Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,186 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jul 102015


  • 96,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. While having the vehicle inspected, the contact was informed that the engine cradle was rotted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician confirmed the engine was rotted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was unable to be repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #25

Feb 122016

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
The engine cradle is rusting through. The engine could fall out to the ground. I noticed this around the 12th of February 2016.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #24

Oct 222015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed that the subframe was corroded. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the subframe needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 06/17/16

- East Providence, RI, USA

problem #23

Feb 012012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


My 2006 Pacifica engine cradle has been rusting for several years and now needs replaced. I called Chrysler a year ago. This is a common problem with Pacificas. This is a safety issue and a structural defect.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #22

Mar 242014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 119,719 miles
Took vehicle in for servicing. Dealer called back stating the front cradle - sub frame is rusted through to a dangerous point and the vehicle needs to be taken off the road. I subsequently determined that the 2004 and 2005 Pacifica vehicles had the same problem and that Chrysler extended the warranty for many in "salt states" to 10 years and 150,000 miles. Chrysler refused to accept liability for the 2006 even though it is the same problem. The front cradle is what holds your transmission and engine in the car. I am pursing daimler, Chrysler and Fiat for a refund of the monies I spent to fix this. My car has always been very well maintained and has less than 120,000 miles on it of greater importance to me. Current 2006 Pacifica owners need to be advised of this issue as they are driving very good looking vehicles that may pose an extreme hazard to them and others on the roadway I am asking the NHTSA to take immediate action against Chrysler to ensure warnings are sent to current owners. Chrysler needs to step up to the plate on this rust issue. The same issue as was found in earlier Pacifica models.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Mar 072015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 125,214 miles
Today I was told that the engine cradle of my 2006 Chrysler Pacifica with 125214 miles was rusted out and needs to be replaced, will not pass nys inspection. Online I read that Chrysler is only are covering the 2004 and 2005 models. This is a extreme safety problem just like the defects in the 2004 and 2005 that Chrysler needs to cover.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #20

Oct 222014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles


I was performing a complete brake job on my vehicle and noticed that the engine cradle on my vehicle is rusted out. I don't mean surface rust, there are actual holes in the engine cradle. I feel that this is a major safety issue. I contacted Chrysler and all they can tell me is that my vehicle is out of warranty. I find it totally ridiculous for Chrysler not to stand behind their product. This is my no means normal, I own a 1965 thunderbird with not a bit of rot on the undercarriage. What the hell is Chrysler and/or the NHTSA waiting for to recalled and repair these faulty vehicles, someone to die first ? your Agency will have someone's blood on you hands also if someone dies in an accident caused by this defect.I am beginning to think that Chrysler is paying you guys off or something. All this brings to mind the fiasco of the Chrysler 2.7L engine that failed in thousands of vehicles due to the poor design of that engine. No recall was ever forced upon Chrysler for that debacle and I am beginning to think the same thing will apply here also. People spend good money for these flawed vehicles then when something happens the NHTSA and Chrysler both basically say the hell with the consumer. There is no way the NHTSA can believe that an engine cradle rotting out in 8-9 year and in a lot of cases less time than that is acceptable. I thought that your organization was here to protect the public and see that these type of things don't happen.please explain to me how and why Chrysler is getting away with this. Ohhh, I know, no one has died yet !!!

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #19

Jan 142015


  • 88,581 miles
The sub frame and engine cradle are completely rusted away! the vehicle was purchased new, garage kept and dealer serviced. The engine sub frame and cradle is rusted and gone from the vehicle. This is so unsafe! car sub frames never rust away. Chrysler is placing peoples lives in jeopardy! profit over lives. Please take some action on this serious life threatening issue.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #18

Nov 072014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
My "subframe" broke off of the rear of my vehicle on both sides. When I backed out of a driveway, it sounded like I hit something, there was a clunk in the rear of the vehicle. Later that day, someone told me my rear wheels looked like they were tilting in. Not long after that, my daughter happened to be driving behind me and called and said there was a big metal thing hanging down under my car and my rear wheels were tilting in. I went to a local mechanic and it appears that it rusted and broke. The garage is currently looking for parts/repair information.

