Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,652 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

May 312006

Durango 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle suddenly stalled in traffic on four occasions. Speed does not appear to play a role, as it was different each time. This is the fourth incident within one year. There was no warring prior to each incident. The vehicle restarted immediately. The dealership has been unable to duplicate the problem.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #21

Nov 292005

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Dodge Durango engine stalled. 10156266 during a sharp right turn the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer installed a software patch but that did not solve the problem. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where they installed a front power train control module and some secondary unit which was supposed to fix the problem. Three days later the vehicle stalled again while driving in a parking lot.

- Salt Point, NY, USA

problem #20

Apr 072006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Pulling up to a stop sign/light or turning into a parking lot/side street, the vehicle's power dies and engine stops. I have to roll to get out of the way with no power steering or brakes, turn on my hazards so other cars can go around me and know something is wrong, and try and get out of way. There are no warning signs, the car just dies. It takes several attempts to restart before car starts up again. The problem started very quickly after car was bought and happened 4 times. I brought it into dealer and they "reflashed" the computer. It has been ok for a while, but a few weeks ago it died once again.

- Barrington, IL, USA

problem #19

Apr 182006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while the vehicle was parked in a parking lot for about 10 minutes, a fire erupted from the driver's side dash panel area. Although the occupants were not present when the fire began, a bystander noticed a fire and attempted to extinguish the fire with a fire extinguisher. The fire department was contacted and a report was taken. There was extensive damage to the inside instrument cluster and dash panel area. An insurance investigator determined there was a redundant capacitor on the pc board of the dash panel area. Updated 5/10/2006 -

- Cooper, TX, USA

problem #18

Feb 072006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,500 miles
Bought vehicle 11/30/2005-used with 11,411 miles on vehicle from dealership. Dodge Chrysler Jeep of winter haven, 299 cypress gardens blvd. Winter haven Florida 33880. 12/9/2005 first occurrence. Idiot lights on dash on, same lights everytime(ABS, brake, air bd, traction, check engine, speedometer, odometer, heater, A/C quits working. From 12/9/2005 to 2/7/2006 vehicle has been back to dealer 10 times for repair, the last time the vehicle was there 6 days, dealership cannot/will not repair vehicle.

- Mulberry, FL, USA

problem #17

Oct 182005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a 2005 Dodge Durango in June 2005. The first 9000 miles were great. No problems. In October 2005 the headlights/fog lights started to go on and off by themselves. The dealership moved the inspections sticker. Did not resolve the problem. They then replaced the sensors and switched, did not correct the problem, they then replaced the circuit board, did not correct. They then had a tech from the factory look at the vehicle. They replaced the module. I picked up the car yesterday and on my way home from the dealer the lights went on and off again. I have sent the lemon law card to Chrysler. I contacted Chrysler again today about this issue. They basically have stated that it is up to the district manager to resolve this problem. I am waiting once again for him to call me back. The horn also blows by itself (this has happened twice), the radio has turned itself on and off by itself twice, the passenger side airbag light has came on when it should not and the drivers side airbag showed that it had deployed when in fact it did not. The outside temperature gauge on the overhead console did not work correctly (only one time.) I feel that I have been more then patient with these recurring problems. They have put a co-Pilot on the car to no avail.

- Partlow, VA, USA

problem #16

Feb 012006

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Incorrect mileage recorded by odometer: 2005 Dodge Durango - my self and several other owners of the Dodge Durango have complained to dealerships and daimler Chrysler about inflated mileage reported by the odometer and inaccurate speedometer speeds - for the most part, the speedometer overstates speed by as much as 10% or more, which also overstates the odometer reading. That situation helps daimler Chrysler to terminate their new car warranties before the actual mileage is reached - most cars indicating 39,000 miles, may indeed still be under the 36,000 mile warranty limit!

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #15

Jan 282006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 350 miles
Engine stalls

- Gaffney, SC, USA

problem #14

Jun 302005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The contact stated vehicle stalled intermittently. The vehicle was towed twice to a certified dealership. Diagnostic testing was done. However, no codes were captured. The dealer reprogrammed the software twice. This has not solved the problem. The vehicle is in the dealership awaiting additional software updates.

- Salt Pointe, NY, USA

problem #13

Oct 122005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,200 miles
While reversing out of driveway, my 2005 Dodge Durango with 2200 miles stalled and could not be started for another 10 minutes. All electrical and power shut off. Had to push the vehicle out of the middle of the street.

