If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

9.8

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$4,573.00
Average Mileage:
86,564 miles
Total Complaints:
25 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. new engine (14 reports)
  2. the best solution is for chrystler to stand behind their car (6 reports)
  3. not sure (3 reports)
  4. parking and scrapping the car (2 reports)
2003 Dodge Intrepid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

May 082009

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,240 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought car used, drove less then 100 miles, power steering unit went out, drove it 300 miles, transmission started shifting irregular, drove it a total of 700 mile and the engine blew. 2003 Dodge Intrepid with 2.7 engine. I will never buy another Chrsyler product. Hard to believe they could sell such junk. come on Chrsyler fix the piece of crap. Thank You

- , Elkin, NC, USA

problem #24

Apr 152011

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136,000 miles

We got this car because we needed dependability in our car. We travel to work and have a family. I saw this car & loved it, not knowing what we are in for!!! This engine is bad and once we had an issue with the engine, got it fixed. Now, my husband drove home from work & NO WARNING LIGHTS came on and suddenly he pulled over because he heard a loud noise & called me to pick him up. We had it looked at and were told it's the engine. I cannot AFFORD another car right now, and mad as hell that companies don't stand behind their products. We maintain our vehicles and this is so UNREAL that Chrysler won't have a recall - hey, tough times put us at risk of losing our jobs and putting food on the table! - Why you should be ashamed of yourselves for enjoying yacht clubs at our expense while us poor little people are wondering how the heck we're gonna survive!!! SHAME!!!! ... It's a shame because otherwise, I wouldn't wanna give up my car. How much do you expect us to take on financially??? I cannot tell you what this has done to us as a family in enough words here... I EXPECT A RECALL!!! STAND BEHIND YOUR WORK AND MAKE AMERICANS WANT TO BUY YOUR VEHICLES!

- , Port Jervis, NY, USA

problem #23

Mar 232011

Intrepid ES 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

Great!! Just had put $900.00 in to fixing the transition. Now the engine took a dump. First the water pump started leaking inside the engine. Daughter didn't know why it kept needing more water. No external leak. WHAT? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? THE WATER PUMP IS INSIDE THE FRONT OF THE ENGINE? Yes the water was going up the timing chains into the heads. So I start looking in to why it needs water and find the oil below looks good. The water was getting hot and collecting at the top of the engine. The mechanic said it would be a $3000.00 repair. He didn't know the thing got hot and cracked a head, broke off two lifters and jammed two valves. Not to forget to mention all of the oil sludge that was on the heads. We had the oil changed every 3k miles. The heads made with an oil circulation problem from the get go. NICE DESIGN DODGE!!!!!

I'm done with Dodge. Like the truck but will never buy a car again.

- , Glendora, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 022010

Intrepid ES 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving home when my car started to overheat.( never happened before)pulled over and "burp valve" on top of manifold was leaking and no oil reading on dipstick.Have changed oil religously like clockwork every 3K miles.Had car towed home and now she sits in my driveway.Thinking of installing new burp valve,adding oil and see if she even will start up.Have heard about all the oil sludge problems with the 2.7 chrysler motor .Could be the culprit?.Wish I new and had some recourse as I need my car for work and this is(was) my only means of transport!

- , Big Bear Lake, CA, USA

problem #21

May 022010

Intrepid 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Great car, have loved owning it, absolutely hate the engine. Apparently this is a common problem with this engine, but I sure didn't know that when I bought the car (used). And even if you keep up with the maintenance religiously, it can STILL fail due to any lack of maintenance by the previous owner -- and good luck with that one! I hope to God the people who designed this thing got stuck owning one.

