Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
103,957 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

May 012014

Pacifica

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took the vehicle into the shop because after charging the A/C, the vents were still blowing hot air. After being looked at, I got a call that there was over $3,000 dollars of work that needed to be done! the subframe is completely rusted out and the vehicle is unsafe to drive. I only purchased the car a little over a year ago. I contacted Chrysler and was told that since I am the 3rd owner, they would not pay for any of the repairs that need to be done. Absolutely ridiculous. The car isn't even worth much more than $5,000, I can't put $3,000 into it! tired of getting the run around from Chrysler. They know they have a mistake floating about out there, but will do absolutely nothing to make it right!

- Wapakoneta, OH, USA

problem #47

Jun 162014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 149,809 miles
Front engine cradle there was a letter sent by Chrysler back in November of 2010 that "we are extending the warranty period on your front engine cradle because some vehicles operated in areas of high road salt usage, may experience engine cradle corrosion resulting in a driveability vibration and or shake. This engine cradle extended warranty coverage applies to Chrysler Pacifica model years 2004-2005." I have called Chrysler twice and was told that my car is not in the serial number range and I just paid over $2450 to have my car repaired.

- Eaton, OH, USA

problem #46

Apr 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 122,638 miles
Reference tsb 13.001-12, 2005 Chrysler Pacifica suspension service bulletin, and NHTSA action number 10044109. A letter was sent to some 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica owners that the front engine cradle and suspension mount frame was prone to corrosion problems. The warranty was extended to 15 years or 150,000 miles to owners in states that use road salt, cold weather states. We live in Pennsylvania, which is considered a cold weather state. Our Pacifica was inspected in April 2014. We informed the station that we were experiencing some vibration in the front end of the vehicle. We were informed that the cradle assembly and mount was rusted through and because of safety issues they had to be replaced before it would pass inspection. The cost was $2,702.08. The vehicle had 122,638 miles, under the warranty threshold of 150,000. When we learned of this situation we called Chrysler. They informed me that only Pacifica's manufactured between a certain time frame were covered. They could not tell me the time frame, but our vehicle was not covered. To make matters worse, the new cradle assembly is exactly the same as the original part. No corrective actions have been taken to prevent the rusting. There are other cases similar to mine on the internet. State dmv"S are failing these vehicles for safety issues, they are unsafe to drive. How can Chrysler ignore these serious safety issues" I am requesting full reimbursement of $2,702.08, plus request action be taken against Chrysler so that all 2004-2005 Pacifica's are repaired before serious accidents occur, if they haven't already.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #45

Jun 032014

Pacifica

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine block was corroded causing the engine to become unstable. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the under carriage needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 137,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #44

May 302014

Pacifica

  • 110,000 miles
The 2005 Chrysler Pacifica is known for the sub frame rotting causing a un-safe condition where the engine could fall out. I took my car to a local shop and they said my frame is all rotted out. I took my car into Chrysler and it turns out it is not covered under a recall or extended warranty. What worries me is how many others are on the road with the same condition.

- Bloomingotn , MN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #43

Mar 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
While I have heard some sounds from the suspension (front) for over a year, it was only this month (May 2014) that the problem was diagnosed. The engine cradle on my vehicle is rusted and has holes in it. Per the mechanic, it is unsafe to drive until it is fixed (which he estimated as costing in excess of $1,000). After doing a little research, I contacted Chrysler only to find out that they would not cover this defect since my vehicle was manufactured in May 2004 and they only cover it for 10 yrs/150K miles for vehicles manufactured up through March 2004 (if in the "salt belt"). so while they acknowledge this specific problem, they would not apply the warranty because my manufacture date is two months beyond their cutoff date. Talking to auto mechanics and searching online seems to reveal that this is a significant problem with older Pacificas. Based on this information, I strongly believe that Chrysler should cover a defect like this since it is likely widespread (if not issue an actual recall like Toyota did on their Tacoma for rusted frames a few years ago). I do have a case number with Chrysler now in which they noted my problem. I won't include that number here because this is a public record.

- Sugarcreek, OH, USA

problem #42

May 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I live in Pennsylvania where the winters are harsh and salt is used. I went to get my car inspected and it failed do to rusted/holes in the carriage and rusted/holes in the rocker panels. I found an article online www.nbcchicago.com/investigations/minivan-owners-want-Chrysler-to-concede-rust-problems-241535881.html so I contact Chrysler as well and spoke to two different people and was told my Pacifica was outside the time frame as well. Can you tell me why 2005 Pacifica's are listed as having the problem if they time frame is in 2004. My car was made March 18, 2005 so it is not eligible. I ask why not"?? I am having the same issue as the other "time framed" vehicles. Is my life not as worthy as the "time framed" lives??? I think this is all a bit ridiculous. I believe Chrysler needs to fix this problem before someone gets hurt. Having the carriage of your vehicle rust through without even knowing that its doing it is a safety issue!! if I'm expected to keep my car up for safety reasons then why is Chrysler not expected to fix a problem they know if wrong no matter what the "time frame". I would appreciate someone contacting me asap. I am not working at this time and do not have the money to come up to get this fixed. I took it to an autobody shop and was told that to get the carriage and the rocker panels fixed it would cost me $3066. So why am I the one who has to come up and fix Chrysler's problem that they know is a problem and refuse to fix because of a 'time frame'. by the way when I asked to have them reconsider and have someone look into my problem I was told a decision was already made and we aren't responsible. Who is going to be responsible when my car rusts in half and I happen to drive it and it just falls apart" thank you

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #41

Mar 202013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 149,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that upon inspection, it was found that the sub frame was perforated due to rust. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who stated that the engine cradle and suspension cross member was rusted. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 149,000 the consumer was informed, her vehicle did not qualify for the free repair, as the vehicle was built in September 2004. Updated 06/17/14 updated 06/24/14 MA updated 06/25/2014

- Palmer, MA, USA

problem #40

Apr 272014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Undercarriage corrosion as reported by other owners.

