Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: There are serious power steering concerns for the Traverse. Data shows that owners are having a difficult time with their power steering quitting, particularly at low speeds.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,484 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Traverse steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Traverse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Traverse Owner Comments (Page 11 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Aug 302013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles


Just days after purchasing a used 2010 Chevy Traverse with about 52,000 miles, the steering locked while sitting in the driveway. It took several attempts to get the steering wheel to work. Then in November the car began to make a loud screeching noise. It occurred during idling as well as during acceleration. Turning became more difficult and the noise corresponded to accelerating, turning and slowing down. It went to the Chevy service station on 12/20/13. They replaced the power steering pump. I picked the car up on 12/24/13 and it sounded the same. I was told that it would get better in a few days after the air left the new pump. The car did not get better and continued to sound terrible. It was also shaking and was scary to drive in. It went back to the shop on 12/30/13. They have replaced the power steering rack, pin and hose so far. As of 1/8/13 they can not fix the car. The mechanics say they have been working with the GM hotline and are at a loss as to why it won't stop making the noise or driving correctly.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #69

Jan 062014

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 44,518 miles
This vehicle was taken to champion Chevrolet for a recall for a failing water pump seal. During that analysis, the power steering pump and rack assembly was found to be low on oil and with metal shavings in the pinion rack was near failure. The failure mode on this model and all Traverses, enclaves, and acadias is the ultimately steering lock and a probably crash. This is a definite recall item that should be finally determined by NHTSA for all years of this vehicle. The repair estimate is over $2600 as the entire front engine assembly has to be removed. Other owner experiences indicate that this repair is widespread in these GM models and is a serious safety issue.

- Sparks, NV, USA

problem #68

Oct 012013


  • 90,000 miles
Since October of 2013 I have been having issues with my power steering locking up or becoming so tight while trying to turn at slow speeds that I have to force a turn. I have take it to my dealership to have it looked at after reading the numerous complaints for the same issues. I was told that I would need a new pump and rack pinion steering, which was told it would cost me $1300 and is not covered under the power terrain!!!! I was also told there have been numerous complaints on the power steering making noises, in which Chevrolet replaced the power steering in the 2012 and newer models and which research shows that there are virtually no complaints in the 2012 models. I have almost been in accidents because the steering would like up while turning in intersections!

- Henagar, AL, USA

problem #67

Oct 152013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Traverse. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The failure was recurring and on one occasion, the contact was forced to crash into a mail box in an attempt to regain control of the vehicle. The contact was not injured. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis however, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000....updated 01-10-14 the consumer was informed, the vehicle needed a new rack and pinion and steering pump. Updated 01/13/14

- Henagar, AL, USA

problem #66

May 012013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I began to notice noise while steering and then difficulty steering, as though the power steering wasn't working. I had some previous undiagnosed leaks on the vehicle while under warranty, but those were never resolved. When I brought the vehicle in to have the steering checked, I was told I needed a repair that would cost $2000, and of course, it was no longer under warranty. I went to another auto shop who estimated a lower cost for the repair, the repair was made, and the difficulty steering began again. 24 hours after the supposed "fix", the car caught on fire after my husband pulled into a parking space. It was a total loss.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #65

Oct 162013


  • 90,000 miles
The 1st time it happened, we were driving on the highway with the entire family in the car. 2 adults & 3 children. The steering locks up while the car is in motion. It gets worse when you step on the brake. There is no indication of a problem prior, I.e. check engine light, noise, etc. We took it to a local dealer & luckily made it just before the warranty wore off. The steering gear was replaced. On November 26 my wife was driving the car and once again while in motion the steering wheel froze, and got worse when stepping on the brake, no indication of a problem prior. She was just barely able to pull in the driveway. The most frightening thing was an hour before she was on the highway with children in the car during rush hour. Once again took the car to the local dealer & this time the power steering pump was replaced. It was cracked. I think the car is a danger to those in it & those sharing the road with it. I have never heard of steering failing in a car. I see other people having the same problem with the Traverse and am shocked that there has not been a recall.

- Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

problem #64

Oct 032013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 46,558 miles


First happened when I was turning into my driveway. Got halfway through my turn when I suddenly couldn't turn the steering wheel. Stopped just short of hitting a car parked on the street. Backed the car up and it could steer again. Did it two more times since. Once when my wife was pulling into a parking stall at the mall and again making a turn on a side street. Was told would have replace several steering components. Would be replaced with the exact same kind of parts as before. Haven't driven the vehicle since.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #63

May 302013


  • 51,670 miles
I noticed my steering wheel stiffening during turns. I took my vehicle to the dealership & was told I needed to replace the steering gear and power steering pump. These repairs are not covered under my extended warranty & will cost $1,876.31 to repair! the service advisor could not explain to me how the complete steering gear goes out on a vehicle w/52,000 miles on it! I am beyond angry, not to mention, I also feel violated. I have researched to see if other owners are having similar issues and there are hundreds of people with the exact same issues! these are not a coincidences! these parts are faulty & should be recalled and fixed at no cost!

