If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Nov 212014

Pacifica

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic light, there was an sudden increase in engine rpms and the vehicle started to shake violently. Also, the contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to merge to the side of the road and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

problem #41

Nov 102014

Pacifica

  • miles
When I went to get my car serviced, I was immediately warned by the technician that my car was unsafe and could catch on fire at any time because my engine sub-frame is corroded. The technician informed me that my engine could fall out at any time. He said I should not drive my car and should immediately get it replaced. I have done my research and this is a problem with many Chrysler Pacificas. My Chrysler Pacifica is a 2006, and I have seen this complaint from those with 2004, 2005, and 2006 models. Do there have to be deaths before it is acknowledged that this is a Chrysler problem that should be corrected immediately?

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #40

May 022014

Pacifica

  • 95,000 miles
Like other early model chrylser Pacificas noted on the nhsta site- my vehicle was taken into for an oil change and the shop informed me the car was unsafe to drive due to the engine cradle/ subframe being rusted/rotted out so badly you could see through it. They said that if a large enough bump was rolled over, the engine could fall out and a serious accident could occur as the vehicle would more than likely lose control. I am now afraid to allow my wife and 2 small children to drive in it for extended periods of time. I purchased the vehicle used for roughly $10,000 less than a year prior to learning about this saftey issue from a Chrysler used and new car dealer-bryden motors in beloit, wi. I also purchased an $2000 extended warranty on the vehicle, which of course something like this is not covered in such a plan. I believe the damage was there prior to purchase and the dealer either failed to inform me, or didn't perform a well cared for inspection prior to the sale. Upon taking the vehicle back to the dealer-they said it was too far out from the original warranty and nothing could be done. They did take pictures and send to the Chrysler "imaging department" where the manufacturer defect claim I asked for them to place for me was immediately denied for coverage. I will be reaching out to Chrysler and the local media if necessary. This is a well known and serious saftey concern with the Pacifica model and due to the expense involved to fix (was told between $2500-$5000) absolutely ruins the value of the vehicle less than a year after purchase from what I though was a reputable dealer and a reputable brand such as chrylser. This is my 4rd chrylser/Dodge vehicle I have owned in the past 19 years, and if the matter is not resolved, it will ultimatley be my last.

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #39

Sep 122014

Pacifica

  • 144,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rusted engine cradle $3000 repair told how dangerous it is for my family to be in this car. I just jbought car for my family. Im a single parent living paycheck to paycheck and now im supposed to fix this piece of sh*t Chrysler built?

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #38

Apr 142014

Pacifica

  • miles
While I was driving down the road my car stalled and then cut off in the middle of the road. My car started back up right away but as I continue to drive home it continued to stall and shut off. Thank god there was not very many cars on the road because someone could have gotten seriously hurt. My car has been down since April 2014 and it is now September 2014. My husband and I have put so much money into this car because the mechanics can't figure out the problem. We have had replaced the egr valve, O2 censors, throttle position sensors, idle air control valve, and a tune up and my car still runs the same, like crap. The computer is not diagnosing the car properly and neither are the mechanics.

- Fort Stewart, GA, USA

problem #37

Sep 042014

Pacifica

  • 90,000 miles
The engine frame cradle is rotting out. The the engine and transmission could potentially fall out of the vehicle. I contacted Chrysler and they stated that if it was a 2004/05 they would cover the repairs but not a 2006. This issue appears to be a common.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #36

Aug 042014

Pacifica

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has rotten sub frame that cradles engine suspension! in looking at Chrysler complaints this appears to be prevalent in all the sub frames. My mechanic has welded in metal in place of rot. This sub frame is responsible for suspension of the front end and cradles engine mounts. There is no way a car design should allow for failure of such a critical job after 89000 miles and 8 years. These cars need to be recalled and or removed from the road before there are unnecessary deaths

- Sanbornton, NH, USA

problem #35

Jun 282014

Pacifica

  • 101,000 miles
Motor mounts replaced, tie rods replaced, control arms replaced all done in the last month !! why doesn't Chrysler have a recall out on this issues since it's known for it! oh did I mention the gas pedal gets stuck all the time! other thing is my check engine light keeps coming on and off...it's been diagnosed as the fuel pump....really at this point I'm tired of putting money into the car.

- Wappinger Falls, NC, USA

problem #34

Jul 182014

Pacifica

  • 119,000 miles
I took my 2006 Pacifica in to a dealer on 7/18/2014 to have a noise coming from the front end inspected. The dealer told me that the tie rod bushings had failed for a second time in about a year. Then he told me that part of the problem was that the sub frame was rusting and cracking to to the point that the engine and transmission could fall out. I found out that Chrysler had a recall for 2004 and 2005 Pacificas with the same issue but would not cover it for any other years. The fact that they know they had a problem coupled with the number of issues that I have seen online, I don't understand why they wouldn't cover this failure on all model years. Why hasn't this been recalled? this will be the last Chrysler that I will ever buy.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #33

Sep 072013

Pacifica

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and would not start. The failure was recurring. The battery was replaced over six times but to no avail. The dealer was not able to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed and replaced the computer and the engine. Additionally, the contact stated that the air bag sensor, ABS brake sensor and the service engine sensor illuminated after the vehicle was repaired. The contact had experienced multiple electrical failures and the air bag warning light was illuminated. The dealer was not able to replicate or diagnose the failure. The dealer advised the contact to remove all keys from the key ring except for the fob and keys. The dealer also replaced the ignition switch. The air bag sensor continued to illuminate and the local authorized dealer was notified several times of the failure, who advised the contact that the air bags would not deploy in the event of a crash. The vehicle was not repaired for the air bag sensor. The manufacturer was notified of failure. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #32

Jun 182014

Pacifica

  • 86,866 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Pacifica was just found to have significant engine cradle rust/corrosion issues. This problem just surfaced in the last 12 months. It is clear that Chrysler is not appropriately handling the issue since they are not covering the repair and there appears to be numerous complaints addressing this same problem.

