Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,000 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Edge brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Apr 012013

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My brakes all of a sudden became very spongy with no warning. With a high pitch squealing noise when I pressed the petal to the floor. Then the petal became very hard to press. Mechanic told me I needed new rear brake pads and rotors. After replacing I am still having same problems with nearly crashing into the back of another vehicle. Now I am told I need to replace power brake booster.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #22

Sep 272012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated while traveling 10 mph she attempted to apply the brakes with the pedal fully depressed; however, she was unsuccessful. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who stated the master cylinder failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 100,000...updated 11/14/12 the master cylinder and booster were repaired, as the booster was leaking. Updated 11/14/12

- Sesser, IL, USA

problem #21

Aug 092011

Edge

  • 42,500 miles
There are three main issues with my 2007 Ford Edge. First the brakes make noises and sometimes work and sometimes don't. the tires kept going flat. I have replaced all 4 four tires and one front and one back tire twice now. The transmission slips frequently.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #20

Feb 042008

Edge

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 2007 Edge sel and the driver's side brake light constantly burns out. The bulb has been replaced countless times and the socket is melted. I just wanted to share this with everyone. A clicking noise has also developed on the driver's side front wheel recently, however we haven't seen anything related to other complaints about this. The vehicle currently has very low miles (24,000) and this seems odd. I hope this information helps others.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #19

Feb 012012

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles
Both rear brake light sockets are burnt and melted. This has been reported in complaint numbers 10439124, 10380902, 10372008, and 10307462 as well. A quick search on the internet will reveal numerous owners have and are experiencing this exact issue. The socket that plugs into the brake light pigtail (on both sides) is burnt and actually melted. The drivers side has been hot enough to melt the taillight housing itself. And this is happening without causing a fuse to blow or any type of warning that there is a serious electrical issue. With the recall on the 2012 regarding the fuel tank issue you might think shorting taillights in the same vicinity would be a nasty combination.

- University Place, WA, USA

problem #18

Jan 142012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 81,500 miles
The first time was on Jan 14, 2012. The switch under the brake pedal went out, left me stranded. Now the brake booster is bad. With no warning, the brakes got rock hard and then go to the floor after awhile with a whistling noise. It takes alot of effort to stop vehicle. I came extremely close to crashing. I took my vehicle to the dealer and they told me that the booster was bad.. I am very unhappy that Ford don't see this as a problem that should to be recalled. My wife loves her Edge, but im afraid that something may happen to my wife and 2 year little girl while driving.

- Laplace, LA, USA

problem #17

Oct 032008

Edge

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Ford Edge. I have had brake problems ever since I bought it. By brake problems, I mean they sometimes grind and sometimes feel like I can't stop as well as I should be able to. I had them checked several times and was told they were fine. I finally had them replaced but they still grind at times. I've learned to deal with this problem. I've also experienced a loud roaring noise. I'm not sure what this is but I've also learned to deal with it as well. Everytime someone rides with me they ask what the noise is and tell me it sounds like my car has not shifted into the right gear. The major problem I have dealt with is the jerking transmission. It started this about a year after buying it. It started doing it a few times here and there until it got to where it did it all the time. I had mentioned it when I took my car to get the oil changed but they always told me they didn't find anything wrong. I finally told them they had to do something. They kept it for a few days and finally called and said the valve body needed to be replaced. Luckily it was still under warranty. They replaced it and it was fine up until several months ago. It started the jerking all over again. It started out slow but now does it all the time. I can't afford to have it fixed again as it's not under warranty any longer. It's still only 4 years old and should not be having all of these problems. I am really surprised there have been no recalls as I've read of other people having the same problems. I am very upset as I still owe on this vehicle but really wish I could get rid of it. I have never had so many problems with a vehicle....even a car I bought that was four years old.....it was a Toyota....guess I should have never went to a Ford!

- Bronson, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 122011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 31,413 miles
Drivers side rear brake/signal light bulb burnt out. Socket bulb goes into was blackened & semi-melted. Next month passenger side same thing. Next month bearings in front passenger wheel went.

- Prospect, CT, USA

problem #15

Mar 012011

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles
The brakes growl and grind no matter what. I keep being told by Ford dealers that this is just the sound of the Edge! I have never heard brakes like these that do not have a problem but Ford fails to admit there is a problem. It takes forever to get the car to stop. I looked it up online and alot of people are complaining of the same thing even on the newer year models.

- Wagoner, OK, USA

problem #14

Feb 152010

Edge

  • 45,000 miles
The first time was in Feb. 2010 the switch under the brake pedal went out, left me stranded. Now the brake booster is going bad. No warning, the brakes get rock hard and then go to the floor with a horrible whistling noise. You may or may not stop. Don't do any sudden stops you will crash. I am very unhappy that Ford don't see this as a problem that needs to be recalled. Love the car looks and rides, but wont buy another due to the safety issues.

