Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: In many ways, the 2012 Cruze continues the legacy of its predecessor. It's a legacy of sluggish transmissions and coolant leaks, but it's still a legacy.

To be fair, the number of complaints about the cooling system are way down versus the 2011 model which led to a class-action lawsuit.

On the flip-side, there's more concerns about brake problems.

However, there were far more Cruze vehicles sold for the 2012 model year so we'll give it our "Beware of this Clunker" badge rather than the "Avoid Like the Plague."

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,365 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chevrolet Cruze brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chevrolet Cruze:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chevrolet Cruze Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Mar 072014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Similar issue to the previous brake recall to which repair was completed on this vehicle months prior to these incidents. The brake peddle on the car would become much harder than anticipated multiple times, mostly when first starting the vehicle or reversing from a parking spot, had several near miss accidents at low speeds, over the course of several months. The dealership claimed that it had nothing to do with the recall that replaced the microswitch in the power brake vacuum pipe assembly. Rather they replaced the brake vacuum boost hose assembly, claiming that was where the problem originated from and had nothing at all to do with the microswitch even though the recall was for very similar problem.

- Hill Afb, UT, USA

problem #43

Jun 042014

Cruze

  • 168,340 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that the vacuum pump switch failed. The contact mentioned that the vacuum pump switch was replaced on three occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V360000 (service, hydraulic). The failure and current mileage was 168,340.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #42

Jun 172014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I was backing out of my garage and as I pushed on my brake pedal to slow down and maneuver out of the garage I realized the pedal would not go down and the car kept going in reverse with no way of stopping it! there was no give to the brake pedal at all, it was as if it was locked up. I rolled backward several feet while still pushing on the brake and eventually the pedal went down and the car stopped. This happened about a month ago, but I thought, at the time, I must have done something silly like hit the floorboard with my foot. I now realize this could be a real hazard to myself and others. I did have a recall on the brakes some months ago and I took my car into to have it done. This has happened twice since Chevrolet fixed my recall. This is very concerning!!

- Lebanon, IN, USA

problem #41

Dec 022013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car shuts down and it can not be restarted, (no dome light, no on start) no power anywhere..can't get keys out of ignition, going down the road, steering service light come on and off, radio display shuts down and restarts, gauges turn on and off..dealership has replaced battery, generator and it is still doing the same thing. Currently at dealership again.!....updated 07/31/14 it was determined the ground wire on the battery was broke. Which caused the vehicle to stall, shutting down all the gauges. There have been no problems, since it was replaced. Updated 09/23/14

- Hillsdale, MI, USA

problem #40

May 242014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the brakes failed. The vehicle did not stop when the brake pedal was fully applied, causing the contact to crash into the rear of another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed of the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but no diagnoses was provided. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V36000(service brakes, hydraulic) but did not confirm if the vehicle was included in the recall. This failure persisted intermittently over a period of one year. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000. Updated 8/19/14 the consumer stated the vehicle's trunk exterior manual latch would not open the trunk and the steering wheel air bag is on recall. While driving, the vehicle would hesitate and lurch. Updated 08/28/2014

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #39

Apr 072014

Cruze

  • 22,815 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that the brake failed while reversing. There was no power assist when the brake pedal was applied. The failure continued intermittently for two months since the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 13V360000( service brakes, hydraulic). The contact had not experienced any failures before then. The manufacturer was not made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 22,815.

- Annapolis , MD, USA

problem #38

May 142014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My teenage daughter drives this car. Along with a number of service issues and down time in the shop, it has been nothing short of a disappointment. She now has a braking issue that is consistent with the recall that was issued in October of 2013 (12213). She was driving the car at 15-20 mph and the brakes failed when depressed. She then had to push again, this time harder and barely missed a car in front of her, thus freaking her out completely. Now she will not drive this car again as she does not feel safe. We took the car into the dealer and without any secondary notice saying that the parts are available, they had them in house... really" does this take a fatality for G.M to do the right thing and be on top of their business" updated 11/24/2014

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #37

Apr 262014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 33,291 miles
As I was backing out of parking spot the brake pedal went to the floor increasing the time and distance to come to a complete stop.vehicle was towed to dealership where they determined it was a faulty brake microswitch (GM part # 13460776)that was already replaced under GM recall #12213 on March 20,2014.the dealership replaced the switch again and claim the brakes were now "working as designed".