- Jeannette, PA, USA

problem #31

Jun 122014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the front engine cradle was rusted and needed to be replaced. The contact had not notified the manufacturer of the problem. The approximate mileage at time of failure was 97,000. Updated 8/22/14

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #30

Jun 092014

Pacifica

  • 157,761 miles
We have a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica that we purchased used in 2008. The car stalls when turning like the 2004-2005 models that had a recall F44. We contacted Chrysler customer care at 800 992 1997and found out that the previous owner had taken the car in for repair during the initial recall. Chrysler customer care told us to take the car back to Chrysler because it is covered under the safety recall warranty for 10 years. When we took the car in we learned that the engine cradle is corroding another recall X26. The dealer told us it would cost a couple of thousand dollars to repair. Additionally, we were told that we need two new fuel pumps and that this is not covered by the F44 recall because our 2006 car is outside of the 2004 - 2005 model year recall to replace the fuel pumps. We paid the dealer the cost of the service charge $103 for the information and were told we might consider buying a new car. I am surprised/frustrated and angry that Chrysler is not taking any accountability for both very dangerous safety issues and in essence made $103 profit off of their negligence to create a safe car.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #29

Jun 062014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 51,421 miles
During routine oil change, significant rust-through was discovered on engine cradle. This car has been garaged all its life and only has 51,000 miles. I see through investigation that this problem has been occurring since 2004 and there seems to be no help from Chrysler for the 2006 model year. Well my days of being a "Chrysler and Dodge man" are over!

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #28

May 012014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Rust issue on front engine cradle I am from South charleston, wv resident and recently discovered through my dealers mechanic that I had a badly corroded engine cradle. We bought the car used and it just turned 100K miles. Dealer denied the recall, there is a small window of vehicles manufactured between Feb.23, 2004 and March 31,2004, a pretty small window. A couple of calls to Chrysler customer assistance has fallen on deaf ears. The dealer and Chrysler are not budging. It is not the money, it is the principle of a design problem that Chrysler is not fully standing behind. For reference, the Chrysler warranty bulletin is no:D-10-34 dated March 16, 2012. Subject is listed as (X26) front engine cradle extended warranty 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica's. we have a 2006 and have the same issue and Chrysler needs to recall all of the models affected! I have 3 children and a wife and we depend on this vehicle. Only had it one year and couldn't get it pass the 1st inspection due to the rusted out cracked engine cradle. Mechanic states it is not safe to drive!!!! I cannot get any explanation as to quite why that is from Chrysler despite numerous contacts with the customer care people from Chrysler and/or dealership. Apparently my best hope is that if I pay for the repair myself I might get a refund later if Chrysler decides to expand the group of covered vehicles. Help us please thank you

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #27

Mar 062014

Pacifica

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician diagnosed that the PCM and fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 150,000 and the current mileage was 151,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #26

Apr 262014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 84,205 miles
During a routine oil change, a mechanic informed me that there was severe rust (50%) to the support system holding up the engine on the passengers side. The car only has 84,000 miles. He said that it is a very dangerous situation, that, if not repaired, would eventually break way and the engine would drop out of the support system. When I contacted Chrysler care, the intake operator basically read from a script and stated that my vehicle wasn't covered in the recall, even though the same part was affected, and that there was nothing that they could do to assist me. After doing some research online, I found over 700 other complaints about the same issue. This is the third Chrysler that I have owned (and my second Pacifica) with 100% satisfaction until this point. Unless Chrysler deals with this issue to my satisfaction and my safety is they first concern, I will never own another Chrysler product again. I have taken pictures of the part in question and intend to pursue this issue until it is fixed!

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #25

Apr 042014

Pacifica

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the ECM was replaced but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 82,000.

- Taylors , SC, USA

problem #24

Mar 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I had the brakes repaired in 2012; the next month the ABS light came on and the sensor was replaced. Ten months later, the sensor light came on again. I was told it was insignificant, that the brakes are fine. In the fall of 2013, I had the car towed to a shop because it tried to accelerate while I was pressing the brakes. I spent over $800 having a bunch of codes cleared with the transmission and other things. The engine light was off for a few days but came back on. There was an error that read gas cap. I replaced the gas cap but the engine light remains on. In March 2014 the brake light came on, I was told that I needed to replace the calibers but later was told that I didn't. I had someone else to check and they said that I needed new front brakes. I had those replaced. On 4/7/2014, I was leaving the parking garage at the doctor's office and the gas pedal was stuck. Lucky for me it was on a downhill slope and I was able to stop at the stop sign and put the car in park and press the accelerator to unstick it. Today, April 13, 2014 the brake light is back on and there is a noise in the frontend. I love my car but it just does not feel safe to drive.

- Chickasaw, AL, USA

problem #23

Apr 012014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I just got my 06 Pacifica last March with 87000 I went to get it inspected and it failed emissions for catalytic converter and the inspection because the engine cradle is severely rotted to the point it is a safety hazard. I called the dealership I bought it from and they said it was just replaced before I bought it so that's two converters in a little over a year. Then my engine cradle is so rotted that there's a huge hole in it. I called Chrysler and they said there is only a recall on 2004-2005 but yet all there other cars have the same problem but they won't help! now here I am a year into owning this car still owe 6000$ for my loan and my car is unsafe to drive in because Chrysler fails to want to help there customers and back there products up. Chrysler dealership even admits this is a issue but the company won't fix it! I don't even know what to do!

- Trafford, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?