Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,650 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chrysler Sebring engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 072015

Sebring

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We we on interstate 55 in memphis tn, headed South, traveling at 55 when the car accelerator began to stick and the car increased in speed, so I stayed on the brakes until I could smell the brakes, so at the southhaven exit we turned the engine off, and coast until we could stop, and turn the motor back on and the car was still idle, and suddenly went back to normal. We drove all the way to water valley, ms we the car did the same thing and we followed the same procedure until we made it home at 456 county road 176, water valley, Ms. My husband had just left the hospital in memphis where he had back surgery.

- Water Valley, MS, USA

problem #17

Nov 072015

Sebring

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Sebring. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle independently accelerated. The contact stated that the issue recurred numerous times in the same day. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were unknown. Updated 1/21/16

- Water Valley, MS, USA

problem #16

Sep 152006

Sebring

  • 70,000 miles
The dash, radio, & cd player lights flash off and on intermittently. This occurs on random occasions. It also happens when operating the turn signal. The lights will dim low and will not return to a "normal" brightness until you adjust the turn signal arm. Or the lights completely go off. Turn off the car and the displays will start up. The suspension problem is the noise of metal and banging in the suspension. The air bags, horn do not work as well as cruise control. The A/C fails to work most of the time.

- Thomson, GA, USA

problem #15

Aug 032011

Sebring

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chrysler Sebring. The contact was driving 45 mph when applied the brakes and they failed. The contact tried to press harder on the brake pedal, but the vehicle accelerated abnormally. The vehicle then decelerated independently. On a separate occasion while entering a parking space with the brakes depressed, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and the contact crashed into another vehicle. There were no injuries. The dealer was contacted and informed her that a valve needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #14

Jun 112010

Sebring

  • 68,000 miles
On Friday June 11, 2010, I was involved in an automobile accident. My car, a Chrysler 2001 Sebring lxi failed to stop when the brakes were applied. I steered the car away from rear-ending the vehicle in front of me avoiding a crash. However, I steered my car between two lanes of stationary traffic.while going into traffic exiting off highway 270. I tried to apply the brakes but the car wouldn't stop. The engine revved up and the car wouldn't stop. My car made contact with a mini van. My passenger side view mirror struck the mini van causing damage to both the mini van and my car. I contacted my insurance company immediately. The driver of the mini van and I exchanged information and I called a tow truck to tow my car to my home. The following Wednesday June 16, 2010.. farmers insurance adjuster paul gallagher contacted me. I received a rent-A-car from enterprise leasing. Today, June 16, I contacted the Chrysler coporation to voice my complaint and I was told that a contact investigator would contact me within 3 days. I told them I need authorization for a rent-A-car while they investigate the crash. I asked that a supervisor contact me to advise about the rent-A-car. Shortly after, I was contacted by the supervisor and he told me to get my car fixed and I would not receive any assistance from Chrysler. I went online and contacted your Agency and found that Chrysler knew that my 2001 Chrysler Sebring lxi, was on the recall list since November 2000. I would like your assistance with this matter because my granddaughter, the driver of the mini van, and myself could have been seriously hurt. I need cooperation from Chrysler corporation. I will contact my adjuster to inform him of the recall notice that I discovered on your website. I'm afraid to drive that car and my car only has 68,000 miles and is in mint condition. I have records of every oil change and other repairs that have been made. I need help.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #13

May 252010

Sebring

  • 46,700 miles
I was driving West on jefferson ave in detroit. There are traffic signals at both ends of a short bridge where it passes over I-375. I stopped at the first and, when the light changed, started forward, the second traffic signal turned red. The vehicle in front of me stopped, but, when I took my foot off of the accelerator and put it on the brake, the car continued accelerating and, although I was literally standing up on the brake, it had no effect and I hit the stopped vehicle in front of me going about 25 or 30 miles an hour. The air bag did not deploy. Similar events have occurred a half dozen or more times before, but never with the same consequences. On previous occasions, the continuing acceleration stopped after a delay and I was able to bring the car to a stop, on two previous occasions, there was another auto a car length or more in front of me, and the delay before the brake took over caused me to bump into it. In neither case was there any bodily or serious vehicle damage. In other instances, I was able to avoid collision, after suffering a scare. After each episode, I reported the problem when I took the car to the dealer. On two occasions, the dealer's service department kept the car several days trying to replicate the occurrence. They were never successful. (if they retain copies of their service orders, they will reflect that I reported the problem and they were unable to determine the cause or to fix it.) my vehicle is seriously damaged and, although I was able to drive it to the parking lot at my nearby office, I do not expect to repair it or, of course, to ever drive it again. When Chrysler customer service was called by my wife after one of the earlier acceleration events, they told her there was no recall or record of similar complaints and to take the car to a dealer.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #12

Jan 152010

Sebring

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Chrysler Sebring convertible cruise control comes on uncommanded. The cruise control will come on at a stop, while at idle, and at all speeds.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #11

Mar 062005

Sebring

  • miles
Clock spring on 2001 Chrysler Sebring convertible defective. Began flashing airbag warning light around 42,000 miles. During the next year the horn quit working, then the cruise control quit. The airbag light now stays illuminated at all times. Mileage only 56,000.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jun 012006

Sebring

  • miles
I have a 2001 Chrysler Sebring 4 door sedan. Since the purchasing the new car directly from the dealer the car has frequently experienced unexpected acceleration. I fortunately have not be injured as a result however, this is a well know problem as my previous Chrysler did this as well. It will happen while sitting at a stand still the car will propel itself forward and if your foot is not on the brake it will take off.

