Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,957 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Durango brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments

problem #7

Oct 052013

Durango 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system), 14V530000 (electrical system), 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the dealer was unable to determine when the parts would become available to schedule the recall repairs. The contact waited for longer than a year and the dealer did confirm if the contact was on a waiting list. The manufacturer was contacted and was unable to provide a reasonable timeframe to repair the vehicle. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Updated 4/6/15 the consumer stated the dealer was able to do one of the recalls, but did not say which one. Updae

- Hamel, IL, USA

problem #6

Jan 062014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle for nine months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brinnon, WA, USA

problem #5

Apr 022014

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/23/14

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #4

Jun 042014

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Dodge Durango. Attorney representing consumer writes in regards to brake booster recall notice. The consumer took the vehicle to two different dealerships in June pursuant to a recall notice he received in the mail. Each dealership informed the consumer, they had heard nothing from Chrysler about the recall, and they did not have the necessary parts for the recall.

- Plainfield, IN, USA

problem #3

May 122014

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V15400 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Camas, WA, USA

problem #2

Dec 122012

Durango 6-cyl

  • 20,800 miles
Dodge Durango 2011 crew-traction defect. Got the car 12/23/11. On 1/12/12, during snow storm. I left work, car would not stay on the road, slid sideways as I turned. I was on the phone w/co-worker who was behind me. I asked if he saw my car slide, he said yes, it was difficult to keep on the road so told him I had to go.I drove to peoria. I was going very slow. Went to swim meet, then headed home down knoxville ave. Maybe10 mph, very cautious, everyone was passing me. Signal turned yellow, then red, but my car would not stop. Anti-lock brakes were on, car continued to slide. I saw a truck coming a long way down, I slid into cross traffic, and hit that truck. (I had pain in my shoulder, the pain continued, & on 3/30/12, had emergency surgery 4 ruptured cervical spine. I now have a plate, & 4 screws in my neck.)got the car back, & took it to tire shop to put better tires on it. Was told there was nothing wrong w/tires, & they were better tires than they could sell me. This year in less then 1 inch of snow, the car did a 180 slide on my drive, then slid into traffic (level surface), a car missed me by inches. Slide even in a quarter inch snow. Doesn't matter who is driving it, they slide. I again went 2 a different tire place. They wanted to sell me the same tires, I said no way! they offered alternatives. I decided to google what kind of tires would be good for my car. Much to my dismay, apparently none are. What I found, was that there were several '11 Durango owners complaining about the tires on their cars. Same problems, different tires & different tire manufacturers. Their cars will not stay on the road with snow or ice either. It is not the tires, its a the car! please stop this before someone gets killed. I will live the rest of my like with terrible complications from the surgery. I am terrified to drive this car, & going to have to trade it, & take a huge loss.

- East Peoria, IL, USA

problem #1

Jan 122012

Durango 6-cyl

  • 20,900 miles
Dodge Durango 2011 crew-traction defect. Got the car 12/23/11. On 1/12/12, during snow storm. I left work, car would not stay on the road, slid sideways as I turned. I was on the phone w/co-worker who was behind me. I asked if he saw my car slide, he said yes, it was difficult to keep on the road so told him I had to go.I drove to peoria. I was going very slow. Went to swim meet, then headed home down knoxville ave. Maybe10 mph, very cautious, everyone was passing me. Signal turned yellow, then red, but my car would not stop. Anti-lock breaks were on, car continued to slide. I saw a truck coming a long way down, I slid into cross traffic, and hit that truck. (I had pain in my shoulder, the pain continued, & on 3/30/12, had emergency surgery 4 ruptured cervical spine. I now have a plate, & 4 screws in my neck.)got the car back, & took it to tire shop to put better tires on it. Was told there was nothing wrong w/tires, & they were better tires than they could sell me. This year in less then 1 inch of snow, the car did a 180 slide on my drive, then slid into traffic (level surface), a car missed me by inches. Slide even in a quarter inch snow. Doesn't matter who is driving it, they slide. I again went 2 a different tire place. They wanted to sell me the same tires, I said no way! they offered alternatives. I decided to google what kind of tires would be good for my car. Much to my dismay, apparently none are. What I found, was that there were several '11 Durango owners complaining about the tires on their cars. Same problems, different tires & different tire manufacturers. Their cars will not stay on the road with snow or ice either. It is not the tires, its a the car! please stop this before someone gets killed. I will live the rest of my like with terrible complications from the surgery. I am terrified to drive this car, & going to have to trade it, & take a huge loss.

- East Peoria, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?