Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,669 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chrysler Sebring electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler Sebring:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler Sebring Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Nov 172007

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. Whenever the contact drives the vehicle at a speed of 10mph the vehicle will suddenly shut off without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact had the alternator replaced, however the failure is still occurring. The contact has noticed the failure since purchasing the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 56000. Updated 05/07/10. The consumer stated the dashboard lights would flicker. Updated 08/26/10

- New York, NY, USA

problem #9

May 082005


  • 15,000 miles
The vehicle stalls or runs rough whenever it is raining or high humidity. Also the remote starting system acts up by not starting correctly or shutting off at different intervals after it starts. Shutting off the engine sometimes after a minute and could stall after several minutes. It is never seems to have a pattern when these symptoms occur with starting with the remote or stalling when driving. The plugs have been replaced as well as the coils being checked on the plugs. The vehicle uses no spark plug wires so these would not apply or be an issue with these problems. This vehicle has done this since it was purchased new and only has 30,000 miles currently on it. It is a 2007 Chrysler Sebring with a 4 cylinder 2.4 L engine. I has been back to three different dealerships and all of them say it was not included in the recall H07. I do not understand this because according to the letters I copied off your website "all vehicles" had 100% defect that were manufactured from 3/7/06 - 1/24/08. I was never issued a recall letter from Chrysler but the car has the same symptoms described in this recall. It now stalls very frequently whenever it is raining or damp outside. Is there any way we can get Chrysler to look into repairing this issue?

- Clinton Twp, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 252010


  • 21,000 miles
This is a 2007 Chrysler Sebring touring sedan with 2.7 L "flex-fuel" engine purchased used (one prior owner in wi) on 05-22-09 with 31554mi. According to "carfax" the original owner had regular timely maintenance done. On 07-11-08 at 21199mi the first complaint was made at purchasing dealership about engine "stutter" or "jitter" at 30mph particularly when engine was cold. No record as to what was serviced. On 10-24-08 at 25276mi the egr valve was replaced per a Chrysler service bulletin. Then on 01-30-09 at 27988mi concerning the same sort of "stutter" or jitter" complaint, a "co-Pilot" was attached for 1 month which recorded no faults. The vehicle was offered for sale on 05-14-09. I have noted the same sort of problem since my purchase of the vehicle on 05-22-09. When coming to a slow or stop, particularly if the engine is cold (but not always), the RPM rises to over 2000, the car "surges" ahead until I press the brake harder. (this condition causes a much higher chance of a collision with another stopped car, pedestrian in a crosswalk or a stationary object - like a light post in a parking lot.) sometimes the engine will stop after this and require restarting. One time I observed the "service engine soon" lamp come on for about 5 seconds after the "surge". I had the car in to the dealership (Toyota) where I purchased the vehicle concerning the "surging" problem. They checked for service codes (including soft codes) and found none. They were unable to proceed from there and suggested to take the vehicle to a Chrysler dealer to continue diagnosis. This will be done at the earliest available time.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #7

Sep 202009


  • miles


The illumination of the instrument panel cluster board has went out. It kept flickering on and off, but now it stays off. I can not drive the car at night because I can not see the speedometer.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 222009


  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. While driving approximately 70 mph the vehicle stalled without any prior warnings. She also smelled a burning odor after restarting the vehicle. A local mechanic stated that the computerized system failed. No repairs were made. The failure and current mileages were 66,000.

- Ruther Glen , VA, USA

problem #5

Sep 182009


  • 62,178 miles
My car lost pressure without warning during rush hour traffic on the interstate and just came to a stop and the engine was barely running eventhough it never cut off. It would crank fine but would not move, no matter how much you mash the accelerator pedal and the electronic throttle control indicator light came on, then blinked a few times and went back out. I had to have the car towed and about 4 hours later, I went to check it again and it started back to driving fine. I just new I would get slammed into on that interstate. Please check into this matter thank you.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #4

Jan 122009


  • 44,751 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle shakes. The brakes fail to work properly and feel as if they are tapping on something when the pedal is depressed. When the contact turns the vehicle, there is a rubbing sensation. In addition, the cruise control does not work. The contact could not control the vehicle because it accelerated on its own. The ABS light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact received a recall notice for the tire pressure monitoring system and electrical connectors and the vehicle was repaired. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not under warranty due to the recall that was issued. The vehicle will only be repaired at the contact's expense. The vehicle was diagnosed as having electrical failure. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The failure mileage was 44,751 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Lake Worst, FL, USA

problem #3

Aug 302008


  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. While idling at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle immediately. Secondly, she noticed that the vehicle would not start intermittently. The dealer replaced the wireless module, but the failure recurred several days later. She called the dealer again and was referred to the manufacturer; however, they did not provide sufficient assistance. The failure mileage was 29,000 and current mileage was 31,000.

- East Orange, NJ, USA

problem #2

Mar 152008


  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. Whenever the contact starts the vehicle, the main headlights automatically illuminate. In addition, the windshield wipers have stopped working and the instrument panel lights are very dim. The failures occur simultaneously and intermittently. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer, but the failures still persist. The current mileage was 18,500 and failure mileage was 14,000.

- Willingboro, NJ, USA

problem #1

Jul 102007

Sebring 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler Sebring. While driving 10 mph, the vehicle hesitated when attempting shift into second gear. The dealer stated that they repaired the failure however they did not informed the contact of the cause or the remedy. The same failure occurred the next day. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact stated that she heard a beeping noise. The dealer stated that the seat belt sensor failed. As of October 9, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the failure. The contact stated the signal light blinks too fast. The dealer stated that turning light sensor failed. As of October 9, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the failure. The failure mileage was 42 and the current mileage was 4,300.

- Madisonville, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?