Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,224 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 9 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #240

Jul 012011

Trailblazer

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chevy Trailblazer. Heat/ac stops working on 5..then eventually 4 stops and so on until none of it works. The wires get to hot and melt together. I know so many people that have had this problem yet Chevy still doesn't recall it!?

- Ashmore, IL, USA

problem #239

Oct 212006

Trailblazer

  • 89,442 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the speedometer, fuel gauge and the battery voltage indicator on the instrument panel were all operating erratically. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told that the vehicle did not fall under the age or mileage requirements to be repaired. The contact was told by the dealer that the instrument cluster was failing. The failure mileage was 89,442 and the current mileage was 108,000. Updated 09/28/2011

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

problem #238

Jun 012010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
About a year ago my speedometer would randomly show a loss or gain of speed. About 8 months ago it quit working all together. It does not register in the numbers. During the same time I ran out of gas twice when my gage had registered fuel and the low fuel light was not registered. It has since quit working all together. I recently called to ask how much an instrument cluster would be to replace and was given a total of about $600 this is a very disheartening situation. I have read all other complaints on line and they say the same thing. I believe that this is a very serious issue and am extremely disappointed that it hasn't been resolved by the company.

- Montrose, CO, USA

problem #237

Mar 102011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated the fuel gauge and oil gauge failed and no longer displayed readings. The contact stated that they did not know the oil pressure or the amount of fuel in the fuel tank. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage is 71,941. Updated 07/21/11 updated 07/25/11

- Noico, CA, USA

problem #236

Nov 012009

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles
Erratic fuel gauge, reports no fuel even when fuel available, reports 1/4 tank of fuel available and no fuel may be available or I may have just filled the tank; also reports no fuel or low fuel when tank has been filled. Vehicle has stalled out and would not start; was out of fuel but gauge indicated 1/4 tank of fuel. Oil gauge has also become erratic; and goes from showing no oil pressure to low oil pressure to very high pressure. Have to pull over immediately and check oil level at side of road or where ever available to do so at time. Not always safe area to pull off. Both issues create very hazardous and dangerous situations for the driver and passengers in the vehicle.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #235

Nov 012009

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles
Erratic fuel gauge, reports no fuel even when fuel available, reports 1/4 tank of fuel available and no fuel may be available or I may have just filled the tank; also reports no fuel or low fuel when tank has been filled. Vehicle has stalled out and would not start; was out of fuel but gauge indicated 1/4 tank of fuel. Oil gauge has also become erratic; and goes from showing no oil pressure to low oil pressure to very high pressure. Have to pull over immediately and check oil level at side of road or where ever available to do so at time. Not always safe area to pull off. Both issues create very hazardous and dangerous situations for the driver and passengers in the vehicle.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #234

May 132011

Trailblazer

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the gasoline gauge and the speedometer failed. She was unable to see how fast she was traveling or whether or not she had a sufficient amount of fuel in the vehicle. In addition, the headlights would also shut off on an intermittent basis which caused her to change the bulbs frequently. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised her that there were no recalls on the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 104,000.

- Springfield, VT, USA

problem #233

Oct 202010

Trailblazer

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 35 mph the speedometer began to move erratically. The speedometer reading fluctuated and displayed the incorrect speeds. The fuel gauge also did not display the accurate amount of gasoline in the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians stated the fuel level sensor and the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number: DP10001 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) which may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and agreed to cover the repair cost for the instrument cluster. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #232

May 182011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 74,112 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer that I just found out needs a blower motor resistor replaced. This sounds like a very common issue with the Chevy vehicle. The wires were melted by the connection which could easily spark a fire. With three young children in car seats a fire inside the cabin of the vehicle would be disastrous. Please make them recall this and take care of this issue. Thank you,

- Waverly, MN, USA

problem #231

May 132009

Trailblazer

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While refueling the vehicle, the contact noticed that the empty fuel warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the fuel gauge reading was inaccurate and would fluctuate sporadically. The vehicle was taken to two different independent mechanics. The mechanic stated that the entire instrument panel would need to be replaced. Also, the contact stated that the speedometer reading would also fluctuate intermittently and provide inaccurate readings. There was a concurrent investigation for the failure under NHTSA action number: DP10001 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) that the contact believed could have been related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #230

May 132009

Trailblazer

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the entire instrument cluster failed. The dealer was not contacted and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 102,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #229

Apr 202011

Trailblazer

  • 93,000 miles
Gas gauge on vehicle does not give accurate gas level in tank. Readings on the gas gauge fluctuate with vehicle in park, gives empty warning ding when tank is full, and readings on gauge fluctuate erratically at times while vehicle is in motion. Have been stuck on highway with an empty fuel tank a couple times with my three young children in the car. It is my concern that this may cause a fire in vehicle so I no longer put my family in it.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #228

Jun 012009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Gas gauge reads empty regardless of actual fuel level. It started out as an intermittent, and periodic event. It then would dependably happen immediately after fill-up at the pump. Now, it is continuous.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #227