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #9

Jul 212005

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
(1) the course of action when leaving my employment workplace on Thursday, July 21, approximately 6:00 P.M. cst: I started my 2001 Chrysler Sebring with my remote start (which I have done daily since 2002), got into the car to leave the parking lot, secured my seat belt, and depressed the brake in order to put the car into drive (no cars were parked in front of mine). (2) the moment I put the car into gear (drive) it took off like a bullet without any acceleration. The car was accelerating independently (runaway) and headed toward a 4-lane, busy street. Braking had no effect on slowing the car but I could steer. I turned to avoid entering the busy street but crashed into the corner of a brick building. Elapsed time from the point of failure to the crash was very short; I estimate it to be 5 seconds. I was injured and hospitalized with a fractured heel bone, ankle bones, and ribs. (3) the car was declared a total loss so there has not been any repair or replacement.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #8

Jul 092003

Sebring 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine surges and dies out. Standed on interstate, no accident. After replacement of camshaft and crankshaft sensors, determined that problem was with wiring harness. Identified recall notice from NHTSA, 00V29902. After contacting Chrysler several times, they do not have any information on the recall nor acknoledge any recalls for my vehicle.

- Tyrone, GA, USA

problem #7

Oct 302002

(reported on)

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer states that the vehicle will roll with foot on the brake-2 times/no accident or injury. On the last incident, stop and go, when the light turned green, the vehicle suddenly piled into a vehicle in front of him, causing damage and whiplash, wile consumer's foot was on the brake. The consumer measured 2 inches between the brake and grasp, the other vehicle measured a 4 inch separation. Most brake pedals are higher and away from the gas pedal there are other incidents

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 212002

(reported on)

Sebring

  • miles
Consumer had taken vehicle to dealer several times due to erratic engine behavior, however vehicle was never corrected, on one occasion while pulling out of a garage, up a ramp, the vehicle experienced sudden acceleration, causing it to jump a curb, hit a tree and then hit another vehicle, there were no injuries. (son writing in on behalf of father)

- Ontario, CD, USA

problem #5

Mar 152002

Sebring

  • miles
Intermittently vehicle would accelerate when brakes wer applied. Vehicle been to dealer on two occasions, and they were unable to duplicate the problem. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Eighty Four, PA, USA

problem #4

Dec 272001

Sebring

  • miles
Two incidents occurred with subject vehicle, the first on 12/27/01. When approaching an intersection while slowing for a traffic light, the car lurched forward and accelerated. I immediately applied the brakes but the car continued to move foward toward a double parked vehicle. After pushing hard on the brakes while pulling my body up off the seat, the car finally stopped. I brought the car to the dealership and they could not find any problem. The next mishap occurred on 1/27/02, wherein I was to back out of my driveway. I had my foot on the brake pedal while shifting the car into reverse. The 2001 Sebring convertible lurched but could not move because my foot was on the brake pedal. This being the second time, I calmly placed the car in park. These too mishaps are frightening and dangerous as its occupants and any pedestrian(s) in the path of the vehicle could easily be injured or seriously injured.

- Westbury, NY, USA

problem #3

May 212001

(reported on)

Sebring

  • miles
The consumer applied the brake while approaching a stop light, the vehicle stopped then, lurched forward three or four feet while the driver's foot was still on the brake, these incidents happens 10 days after purchase, on one occasion the driver applied the brake and nothing happen this caused the vehicle to hit a porch. Nlm

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #2

Mar 042001

Sebring

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On 3/4/01 my husband was driving the car with his foot on the brake going around 15 mph when the car accelerated, he put the car in neutral to get it to stop. On 5/25/01 I was driving 45 mph when I went to accelerate and the car would not, it felt like the car was in neutral and it was in drive. On 5/25/01 I went to pull into a parking spot with my foot on the barke when suddenly the car accelerated and was out of control. I went over 2 sets of parking blocks hit a sign and crashed into a parked car. After I hit the car my son who was a passenger in the car put the car in neutral to stop it.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #1

May 152001

Sebring

  • miles
This car began "lurching" at first. The dealer could not identify the problem and installed a black box device to record any future problems. The next day, the car began accelerating to high speeds on its own. The only remedy (aside from braking which stalled the vehicle) was to put the car in neutral. I travelled three miles to my house and nearly collided with several cars due to this mysterious acceleration. This is an extremely dangerous siyuation and I think it needs to be addressed immediately!!

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?