Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,658 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Intrepid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Jan 032007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had an oil change on 12-9-06 no problems seen by the ase mechanic. 1-3-07 while driving home from work, engine started to knock, safely pulled over, shut off the car and it would not start again. The engine was locked up. Had it towed to midas where I had my oil change done. Then to the engine shop where it cost me $5604 to have a brand new engine installed.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #11

Feb 052007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
My wife's car would not start for her went she was going to go to work. For about the last eight to ten months the oil light was coming on and she took it to a auto shop an they said that it was a oil sensor. They replaced it and I also changed the oil. After it would not start on 2/05/07 she had it towed to the shop where they said it was the battery and the starter, but that didn't work. The guy that was working on it noticed that the engine was a 2.7 V6 motor. He told us that the car had locked up and would never start again due to oil starvation. He also said that he had seen this one other time. The year of her car is a 2004 Dodge Intrepid. He also stated that cars that have that 2.7 size motor made by daimler Chrysler have this oil starvation problem which cause my wife's car to lock up. If this is true it could be a danger to others with this size motor if they are driving and the car may lock up. We are still looking into what will be done to resolve this issue but would like to let people know that if they have the 2.7 V6 size motor in their car and the oil light keeps coming on especially during braking to get it checked asap. Thank you

- Rochester, IN, USA

problem #10

Jan 032007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
12-9-06 oil change oil light sensor was going to be changed 1-07 1-3-07 oil sensor blew out all oil while on I265 engine locked up 2-07 brand new engine will be installed by louisville motor exchange costing $5088.70.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #9

Oct 102006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At roughly 58,500 miles the oil light started coming on at idle. Took it to shop to find that this is a very common issue with Dodge Intrepids with 2.7 liter V6 engine. So far the pressure switch has been replaced, and the oil pan was found to be full of sludge (car is routinely maintained!). oil pan has been replaced and it was verified that there was no metal present in pan. Car was returned to owner but within 48 hours light is back on. Car is now back in shop waiting final verdict on if as in so many other cases, this car will need extensive engine work.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #8

Mar 062006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
: the contact stated there was a vibration in the engine. After inspecting the vehicle the dealership replaced the cam sensor switch. While driving at various speeds or when the engine is idling there is a knocking sound. The knocking occurs intermittently. Upon inspection the dealership determined there is sludge build up in the engine due to improper maintenance.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #7

Nov 192005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,397 miles
The engine would not start. After several attempts the engine started and the vehicle was driven to the dealer. The dealer performed a diagnostic test but did not detect any codes. Upon further inspection the dealer discovered sludge in the engine. The dealer suggested this was due to a lack of regular oil changes. This was not covered under warranty. No repairs have been made at this time. Updated 12/27/2005.

- Milwalkee, WI, USA

problem #6

Nov 192005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving to work car jerked and slowed down, to 20 mph. The next morning car wouldn't start, took car into shop where they had to break engine down to determine what's wrong got a call it was sludge in the engine and it wasn't covered. Will cost $8,000 to replace engine but I have 2 warranties. Customer service representatives are rude and leading me on wild run around for satisfaction. I work 2 jobs but they don't offer replacement. I was sold a car with pricey problems.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #5

Jul 092005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,600 miles
1st incident on July 9th, 2005. Was driving on interstate I40 approximately 65 mph, all of a sudden the "check engine light" came on and the engine turned off. I managed to pull across three lanes onto the emergency lane! I waited for apprx. 10 minutes before I tried to crank up the car. I parked the car for that day. The next day when I checked the car, the engine light was no longer on! exactly one week later the same thing happen, again on a very busy hwy! I took the car to have the oil changed again and all other fluids checked. The engine light stayed on for that day and the next morning it was off! two days ago it happened again, this time I was not able to pull out of traffic!!!!fortunately we did not get hit by other vehicles. This morning I was standing at a traffic light when the car all of a sudden turned off "again", this time I had a hard time getting it cranked up. One important note, on two of those occasions I had my children with me (8 & 12) we could have gotten seriously injured. Having a vehicle malfunction like this after only 12 months can and will be a serious matter....Chrysler will be in a lot of trouble if anything happens to me (single parent) or my children because they simply will not admit that there is a malfunction with these vehicles! consider this the first official notification from me. After I return from the dealership I will be in touch with my attorney!

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #4

Jan 122005

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have my oil changed every 3 to 5 thousand miles. On my way to work I noticed that the oil light would flicker off and on when I came to a stop. I would then go off when I resumed driving. I checked the oil and it was not low. I will take it in and have it checked to make sure there is nothing wrong and that I won't lose pressure and have to buy a new motor.

- Meeker, OK, USA

problem #3

Nov 222004

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The oil sensor light stayed on at low RPM. The consumer was concerned that the engine would fail. The engine was full of sludge.

- Roanoke, TX, USA

problem #2

Oct 112004

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,939 miles
While driving home from work on 10/11/04, my Dodge Intrepids engine just shut off and all power went off. The engine light went on and I pulled over to the side of the road. After about 5 minutes of trying to get it going again, it restarted. This happened three more times, in a period of about an hour, over 30 miles. The following morning, I took it in to moss brothers motors and rented a car (they have no service vehicals). Two hours later, moss calls that the car is ready, I was told it was a "computer service problem". the lengine light was no longer on when I picked the car up. The same day, on my way home, the samething happend (10/12/04). The car suddenly shut down on a very busy trafic corner and I had know time but to swerve out of my lane and do a ninty degree turn, over the curb and into a empty parking lot to avoid a major accident. I had no power steering and no brakes. The following morning, I took the car back to moss brothers motor and left it, relating my same problems as the day before. Two hours later, moss calls telling me the car is ready. I was told it wad another "computer related" problem. Since then it has not shutt down.

- Crestline, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 132004

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving, the vehicle stalled. The consumer tried to restart the vehicle, but was unable to do so. The consumer had the vehicle towed to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the driver that the head gasket blew and needed to be replaced. Please fill in additional information.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?