Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,260 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 7 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #73

Aug 022013

Charger

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated while driving at low speeds, the engine stalled without warning. There were numerous attempts before the engine would restart and then the vehicle would resume normally. The failure recurred only after refueling. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #72

Jan 062011

Charger

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled after refueling. The contact indicated that the failure occurred when the fuel level was above 3/4 and while turning or coming to a stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that a faulty rollover valve/vapor valve was allowing fuel to enter the engine. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Summerville , SC, USA

problem #71

Sep 122012

Charger

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while waiting at a traffic signal immediately after refueling, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 14,000 and the current mileage was 21,000.

- Sarasota , FL, USA

problem #70

Jan 012014

Charger

  • 90,964 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Immediately after fueling vehicle to regular capacity and automatic shutoff - no "topping off". left the filling station and the car stalled several times, each time in a precarious position such as decelerating to make a turn or coming to a stop at a light. Car dies losing power steering and breaks. Thought this might be bad gas but it has since repeated every time the car is refueled. This is becoming a serious safely concern as the condition is common during the first 50 or so miles of driving after a fill up. Upon speaking with the dealer they blamed the issue on the end user overfilling the tank. As the only user of the vehicle it is never overfilled nor "topped off".

- O Fallon, MO, USA

problem #69

Sep 182013

Charger

  • 140,626 miles
After fueling up my 2006 Dodge Charger rt the car will repeatedly stall. This is obviously a very dangerous situation. This happens every time I fill the car with gas.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #68

Dec 182013

Charger

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger xt. The contact stated that the engine would stall sporadically after the vehicle was refueled. The contact inquired about a technical service bulletin (tsb) under NHTSA action number: PE13016 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the extended warranty only covered the vehicle for up to 100,000 miles and the contact had exceeded the mileage. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000.

- Christiana, PA, USA

problem #67

May 072013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While waiting at stop lights, car idles fine. The moment the light turns green and I release the brake to step on the gas pedal the car stalls. This has happened up to 4 times in one day. Happened only once today 3/6/2014.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #66

Aug 012013

Charger

  • 40,000 miles
So my car began to stall after filling it up with gas. Most of the time it stalled while stopped. A few times while in motion. Since the car dies I have lost power steering.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #65

Aug 012012

Charger

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that after refueling, the vehicle would begin to hesitate before stalling. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but the failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. No repairs were performed. The contact also stated that when the engine was first started, the odor of gasoline was present inside the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Kinner, LA, USA

problem #64

Feb 012014

Charger

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle, which was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic replaced the spark plugs, cleaned the throttle body, replaced the plugs for the power control module, and changed the fuel pump relay. The failure recurred after the repairs were performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #63

Jul 012013

Charger 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I refueled the gas tank with high octane gas, and while driving the short distance home, the engine stalled three times. This made braking difficult and scary, as I was in traffic. Each time it started back up, but left me very afraid of wrecking from possibly not being able to stop the car. The same problem occurred after refueling on 9/13/13 and 11/16/13 and 1/31/14. I reported the first incident that occurred on 4/28/13 on a separate complaint form (xref ODI #10562746. As of this date (2/3/14) the mileage is 27,670. The low mileage is because I alternated between three vehicles.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #62

Feb 022014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 68,719 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Charger srt-8, after a fill-up at the gas station today  as I proceeded out of the gas station I noticed my car started to sputter as I was coming across a bridge. As I came off the bridge my car started to sputter even more and finally as I stopped at a red light the car just stalled.  I re cranked the car not sure of what was going on and proceeded down to my military installation gate entrance. As I approach the gate guard the car just stalls again right in the middle of morning traffic.  this was very dangerous especially having a stalled car at the entrance of a military base.  I recranked the car again and proceeded to work  and as I was going to park the car it just shut off in the parking lot. This seems to be a safety related problems and deserves  a true investigation. This problem seems to be unpredictable so I will not drive the car with my children in it anymore;  I do not feel like the car is safe.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #61

Jan 292014

Charger

  • 120,000 miles
Within blocks of leaving a fuel station and filling with fuel the vehicle stumbled then the engine died while traveling 35 mph on a city stream in the rain. Car was difficult to stop because of no power steering or power brakes.

