Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,099 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #76

May 012013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is my 2nd 2005 Dodge Durango that has the exact same issue as described in NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000. Chrysler recall H45. When filling the tank, gas spits back at you. Gasoline hits your pants, shoes, and all over the gas station pavement. This happens everytime you fill the tank. The workaround is not fill the tank all the way but that is a hit or miss issue. I call Chrysler and they said they don't see this issue with my 2nd Durango. I'd typically accept it but seeing how both my Durangos had the exact same issue it is a little bit hard to swallow. This vehicle has had the issue for at least a year and I am ready for Chrysler to fix it before there is a fire or other epa issue. Thanks

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #75

Jun 152009

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel was ejected out of the filler neck, soiling the contact and the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline :storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 1/30/13

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #74

Aug 282012

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel was spilling out of the vehicle from the filler neck. The contact stated that the shut off valve was defective and would not stop when the fuel tank was filled to capacity. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 01/18/13 updated 01/22/13

- Cobden, IL, USA

problem #73

May 062010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out from the filler neck while refueling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The dealer stated that they needed to replace the fuel tank inlet check valve. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system). The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 100,000...updated 09/04/12 updated 09/11/12

- Lapeer , MI, USA

problem #72

Jun 022011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 73,460 miles
When filling my tank, as soon as the gas pump shuts off, fuel spews out of the car, on to ground, and myself if standing nearby. The only way to keep this from happening is to not fill the tank all the way.

- Minden, NV, USA

problem #71

Apr 112007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while adding gasoline to the fuel tank it would spill onto the vehicle as if the tank was full. The instrument panel displayed that the tank was full. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated they needed to replace the fuel tank assembly. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that his VIN number was not included in NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V003000, fuel system, gasoline: Storage : tank assembly and they will not be held responsible. The failure mileage was 60,000. The current mileage was 115,000.....updated 06/18/12 the consumer stated the problem still exists. The dealer stated the valve vent sensor defective, but was not covered under warranty. Updated 06/20/12

- River Falls , WI, USA

problem #70

Mar 152012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out from the filler neck while refueling. The manufacturer and dealer were notified and both stated that the vehicle was not included in any recall. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage was 118,000. Updated 07/10/12 the consumer stated a dangerous amount of fuel sprayed out from around the fuel filler nozzle two to three feet in a conical spray pattern at every fill-up and came in contact with his skin, clothes, fuel pump and other surrounding areas on the ground creating a very serious health and fire hazard. Updated 07/12/12

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #69

Feb 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that gasoline would spill when the fuel tank was filled to capacity. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told to take the vehicle to the dealer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the inlet check valve and the fuel tank would need to be replaced. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, storage tank: Assembly) and would provide no assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 60,000 and 70,000. The current mileage is 80,000. Updated 04/19/12

- Quancico, VA, USA

problem #68

Nov 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel would escape from the vehicle filler neck and onto the ground. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the failure and advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 123,000...updated 04/16/12

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #67

Feb 022011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel would leak onto the ground while fueling. Both the dealer and manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 100,200. Updated 02/22/12 updated 03/01/12

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #66

Jun 302011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On numerous occasions when filling my gas tank the automatic shut off ( that tells you the tank is full) has not kicked in causing the tank to over flow and kick back gas spray all over me, my fiance, or the attendant at the gas station. This is not something that has happened just once, but multiple times in the 9 months I have owned this vehicle. I have checked for recalls and my VIN comes back with no active recalls, I even went as far as reading in detail the NHTSA recall reports (09V003000 and 05V034000) to obtain manufacture dates to compare against my own. Needless to say mine does not fit in the date range (3/1/04-11/30/04) having been manufactured in February 2005, but does infact have the same issue as the models under recall. This is something I want to have fixed but don't feel I should have to pay to do so seeing as this is an issue they knew they had and claimed to have fixed but quite obviously did not. I am tired of being afraid to fill my gas tank and getting covered in gas when I do.

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #65

Jan 122012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,340 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated fuel spilled out of the filler neck upon refueling. The failure recurred whenever fuel was added. The vehicle was not to the dealer to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The failure mileage was 68,340. Updated 02/06/12 updated 02/29/12

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

problem #64

Dec 172011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 67,246 miles
Upon fueling my vehicle up on a regular basis; the fuel pump will shut off at time of fill up, but then a backlash of fuel occurs to be backing up in the fuel pipe and spraying/gushing out all over my vehicle. I have seen numerous and previous complaints pertaining to this issue. Why hasn't anyone realized that this is most dangerous and "all vehicles" claiming to this problem should be repaired at no cost to the vehicle owner, simply a defect in manufacturing and thus needs to be addressed by Corp. Recall info # is 09V003000 please respond and kindly investigate this situation and advise me of my next step with local dealer.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #63

Sep 152008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel tank could not be filled to capacity and fuel would be spewed from the filler neck when attempting to do so. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 10/06/11 updated 12/13/11

- Charleston, IL, USA

problem #62

Mar 082011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out of the fuel tank whenever it was added to the fuel tank. The contact also noticed NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline tank: Assembly), but the manufacturer stated the vehicle was not included. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage is 130,000. Updated 11/17/11 updated 11/23/11

- Prescott, AR, USA

problem #61

Jan 022011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Fuel overflow on fill up. Status update. 11/15/11

- Metuchen, NJ, USA

problem #60

Feb 222011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 74,126 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While fueling, the contact noticed that fuel began to spill from the filler neck. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage: Tank assembly) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 74,126....updated 09/27/11 updated 11/02/11

- Mount Vernon, IL, USA

problem #59

Feb 222011

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when he added gasoline to the fuel tank, the automatic shutoff valve did not function and the fuel spilled out of the filler neck. The failure occurred every time the tank was full. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the vehicle was not included in recalls 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage tank assembly:filler pipe and cap) and 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The current mileage was approximately 43,200. The failure mileage was approximately 42,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 11/23/11

- Colonial Heights, VA, USA

problem #58

Jun 012009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Summary: Fuel escapes from vehicle at the end of refueling. Consequence: Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in a fire. Remedy requested: Have dealer replace the fuel tank assembly free of charge, as in the recall of the same description for other 2005 Dodge Durangos - NHTSA campaign id #09V003000, Chrysler recall #H45. Previously made a few attempts to get Chrysler dealer in burlington, NJ to effect repair, but customer service manager [xxx]claimed he couldn't duplicate problem. I was not with the vehicle when he allegedly attempted to duplicate problem. [xxx] was untruthful when I confronted him last year about Chrysler corporate knowing of the problem and that it should be repaired at no charge to customer. No that I've found the NHTSA website info and the H45 recall info, I made another attempt: I contacted Chrysler. Case manager "[xxx]assigned me case #[xxx] on April 25, 2011, but told me on April 28, 2011 that I would have to pay a copay for the repair. I objected to a copay, and told him that I would be contacting NHTSA. This complaint is that contact. Can you assist me? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bellmawr, NJ, USA

problem #57

Jan 102011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango. Each time vehicle is refueled fuel continues to spill back out of the fuel tank. This happens every time the vehicle is filled up. The dealer was contacted and informed me that my VIN was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly). The manufacturer was also contacted and confirmed that the vehicle was not covered under the recall, and is also not covered under the extended warranty I purchased when I purchased the vehicle and offered no further assistance. This causes an environmental hazard, I am getting covered in gasoline as is my vehicle and the ground. Not to mention the loss of gas the vehicle is receiving and I am paying for.

- Littleton, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?