- Centreville, MI, USA

problem #17

Sep 172014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
We bought our 2006 Chrysler Pacifica from the original owner with 110,000 miles I think. The inspection sticker was new and now a year later our entire engine cradle is completely rusted through and wont take a sticker whatsoever. There's no way this kind of rust is normal and when I went online I saw that this is a recurring problem on these cars and a new cradle is 2,500 without installation this is Chrysler fault we always washed the car during winter months at the carwash. We bought this car because it had the room great safety features and now I find out its a accident waiting to happen and we gotta eat this cost. Im going to our local newspaper because this isn't right and Chrysler only helped with cost on so many cars and the same engine cradle fits 04,05 and 06 Pacificas so all these cars should be covered because there is obviously something wrong with the material they used. Any help on how or who to contact I know were not alone I this complaint.

- Fairfield, ME, USA

problem #16

Sep 082014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles


Took vehicle to mechanic for oil change and was told the subframe and motor mounts were badly rusted and that I should contact the manufacturer immediately.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #15

Sep 122014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
Rusted engine cradle $3000 repair told how dangerous it is for my family to be in this car. I just bought car for my family. Im a single parent living paycheck to paycheck and now im supposed to fix this piece of sh*t Chrysler built?

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #14

Sep 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 71,817 miles
While having normal oil change, frame was found to have rust holes with rust coming from inside. By digging deeper found that many other cars in years 2004-2007 have the same expensive repair problems. Also, a major safety problem as this can cause a failure of front end components. No recalls or fixes from Chrysler. Would like to find out why not on this major problem.

- Great Valley, NY, USA

problem #13

Sep 022014


  • miles
My wife has a 2006 Pacifica with only 52000 miles on it and the engine cradle is rusting out. You can clearly see holes right through it. We use this car as a family vehicle to Transport our 3 children around. We bought this brand new and loved it until this. These cars are built like garbage and are sold for top dollar. Why hasn't Chrysler recalled this" are they waiting for people to die? this is a serious problem ! maybe if some of Chrysler's executives drove these vehicles and put their families in them, the problems would be resolved. Shame on Chrysler ! so much for buying american huh" I have never bought a import ! I always was proud driving american made cars! basically this car is meant to fail ! I am not so proud now... that's for sure!

- Palatine Bridge, NY, USA

problem #12

Aug 042014


  • 89,000 miles
Car has rotten sub frame that cradles engine suspension! in looking at Chrysler complaints this appears to be prevalent in all the sub frames. My mechanic has welded in metal in place of rot. This sub frame is responsible for suspension of the front end and cradles engine mounts. There is no way a car design should allow for failure of such a critical job after 89000 miles and 8 years. These cars need to be recalled and or removed from the road before there are unnecessary deaths.

- Sanbornton, NH, USA

problem #11

Jul 252014


  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having regular maintenance performed, the technician notified him that the sub frame was completely corroded. The technician stated that the sub frame needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 99,000. Updated 10/07/14

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #10

Jun 282014


  • 101,000 miles
Motor mounts replaced, tie rods replaced, control arms replaced all done in the last month !! why doesn't Chrysler have a recall out on this issues since it's known for it! oh did I mention the gas pedal gets stuck all the time! other thing is my check engine light keeps coming on and's been diagnosed as the fuel pump....really at this point I'm tired of putting money into the car.

- Wappinger Falls, NC, USA

problem #9

Jun 162014


  • 24,300 miles
The vehicle was brought in for state inspection on 6/16/14 and failed because the engine cradle was rusted out.

- Williston, VT, USA

problem #8

Jun 122014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the front engine cradle was rusted and needed to be replaced. The contact had not notified the manufacturer of the problem. The approximate mileage at time of failure was 97,000. Updated 8/22/14

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #7

May 072014


  • 71,000 miles
Rust issue on front engine cradle. My mechanic told me that I had a badly corroded engine cradle. We bought the car used and it just turned 71K miles. Dealer denied the recall, there is a small window of vehicles manufactured between Feb.23, 2004 and March 31,2004, a pretty small window. A couple of calls to Chrysler customer assistance has fallen on deaf ears. The dealer and Chrysler are not budging. It is the principle of a design problem that Chrysler is not fully standing behind. For reference, the Chrysler warranty bulletin is no:D-10-34 dated March 16, 2012. Subject is listed as (X26) front engine cradle extended warranty 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica's. we have a 2006 and have the same issue and Chrysler needs to recall all of the models affected! I have 2 children and a wife and we depend on this vehicle. Mechanic states it is not safe to drive!!!! I cannot get any explanation as to quite why that is from Chrysler despite numerous contacts with the customer care people from Chrysler and/or dealership. I have never seen any type of damage such as this. What needs to be done to fix this problem? thank you for your help.

- Saugus, MA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?