- , Spokane, WA, USA

problem #20

Apr 012010

Intrepid SST 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

We loved this car very much but when we bought it back in 2007 we noticed the engine light was on. The garage fixed it before we would even buy it.. We then had no problems till June 2009 when it started overheating. We spent 1200.00 fixing that problem but in February 2010 we were driving home from my moms house and the car started stalling then we noticed smoke coming from under the hood.. We then pulled over and stopped and immediately noticed the puttering noticed like something was boiling over, along with seeing the gauge shooting up to hot (in the red) It hadn't moved till we stopped. but we let it cool off and went through heck trying to get it home stopping every mile or so to cool off. Once we got home I found that a rod was thrown through the motor and antifreeze was gushing out of it everywhere.. Don't be tempted by it's beauty..real engines problems!!!!!!!!!

- , Trenton, OH, USA

problem #19

Mar 042010

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,553 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

the car always smells like its burning. it sucks my back hurts because it is so hard to turn the steering wheel even after the new power steer pump. Why do they make cars like this. I hate this car. It so sucks

- , Westlake, LA, USA

problem #18

Feb 012010

Intrepid 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

My wife was driving her Intrepid and out of the blue the engine began to knock, she had just had her oil changed and their was plenty of oil in the car at the time of the problem. Two days later she was getting gas and as she pulled away the car just stopped, when I got to where she was at, I lifted the hood and there was a big hole in the top part of her engine by the near the oil cap, whatever was knocking blew a hole through it. Chrysler needs to pay to have this car fixed, it only had 86,000 miles on it and now my wife has trouble getting anywhere do to this and we do not have the money to fix it, and can't afford another car payment, this one was almost paid off.

- , Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #17

Dec 022009

Intrepid SE 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,300 miles

Yesterday there was a noxious smell inside the passenger compartment that I attributed to an exhaust leak, which was going to run me over $600 to fix. The transmission was failing anyhow, but I had injected a dye into the cooling system a month ago b/c of a leak. There was some debris in the antifreeze and today when I looked at the valve cover under the oil cap, there was a trace of the dye. My only guess is that the head gasket has blown, but not enough to make the oil milky yet. A new cylinder head would be $400 not counting install and an engine would cost about $6000 to install that. The car was worth about $2000 before this happened and will have to be sold as scrap once I pay it off next month. I'm not really angry because the previous engine failed at 48000 miles and I expected it to fail again. Not happy about the hit we're taking, but at least we take it, pay cash for another car and move on.

- , Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 162005

Intrepid SE 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

Drove the car to a meeting in Farmington Hill, MI from Lansing, MI; a distance of about 90 miles. On the way to Lansing, the oil light came on twice. In Brighton, I checked the oil level and the oil was clean and at the full mark. Drove home and the following day from work, the light came on again. Took to Sundance Chevrolet in Grand Ledge and they told me the oil sender was bad. Two hours later, they informed me the entire engine was going to need a replacement. If the warranty hadn't covered, I would have been out $5700 plus the rental. It took two weeks to replace the engine and it still uses a quart of oil every 1500 miles to this day. I have 82,000 miles on this car right now. The resale value is nil because of this engine.

- , Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #15

Nov 282008

Intrepid SXT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,986 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this piece of sh*t in June 2005 the check engine light was constantly going on and off which has continued with out any serious problems up until the day after Thanksgiving 2008 on my way home from work at 10pm the car ran hot. Took it to dodge they said the radiator needed to be replaced new coolant jug and thermostat paid them 80.00 to tell me that left took the car to Tire Plus to do the repairs coolant jug, new thermostat, new radiator cost me 500. Car still ran hot. Okay now heads are cracked get a used engine put in the car cost me 1350 Labor and repairs. Car ran for little under two weeks with no problems the check engine light reappears then new problem all gauges failed with a no bus message on odometer which means there is no communication throughout vehicle and then guess what engine running hot again to say in the least this car is a major piece of sh*t and I forgot to mention in Mrch 2008 I SPENT 2000.00 TO HAVE the computer chip replaced and the tire rods replaced for a grand total of about 4k with a balance on the car still due to Chrysler Financial of 8k sucks to hell!!