Feb 102011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Yes my fuel gauge does not tell me the correct fuel amount in the fuel tank, when I fill my tank up with gas. The gauge goes to empty and when driving it goes back and forth between empty and full its just a inconvenience not knowing if you are going to run out of gas or not there should be a recall on this vehicle because this seems like a ongoing problem also ill be driving and the headlights will just start flickering on and off please recall this vehicle and have GM fix this problem thank you.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #226

Dec 152010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
2005 Trailblazer gas gauge fluctuates wildly. We have been trying to monitor the tank by tracking mileage. My wife used the car and inadvertently subtracted the miles incorrectly and ran out of gas in the fast lane of the 405 freeway !! a very dangerous situation. No one was hurt, just a lot of stress and a rescue mission. The gauge now stays on, or just above empty. Chevy dealer wants $800 for repair and says it's not their problem. My on-line research shows thousands of this car have the identical symptom. Most definitely their problem !! in addition, the speedometer has a mind of it's own. I was pulled over on the I 15 for doing 88 when my speedometer read 70. (I'm 58 and have never had a ticket) on pulling over the speedometer came to rest at 25 mph. The officer understood and let me go with a warning to get it fixed. My problem....I need Chevy to fix it !!

- Westminster, CA, USA

problem #225

May 012011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I have had numerous electrical problems with my 2005 Chevy Trailblazer (82,000 miles). I have had sensors replaced, my headlights randomly "flicker" to dim while driving at night, brake lights and front turning signals all going out at the exact same time and replacing the bulbs and/or fuses don't fix the problem, now I have two service engine lights on. Dealer says it is an electrical issue. The car is not drivable over 20 mph, it has no power and the transmission has been affected by the computer failure. My Trailblazer was driving perfectly fine, than the brake lights went out, front signals went out, service lights came on and I was unable to drive the car, all within an hour. The one module that is being replaced is $650 with a diagnosis fee of $200 to check the computer system of the transmission as 7 different codes came up on the transmission as well. So the repair fee is going to be a fortune. I find it odd that so many other people have had the same kind of issues and there has not been a recall for these electrical issues!!!

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #224

Apr 302008

Trailblazer

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact noticed the fuel gauge stopped functioning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a technician stated the fuel assembly inside the fuel tank needed to be replaced. There was an open investigation, NHTSA action number DP10001(fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The contact stated the speedometer also stopped functioning after the fuel gauge failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the speedometer was repaired. The fuel gauge was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- Fayettsville, NC, USA

problem #223

Mar 012011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,126 miles
Gas gauge indicates low after fill up. It then varies between empty and full. After reading all the complaints on the internet of the identical problem with this vehicle, I feel there should be a recall. This is a serious problem. It is impossible to track how much gas you have left by mileage, especially when there are multiple users of the vehicle. If the vehicle suddenly stops in traffic (local road or highway) it could result in serious injury or death. Since this is a well known problem, I think the nhtsb should look into this and get Chevrolet to recall theses vehicles to replace the sending units. I noticed a complaint was filed for the identical problem with the nhtsb back in 2010, why is it taking so long for action, with all due respect. Again, so many Trailblazer owners are having this issue.

- Washingtonville, NY, USA

problem #222

Mar 302011

Trailblazer

  • 56,114 miles
March 30, 2011, I spent $80 on fuel to fill my Trailblazer with gas. I started driving and the gas gauge never moved, and was still showing empty with the low fuel warning chiming. When I was almost home the fuel gauge finally started moving but never went past a half tank. I inspected the vehicle to see if there were any signs of a fuel leak and nothing looked out of the ordinary. When I had to leave again to run errands the fuel gauge would move, however, it would go back down to empty when I was stopped or put the car in park. I have also had issues with rear tail light panel wires frying and having to replace those when there were no apparent causes (moisture, etc.). lights dimming while I roll up a window or push other buttons in the car (radio, climate control) and lights in certain areas of the car just blowing out. Fuses are fine, alternator and battery are fine. Why is this vehicle having so many problems at 56,000 miles? I understand that these are not life threatening issues, but what is next. Why do I have to constantly monitor my mileage just to make sure I don't stall or run out of gas when I am driving. Are we the customers supposed to shell out $$$ to have repairs done continually on defective equipment and components. I don't think so. GMC needs to drastically improve the quality and durability of their products, and step up to the plate and take care of the customers they do have. Word of mouth is way more effective than millions of dollars in advertising.

- Holly, MI, USA

problem #221

Mar 072011

Trailblazer

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving various speeds the instrument cluster suddenly failed. The fuel gauge displayed that the tank was empty when the contact added fuel to its capacity. The speedometer would also display that she was driving at higher speeds than normal. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised her that the entire instrumental cluster needed to be replaced. The manufacturer advised her that the vehicle was not included in any recalls and offered no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 72,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Crown Point , IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?