ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$670
Average Mileage:
81,650 miles
Total Complaints:
23 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (13 reports)
  2. replace the radio (10 reports)
2010 Volkswagen Jetta accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Sep 242018

Jetta TDI

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,274 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stereo died again!!

Reporting the issue for the second time so I am copying and pasting the story for the second time. Here goes:

2010 Jetta TDI. The stereo completely died...AGAIN!! Currently September 2018. The same thing happened in August 2016. Here is the story:

Aug 2016. Stereo went blank and had no power. Took it in for service and paid $120 to diagnose it was not working and can't be fixed. Dealer would have to order a new one. Waited a couple weeks for a new one to come in. It was installed and we had to give the old one back. Bill was $980. Also lost the CD's that were in the old one. Now, 2 years later the 'New unit', just died. This time I checked the fuse, then removed the unit myself and replaced the internal 15 a minifuse and that still didn't fix the problem.

Called the dealer, VW of Oakville Ontario, Canada and they basically gave me the stiff arm. Told me warranty for new unit is gone and too bad so sad but they can't do anything.

Now I go online and see this is a common problem.Much greater than a statistical average of common failure.

I generally keep my vehicles for up to 10 years with minimal problems. I have NEVER had a stereo die like that. Now to have two stereos go like that and to find out this is a common problem, I am extremely disappointed that the Dealer won't extend any goodwill or even acknowledge it is a problem.

Have to say I have liked the car but with the amount of time I have had to spend dealing with VW on the Emission issue and now 'unacknowledged' radio problem, I will move on to another make of car.

- Robert W., Milton, ON, Canada

problem #22

Aug 222016

Jetta TDI

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,448 miles

2010 Jetta TDI. The stereo completely died...AGAIN!! Currently September 2018. The same thing happened in August 2016. Here is the story:

Aug 2016. Stereo went blank and had no power. Took it in for service and paid $120 to diagnose it was not working and can't be fixed. Dealer would have to order a new one. Waited a couple weeks for a new one to come in. It was installed and we had to give the old one back. Bill was $980. Also lost the CD's that were in the old one. Now, 2 years later the 'new refurbished unit', just died. This time I checked the fuse, then removed the unit myself and replaced the internal 15 a minifuse and that still didn't fix the problem.

Called the dealer, VW of Oakville Ontario, Canada and they basically gave me the stiff arm. Told me warranty for new unit is gone and too bad so sad but they can't do anything.I have to get another refurbished unit at full cost again. Now I go online and see this is a common problem.Much greater than a statistical average of common failure.

I Generally keep my vehicles for up to 10 years with minimal problems. I have NEVER had a stereo die like that. Now to have two stereos go like that and to find out this is a common problem, I am extremely disappointed that the Dealer won't extend any goodwill or even acknowledge it is a problem.

Have to say I have liked the car but with the amount of time I have had to spend dealing with VW on the Emission issue and now 'unacknowledged' radio problem, I will move on to another make of car.

- Robert W., Milton, ON, Canada

problem #21

Apr 012012

Jetta SE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

The radio died one year after I bought it. Had it replaced. And 13 months later the radio died again . Haven't had a radio in years. It's a touch screen with 5 CD changer. And there are CDs stuck in it. Checked fuses, they are all good.

- Kerri S., Gardiner, ME, US

problem #20

Dec 182017

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Apparently Jetta has a POS for a radio/CD player. Went black and will not work anymore. Not going to the dealership and paying $90 for a diagnostic when they (and now I) already know there is an issue with 2010-11 Jetta's radios. Just google it. It's not a fuse, it's just junk so get ready to replace it. And don't use the dealership because they will just overcharge you to put in a refurbished one.

- lisawv, Charleston, WV, USA

problem #19

Nov 132017

Jetta SE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

Radio suddenly stops working, it is not a fuse. Searched several site to find VW admits the 2010 has a

Update from Nov 18, 2017: Problem and the fix is to purchase a new radio and have it installed for a mere $600 - $1000. I am scheduling an appointment with them to determine what can be done. It is extremely frustrating to learn this problem is occurring often and VW is not offering a more cost effective solution.

