Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Aug 172007

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica on June 24, 2005: 10 stalling episodes to date. 1st & 2nd stalling events occurred within 6 weeks of purchase; both involving slow-speed left-hand turns. Car completely stalled - no ability to steer. Once in park, pac able to start. Took car back to dealer where, after 1 day's worth of investigation, technicians said they could not replicate problem & since no diagnostic codes appeared, there was nothing to fix. I googled "Chrysler Pacifica stalls" & found 100S of similar complaints for both 2004 & 2005 models. I printed examples & headed to dealer. After confronting technicians with the complaints they admitted they had seen several other pacs for the same stalling problem. In fact, technicians had replaced iac motor on other pacs they had serviced for stalling problem - same remedy suggested in googled complaints but not offered to me. Dealership replaced iac motor for free. Due to general concern about apparent dangerous nature of all pacs & outrage over deceptive service at dealer, I complained to Chrysler Corp. Got a feeble corporate response about "my dissatisfaction with my service needs." Chrysler never even mentioned stalling problem. Iac fix seemed to work until 1.5 months ago when pac stalled again. I decided it was time to respond to the recall involving the PCM reprogramming & headed back to dealer. 3 weeks after PCM fix, car is stalling every time I slow down, whether turning or not. Pac is currently at dealer. Technicians refuse to deal with this as a mechanical problem with pac model - obviously given no direction from Chrysler Corp to do so. Dealer says we are responsible for paying for anything they do to fix problem - totally absurd since nothing they have done to date has fixed problem. Bottom line: Pac models are experiencing systematic engine failures=totally unsafe cars. Hope NHTSA investigates problem & forces Chrysler to offer customers real solutions to potentially fatal flaw.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #35

May 202007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,900 miles
Loss of oil and cannot repair. Motor was rebuilt and continues to lose oil. Vehicle has been in shop since May 20,2007. My vehicle is still there and no one knows how to fix it.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #34

Apr 172007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,900 miles
Check engine light at approximately 40,000 miles. The check light has come on the vehicle indicating cylinder three misfired. I have taken vehicle to the shop the first time and had the coil replaced. The same light came on with the same warning. This time the spark plugs were replaced, the injections cleaned out, the throttle body cleaned out. I just got it back yesterday and I feel confident that I will have the same thing over the next few days. When this happens, the vehicle idles rough and the car has no power. This vehicle has been maintained higher than the standards call for in the manual. Looks like Chrysler is good for about 40,000 miles, then be prepared to spend some money. I plan to trade the vehicle for a Toyota, though I had supported american made vehicles in the past, with a product like this, you can't afford to. The total cost thus far has been $600. It appears that chrsyler knows the problem exists because of the bulletins, yet they will not recall the car, and do what is right for the consumers. People can't afford to pay for a vehicle and repair it at the same time with so few miles. The Pacifica is a great riding car, and I otherwise thoroughly enjoyed it.

- Mebane, NC, USA

problem #33

Mar 262007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica, and stated that while driving out of a parking lot the vehicle seized, causing the contact to lose control, and running the vehicle into a small ditch. The contact took vehicle to the dealer, and they stated that they would not repair it until the insurance company investigated the cause of failure. The contact could not provide any additional information. The current and failure mileage were both 18,000.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #32

Nov 182006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
11/18/06 - car stalled in parking lot in ocean city, md. Was able to restart it 8 hrs. Later. 11/19/06 - car stalled on chesapeake bay bridge (us 50) near end heading westward. Was able to coast onto shoulder. Car towed to dealer tate Chrysler Jeep, Inc., glen burnie, md. 11/22/06 - received in mail daimler Chrysler's safety recall F44 --fuel pump and or reprogram PCM stating that a problem could cause engine to stall and cause a crash without warning. I took the recall notice to the dealer. Service manager said that was not the cause of the problem. He said half of the engine would have to be replaced. Final cost --$4976 parts and labor. Work was completed on 01/05/07. On 01/11/07, after about 300 miles of driving, engine stalled on baltimore-Washington parkway (MD295). I was again able to coast off onto the shoulder. Car was towed back to tate Chrysler, where it is now located.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #31

Nov 182006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,280 miles
There is a significant popping and clicking sound when accelerating and stopping. Also happens when moving the gear shift. Car surges forward when popping sound happens. Took to dealer and they said I had to live with it as it is a problem with the car they can not fix. So need to now what to do. Also engine stalls. This has happened twice. The first time I was at a crawl in traffic, but at an incline onto a bridge. I had my foot on the brake and then put it on the gas petal to accelerate and the car died. Lights and dash board are lit but car is shut off. Car restarted with no problem. Second time, I was parking in a spot that was again at an incline. I put the car in reverse, took my foot off the brake and stepped on the gas petal to begin driving in reverse, car died. Both times I had approximately 3/4 of a tank of gas. Also the shop don't want to give you a rental or loner car while the repairs are done.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #30

Oct 102006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled however it would restart. This occurred on two occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who could not determine the problem. There was an open NHTSA investigation #EA06013 which pertained to engine, fuel system, power train and vehicle speed control.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #29

