If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have caught on fire.

Have we mentioned all the reports of complete engine failure due to oil sludge?

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
100,376 miles
Total Complaints:
5 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (4 reports)
  2. replace engine (1 reports)
2004 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Durango Owner Comments

problem #5

Jan 302013

Durango 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,499 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my second engine for my 2004 Durango. I have to pay for it.

- , Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #4

Sep 192012

Durango SLT Hemi 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

We were driving the car and SUDDENLY it started making this loud noise under the hood and shook. I pulled over and turned off the car.I checked to see if the oil was ok and it was. There wasn't any leaking fluids. The vehicle was towed to our home and sits in the drive. Any attempt to start it causes violent shaking loud noise. It struggles to idle and dies.

Update from Sep 21, 2012: If you haven't filed a complaint with NHTSA they ask that you do so. I also just spoke with someone at Chrysler. The number for Chrysler is 800-992-1997. That number was given to me from NHTSA. She also recommended that I call my state consumer protection agency. As I counted there seems to be about 400 of these same complaints already filed on NHTSA.

Update from Oct 10, 2012: Had it towed to Dodge dealer days ago. Results: #5 cylinder seized, surprised...NO......new engine according to mechanic to the tune of $6832.00. More than likely bent rod!!!

Update from Nov 27, 2012: Check out this link

http://www.newcar.com/15/04/2012/dodge/durango/recalls/94173.html:

Recall ID# 94173

Recall Date SEP 29, 2011

Model Affected 2012 DODGE DURANGO

Description CHRYSLER IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2012 CHRYSLER VEHICLES, INCLUDING 200 AND TOWN AND COUNTRY MODELS, DODGE VEHICLES, INCLUDING CHARGER, DURANGO, GRAND CARAVAN AND JOURNEY MODELS AND JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE VEHICLES MANUFACTURED FROM AUGUST 31, 2011, THROUGH SEPTEMBER 13, 2011, THAT ARE EQUIPPED WITH 3.6L ENGINES. THESE ENGINES MAY EXPERIENCE CONNECTING ROD BEARING FAILURE DUE TO DEBRIS INSIDE THE ENGINE BLOCK.

Consequence CONNECTING ROD FAILURE MAY LEAD TO ENGINE SEIZURE WHICH MAY INCREASE THE RISK OF A CRASH.

Remedy CHRYSLER WILL NOTIFY OWNERS AND REPLACE THE ENGINE FREE OF CHARGE. THE SAFETY RECALL IS EXPECTED TO BEGIN ON OR ABOUT NOVEMBER 18, 2011. OWNERS MAY CONTACT CHRYSLER AT 1-800-853-1403.

Potential Units Affected 667

Notes CHRYSLER GROUP LLC L33

Update from Dec 3, 2012: http://www.autosafety.org/fileacomplaint/thankyou/58 File a complaint here also. They said they have over 100 reports on Durango. Also call the Atty General in Michigan, state where Dodge resides. File a complaint with them.

Update from Dec 31, 2012: My husband and I finally figured out how Chrysler got back on their feet after the bail-out. NHTSA got on Toyota for a sticking gas pedal or loose floor mat catching on the gas pedal and they ordered or whatever a recall. So... Dodge/Chrysler continue to make defective vehicles, as in the recall of 2012 cars for the same thing that has happened to all of our lawn ornaments, and NO ONE can get any resolution out of it. Hmmm is this the government related to these car companies??

- , new braunfels, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 212011

Durango 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,580 miles

Wife drove the vehicle all day on 12/20/2011, I go out to start on afternoon of 12/21/2011 and get a real bad knock. The knock gets worse when you give it gas. I took it to the guy I usually go and have look at my vehicles, when I pulled in his driveway he tells me to shut it down. He tells me he is going to have to take a look at some things and he will get back to me, so he gets back to me the next morning, says that it is internal, sounds like a piston rod. Says the engine will most likely have to be replaced, cheapest so far is $2800, and that is with 70,000 miles on it. From what I have read, people have been having issues with the tie rods going through the engine, engine failures, and the list goes on. What is Chrysler doing about this problem? And all else fails, just paid the vehicle off, was bought used with approx. 34,000 miles on it.

- , Oregon, OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 162011

Durango Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,800 miles

I purchased a 2004 dodge durango in march of 2010. I understand it was used but the dealer assured me that it was in great condition. I really like it. i have been keeping the oil changed and everything. on sunday 01/16/11 i went to start my car and it was making this loud noise like something was rattling in the engine. being scared that i had broken something i turned the car off and a neighbor that heard it came over and looked at it for me. he told me that i have a hole in my engine block that is on the passenger side and all my oil was leaking out. there was pieces of the engine block on the ground under my car. just imagine my face at that time. i am still paying for this car and there is no warranty so what do i do. This is wrong. i can't believe this is happening i haven't had the car a year. so when i got online and saw other complaints just like mine i wanted to voice my opinion. the maker of this vehicle should be ashamed of themselves knowing that complaints are out there why not do a recall on the engines to get them fixed instead of allowing people to buy these vehicles knowing that this could possibly happen. i don't have the money to fix this car and continue to pay for it. this is truly awful. i pray that some good comes out of this and soon because i don't have another car to get around in and i have 5 children and i'm a single mom. i wanted to cry but that wouldn't solve my problem.

- , Austin, TX, USA

problem #1

Mar 012010

Durango SLT 4.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

First it was just a moisture problem under the oil filler cap. Now I get an inadvertent engine chatter upon start up.I had the same problem happen to 2004 Jeep Gran Cherokee and I ended up paying to change the oil pump as the dealer stated that since it did NOT do it when I left the vehicle for them then they would not do it under the warranty. I had to pay my neighborhood garage almost 400 bucks including the new oil pump from Melling Corp. The dealer said it was most likely the check valve in the oil pump. This truck had had new oil and filter every 3000 miles. WTF??????? I have bought $150,000.00 worth of Chrysler products since 1994. I have had pretty good luck besides the six tranny's in 60K miles on the 1994 Sundance Duster with the 3.0 V-6.All were covered under warranty I might add, but seriously disturbing at the time.

- , Manchester, NH, USA

Not what you are looking for?