- Teresa S., Jackson, US

problem #18

Aug 282017

Jetta LE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,286 miles

Came out of work yesterday afternoon and turned on my car to find that my radio was no longer working, which is odd, since it was working that morning before I turned off the car. Checked fuses and they were all fine, got online and found that this is apparently a prevalent problem, I will be calling VW customer service today.

- Damon G., Sheridan, WY, US

problem #17

Mar 012017

Jetta TDI

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My radio one day just turned itself off and i could not turn it back on at all. While at the dealership getting 80,000 mileage maintenance done, i asked the friendly Technical Advisor how much would it be to get it fixed, he said it will be in the 1000 range..till this day my radio is still dead and i refuse to buy a new one because i don''t know how long it will last! Heck my old BMW X5's Radio still works !

- fobulous, Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #16

Aug 052014

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Add another unhappy VW Jetta owner with a radio issue to the list of so many already out there. I contacted VW via Twitter and VW chat, and there's no known recall for the radio. It does come on and off when it wants, but I refuse to spend $$$ on another VW car or a new radio when there's no guarantee the new radio will even last. I find it very upsetting that VW will pretend to know nothing about the radio issue when there's countless complaints online. I will take my chance with a secondary radio versus forking over $$$ to VW. Consider this my first and last VW ever!

- Lee G., Burbank, US

problem #15

Jun 102017

Jetta Wolfsburg 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

Touchscreen radio made loud "pop" sound and then went completely black at 73k miles. It was also making this loud thumping noise that would not stop even if the car was off. The only way to get the thumping to stop was by disconnecting the battery. Hard reset of radio did not work. Will have to completely replace radio.

- Cassidy J., Raleigh, NC, US

problem #14

Feb 012017

Jetta 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

The radio and the Blue tooth in my car just quit one day......all fuses were checked and everything was good. Cant figure out what is wrong with it. Called Volkswagon and they refused to do anything about it..Its a shame that I no longer have a radio in my car or blue tooth which can be a safety hazard!!! This is utterly ridiculous!!!

- regronrr, North Versailles, US

problem #13

Apr 172017

Jetta 2.5L

  • Manual transmission
  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Radio quit working. Touch screen is completely blank. Bluetooth for phone does not work either as it is run through the radio.

Have changed both fuses in engine compartment and the fuse in the radio with the same result. Also tried pulling the battery cable for up to 30 minutes without success.

- Troy G., Holt, MI, US

problem #12

Oct 102016

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

Stereos in 2010 VW Jettas are faulty. This issue has been around for at least two years. My stereo just died but I found a site with probably 500 entries, dead stereos for this year Jetta. Frustrated that VW will not acknowledge. Interesting how everyone says their dealer said they haven't heard of this before. AND I had Sirius for life. But guess what? Now I have to have the dealer change out my stereo for $1000 and pay $75 to keep Sirius! Not! I can go on line and buy one for over $100 and $50 for installation but that means Sirius will be no more. First and last VW

- washingtonian, DuPont, WA, USA

problem #11

Jul 112016

Jetta SE 5 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Reading all the other complaints, add me to the list.

Driving home after work on 7/11/16, I stopped for a run into Lowe/s. Upon returning, I heard this loud POP! Radio went dead and was replacing with this loud popping beat coming from all the speakers. Jumped out of the car, popped the hood and trunk trying to figure out the problem.

Got back in, shut off the ignition, waited, loud popping beat returned. Nothing looked out of the ordinary on the dash. Drove home; repeated the exercise. Still the beating sound. Checked the owner's manual. Figured it was the radio and not wanting the sound to go on, I pulled the fuse for the radio/nav.

Sound stopped. So far, the car is operating correctly (knock on wood), just no radio. Sheesh.

You'd think with so many complaints they'd do a recall. I may look for a radio in a junk yard or maybe on ebay. Saw some for $99. Easy to replace if you're handy and can follow Youtube.

Good luck.

- paul in jax, Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #10

May 062016

Jetta TDI 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I BOUGHT THIS 2010 TDI VOLKSWAGEN JETTA AUGUST OF 2014 ITS NOT EVEN 2 YEARS SINCE I HAD IT. SO FAR REPLACED STARTER HAD A PROBLEM WITH CAR STALLING ON ME REPLACED BATTERY WHICH IS NOT BIG DEAL KNOW THE STUPID RADIO COMPLETELY DIED ON ME KNOW THAT MEANS NO BLUETOOTH. I BEEN DOIN SOME RESEARCH AND THERE HAS BEEN THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE JUST CANT UNDERSTAND WHY THE IS NOT A RECALL ON THIS YET.THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS CAR I JUST HOPE THEY BUY IT BACK SO I CAN BUY A DESCENT CAR MAYBE A HONDA.I WILL NEVER BUY VOLKSWAGEN AGAIN FIRST AND LAST CAR.