- Dunnigan, CA, USA

problem #60

Dec 262013

Charger

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Charger R/T with a 5.7 hemi. On several occasions, the engine has stalled when I was stopped at a stoplight. The car was in drive and stopped with my foot on the brake. After putting in into park, it would take several tries to get the engine started again. It also stalled once while coasting into my driveway. I was traveling at less than 5 mph with my foot on the brake. Again it was hard to restart.

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #59

Oct 022013

Charger

  • 98,000 miles
I have had this issue happen about five times. After filling up my car with gas (I do not overfill), I notice that my car will all of the sudden turn off. This has happened in the middle of an intersection and on the highway. I feel very anxious and scared when I drive now because of this issue. After discovering online that many other 2006 Dodge Chargers have experienced the same issue, I am hoping there is an honest solution out there. Chrysler/Dodge have not responded to any of my correspondence, with the exception of an automated response. From here on out, I will be forced to only fill my car with half a tank of gas. Please advise if any other information/description is needed. Hope to see some action soon. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #58

Oct 042013

Charger

  • 26,000 miles
1st incident: On October 4, 2013, my car stalled coming to a stop at a red light less than an 1/8th of a mile after leaving a gas station after a fill up. After 3 attempts to start engine, it started up. 1/2 a mile away, the engine dies at the next red light stop. 3-4 attempts to start car, it started. Car ran rough/sputtered on my way to my house 1.5 miles away. 2nd incident: On January 10, 2014, my car stalled coming to a stop at a red light 1 mile away from a gas station after filling up. After 4 attempts to start car, the engine fired up. Car ran rough/sputtered for next 2-3 miles.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #57

Nov 012010

Charger

  • 70,000 miles
Problem occurred and continues to occur after filling up the gas tank. First instance was in November 2010 and most recently December 2013. Car will stall numerous times until some amount of gas is burned off after driving. First instance occurred making a turn in front of a railroad track. Other instances have been on a freeway in heavy traffic causing me to have to pull over. Car can restart on the first re-attempt or take up to 4 attempts. Car will usually stall again seconds later. A workaround is not to fill up the tank all the way (to the auto shutoff of the gas pump) but this doesn't always work. This is with a 2006 Dodge Charger with a 5.7 liter hemi. Chrysler denied the issue back in 2010 although the problem was starting to be documented on the internet at that time.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #56

Dec 162013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 83,169 miles
After fueling my vehicle, I was traveling at approximately 20 mph around a corner and the vehicle stalled and died. Once the engine died, I was unable to steer and had to hard break to avoid going into the other lane of traffic and narrowly avoided missing the oncoming vehicle in the other lane. Once I was stopped I attempted to restart the vehicle, it continued to stall three more times when I attempted to put the vehicle in drive. I was stuck in the middle of the road, on a corner with little visibility. I was finally able to restart the vehicle on the fourth attempt. I was able to drive a couple miles till I stopped at a traffic light. The vehicle stalled and died again right as the light turned green. I again had to restart the vehicle three times before it would stay running. There were multiple vehicles behind me at the light, thankfully they had come to a stop before I stalled. This has happened in the past, but it is getting worse and I no longer feel it is safe to drive. I have taken it to the dealer and was informed that there is a known issue with the fuel system. The cost for this repair is over $2,000 and there is no manufacturers recall at this point. It is my opinion that this is not a wear item, it is a manufacturing defect. This is my family car, and I do not feel safe driving with my children as there is a great risk to their safety.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #55

Dec 022013

Charger

  • 81,000 miles
Fueled the car, car stalled several times while driving. Happens each time car is fueled. I have tried fueling slowly, and fueling small amounts, nothing works. Car will stall 2-3 times either while sitting or while driving.

- Hardin, IL, USA

problem #54

Dec 202011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
5.7L hemi engine. For the past 2 yrs, engine will stall after filling-up the gas tank. This doesn't happen after every fill-up, but occurs at random fill-up intervals. The engine will stall multiple times until it's burned off approximately 1 gallon of gas, then operates normally. Stalling mostly occurs when vehicle comes to a stop. However, I've had several instances when the stall occurred on the highway at 60 mph.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?