- Grottoes, VA, USA

problem #13

Jul 012011

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that a noise could be heard coming from the brakes whenever they were applied, and the brake pedal was very stiff and difficult to depress. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the brake booster failed and was leaking prematurely. A new part was ordered and installed on the vehicle, but the failure recurred. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 212011

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for routine maintenance. The contact was informed that the rotors were corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 12,500. Updated 08/01/11 updated 3/05/2012

- Fredonia , NY, USA

problem #11

Nov 102010

Edge 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Edge began to have erratic braking. The pedal would go almost to the floor and braking was very poor during those times. At other times the pedal became almost rock hard and could hardly be pressed and little or no braking occurred. This happened on the highway during exiting the freeway and I had to let off and pump the brake pedal and was able to stop. Very disconcerting and the problem was getting worse so took to the dealership. The problem was a leaking brake booster which required $400 to replace. My car had 3.5 years of service and about 53,000 miles on it. I have driven for over 50 years and never had a brake booster go out. I feel that this problem is a safety issue but Ford apparently does not.

- Clint, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 062010

Edge

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that they thought the brakes were going bad because the pedal was going to the floor and would take several attempts before the brakes would engage. The dealer inspected the vehicle and found that the brake booster was preventing brake fluid from going through the brake system. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 53000 and the current mileage was 54000.

- Mount Washington, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 022010

Edge

  • 39,696 miles
After having the rear brake rotors and pads on my 2007 Ford Edge replaced at jack safro Ford in oconomowoc, wi on 5/24/10, I noticed that the brake warning light, the ABS warning light, and the traction warning light were on. Also noted that the ABS braking system was inoperable at that time. Made another appointment on 6/2/10 at dealer to have problem diagnosed. Dealer informed me that both rear wheel ABS sensors were inoperable and recommended replacing both sensors, the rear wheel bearing and trailer arm on the right rear side. Dealer also informed me that problem was unrelated to the brake work done just prior. While the car was at the dealer that day I called Ford customer service relative to the problem and was informed that Ford would not offer any assistance on the repair as the vehicle had 39,696 miles and was outside the 36,000 mile warrenty.I declined to have the work done at that time in order to get more information. On 6/7/10 I took the car to an independent repair shop specializing in ABS brakes, where they told me the right rear ABS brake sensor had been damaged by the right rear sensor ring, which itself was damaged and partially shredded. Per the manufacturer's service bulletin, that shop then replaced both rear wheel sensors, and the right rear wheel hub with bearing and sensor ring. I was given the old hub which I have retained and was shown the failed sensor ring which caused the ABS problem. Brakes operated properly with warning lights off after that repair. I had the repair done at that shop rather than the dealer because I was given a very specific description of the problem, as opposed to just being told "both rear wheel sensors were not working", with no mention of the damaged sensor ring. I am not persuaded that the sensor problem was unrelated to the earlier rear brake job since the technician at the second shop showed me where someone had attempted to glue the right rear sensor unit together. I also have that part which was replaced.

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #8

Sep 062009

Edge

  • 27,000 miles
While driving our 2007 Ford Edge we lost our brakes. Had car towed into lincolm Mercury dealer. After car was so called fixed it happened again. Brought car in for 2nd time. In December problem recurred. Brought car to Ford and they found nothing wrong with it. Incidents seem to be spiratic and then brakes seem to be

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Mar 202008

Edge

  • 4,000 miles
My wife and I both drive Ford Edge crossover SUV's. both cars have major problems with the brake system. When you are driving slowly & got to put on the brakes, the brakes make a terrible loud grabbing noise & the car kind of skips to a stop. I have done some research on the internet and found out that many people have the same issue, but Ford refuses to do a recall. The Ford service rep. At the dealership I go to is trying to tell me that this is how the brakes are supposed to be. There is a major problem with these cars and something has to be done. We had another Ford Edge that was destroyed in a rear end collision & it also had the same brake problem. Three for three is not a good thing. The rear end collision was not a result of the brake problem.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 102008

Edge

  • miles
I have a 2007 Ford Edge with persisting pulsating brake problem. The brakes make a gringing noise. I have brought to the Ford dealership about 5 times for the same problems and they state that the sound and grind is "normal" and nothing to worry about. I almost got into an accident the first time as the car delays, kicks back, then usually the ABS light comes on. This occurs usually when making turns or going up a hill.

- West Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jan 222008

Edge

  • 7,500 miles
On 7/30/2007 I purchased a 2007 Ford Edge 4dr AWD sel plus from gary crossley Ford of Kansas City, mo. On 1/22/2008 with 9,581 miles on vehicle I took car to dealer account a rotational rubbing noise. Which I assumed was a brake problem. On 2/22/2008 with 10,271 miles returned to dealer for additional follow up on brake(?) noise. On 2/26/2008 with 10,710 miles returned vehicle to dealer for additional work to correct rotational rubbing noise. On 2/29/2008 returned vehicle to dealer with same complaint and at this time they replaced all four (4) brake rotors and all brake pads. This repaired problem until approx. 21,918 miles on vehicle when the rotational rubbing sound returned. I notified dealer but was going on a vacation and could not have repair work done at that time. On 1/8/2009 with 23,918 miles on vehicle I returned to dealership with same problem. They advised at that time that the brakes had 12,000 mile warranty and I was out of luck. I called 1-800-392-Ford and they placed a complaint with the Ford customer care service team and when sabrina of the customer care service team responded to me she advised that she had talked with gary crossley Ford of Kansas City, mo and could not help additionally. I do not think that it is safe driving a vehicle with the amount of brake noise that is present. At the present time there has not been an accident and I want to avoid an accident.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #4

May 012007

Edge

  • 500 miles
Front windshield on passenger side has significant distortion that makes the view "wavy" looking. Rear brake on drivers side makes a grinding noise.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?