3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,602 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Mazda CX-5 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Mazda CX-5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Mazda CX-5 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #143

Sep 152021

CX-5

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a notice from NHTSA (Campaign No. 20V-063) in May 2020 regarding a recall on daytime running lights due a problem with flickering or not lighting at all. A local dealership changed the lights in September 2020 at no charge to me. Now in September 2021 I see that the passenger side DRL is flickering constantly.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #142

Aug 232021

CX-5

  • miles
LED daytime running lights (DRLs) failing while driving. Recall don for similar vehicles (4320A recall). This could impact the ability for pedestrians or nearby vehicles to see the SUV, particularly in low-light conditions when the low- or high-beam headlights aren't in use.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #141

Jul 012020

CX-5

  • miles
LED daytime running lights. 1 is sporadic/ flickering, and the other one is now out/ inoperable, soon the flickering one will go also. Making the vehicle harder to see by other drivers. Mazda has a recall # 4320A but my vin# is excluded? I have the same parts/ model #s as the recall! An extension of the recall, out to include my vin# would be appropriate.

- Lake Tapps, WA, USA

problem #140

Jul 302019

CX-5

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2016 Mazda CX-5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 20V063000 (Exterior Lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called the local dealer several times and it was confirmed that parts were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #139

Apr 282021

CX-5

  • miles
Daytime running lights stopped working

- Sewickley, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #138

Nov 142020

CX-5

  • 34,980 miles
The following warning and warning lights began around 34,980 miles on my 2016.5 Mazda Cx-5 grand touring 2.5L skyactiv-G while driving down the interstate: Master warning light, check engine light, power steering, keyless system malfunction, smart city brake support malfunction, forward scbs disabled, check engine light, tcs/dsc indicator light, tcs off indicator light, blind spot monitoring (bsm) off indication, brake system warning light, ABS warning light, electric brake warning light, air bag/front seat belt pretensioner system warning light, tire pressure monitoring system warning light, led headlight warning light, and the speedometer does not work. The vehicle takes several attempts to turn off. Using the left blinker will cause the vehicles power to restart and yes, while driving! this started November 14, 2020 and when I notified Mazda, they did not seem concerned and a couple days later the light were no longer there. This occurred again December 15, 2020 and March 5, 2021 when I decided Mazda needs to run a diagnosis because clearly something is not right. My dealership insisted it was my battery (basically the only warning light not on) and my rear brake pads. Then when this did not correct the issue, they said corrosion needed to be cleaned which was not shown in the vehicle inspection video. Also, my car was just serviced at my Mazda dealership July 2020 with 33,706 miles. September 2020 my vehicle was parked and I returned to a large crack on the driver side. Around 25,000 the tired needed to be replaced, now at 36,666 miles tire thread depth is in the yellow' my vehicle alignment has zero issues and my Mazda dealership is the only one who rotates the tires (or suppose to).

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #137

Mar 012020

CX-5

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2016 Mazda Cx-5. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 20V063000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called walser Mazda burnsville service (14720 buck hill rd, burnsville, mn 55306; (952) 892-9850) where it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #136

Mar 012021

CX-5

  • miles
Mazda is not fixing a known issue from a recall issued a year ago for daytime running lights. Feb 06,2020 manufacturer recall number4320A NHTSA recall number20V-063 one of my drls has been burned out for over a year. Mazda says they don't have parts available to perform the recall. It has been over a year. Furthermore, the dealer will not promise to prioritize fixing issues on cars where the lights already broken, when the parts become available, which means owners with working lights may get their recall repair before I do, which is certainly a safety issue. What can I do??

