ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

NHTSA — Engine Problems

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 3 of 4)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 44
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
104,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Jan 012015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The vehicle was parked in the driveway when the contact noticed smoke and flames under the hood of the vehicle. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was salvaged. The contact had property damage. A police report was filed.the manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact stated that the recall component and consequence were directly related to the failure diagnosed by the fire department. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/05/16 updated 11/21/2017

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #32

Nov 172015

Grand Prix

  • 121,000 miles
Engine compartment fire as stated by GM recall #15757 when parked at work

- Archdale, NC, USA

problem #31

Dec 202013

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the contact noticed that there was smoke coming into the vehicle. The contact stated that the driver side door was stuck and that someone else had to come pry the door open to remove the contact from the vehicle. The fire department extinguished the fire and a fire report was filed for the incident. It was unknown if any injuries were sustained. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling), however, the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) after the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Hawkinsville, GA, USA

problem #30

Apr 152014

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. While the vehicle was parked, it began to smoke and burst into flames. The vehicle had been driven five miles prior to the fire. A fire report was filed. The fire department exstinguised the fire. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Albion, NY, USA

problem #29

May 292015

Grand Prix

  • 172,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. While the vehicle was stopped at a school, it caught on fire. The contact stated that a volunteer fireman on the scene was able to extinguish the fire. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 172,000.

- Elnora, IN, USA

problem #28

Oct 202015

Grand Prix

  • 187,704 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving the vehicle, the contact noticed smoke under the hood. When the hood was opened, flames erupted from the engine. The fire department was notified and was able to extinguish the fire. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 187,704.

- Clay Center, NE, USA

problem #27

Aug 252015

Grand Prix

  • 202,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle was smoking and the vehicle caught on fire near the engine. A mechanic from the gas station extinguished the fire. There was no police report filed. There were no injuries sustained or medical attention required. The vehicle was towed and was partially repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The failure mileage was 202,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pompton Plains, NJ, USA

problem #26

Nov 202015

Grand Prix

  • 137,000 miles
Received a recall notice yesterday, December 15,2015 for this vehicle due to a potential engine compartment fire. A little too late as this car was totally consumed after the engine caught fire on November 20,2015. Fortunately, other than seriously frayed nerves, my daughter is ok, although many of her personal possessions and clothing is gone, not to mention the vehicle and all expenses involved. She was driving at the time when smoke started coming out from under the hood, made it as close to the right shoulder before flames started coming out

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #25

May 092011

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, another driver informed the contact that the vehicle was emitting smoke. The contact merged to the shoulder of the road and discovered that the engine caught on fire. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Rappahannock Academy, VA, USA

problem #24

Oct 292015

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the engine oil leaked onto the exhaust manifold. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kinderhook, NY, USA

problem #23

Oct 052015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving 35 mph, the contact smelled a burning odor. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) and stated that the part needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 12/15/15.

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #22

Sep 212015

Grand Prix

  • 170,000 miles
After arriving to work, driving 22 miles without difficulty, parked the car where I work in pa. I was in work for 5 minutes and the engine caught fire. The car was totaled from my insurance company. I later found out there was a recall on this vehicle in October of 2015. I was never notified of 2 other recalls on this vehicle all three for oil leaks. Fire and police of hermitage pa, arrived at scene to put out the fire and it was towed to await to be evaluated by insurance company state farm. I am not please that I was not notified about the previous recalls on these Grand Prix vehicles since I got the car in 2008.

