Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,692 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #145

Nov 012016

Pacifica

  • 174,851 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I took our 2005 Pacifica in for its annual va state inspection on November 1, 2016 it did not pass. The primary cause for failure was the discovery of substantial rusting of the "sub K frame." It was rusted through on the right-hand side of the frame. I was advised that it was too dangerous to drive the car as the engine could fall and drop out of its cradle! the rusting was not visible 6 months ago when the car was last hoisted in the air for an oil change, so I can only assume that it rusted from the inside out. The mechanics stated they had never seen such rusting, and they were surprised to see it on a car that was otherwise well maintained and in such good condition for a car with almost 175,000 miles. I live in the northern neck area of va which is not an area of significant snowfall or an area where there is a heavy application of salt on the roads during the winter. I have 2 other cars - a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 crew cab and a 2002 Toyota Camry, neither of which demonstrate any signs of rusting of the frame.

- Kilmarnock, VA, USA

problem #144

Feb 112015

Pacifica

  • 159,000 miles
Severe subframe rot, engine could possibly fall out.

- Orange, CT, USA

problem #143

Sep 262016

Pacifica

  • miles
I took my car into to have a suspension check O replaced the strurss when my mechanic called me and told my that the frame or engine cradle was rusted out. He took some pictures and there are holes in the cradle. He advised me not to put anymore money into this car.

- Pierson, MI, USA

problem #142

Sep 152016

Pacifica

  • 183,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just got new tires no mention, they used floor jacks. Getting new front struts and rear wheel spindles (getting ready for winter) and my mechanic showed me the cradle rot and said he wouldn't touch it and explained the safety issues related. Cost potentially associated with repair. Cost to repair is more than the vehicle is worth.

- Amherst, OH, USA

problem #141

Jan 012013

Pacifica

  • 135,000 miles
Front suspension/engine cradle rusted out

- Wayland, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #140

Feb 102016

Pacifica

  • 109,000 miles
The car under it is knocking and hitting against the car itself when you go over a bump in the road, the breaks slip unless the ABS light is on and the power steering compartment is constantly empty which causes the steering to whine until you fill it back up.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #139

Aug 052016

Pacifica

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cradle rot on the under carriage

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #138

Jul 292016

Pacifica

  • 105,000 miles
Takata recall I recently took a loan out and purchased a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica from a dealer nearby. When my mechanic looked at it he could not understand how the dealership passed the safety inspection a month ago. He said the rust was spread all across front engine cradle or the vehicle. He did not think I should be driving the vehicle because the engine could drop out due to the rust. Looking up any safety recalls and noticed there were none. Only a service bulletin that states Chrysler will only fix the problem if you are located within the salt states and the vehicle is within the 10 year or 150,000 miles. I am 6 months past the 10 year with only 105,000 and located in a salt state. I purchased my vehicle just over 30 days ago so the dealership will not do anything. Chrysler should really make good on fixing this major safety hazard if they want buyers to trust their product. I am now paying a loan on a car that is unsafe to drive. This is a safety issue!!!

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #137

Jun 282016

Pacifica

  • 174,000 miles
I bought this car in 2011 all I have had with this car is problems after problems. First I was driving and the car stopped running it was something electrical then now my sub frame is no good it is rotted out rust all over the sub frame and I have two little girls in my car all the time and to top it off I'm still paying on this car to the bank what do I do not. I need someones help this is to much money for one person to pay when this was not my doing it was the car makers doing.

- Willimantic, CT, USA

problem #136

May 192005

Pacifica

  • miles
Vehicle inspection revealed cradle was rusted through an is a road hazard.

- La Crosse, WI, USA

problem #135

May 042016

Pacifica

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rusted engine cradle, frame is in bad shape and can brake leading engine to fall out from vehicle.this may lead to catastrophic accident.

- Bensenville, IL, USA

problem #134

Apr 282016

Pacifica

  • miles
My daughters 2005 Chrysler Pacifica touring edition doesn't look bad physically and runs well but after routine tire rotation we were told and show that the cross member or subframe engine cradle is completely rusted and unsafe to drive. We were told by Chrysler extended warranty only for those made 2-23 to 3-31-14 so can't assist. This is a good car but now unsafe and we don't have a ton of $ to sink into an older car.

- Hillsboro, OH, USA

problem #133

Feb 172016

Pacifica

  • 129,000 miles
When I drive my car I can hear my engine hitting the walls of my car. It is loose and also the breaks ABS light is on throughout my drive. If it is not on than the breaks slide.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #132

Feb 292016

Pacifica

  • miles
Purchased 2005 Chrysler Pacifica limited 4 years ago. Currently 109,000 miles.. had been hearing a clunky noise for a short time took it in to get checked😔 mechanic came back with ghastly news. Tie rods, bushings, water pump, rear axle shaft oilseal and worst of all cradle was rusting through. Over $7000 to fix all. I thought I would faint. No way could I do all the repairs. Upon reading all complaints Chrysler should fix the rustimg problem. Shame on them for letting these cars on the road knowing this could happen to families purchasing their vehicles and possibly having a fatal accidemt occuring when the engine falls out.

- Rockford, MN, USA

problem #131

Sep 012015

Pacifica

  • 195,000 miles
Engine cradle is rusted out. Completely failed. Engine is near to falling out.

- Byron Center, MI, USA

problem #130

Dec 172015

Pacifica

  • 140,000 miles
Mechanic noticed rusted out sub-frame when doing regular service on vehicle. Told us it needs to be replaced.

- Hudsonville, MI, USA

problem #129

Nov 092015

Pacifica

  • 61,000 miles
I'm one of the victim of the engine cradle rot, that occurs in the 2004 and 2005 Pacifica. I found out about it when I jacked up the car to get under it, it was hidden. The failure of the cradle was 100%. it failed on the passenger's side of cradle and was rusted from front to back

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #128

Apr 012014

Pacifica

  • miles
My mechanic informed me that the engine cradle on my car is completely rotted out and is a serious issue which is a fatality hazard. He gave me a copy of Chrysler "extended warranty period" written notice for this issue for Pacifica model years 2004-2005. I called them and they stated that I'm not covered because my car was built in 8/04 and not between 3/04-4/04. The notice does not state that the cars need to be built in a particular month. Their statement makes no sense to me and I think they are lying. All of the signs of their notice is what I have have been experiencing for over a year, the "corrosion resulting in drivability vibration and/or shake." Could you please help me I love my car but can't afford the repair cost and they need to stand by their awareness of the defect and written warranty coverge notice. The notice is labeled as "[xxx]". thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Randolph, MA, USA

problem #127

Sep 252015

Pacifica

  • 151,000 miles
On the highway there were these vibrations in the pacific so my husband and I took the car to the mechanic which recommended new suspension so we got those. The problem wasn't fixed my husband took it to another mechanic for new tires, suspension and alignment to be told that our only means of transportation was not fit to drive because the subframe completely has rotted out. Thank god he did that, I'm horrified my child was in it all this time. My husband and I called the number 1 800-992-1997 DaimlerChrysler. To be told there is nothing that can be done for us the mileage of the car was outside warranty. The mechanic's quote for is over $2000. I'm not sure what to do right now to get to work and manage my usual weekly errands.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #126

Sep 182015

Pacifica

  • 134,000 miles
During routine yearly state inspection, inspector found that engine cradle was rotted out.. the engine cradle has big hole on right side from rot. I have been told by numerous body shops that this part of frame should never rust through.

- Plaistow, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?