Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 4 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #384

Jan 012011


  • 50,000 miles


Everytime I go to the gas station to pump gas I get a huge splash of gas all over me and my vehicle. I was doing some research and I think its covered as a recall but Dodge said it was not when I called. I am going to print out the recall notice and bring it in. How can you help me get this dangerous problem resolved as many other people have the same problem. Especially when you get it on your work clothes and smell like gasoline all day and left gas spill on the car, gas station concrete etc. Not so pleasant. Its been ongoing for I would say over a year and the over flow is getting worse and squirting everywhere. So scared to pump gas and stand far away so splash does not hit me and clean up as best as I can everytime I pump gas.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #383

Jul 122011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
When filling fuel tank fuel gurgles then spits out after the nozzle clicks off. It happens every time I fill the tank no matter what filling station.

- Dupont, PA, USA

problem #382

Jul 012009


  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that gasoline fuel would spew back out onto the ground when refueling the vehicle. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer offered any assistance when contacted since the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 95,000 and the failure mileage was 58,000.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #381

Feb 012006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles


Gas tank spits fuel back when filling gas tank.

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #380

Feb 032010


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel would spill onto the ground once the tank was full. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the failure and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #379

Aug 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
There is a failure of the gasoline filler tank check valve that causes gas to spit out of the filler hose assembly during fueling. Here is a video showing the issue (video is of another my 2005 Dodge Durango with the exact same issue): background: In March 2005 a recall was conducted to remedy fuel-spit back problems caused by stuck inlet check valves in the fuel tank filler tubes. At that time, Chrysler stated that the supplier of the fuel tanks had identified an early October 2004 manufacturing change that should have eliminated the root cause of the problem. However, higher rates of complaints and warranty claims for the my 2005 Durango vehicles built from 10/13/04 to 11/30/04 compared with the remaining my 2005 Durango vehicles built after November 2004 indicate the spit back problem continued in the field for vehicles built from mid-October through the end of November. Chrysler reported process modifications were implemented on 11/24/04 to address spit back problems and believes these process changes would have been incorporated in all vehicles built at the assembly plant as of 11/30/04. In March 2005, Chrysler initiated a safety recall of approximately 24,000 my 2005 Dodge Durango vehicles built from 3/1/04 to 10/12/04 (refer to recall 05V-034). In January 2009, the recall was expanded to include approximately 19,000 additional my 2005 Dodge Durango vehicles built from 10/13/04 through 11/30/04 (refer to recall 09V-003). According to my dealer, my my 2005 Dodge Durango was manufactured in March of 2005 and is having exact same issue specified in the recalls. To correct safety defect in my vehicle, the dealer has quoted me ~$1,000 to fix this issue because it is not part of the recall.

- Enumclaw, WA, USA

problem #378

Jun 092010


  • 71,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle was leaking fuel. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the leak was coming from the inlet check valve. The contact inquired of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) but was advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 71,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #377

Feb 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I like many 2005 Durango owners when filling up my gas tank. I have gas spray out the filler neck once the gas pump cuts off. It sprays gas everywhere and causes an unsafe situation plus the environmental issue of pouring gas on the ground. Dodge will only cover certain VIN's even though every model is affected. It is a $700 repair at the dealer and Dodge know it is an issue. See a video here.

- Harriman, TN, USA

problem #376

Apr 012010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
About 2 years ago it starting spilling gas when I try an fill it up, I keep checking recalls but nothing for my vehicle and researching others they have the same issue but only certain 05 Durangos have been recalled. This is too expensive for me to fix myself so I have to monitor how much gas to put in, at $4 a gallon I don't want to lose it on the ground. It would be nice for trips to fill it up to monitor miles per gallon and to get the most miles without stopping more often. There are several complaints about this, why can't all these vehicles be recalled, it is defiantly a problem and should be corrected before people get hurt.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #375

Feb 022011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel would leak onto the ground while fueling. Both the dealer and manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 100,200. Updated 02/22/12 updated 03/01/12

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #374

Jul 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


When filling the gas tank gas will spill out of the filler neck onto the vehicle, ground, and person once the pump shuts off when full. Confirmed by Dodge dealership that the filler value in the neck is malfunctioning. Researched and found recalls on certain 2005 vins and extended warranties on 2006-2008 models. My VIN was not covered and Dodge will not support the recall even though it is the same issue they have acknowledged on the same model year.