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #62

Oct 162013


  • 65,000 miles
The power steering gets stuck. I can't turn the steering wheel. The steering wheel has gotten stuck while turning at a light.

- Imperial, CA, USA

problem #61

Mar 072011

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 13,629 miles
My truck kept making clicking noises and the power steering kept feeling stiff. It continuously made noise when turning the wheels.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #60

Jan 032013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


I bought this vehicle in October 2012. After driving for a while I noticed a funny sound coming from the steering wheel. I took it to for an oil change and was informed my power steering was leaking. I called the dealer and informed them of the issue. Due to having the vehicle over 30 days they would not repair it they stated I could use the extended warranty I purchased. I was not happy with the decision and they paid half of the deductible. So some months later I started having issues with turning corners and into my parking lot. The steering wheel would lock up and I had to use everything in me to turn the wheel. This is very concerning and scary. It is almost a year and I have had 2 recalls on this vehicle. The headlight has blown out. The interior lights have stopped working and I am not happy with this Chevy Traverse. I called Chevrolet customer service and they said before I talk with someone I have to take the truck to a dealer and have them diagnose the problem and I have to pay for the diagnosis. They also said that they are not aware of the problem and there is no warranty at this time for the power steering only for the 2 recalls. I think we should file a class action against Chevrolet. This is ridiculous that we are all having the same issues and there has not been a recall yet. Lives are at risk with these types of problems.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #59

Jul 122013


  • 79,169 miles
Our 2010 Chevy Traverse ltz is currently in the shop reference heater/defroster not working and engine light coming on. The vehicle has been in the shop several times this year for ac problems, fluid leaks and numerous sensors failing. The steering problem was discussed with repair facility on several occasions. The problem according to them could not be duplicated. We had to ask the dealership personal to physically set in the vehicle and attempt to turn the steering wheel. A new power steering pump and return hose was replaced total cost $658.93. At present this has solved the problem. Approximate total cost this year for repairs $3100. At this point we have no confidence in general motor products of anykind. We have all documentation for these claims.

- Bentley, LA, USA

problem #58

Jul 012013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The power steering has started failing at lower speeds, such as turning corners, turning into the driveway, and pulling into parking spaces. This is a dangerous scenario and is getting worse and worse. It is easily duplicated. My mechanic says it is a common problem with the Chevy Traverse and they see it all the time.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #57

Jul 252013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Vehicle power steering fails completely and intermittently at low speeds. This is an extremely urgent safety concern and a recall must be issued to correct this issue.

- Hurricane, WV, USA

problem #56

Sep 102013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 49,100 miles
Intermittent loss of power steering at low speeds when turning into driveway or in and out of parking spaces. Also was especially bad when backing into a parking space on a hill, when I could not turn the wheel at all until I started applying gas to get the car moving. At these times the steering wheel is extremely hard to turn. I have taken to the dealer for inspection twice and cannot duplicate the problem while there. The dealer gets no error codes on diagnostic and cannot see any leaks or mechanical problems. They have contacted GM who says they do not have any bulletins related to this matter. This problem is very unsettling and potentially very dangerous. I hope GM will investigate and come up with a solution.

- Pinehurst, NC, USA

problem #55

Aug 012013


  • 48,000 miles
The power steering has started failing at lower speeds, such as turning corners, turning into the driveway, and pulling into parking spaces. This is dangerous! what the heck is Chevy going to do about this" two of my neighbors had the exact same issue and were told by the dealer to "trade it off". we love the vehicle, but can't keep putting our family in danger. Repeat, what is Chevy going to do about this? the more I research online, it seems that almost all of the 2010 Traverse's have this same problem. Recall???"

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #54

Mar 012013


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Traverse. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the power steering assist failed without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was inspected and repaired by an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Cleves , OH, USA

problem #53

Sep 132013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • 70,101 miles
Was pulling into my driveway, at very low speed(less than 5mph) and the steering became very hard to turn. I stopped and had to pull very hard on the steering wheel to continue into my carport. This happened several times after that and the next day also. Today I had a doctors appointment and it was back to normal. My wife is afraid to drive it because it may happen again. What are we supposed to do" is there a recall on this"

- Paden City, WV, USA

problem #52

Sep 022013


  • 84,000 miles
Started losing power steering suddenly. This usually happens at low speeds, but not always. Took to dealer in louisville ky that wanted ~$1300 to fix stating the problem was a leak in the rack and pinion part of the steering mechanism.

- Gainesville Fl, FL, USA

problem #51

Aug 272013

Traverse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,791 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Traverse. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, there was a loss of power steering without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 91,791...updated 10/30/13 updated 10/31/2013

- Fall River Mills, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?