Sep 222006

Pacifica

  • miles
We have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. That keeps cutting off. The first time it happen I thought well maybe it was something I did. The second time was when I was turning onto a 2 lane road come home late. The car just turned completely off. No warning at all. Thankfully the car swerved and missed me and my kids. I then took it toallen samuel's alliance. I told them what was happening and also told them my left light keeps having a short in it. And at times cuts off. The dealer called me back and advised that the light had a defect to it and that for the engine failure it was due to my throttle needing to be cleaned. That was not covered under warranty and had to pay $300 to get that cleaned. I then was called back several hours later and was told that the throttle had been clean but it they test drove it and it seemed like something else was going on. They asked if I would let them keep it until the morning so that they can have there tech look at it again in the morning. I said okay although at this point it was going on the 4th day with out having a replacement vehicle. I was called the next day and was told it was the rear motor mount that need to be replaced. And that was covered however I need to pay my deductible. We went ahead and had them fix the problem. This was at the end of July. It is now September and my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica is in the shop again.because as I was driving it staled on me again... took it back to the shop and on my way there it staled again. All of sudden my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica stared making this loud noise when I would accelerated and or turn left........ when we got to the dealer they advise again that now another motor mount has broke... my car has been there a week. And I have not received a loaner car because the warranty company is saying that they will not replace it my 2005 Chrysler only has 39,926....and the dealership is saying that they will help us out with payment plans the repair is 1,100.

- Haslet, TX, USA

problem #28

Sep 252006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
: the contact stated while slowing down and turning left, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted with no delay. The dealership was unable to determine the problem.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #27

Jul 152006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
About a month and a half ago, my Chrysler Pacifica 2005 started to have a couple of probably related problems, one of which can be dangerous. The car will stall when turning left. If a car is coming up behind me, I could get rear ended. The other problem is that my fuel gauge will show a half tank one minute and almost empty the next. When I have filled up, it would only take 15 gallons, meaning that there are still 8 gallons left. I have an appointment in one week with my local dealer and hope that they can fix this, as it is potentially dangerous.

- Port Ludlow, WA, USA

problem #26

Aug 082006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chrysler Pacifica stalled for the 4th time since lease purchase (August 2006). I drove ~25 miles to work and the car stalled while making a left turn into my work parking lot. The only warning light that came on was the oil light. After a minute of sitting, the car was able to be restarted. The dealership stated no fault registered on the car's computer, and tried to recreate the stall but were unable to. No repair was made. On 20 Aug 2006 the same incident occurred: Car stalled while making a left turn into work parking lot. Same dealership had looked at car and made the following repairs: Replaced idle air control and reprogrammed PCM. On two previous occasions (don't have the paperwork, but will request receipt copy) the car had stalled after driving home from work and picking up child from daycare, when making an attempt to exit subdivision (a left turn, which should have been followed by a right turn, but the car stalled before the right turn). I took the car to a different dealership at the time, but they found no fault on the computer and only attempted to recreate the stall. Unable to do so, no repair was made.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #25

Aug 032006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Really was happy with my Pacifica but now I am afraid to drive it! managed to get through the whole left turn and the car stalls. But now driving down a straight road the whole passenger side window collapsed into the door for not apparent reason. It was on the side my daughter was buckled into her car seat and needless to say scared her to death as rain was soaking her!

- Cambridge, 00, USA

problem #24

Jul 182006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at various speeds the vehicle stalled without warning. The dealer replaced the idler control motor but the problem persists. When the gas gauge reads a half tank, the needle would drop. The dealer replaced the sending unit, fuel level module.

- Westmont, IL, USA

problem #23

Jul 042006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,900 miles
I was making a low speed left hand turn when my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica limited stalled. No accident occurred but I understand this has been a frequent occurrence with the '05 Pacifica.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #22

May 102006

Pacifica

  • miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica and on 4 different dates it has stalled while driving. It occurs when I have went through a round-about twice and once while slowing down to stop at a stop sign, the 4th time is while sitting in traffic at a light.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #21

Jun 072006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
Sharp turn to the left the motor shuts off.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 142006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Low speed engine stalling on 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. Three times in 14 months. Occurred while turning left in each case. No help from dealer, no response from Chrysler.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #19

Jun 012006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled six times while making a left hand at 3-5 mph. The vehicle restarted when the shifter was placed in neutral. The vehicle has been to the dealership twice and each time they could not duplicate the problem. The dealership informed the contact that Chrysler was aware of this particular problem. There is an ongoing investigation, NHTSA item number: RQ06002 concerning the engine and engine cooling system.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #18

May 232006

Pacifica 24-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,550 miles
I purchased the vehicle used in Feb 2006 and it had approximately 17500 miles on it. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, I went on a trip with the family to Florida and this is when it first incident occurred. The first time that it happened I didn't really think too much about it. I was pulling into a parking space and the car had cut off. The car rolled to a stop and then I noticed that the car had cut off and I restarted and didn't think too much about it. Since then the car has cut off three times with my wife driving the car. This has occurred over the last three months and the last incident was on May 23, 2006 and I was sitting in the passenger seat when it happened with her. The last occurrence was scary because it was when we were making a right hand turn and another vehicle was coming. Luckily the vehicle had room to go around but under other circumstances this could have been serious. I called the dealership to make an appointment to have the car looked at because the last thing that I want is for my pregnant wife and kids to be involved in an accident because the car stalled while turning. After reading complaints from this website, I read that in a lot of instances in the other cases that the dealerships could not find anything wrong with the vehicle so I called Chrysler customer service to inquire about this on May 24, 2006. I spoke with customer service representative polly and she said her customer service number was hqd. She researched the problem and said that Chrysler did not have any record of complaints regarding this problem and referred me to the dealership. She also stated that she could not provide me with any phone numbers to senior management of customer service because that was proprietary.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #17

Apr 152006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have owned this vehicle since June, 2005. As I am driving, suddenly and without warning, this vehicle has stalled in the lane of driving. This incident has happened to me three times in these 11 months. The dealership cannot find a computer code to identify the problem and will not do anything to fix this problem.

- Wantagh, NY, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?