- , Jacksonville, Florida, USA

problem #14

Nov 102008

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I bought A brand new 2003 dodge intrepid because i needed room for my growing family and at 90,000 miles my car suddenly made a rapping noise I brought it to several gas stations (3) and they all stated that this engine was notorious for engine failure. I brought it to the dealer and they first stated there was no oil I assured them there was oil then they went to proceed stating that I did not maintain it properly after paying 358.00 they stated that the engine was gone the same diagnosis that the other mechanics had told me for free.I now have a 2008 dodge avenger (used ) I cannot afford for this engine to fail .

- , Milford, MA, USA

problem #13

Oct 122007

Intrepid SE 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

AT FIRST IT RAN LIKE A CHAMP , BUT AFTER ONLY 78,000 MILES AND WE DROVE IT EASY , PIECE OF CRAP!!!! IT JUMPED TIME AND BLEW EVERY GASKET IT HAD. I BEGGED MY HUBBY TO SELL BUT HE REFUSED AND SAID THINGS LIKE THAT HAPPEN. I HEARD TO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THESE TYPE OF CARS. GOOD LUCK PEOPLE. I ALSO HEARD FROM OUR MEC. THAT 2.7L ARE THE WORST. ALSO IF MY HUBBY DID NOT DO HALF THE WORK IT WOULD HAVE COST US AROUND $4,000

- , Granite City, IL, USA

problem #12

May 012008

Intrepid SE 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR A MONTH AFTER HAVING THE CAR IT STARTED RUNNING HOT. I FIRST TOOK THE CAR TO MARK DODGE THEY TOLD ME THEY COULDN'T TELL ME WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT UNTIL I PAY THEM 500.00 FIRST SO AT THAT TIME I GOT MY CAR BACK YET HAVING TO PAY THE 80.00 FOR TELLING ME NOTHING....IT WAS STILL RUNNING HOT SO MONTHS LATER I TOOK IT TO FORTNERS TO HAVE IT FIXED THEY CHARGED ME 200.00 AND AS SOON AS I DROVE OFF IT RAN HOT AGAIN MONTHS LATER I WAS STILL DRIVING THE CAR AND IT STARTED RUNNING HOT AGAIN AND THEN IT GOT SO BAD I WASN'T ABLE TO DO ANYTHING WITH IT I WAS NO LONGER ABLE TO DRIVE MY CAR......I THEN TOOK MY CAR TO A MECHANIC ON 5/1/08 AND HE TOLD ME I NEED A NEW ENGINE HE TOLD ME A USED ENGINE WITH LABOR COST WOULD BE A TOTAL OF 2500.00......AT THIS TIME IM SCARED TO GET A NEW ENGINE AND IT DO THE SAME THING.

- , Mobile, AL, USA

problem #11

Apr 132008

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,300 miles

We bought the car in Jan. 2005 and Engine was running fine for 2 years and then would loose power on the freeway for a few seconds and then would run fine for a few weeks before same problem happening again (for a few seconds) then everything was fine for months.

On Sunday, April 13th, I put a half tank of premium grade gas in the car and twenty minutes later, the engine developed a loud tapping sound and then stopped completely.

After several minutes, an attempt was made to restart the engine and there was a loud knocking sound coming from the engine, so the engine was turned off and towed to the dealer where the car was purchased.

It took a week before the dealer even looked at the car and then with out diagnosing the problem, the dealer requested records of the oil changes done on the car; I provided a record of oil changes from the past year and then the dealer asked for records of oil changes from the time I purchased the car to the present.

I was told by the dealer service department that the car had engine failure due to sludge, even though I had changed the oil.