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #135

Mar 012020

CX-5

  • miles
I had a recall for my daytime running headlight over a year ago, and I took in to the dealership to have it fixed. Now, over a year later they still don't have the parts in. It's been very frustrating, especially through the winter months.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #134

May 012020

CX-5

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Mazda CX5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 20V063000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called santa maria Mazda (1001 E battles rd, santa maria, ca 93454, (805) 925-0077) where it was confirmed that the part was not available from the manufacturer however, she was provided the option to purchase on her own to have the part replaced. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pismo Beach, CA, USA

problem #133

Jan 292021

CX-5

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nearly a year after the initial recall notice, Mazda has not been able to supply the parts to fix recall #20V-063. They send postcards and emails monthly, indicating that I have not yet brought the vehicle in for service. This is untrue, I have tried multiple times to have the defect corrected only to be told parts are not available. Are they complying with their obligations under this recall? I can't help but think they are not being truthful about their failure to provide the required parts.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #132

Mar 012020

CX-5

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Mazda Cx-5. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 20V063000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called wayne Mazda (1244 NJ-23, wayne, NJ 07470; (888) 449-1108) where it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Essex Fells, NJ, USA

problem #131

Nov 232020

CX-5

  • 24,250 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Mazda Cx-5. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 20V068000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. Fitzgerald Mazda frederick (114 baughmans ln, frederick, md 21702, (301) 696-9200) was contacted and it was confirmed that parts were not yet available. Recently, the passenger's side headlight failed to operate as needed. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 24,250. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Charles Town, WV, USA

problem #130

Jul 232019

CX-5

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Mazda Cx-5. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 20V063000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that while his daughter was turning into the driveway, he noticed that the headlights were not illuminated. The vehicle was taken to ramsey auto center (9625 hickman rd, urbandale, ia 50322) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the daytime running light failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure however, no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Waukee, IA, USA

problem #129

Nov 112020

CX-5

  • miles
I have tried since Feb 2020 to get my #20V-063 headlight replacement per the recall issued and the fitgerald Mazda in annapolis md told me since then that they couldn't get the parts from Mazda. I tried to book an appointment again to have this fixed on 11/11/20 - an appointment they accepted only to be told once I got there after the inspection that they do not have the parts and cannot get the parts from Mazda. I was one of the initial customers to report this issue and received a new headlight assembly for the driver's side replacement and not six months later, the other side went out. I understand covid limitations but Mazda needs to provide the parts to comply with this recall correct?

- Lusby, MD, USA

problem #128

Feb 062020

CX-5

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Mazda Cx-5. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 20V063000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact experienced a failure with the daytime running light which failed to operate correctly. Napleton Mazda located 6060 S. la grange road, countryside, il 60525 (708) 354-2700 was contacted and informed that parts to do the recall repair were not yet available. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 98,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brookfield, IL, USA

problem #127

Oct 012020

CX-5

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Mazda Cx-5. the contact stated while driving 60 mph, three of the driver's side daytime running light became inoperable. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact called sheehy hagerstown (10310 auto pl, hagerstown, md 21740, (301) 739-7700) and was informed that the failure was not covered under NHTSA campaign number: 20V063000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Waynesboro, PA, USA

problem #126

Aug 012020

CX-5 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Active recall for day time running lights is not able to be fixed due to Mazda claiming they do not have enough parts to rectify the issue. The consumer stated the air bag was failing. The manufacturer was notified, but did not offer any assistance. The consumer has the vehicle in germany, but was informed it could only be repaired in the United States.

- Apo Ae, AE, USA

problem #125

Aug 012020

CX-5

  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle airbag ECU inoperable and flashes fault code, but source of issue can not be found. Mechanic speculates it is either occupant seat sensor issue or computer software issue.

- Apo Ae, AE, USA

problem #124

Mar 012020

CX-5

  • miles
Recall notice received March 2020. May 5 service call parts not available, emailed 3 more times and still no parts available or contact of any sort without my initiating. Called in September and was told I would get a letter within next month and that parts were still not available. Still no contact from Mazda as of October 15. Somehow they keep manufacturing cars but can't get around to manufacturing recall parts.

- Somerdale, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?