- Mineral Ridge, OH, USA

problem #21

May 062014

Grand Prix

  • 142,000 miles
My name is denise hoobyar and the purpose of this notification is to file a formal complaint against the General Motors corporation. I was the registered owner of a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix and through my research, I am aware of an active recall on this vehicle due to a small oil leak that could result in an engine fire. I no longer own the above said vehicle as the vehicle was deemed a total loss in an engine fire that resulted from a small oil leak. On May 6th, 2014, my husband was driving the vehicle home from work and observed smoke coming from under the hood. He parked the vehicle outside of our home and upon opening the hood, a fire erupted from under the engine. After further investigation from the orland park fire protection district, the cause of the fire was determined to be electrical that originated from the wire harness due to drops of hot oil from a small oil leak. This was also confirmed by a certified master automobile technician. I have since attempted to contact the General Motors corporation to tile a complaint regarding the matter, but General Motors has never responded to my complaint nor have they attempted to contact me regarding the issue. It is my belief that the General Motors corporation has had knowledge of this ongoing problem and because no remedy has been determined by the General Motors corporation to resolve this matter, I believe that they should be held accountable for the loss of my vehicle and their failure to communicate the faulty issue and their failure to properly investigate the matter. It is also my belief that the General Motors corporation should be held financially responsible for the loss of my vehicle by compensation or replacement of my vehicle. I am also submitting photographs that were taken after the fire was extinguished by the orland park fire protection district.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #20

Jun 162015

Grand Prix

  • 188,100 miles
Car intermittently stalls from slow speeds (<30 mph) or after starting from a complete stop. Complete and almost immediate loss of motor and power steering making it difficult, if not impossible, to steer. Will sometimes not stay running right after starting. Might take two or three attempts to get vehicle to start. Crank sensor replaced, mass airflow sensor cleaned. No codes or check engine light so no good way to troubleshoot. This is extremely dangerous as it can stall at any time without warning. Will usually start again within a minute but then will stall out again at any moment without warning.

- Royalton, MN, USA

problem #19

Apr 022015

Grand Prix

  • 250,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. Upon placing the vehicle in reverse to pull into the driveway, the contact noticed smoke near the engine compartment. The contact and passenger were able to exit the vehicle. The contact attempted to lift the hood but was unable to due to extensive flames emitting from the engine compartment. The fire department was able to extinguish the flames. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 07E021000 (fuel system, other), 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling), and 08V118000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 250,000.

- Dawson, MN, USA

problem #18

Jan 202015

Grand Prix

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. Approximately ten minutes after the vehicle was parked, it caught fire. The contact did not disclose who extinguished the fire. The vehicle was towed to an unknown location. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #17

Dec 172014

Grand Prix

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, there was smoke and sparks coming from both the front and rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an unknown location and was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V118000 (engine and engine cooling). A police report was filed and there were no injuries reported. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 102014

Grand Prix

  • miles
General Motors is recalling 1,497,516 my 1997-2003 Buick regal, my 1998-2003 Chevrolet lumina, Monte Carlo and Impala, my 1998-1999 Oldsmobile intrigue, my 1997-2003 Pontiac Grand Prix vehicles equipped with a 3.8L V6 naturally aspirated engine. Some of these vehicles have a condition in which drops of engine oil may be deposited on the exhaust manifold through hard braking.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 102014

Grand Prix

  • 191,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. While parked, the vehicle caught fire underneath the hood. The fire department extinguished the fire and filed a report. There were no injuries. The fire chief stated that the fire originated from the engine compartment. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 191,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #14

Apr 022014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 90,500 miles
Vehicle would randomly just shut off while driving.there would be no indication beforehand(like sputtering or stalling). It would just completely shut off sometimes while driving at a regular speed sometimes at a stop. I would lose all power steering power brakes etc. I contacted Pontiac and they told me that there was a letter (not a recall) sent out on this car that could have a catalytic converter. They set up an appt. With a local dealer. Car was taken there to have converter checked (which they said was ok) and also to fix what was causing car to shut off. Bottom line, they informed me car was showing numerous codes on computer. I told them I only wanted to fix what was causing vehicle to shut off.they informed that any one of the codes could cause the problem. I left there with a bill over $1500 and vehicle shut off on me within 2 days of repairs(which we later argued would not cause the particular problem).they had me bring car back and told me there was nothing they could do unless it threw a code. With all the GM ignition problems, just wondering if perhaps this could be my problem also but have yet to see my car on recall. Any help or who I contact/complain to would be greatly appreciated. I have become very nervous driving and have grandchildren that I don't want to Transport if this is a safety issue because it can go several days ok then sometimes will shut off several times a day at random times. Afraid that one day it will shut off and cause a crash as I have been close several times.

- Apple Creek, OH, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?