Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,918 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Intrepid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Intrepid Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Jul 142015

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • miles


I have a 2004 Dodge Intrepid I think there should be a recall on the motors I have put more money in that card and I paid for it I thought it would be dependable it only has 60,000 miles on it and now at the time I have on that there's only 70,000 miles on it added to the 60 its been in the shop more than I have driven yet every time I turn around there was always a problem that crack my head but it never ran hot to give me any warning because the water pump leakage the motor has always had low oil pressure nobody ever told me when I had it worked on but the 2004 Dodge Intrepid motors all have trouble with or pressure my car is no longer working it is sitting out in my yard the body is good interior is good I just put new tires on it I had trouble with the lighting for the headlights because getting moisture in it had trouble with the right side I had to have it fixed the ball bearing the joints that axle I need help [xxx] put a used motor in it because you have the same problem and you motor cost money and it will probably wind up having the same problem please investigate the 2004 Dodge Intrepid if you have any questions or like to come take a look at my car to investigate this problem feel free to contact me I'm in columbus Georgia my name is [xxx] I'm pretty sure you can get my number if you need to contact me my email is [xxx] if you have any questions I only that one mechanic work on my car and he can tell you all the problems I had since I had it was very disappointing to hear I needed a new motor the car just stopped in the middle of the road lost all the water had to have it towed home I had to have it towed to the shop I had to have it towed back to the house because I couldn't fix it I'm on social security I get 822 a month I can't afford a new motor and then it would be the same problems I'm having now had trouble ever since. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #37

Feb 012012


  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Intrepid. The contact stated that the engine stalled and the temperature indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 129,000.

- Dakota City, NE, USA

problem #36

Mar 132009


  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Intrepid. The contact stated that the vehicle computer caused the catalytic converter to fail. The contact later received notification of a manufacturers recall for the power control module. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for updates to the computer but no other repairs were made to the catalytic converter. The dealer refused repairs and advised that the component could not be repaired under the recall. The contact believed that the computer caused the catalytic converter to malfunction and the contact stated that the manufacturer should be responsible for repairs to the entire system because the initial defect caused the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #35

Oct 152010


  • 155,000 miles


My 2004 Dodge Intrepid caught on fire from an oil leak on October 15, 2010.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #34

Jun 202010


  • 112,000 miles
Engine failure. 2004 Dodge Intrepid. Low oil pressure light on dash flickers, found out that 2.7 engine is known for this problem costing $5500 dollars for new engine. My family and I bought this car brand new and have relentlessly had oil changed through the years every 3000 miles.

- Logansport, IN, USA

problem #33

Mar 042010

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) 2004 Dodge Intrepid SXT VIN: [xxx] car kept shutting down while driving and "bucking" at times. I brought the car to be repaired on 03/07/2008 and the dealer replaced cam shaft position sensor, natural vacuum leak detection switch and canister assy and oxygen sensor. Car started bucking. I brought the car in to be repaired on 10/30/2008 and the mechanic replaced the transmission solenoid. I had to replace the oil pan on 11/06/2008. I found out the oil pan made of thin aluminum. When the oil pan was ordered by the mechanic it was on national backorder by Dodge. Car started to shut down while driving again. I brought the car in to be repaired and the mechanic changed the cam shaft position sensor again. I received a recall notification from Chrysler - emissions recall J18. The recall states the catalytic converters may become damaged from continued operation in "limp-in" mode following a camshaft position sensor fault. I called Chrysler and was told the recall had been put on hold. My car started to shut down again while driving and I could not drive it above 40mph otherwise when braking the transmission would go from 3rd gear to 1st gear (skipping 2nd gear). I brought the car in to be repaired on 03/04/2010 and the car is still in the shop. So far, the mechanic replaced the camshaft position sensor, transmission solenoid and now believes the computer is no good.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #32

Oct 102009


  • 72,000 miles


Water pump and timing chain needed to be replaced, when mechanic took the car apart, the engine was full of oil sludge. He said the engine was dead. The car is a 2004 Intrepid with just over 72000 miles. I am voluntarily reopening the car back to Chrysler. I still owe around 3800.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #31

Oct 062009


  • 650,000 miles
I have a 2004 Dodge Intrepid and it has a 2.7 engine and I am having oil sludge build up which is causing engine problems with my car.

- Indpls, IN, USA

problem #30

Sep 022009


  • miles
I was driving home from work. I had checked the coolant recently and the engine light was not on. Sitting at a light I looked at my temp gage it was climbing. Within seconds I heard a loud pop and steam started bellowing from under the hood. With out warning the water housing cover blew denting the hood. I am thankful I had just exited the interstate and was able to get to a safe place to park it fast. At this time I do not know what other damage has been done. Waiting on a new cover and we will find out.

