranspance email address and he gave me the gmc webpage.

They will not resolve customer problems or stand behind their vehicle. They believe everything is the customer expense even though they mis-designed everything.

- Justin D., Blue Ridge, GA, US

problem #6

Mar 062019

Yukon Denali V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

We bought this car brand new in June of 2016. We have 50,000 pls miles now so we've been out of warranty for quite a while. However, the car is barely 2 1/2 years old. We've had a ton of different problems with this car and this is the latest. My husband has complained about our AC/Heater not working properly since day 1, but I just thought it was the way the GM system worked. Now I'm not so sure. I've had intermittent days over the last few years where it just wasn't blowing very cold air. Other days it seemed to work fine. We haven't ran the air since October since it's been cooler winter weather. Last week we had a hotter day and I turned the AC on only to find it would only blow warm air. I turned the temp all the way to low and not even cooler air from outside would come in, it was just like the heater was on! I just assumed it was a fluke until I turned it on again a few days ago and it did the same thing.

I took it in to a local mechanic (not GMC dealership because they take forever and always give me the run around). The mechanic said the AC compressor had zero charge. So far this issue seems to be the same issue everyone else has been having and I've even seen some lawsuits out there for this. This is ridiculous, GMC needs to do a recall because I didn't pay $78K for a completely loaded nice SUV to have it constantly breaking down before it's even 3 years old. Like I said before, this is only the latest issue of a long list of problems.

UUGGGHHH!!! I will never buy a GM again! We've owned 10 cars and this is by far the worst brand yet!

- Dawn C., Frisco, TX, US

problem #5

Oct 082018

Yukon SLT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a know issue with this year. The warranty was extended to 60000 for this fix. Neither the selling dealer nor service dealer would support fixing under warranty citing mileage. This is unacceptable for a 2 year old vehicle to suffer this failure. GMC would not offer any assistance what so ever. This is my first and must certainly will be my last GMC product. Support after the sale is non existent on known defects.

- Tom M., Red Lion, PA, US

problem #4

Sep 222018

Yukon Denali 8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,016 miles

Just ran past the 36,000 mile warranty and the air conditioner quits cooling. Very pricey to fix.

- Wendy Q., Maryville, US

problem #3

Feb 122018

Yukon SLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Less than a year later, A/C broke again. Leaking condenser this time so was not covered...how convenient

- Mandy Z., Elton, US

problem #2

Jul 182017

Yukon SLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

A/C not working in the middle of the summer. Heard of others around this time with the same issue. Very pricey to fix. Vehicle not even a year old at the time.

- Mandy Z., Elton, US

problem #1

Aug 022016

Yukon Yukon V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 275 miles

click to see larger images

A/C not working properly

The customer service at Hoehn Motors GMC is terrible. They should be reported to GMC, which I will report. They also over price their cars even compared to other dealers in the area. I dropped off a brand new GMC Yukon for service due to the rear A/C not working. They told me it was the rear A/C pump not switching on due to a faulty rear actuator or switch. I took the car in and they ordered the wrong part. So I had to wait another day.

When I picked up the Yukon, the rear A/C still did not work. They did not even have someone test it out. They could have easily sat in the rear of the Yukon to see if the rear of the car was blowing cold air like the front of the car. I tested a new one on the lot and the rear A/C worked fine. (When you fill up a flat tire do you not take a quick peak at the tire to see if it is inflated? Of course you do.) Mine was not working or blowing cold air in the rear of the Yukon. Then to find out they also disconnected or broke the rear cigarette charger port in the trunk area. The rear charger port was working fine before I dropped it off as I had a cooler plugged in that charger port so I knew it worked, and now it does not. (I know they opened up the rear passenger inside quarter panel to gain access to the A/C switch which is right where the charging port is located (they told me this is the exact spot they opened up) so I know for a fact they opened up and worked on the exact area where the charging port is located.

The service desk and service salesperson were terrible at customer service. The service scheduling person flat out lied to me. He me they would cover 100% of the car rental, they did not. I asked to speak to a manager, the service desk told me there were no managers in the office at the time. I went to a car salesperson who told me the managers or GM were in a meeting and will be out shortly, Again another lie. So when the general manager came out I told him my issues with the car, level of poor service, and he was rude to me, he told me he can take the car back to the shop and diagnose the problem again in 5 mins. Again another lie.

When I asked him again to make certain I would be out in 5 min., he said no it will take 45 min. to have the car back to me with the problem identified. When I asked to speak to the service manager to discuss the issue, he told me the service manager will be there in 15 mins. I waited 45 min. Still no show. Plus when I picked up the car my phone charing cable was missing. I even offered to cut a check of $5,000 to flip me into a new Yukon (which mine was 8 days old) just to avoid the headache since all I have is my time. He declined and was rude to me about my offer. Tustin GMC, where I leased the car are great, but Hoehn GMC service is horrendous.

I will never buy or service any car owned by Hoehn, ever. Poor customer service, they lie, I had a theft issue, and down right rude to the customer. Not even Honda or Toyota has this poor level of service. They should be fined and pay for my time. Tustin GMC told me they will compensate me for all the troubles. Hoehn offered nothing but lies, rude service, do not care about the level of service, and have theft issues. Beware of Hoehn Motors unless you don't care about the level of service you obtain.

- hoehn gmc badnews, San Diego, CA, US

Not what you are looking for?