The next oil change was due in about another 1000 miles and I put 25000 miles on the car between January 2005 and April 2008 (39 months)

- , Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

problem #10

Jul 152006

(reported on)

Intrepid

  • 57,000 miles

I have only had this car for 45 days. I have not even made my first payment yet. I was on a trip 700 miles away from home and the motor fails. I had to have it towed to the nearest Dodge dealer which luckily was only 5 blocks away, and then rent a car to get home. That was two weeks ago. I was told by the dodge dealer that it would be covered under warranty. Then a week later was I was informed that the warranty was not going to cover the expenses of a new motor because the motor was not maintained as it should have been. Can replace the motor with another 2.7 liter piece of crap for $8,000.00. Or by a rebuilt for $6,000.00. What a joke!! I am just sick... I do not have this kind of money. I am scheduled to go on vacation at the end of july, I just want to be with my daughter while she gives birth to my first grand baby. The only reason I purchased this heap of crap. Now I will not be able to drive there because I chose to purchase a car from a dishonest company like dodge that refuses to admit that their 2.7 liter motor is defective and at 57,000 miles it pukes. What do you think the automobile industry would be like if every car that was not maintained on a regular bases quit running when there was less then 60,000. mile on the it? I feel ripped off. I want revenge.. I want justice. I want my car that I paid $10,000.00 for to run like it should. I will never buy a chrysler again.

- , Spokane, WA, USA

problem #9

Nov 152007

Intrepid 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,324 miles

I brought the car about a year ago after my 6 month warranty my engine went out. I got a new engine, within 30 days thats right 30 days that engine went out. It was replaced because it was under warranty. But now the transmission is going out, and my check engine light wont go off. I took it back to the shop and the mechanic stated that I need to sell the ragely piece of sh*t because its no good. While I'm driving the car the transmission wont shift into the right gear. So I have to pull over on the side of the road, cut the car off then start it up again in order for the transmission to reset itself.

- , Redford, Michigan, USA

problem #8

Dec 062007

Intrepid SE 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

I PURCHASED THIS CAR FROM A USED DEALER ON DECEMBER 5, 2007 AS IS, WITH 67,000 MILES ON IT, DROVE IT HOME NO PROBLEMS, ON DECEMBER 6 TH I TOOK THE CAR TO GET MY INSURANCE, AND ON THE FREEWAY THE ENGINE BLEW OUT, WITH MY BABY IN THE CAR, I HAVEN'T EVEN DRIVEN THE CAR NO MORE THEN 15 MILES AND AM FINANCING THE CAR THROUGH MY BANK, I DON'T EVEN HAVE MY PLATES OR REGISTRATION YET, NOT EVEN MY PINK SLIP, ON TOP OF THAT I HAD TO PAY TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED , AND GOT A TICKET FOR MY CAR BEING ON THE FREEWAY.

- , Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 042007

(reported on)

Intrepid SE 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,500 miles

Wow all 6 beefs so far sound like what just happen to us. No major trouble up to about a month ago when the car acted like it was running out gas (no gas light would go on). We would get gas and it was fine. Then last week on the highway my wife said she heard a thump and then had no acceleration. She was able to get off at the next exit and the car just died. We thought it was the sepintine belt (without looking) because we just had one replaced in our other vehicle and the description sounded like that. We had it towed and it was originally 2 sensors that were contaminated by a leaking radiator. ($400 so far). After we brought it home the engine then went out. Took it back to the service station and had a very knowledgable mechanic that took his time and checked all computer errors it was giving. All sensors were fine and then he checked the engine. Sludge City.

True we have not had regualr oil changes but we always checked our oil. From what I saw all the internet this sludge problem was in all Intrepids and was taken care of by Chrysler thru 2002. I guess they think they finally took care of the problem. Well it does not look like it. They just seemed to fix the problem enough now that instead of 40k-60k the engine dieing that it is now 70-80k. Wow amazing that is after the warranty expires. I will continue to pursue this and will note anything I find.

- , Fairfield Township, OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 172007

(reported on)

Intrepid V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,885 miles

The Engine was blown as the vehicle after 4 years and was not covered under warranty.

- , Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?