- York, PA, USA

problem #373

Dec 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Gas overflows and ejects when fueling. When the auto shut-off of the gas pump nozzle triggers, a considerable amount of fuel is expelled from the filler area of the vehicle. This is a reported issue covering many makes and model years of Dodge vehicles. When contacting a Dodge representative, she indicated that the warranty has not been extended or does not cover my VIN#. she also indicated that each call is tracked and when a certain amount of calls/problem reports are obtained, they would consider the re-evaluation of this issue.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #372

Dec 162011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
When filling vehicle up gas overflows back out onto the vehicle and ground.

- New Creek, WV, USA

problem #371

Feb 012012


  • 136,400 miles
While driving my vehicle, coming to a stop, or turning left at slow speeds 0-5 mph my engine stall without warning. No lights light up on the dash to indicate a problem. I have also noticed that rpms fluctuate (increase/decrease) while my foot is off the gas pedal. This is a daily occurrence. I first thought that I had bad fuel and put an fuel additive in the tank to hopefully resolve the problem. When the problem continued, I replaced the air filter, but the problem continued. I am now going to replace the egr, but I have seen that others have done so without any success in resolving the problem. Based on the notices placed here and at various other web-sites for several years running, it appears that Dodge does not have any procedures in place to resolve this problem. This is a health and safety issue that needs to be addressed. I purchased this vehicle for the purpose of transporting my grand kids, and lacrosse players to and from various events. If Dodge does not resolve this problem, and I or someone I am transporting is injured or killed in a accident based on the above mentioned vehicle malfunction, Dodge will be held accountable.

- Bonners Ferry, ID, USA

problem #370

Feb 042012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
When putting fuel in the gas tank, once it fill up it shoots gas out. Not a little gas either, alot of gas. It's very dangerous. They had a recall on the 2006 through 2008 Durangos but not the 2005. The recall was for check valve in the gas tank. This is extremely dangerous and I can't believe the wouldn't want to fix this before someone really gets hurt.

- Isanti, MN, USA

problem #369

Jun 302011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
On numerous occasions when filling my gas tank the automatic shut off ( that tells you the tank is full) has not kicked in causing the tank to over flow and kick back gas spray all over me, my fiance, or the attendant at the gas station. This is not something that has happened just once, but multiple times in the 9 months I have owned this vehicle. I have checked for recalls and my VIN comes back with no active recalls, I even went as far as reading in detail the NHTSA recall reports (09V003000 and 05V034000) to obtain manufacture dates to compare against my own. Needless to say mine does not fit in the date range (3/1/04-11/30/04) having been manufactured in February 2005, but does infact have the same issue as the models under recall. This is something I want to have fixed but don't feel I should have to pay to do so seeing as this is an issue they knew they had and claimed to have fixed but quite obviously did not. I am tired of being afraid to fill my gas tank and getting covered in gas when I do.

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #368

Jun 152011


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel overflowed and was spewed from the filler neck. The dealer was contacted and they stated to the contact that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Orleans, MI, USA

problem #367

Aug 032011


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled from the filler neck while refueling. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id numbers: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) or 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #366

Aug 182010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
At the end of fueling fuel gushes back from fuel filler receptical. This happens using pump set for auto cut off or manual operation. This occurs every time fueling is completed without stopping short of auto fuel cut off by the pump. This to me is a very serious safety issue as any source of ignition could cause a very serious accident. I have found many complaints about this problem with many different Durango year models but only two seem to fall under their recalls, this problem is not related to any of the normally considered normal wear items but rather a system that should be reasonably considered to last the lifetime of the vehicle. This seems to be a widespread problem rather than just a few coustomer complaints. It also does not appear to be related to any time or mileage constraints. In light of the numerous complaints about this safety issue what relief could/should we expect reguarding this issue?

- Waycross, GA, USA

problem #365

Jan 202012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
After I bought my Durango used, I brought it to fill up the gas tank. I filled up the tank, just before the gas pump shut off, there was about 1/2 gallon of gas that shot out the gas filler hose at me- I thought it was something wrong with the fuel pump at the gas station and told the gas station attendant. About one month ago I filled my fuel tank again, and again the fuel literally shot out of the filler spout at me. I thought this time it wasn't a coincidence since it was at a different gas station. I started searching and found there are many Durango owners with this same dangerous issue. Apparently, Dodge has agreed to fix 2006-2008 vehicles, but the 2005's aren't covered. This is rediculous, does someone's car have to catch on fire for Dodge to take responsibility?

- Manchester, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?