- Paul C., Malden, MA, USA

problem #9

Mar 202016

Jetta 2.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 86,992 miles

Driving down the road and the radio just goes blank never to come to life again. Contacted dealer and was told to take it in and they will hook it up to their scanner. But at a cost of over $ 115.00 to be told my radio is toast. Contactes vw Canada and received an email saying go to the dealer hmmmm. no thanks. Called vw Canada and was told nothing they can do. I asked the guy this is an ongoing problem to do a google search on 2010 jetta radio problems but they would not. Thank you vw Canada

- bryan meade, Nash Creek, NB, Canada

problem #8

Mar 172016

Jetta SE/SEL 2.5L 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles

AGAIN! This is twice in the two years I have had this car that I am having to replace the radio and consequently the stupid battery! I am absolutely appalled that VW has allowed this issue to continue to so many people and so many times without any steps to fix the problem. One of the repair guys at the dealership even said that they are always having to replace the radios in these cars because they short out. Why has there not been a recall?!?! I will never buy a VW again!

- Kristen Y., Greenvile, AL, USA

problem #7

Nov 122014

Jetta SE/SEL 2.5L 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

Ok only a few months after I buy my Jetta the screen on the radio goes black and it just stops working. A couple days later my battery dies and I have to get someone to give me a jump just to get the car to the dealership. My warranty covers the radio but not the battery. I was sure the radio problem caused the battery to die but I sucked it up and bought a new battery. Now a year and a half later my car is back at the dealership with the exact same issues! And guess what?!?! They still won't replace the battery that died after the radio went out!. I have lost almost all respect for VW as a reputable company. They know about this issue but refuse to do anything about it.

- Kristen Y., Greenvile, AL, USA

problem #6

Jun 252015

Jetta Tdi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

Radio from dealer = 1500.00, radio from Best Buy that didn't allow me to use all the features from the steering wheel = $600.00 (by the way I lost $200.00 in the return of this radio), radio off of ebay that uses all functions= $200.00. Would have been nicer if VW would have fixed this known issue. Good car, bad radio.

- Richard B., Austin, MN, USA

problem #5

Feb 072016

Jetta TDI 1.9L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,300 miles

On road trip, playing a audio book on CD, worked all day no problem, next day it worked for awhile but after a startup after stopping for a break the radio just quit working, no display, no sound. I checked fuse in engine compartment (actually checked all fuses because a small note in manual indicated some situations may be affected by more than one fuse) but everything checked out fine. As yet I've not removed the radio to see if the 2nd fuse located there is good or bad. From what I've read the dealership will want $800+ to make this right but have located after market solutions for under $200.

Overall this is very suspicious though, cannot figure why this could be occurring other than a basic power type failure. If it is the radio I'd say this is a major defect. This is not an overheating issue what-so-ever, the operating temperatures were not an issue and was not playing a loud volumes... so very odd that it is no completely dead.

- Jeff B., Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #4

Feb 142016

Jetta SE/S 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

Touch screen stereo burned out for a second time!!! I had it replaced once under warranty in 2013 and it died yet again yesterday. First time the stereo was changing stations on it's own randomly, then one day it just went black. I took it to the dealership, luckily I had extended warranty. The whole system was fried and had to be replaced.

Yesterday, after only having it not even three years, it went black again and this time was followed up with a thumping noise in the speakers. The noise would not stop even with the car shut off!!!! I had to pay $45 at a car stereo shop to disconnect it. Have read several complaints that maybe the fuse is not correct. Such a simple fix it seems, why wouldn't VW just do a recall and do the quick fix. Either way I am way PO'd that I've had this car not even six full years and had two stereos. It's no longer under warranty but I will fight tooth and nail for VW to pay for this. This is a joke! I could understand maybe once but TWICE, and the stereo lasted less than three years both times.

- Kiley V., Fullerton, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?