- Austin, TN, USA

problem #29

Mar 042009


  • 120,000 miles
I got my car in 2004 with appx 30,000 miles on it. Every since I got it the check engine light would go on and off. Just recently the vehicle started making a loud noise when I drive it so I took it to 3 different mechanics and they all confirmed that I need a new engine and stated that this is typical of a 2.7 engine from Chrysler/Dodge. One of the mechanics stated that he repaired 3 different Dodge Intrepids in the last quarter of last year for the exact same problem. I have had quite a few things replaced on this car but now I have to get a new engine? I still owe appx $5,000 on my car and B/C it is a Dodge with a lot of miles on it, it is not worth alot. There are so many issues with the 2.7 engine that I do not understand why there wasn't a recall and the company is required to replace these engines. I have small children that have to ride in my car and I feel that it is very unsafe to ride it because you don't know when the engine will go out.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #28

Nov 102008

(reported on)

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • miles


2004 Dodge Intrepid had a problems with overheating and sludge. Consumer states that this vehicle has many complaints about different problems. The consumer stated the engine finally seized.

- Peekskill, NY, USA

problem #27

Aug 082008


  • 88,000 miles
Engine oil pressure problem. Typical of the 2.7L engine.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #26

Apr 292008


  • 90,744 miles
The 2.7 liter engine in my 2004 Dodge Intrepid had to be replaced due to bearing failure and a thrown rod. I bought this vehicle as a program car with less than 12000 miles and the original manufacturers warranty was in effect. I do not have a warranty complaint since my vehicle was no longer under warranty. I do feel that my engine failure was due to the sludge problem that seems to be prevalent in the Chrysler 2.7 liter motors.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #25

Nov 122007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,095 miles
I purchased a 2004 Dodge Intrepid with 26,000 mile for approx 20,000. I started the car one day and drive 5 minutes away to my sons school when I heard a loud knocking. I immediately called our local Dodge dealer who scheduled me an appointment for 6 weeks away. I stopped driving the car immediately. On Jan 2nd I took the car in to see what the issue was. It is now April 9 and I was informed today that the car needs a new engine due to sludge and my warranty was denied by Chrysler. Even though I provide proof of maintenance for the whole 40,000 miles I put on the car the district manager for Chrysler said my receipts were not verifiable and they were done in a actual car repair shop. I've been without a car now for 5 months and still owe 8,000 on the loan. The car has 68,000 thousands miles and Chrysler says to bad so sad.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #24

Mar 082008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
2004 Dodge Intrepid with 80,000 and good maintenance has engine failure due to oil sludge.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #23

Mar 092008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
On Sunday March 9th 2008 I was on the freeway about 10-15 miles from my house and my car just died I got it off the freeway safely and everything seemed fine I let it cool down checked the fluids and started it back up once started a loud knocking was coming from the engine and I got it back on the freeway and it died again made it to the shoulder and then had it towed to my house. Went out tonight March 11, 2008 and checked the oil dipstick and to my surprise sludge not oil or water just sludge..... I did a google search to look up head gaskets for a 2004 Dodge Intrepid and had thousands of hits about the 2.7L engine having this problem wow now I wish I never got this car!!!

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 302005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
In August 2004 we bought a 2004 Dodge Intrepid with 17,000 miles from a Dodge dealer. In September 2005 the vehicle started experiencing hesitation and stuttering at start up when the temperature fell below 40 degrees. Took it to the dealership and the mechanic said it was the crank sensor, which was replaced under warranty. Problem didn't go away. In November 2005 took the car back to the dealership. At that time the cam sensor was replaced under warranty. Some improvement was noticed. In October 2007 the dash lights started to flicker. This happened whether the car was driving or at a standstill. Back to the dealership. They said it was probably the battery. We agreed to pay for a new battery and left the car there while the battery was being replaced. The dealership test drove the car and the lights still flickered. They then determined that a ground wire was loose, probably causing the flicker. This car is 4 years old and currently has 30,000 miles. We don't drive it many miles per year and don't feel it is really reliable. No wonder Dodge stopped production on the Intrepid!!

- Winchester, IN, USA

problem #21

Dec 242007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,940 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 21 mph, the engine began to make a knocking sound and the engine light illuminated. The contact was able to drive home at speeds between 4-5 mph. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic and they stated that the engine was blown and needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 108,940.

- Berea, OH, USA

problem #20

Aug 222007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
Engine oil light goes on at low idle, 1000 RPM of less, questioned dealer service dept about this and they said that the oil was in need of a change or that it was low do to a leak. Neither of those cases are true in that the oil is changed every 6,000 miles of less according to driving conditions and the owners manual. This car, 2004 Dodge Intrepid is still under the 7year, 70,000 mile extended warranty, but it is close to expiring. Dealer says drive it as is and the light should go out, if not bring it back in. They say the same thing each time, are they waiting until the warranty expires?

- Lavista , NE, USA

problem #19

Sep 112007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
2004 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L engine - failure due to oil sludge. My car starting overheating a couple months ago. I had to have some friends pick me up when it wouldn't start 3 times. Then 2 weeks ago my car finally quit in the middle of the road. I had to sit blocking traffic with a police officer while waiting on the tow truck. My car is now sitting in my garage useless because every mechanic I talk to says they don't want to touch it because of the known manufacturer's problem w/ that engine. I still owe $10K on a car that doesn't work! now what"?"

- Marietta, GA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?