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #39

Apr 112014

Pacifica

  • 125,000 miles
While getting service at local Chrysler dealership, was notified that the engine cradle was rusted through and the vehicle was not safe to drive.

- Xenia, OH, USA

problem #38

Dec 162013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 103,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While having work done, it was discovered that the sub frame on my vehicle is rotted right through. I was told not to drive in this condition as it is very dangerous. The dealer I bought the car from will not take any responsibility claiming it was sold as-is. I found a multitude of information on the internet stating that this is a known issue with this year and model vehicle. I contacted the Chrysler corporation and they refuse to do anything to fix the problem. They claim the only vehicles they will fix were manufactured between February and March of 2004 and my vehicle was manufactured in November of 2004. This is the same problem they are aware of regardless of when the vehicle was manufactured. It is a defective part that can cause the engine to fall out of the car if it should break while driving and can potentially cause a fatal crash. If they are taking responsibility for some cars with this problem, they should take responsibility for all cars having the exact same issue. Because your organization has not forced them to do a recall, they are turning away consumers. This issue needs to be addressed and because the cause is their defective part, they need to be responsible to replace the frame on my car.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #37

Apr 162014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 165,400 miles
Engine cradle/sub-frame is rusted through on both sides. The gaps 1/4" to 2" wide extend for 15-20". my mechanic lifted my car so I can see the damage, he says it is unsafe to drive it because of all front suspension and steering is supported by the frame. When driving over potholes I hear loud thumps coming from front suspension area. I'm expecting Chrysler's recall or reimbursement for projected $2500-3000 repair.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #36

Apr 162014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Advised by local mechanic in December that rust was developing on undercarriage of engine. After numerous news reports and reading of info on the internet of similar problems called Chrysler customer care. I was told since it was not in the window of the cars that they are extending the warranty on rust to 10 years or 150K miles there was nothing they could do for me. If they do extend the warranty in the future they will let me know.

- Fox River Grove , IL, USA

problem #35

Apr 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2005 chysler Pacifica with excessive sub frame rust that holds up the engine of the car. A mechanic brought it to my attention when he was inspecting the tie rods. I saw multiple holes maybe 3" in diameter! there is also crack lines in the frame running from end to end. I'm afraid to have my wife drive it to work in the event the engine falls out of the car while driving. I called Chrysler recall department and they said my year is not covered" my car was manufactured on May 21, 2003 and Chrysler says cars manufactured forward from February 23, 2004 would be repaired! what difference does the manufacturing date make"! faulty steel is faulty steel no matter when it was used by Chrysler in their cars! can Chrysler be held accountable to [xxx] (we don't have the money to buy another vehicle! ┐parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).┐

- Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #34

Apr 102014

Pacifica

  • miles
Frame has a 7 inch rusted out gash that the car serviceman has said he's never seen anything like it before. Called Chrysler and they refuse to cover the cost because its after warranty, and after reading many articles, this seems to be a very common and very unsafe issue for 2004 and 2005 Pacificas.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #33

Apr 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 103,400 miles
While getting oil change, technician noticed considerable amount of corrosion on the sub frame, also referred to as the engine cradle. Independent technician (sycamore tire co.) and Chrysler service department deemed the vehicle unsafe to drive: Sub frame needed to be replaced.

- Reading, OH, USA

problem #32

Mar 232014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
I am a single mom of 2 boys 8 & 4. I drove 3 hours away with my sister who is married with a 1 yr old boy and home totaling more than 6 hours. The next day I was driving out of the church parking lot with my boys in the car when I hear a huge clunk. I thought I had just blew a tire, which was infuriating because I'd just spent $400 on replacing tires 2 days prior, but when I got out the tires were fine. I drove 1 mile home and told my brother in law and dad about the problem. They both crawled under and saw the sub frame all rusted out and cracked. I took it to a neighborhood mechanic who quotes around 2K to fix. I had another come look at the car and quoted around the same. Both said it was not to be driven at all. The noise was quite likely the engine rocking around, and could have literally fallen out. I called Chrysler and was told that I was out of the window to get any help. The wear and tear was normal for my cars age and mileage. I would not get any help. I just want it noted that I have read articles with many complaints. Does someone have to die first? a 6 hour drive and 3 children very easily could have been without their moms if my engine had fallen out when I was going down the highway at 75mph. Shame on Chrysler and shame on anyone who knows about this problem and does nothing!

- N. Bloomfield, OH, USA

problem #31

Mar 122014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Was having oil changed when tech called my attention to the subframe having holes and corrosion.I live in a salt state (Ohio).

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #30

Jun 282012

Pacifica

  • 72,000 miles
Bought this car used from a dealer owned the car for approx 8 months we were making a right hand turn heard this really loud noise and the car would no longer run. We were told the subframe and motor mounts were broken. Now 1 1/2 years later my car has been acting very strange the transmission is slipping the car wont go if you step on the gas and my mechanic has informed me that once again I have broken motor mounts. I have owned this car for almost 3 years and have only put about 30,000 miles on it this should not be happening.

- Walpole, MA, USA

problem #29

Mar 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Took vehicle to mechanic for routine maintenance. Upon inspecting the underside of the vehicle the subframe of the vehicle is rusting and has holes some as large as three to four inches in diameter.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?