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #36

Jul 152012

Cruze 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the driver attempted to decelerate but the brakes failed to respond and the driver crashed into a concrete mailbox. The driver sustained extensive injuries to the back, arm and neck. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 15,000. Updated 06/17/14

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #35

Oct 012013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
Received a recall in October 2013 (recall 12213). Parts are still not available as of March 2014.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #34

Oct 152013

Cruze

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V360000 (service brakes, hydraulic) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for repair. The contact stated that additional force had to be applied to the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- West Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #33

Jul 282013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Driver was traveling approx. 15-20 mph when traffic stopped in front of her. Driver was at a safe distance behind the vehicle in front of her. However, after applying the brakes the car did not stop and hit the vehicle in front of her. The driver could not figure out why the crash happened as she applied the brakes and the car felt like it wouldn't stop. Not only did the vehicle not stop but it also had extensive front end damage without any airbag deployment. Both issues are very concerning to the driver. The vehicle has since been repaired but still feels like the brakes are not functioning like they should.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #32

Aug 082013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Upon backing down driveway, it was evident that brake booster pump pressure was lost. It took an extraordinary amount of physical effort to push the brake pedal adequately enough to get vehicle to stop. Upon switching from reverse to drive, pedal pressure immediately returned to normal. We have not been notified that our 2012 Chevrolet Cruze eco is included in recent brake recall.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #31

Oct 122013

Cruze

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the brakes were applied and the vehicle failed to stop or decelerate without warning. The contact crashed into another vehicle. A police report was filed. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the contact was awiting diagnosis of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 32,000. The VIN was not available.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #30

Oct 112012

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while reversing from a driveway, the brakes failed to respond without warning. The contact stated that additional force was applied to the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer twice however, the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, who informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V360000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000 and the current mileage was 25,000. Updated 11/13/13

- Lake Arthur, LA, USA

problem #29

Aug 212013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
While pulling into parking space crawling into position the brakes failed and the car vibrated and lunged forward crashing into a brick wall. The brake pedal went all the way to the floor the car then began to vibrate then accelerate forward hitting brick wall. I believe that the turbo charge engaged because of the vacuum boost failed causing the turbo to engage. Filed complaint with GM no luck said it was driver error. Needless to say we are repairing the car then trading in. I have contacted local media can't seem to get any help. We have been loyal Chevy owners for over 20years never again. I think the public needs to be warned before someone gets killed. If someone was walking across the front of the car they would have died.

- Bolivar, OH, USA

problem #28

Sep 032013

Cruze

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph and applying the brakes, the vehicle failed to stop or decelerate. The contact had to utilize the emergency to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnosis and an unknown part was replaced. Two days later the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and the same part was replaced again. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 18,000.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #27

Jun 132013

Cruze

  • 1,800 miles
On or about June 13, 2013, I was parking my car in my space at the apartment complex I live in. I pushed on the brakes and the car went up and over the grass and into the support structure that holds up the awning at our clubhouse. The mileage listed is approximate, as I currently don't have the paperwork from howe collision at hand. I have a $500 deductible with my insurer, aaa Michigan. There was no police report taken. The damage to my vehicle was repaired by howe collision in Plymouth. I picked up my car on June 24, 2013. The car has a 1.8L ecotec with DOHC 4-cylinder engine. It also has a 6-speed automatic transmission. It has stabilitrak-stability control, with traction control. The brakes are 4-wheel anti-lock, front disks, rear drums. My vehicle was manufactured in lordstown, Ohio. I read an article in the jackson citizen regarding a defect in the brake assist function that had been linked to 27 accidents. GM announced the Friday before that it was aware of the 27 crashes, but stated there were no injuries. The cars involved are 2011-2012 1.4L engines that were built in lordstown. GM said for owners to take their car to the dealer where it was purchased, (mine is a lease), for repair of the broken part. My dealer, [xxx] in Plymouth said they didn't know anything about it. My niece, whose email I am using, called and spoke to the service department. The service department said they had no official notice from GM and that not all 2011 and 2012 Cruze's were involved in the recall. He also told her that I would get a notification in the mail, which to date, I have not gotten. If you need any other information you can call me at the number listed or email my niece, [xxx], at the email listed below. Thank you for your time. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #26

Feb 052013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
I been having trouble with my brakes 6 mths into having the car. I notice it makes a lot of noise and now when I let up on them, it makes the front of my car pop up.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #25

Mar 052013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Brakes have been making noise only 1 year after purchase. Car doesn't have significant mileage for this type of problem.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?