- Madison Heights, MI, USA

problem #12

Nov 212005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 20 mph on a straight road ON11/21/05 during a rain storm the ABS light came on, thjen the air bag light came on, then the brake warning light, then the check engine, and finally all the warning light were on. They would not go off. The car did not stall. After shutting the engine down and restarting a few times all went out except the check engine. It went out a day later.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #11

Oct 042005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,050 miles
Purchased vehicle in March 2005, and within the first two days vehicle engine stalling at highway speeds while on the freeway. Took vehicle to dealer, initially advised test drove and unable to duplicate. Took vehicle to dealer again at a later date, reset memory. Problem still recurred, back to dealer and dealer reflashed PCM. Additionally, took to dealer accelerator assembly loose and bolt fell out while driving. Accelerator very loose, part not available for 3 days, concerned that may be an ongoing safety issue with these vehicles.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 152005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Without warning, vehicle stalled with total loss of engine power, steering, brakes, lighting, etc... was able to put in park and re-start vehicle. Occurred twice with a 5 week period; once on a warm sunny day while making 3 point turn and again on rainy day while making a right turn. Luckily I was going slow enough that I was able to avoid oncoming vehicles. Thus far the dealer has not been able to find the cause of the problem. They have however cleaned the throttle body and adjusted the idle. Tomorrow they will replace an O ring in the transmission. I am concerned that although I have been able to avoid a collision so far, I may not be so lucky as treacherous winter driving conditions approach. Note: I have done some research on various internet forums and it seems that this is a common problem with the Durango and the Ram 1500 with hemi engines and in all cases the mechanics have been unable to find the cause.

- Summerside, 00, USA

problem #9

Sep 242005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
Vehicle stalled at a stop. No dash warning lights illuminated at stall. Second time this has happened. Vehicle taken to dealer for service after first incident. Dealer stated that they cleared fault codes and drove for fifteen miles with no problem first time. I am taking back to a different dealer now.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #8

Jun 132005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalls when making a sharp turn at slow speeds. This has happened on at least 4 occasions usually when turning into a parking space or my driveway. I brought the vehicle into the dealer and they said they could not duplicate the failure and no codes were present from the onboard diagnostics. The date shown is the most recent date of the occurrence, the first incident happened shortly after the vehicle was purchased.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #7

Sep 092005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,240 miles
While sitting at a red light on 9/9/05 my 2005 Dodge Durango with 5.7 hemi engine shut itself down. After getting it started again the check engine light remained on. Took to the dealer who did not write on the service order that the car stalled as I told them. Dealer found no problem, and gave me a sheet stating that computers sometimes have hickups. While at the dealer, I met others with same problem on the 5.7 hemi engines. This motor apparently has a defect.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #6

Jul 262005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 350 miles
Engine stalls at freeway/highway speeds causing loss of control - numerous electrical failures - transmission - A/C blows both cold & hot air at same time - power switches getting hot to touch - repairing dealer has been unable to fix - each time it is worked on - problems multiply after they flash/reprogrammed PCM/computer

- Bell, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 082005

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango has an engine stalling problem. It currently has 13000 miles on it. I bought it brand new in Dec. Since then it has stalled on us about 6 times at various speeds in drive and in reverse. I have called the local dealership 3 times now and nothing is being done about it. They continue to tell me that they have never heard of this problem and do not know what is causing it. This is a problem that concerns me because I use this vehicle to cart around my very young children so I need some thing reliable. Please help to get this problem taken care of soon.

- Sheridan, WY, USA

problem #4

Jun 242005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,362 miles
The vehicle shuts off while driving it happened without warning. Car had been driven for about one minute the vehicle was only moving about 5 mph or less. The vehicle was put in park and restarted just fine. A month later the same thing happened at a stop sign, this time the vehicle shut off while sitting at stop. There was no warning this time either. Owner doesnt remember if the electric in vehicle was off or not. This time the vehicle started right back again. Then owner contacted dealership, there is nothing the dealer can do about it becuase no info in the system about it. The dealership needed the vehicle in order to inspect, then the owners couldnt take to dealer at that time because they needed the vehicle. This happened again with shutting off several times. Then on June 2, at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle shutt off again. This time the vehicle started back up again and the vehicle was taken to dealer. The dealer reported no problem, the diagnostic computer showed no error codes. Then stalled again the 24th of June. The vehicle was traveling about 45 this time, and making a left turn, the vehicle shut off in the middle of the intersection. The vehicle shut off again later that day, the vehicle were on, air conditioning, all shut off. The dash lights went out. There was no electricity in the vehicle except for the tail and head lights, and the vehicle had no brake lights, and this was dangerours becuase this time the vehicle shut off at night. The vehicle started again and was driven for the rest of the trip. Then vehicle was towed home.

- Worthington, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 162005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The new Dodge 2005 with the hemi engine is stalling at point of acceleration. My wife and kids were in the car at a stop light and when she went to accelerate the car stalled. Took it to the dealer and was told nothing was wrong...happened 7 more times. I have had the car for a month. Someone is going to die if we don't get this resolved. I went to mycarstats.com and found many more people with the same problem! brand new Dodge Durangos 2005 cars stalling on on ramps, intersections and all we get is that they cant find the problem from the dealer and Chrysler states they haven't heard of any issues. Complainant # with Chrysler is [xxx]. VIN [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Folsom, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?